COLLINGWOOD CONSTRUCTION

About

Founded 1989 • With Angi since July 2006

Established in 1989, Collingwood Construction is the family-owned and -operated construction company to turn to in Lockport, NY; Hamburg, NY; Amherst, NY; Williamsville, NY; Clarence, NY; and Buffalo, NY. Based out of Getzville, we offer a number of home improvement services ranging from commercial roofing construction and siding to foundation repairs and basement waterproofing. We’re your total home solution! Additional pho: (716) 649-9482, (716) 689-2213, (716) 772-2779. Additional address: 1376 KENSINGTON Ave...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.1

(43) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

24

4

5

3

3

2

7

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.0

Professionalism

4.0

Punctuality

4.3

Quality

4.3

Responsiveness

4.2

Read reviews by category

roofing (35)siding companies (7)gutter repair (6)door installation (2)skylight installation (2)window replacement (2)home remodeling (1)basement waterproofing (1)concrete repair (1)
Showing 1-25 of 43 reviews
5.0

04/27/2022


Matthew H.

Did a bang up job on my garage. really good workers they have working for the company fast and reliable.

Description of Work
Great company

Category roofing, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2022

5.0

08/24/2021


Norman C.

Everything went really smoothly. Collinwood knows how to do a roof and siding quickly, efficiently and beautifully. All of the employees were extremely professional and respectful. Larry was able to explain things very well for me to understand. His quote even came in under budget. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to have something done right.

Description of Work
Roofing/siding

Category remodeling, roofing, siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2021

4.0

05/04/2021


mark P.

Larry is very professional and easy to work with. Did a good job in a timely manner. Would hire again

Description of Work
Remodeling - General

Category remodeling, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2021

5.0

01/25/2021


Linda D.

Collingwood Construction did a fantastic job with our roof from start to finish. They did a thorough cleanup at the end as well. Larry and his crew were a professional bunch. They were wonderful to communicate and deal with.

Description of Work
Roofing

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/22/2021

5.0

01/21/2021


PAMELA S.

It went very well and the worker bees were very polite and accommodating. They ripped it all out in a day and cleaned up all the mess every day they were here. I have new floors, walls, ceiling and beautiful red oak cupboards. Larry had good ideas for new lighting and adding decorative oak to complete the picture.. I have more work planned for him in Spring 2021.

Description of Work
Total Kitchen Remodel. Oct 2020

Category replacement windows, home remodeling

Cost $48,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2020

5.0

08/31/2020


Jamie K.

The crew did a great job, cleaned up after themselves and the job was finished in a timely manner.

Description of Work
Roof needed to be replaced

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/21/2020

3.0

07/11/2020


Michael W.

Guy cam and looked. Said he'd send an estimate. Have heard nothing in the past week.

Description of Work
Pieces of Cedar siding to be replaced

Category siding

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2020

Service Provider Response

Collingwood Construction strives to consistently provide prompt and professional service. One key goal is to give fair verbal quotes in a timely manner. While written quotes may take a little more time, most customers receive a response within a week’s time. We apologize, Mr. [Member Name Removed], that we did not supply your quote within the time frame that was given to you. The matter has been addressed with all employees concerned to ensure this problem does not happen in the future. You should have heard for a representative
5.0

05/13/2020


Keith P.

These guys were great. They showed up just a few hours after calling for an emergency repair and took care of it quickly. They were pleasant to deal with and very helpful dealing with my insurance company. I had them replace the entire roof and have had no issues since.

Description of Work
Roofing

Category roofing

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review.
5.0

05/13/2020


Ashley P.

We had roof damage due to a wind storm Collingwood came out and worked well with my insurance company to make sure everything that we needed was covered. They were professional and got the work done in a timely manner. I would highly recommend Collingwood!

Description of Work
Roofing

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2020

5.0

05/13/2020


Lisa G.

They were very prompt in coming out, even when temperatures were colder. Work was done quickly and it looks beautiful! I was updated along the way if anything new came up and the crew did a great job cleaning up after they left each day. Very friendly and responsive which made the job stress free.

Description of Work
Roofing

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/03/2020

1.0

06/26/2015


Ezra L.

Rep was very rude when we wouldn't sign contract right away. Would not recommend dealing with this company.

Description of Work
Roofing estimate

Category roofing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2015

2.0

04/06/2015


JAMES S.

Mom reached out to several roofing contractors for emergency ice dam removal while minor water incursions were happening. This was at the height of WNY'ers having ice dam troubles after record amounts of snow and many contractors weren't even answering the phone at the time. Collingwood's rep took the call and when pressed for a verbal cost range, he said "usually it's $465" to remove ice dams. Upon arrival, the tech stated it would be $465 for one small section of the rear of one of two main roof sections. And that to add a second section to be remedied would cost an additional $300 - and that offer only stood if Mom agreed then and there to the unexpected upcharge. If she elected to think about it and call Collingwood back later, the new section would cost another $465. Given the unexpected cost structure, Mom elected to only have the crew address the worst section. The two techs spent 65 minutes cutting a 40 ft trench in the ice and four drains, which alleviated the problem. Mom feels this practice is at best deceptive: providing the verbal estimate which implied the quoted cost would cover the entire roof - then on arrival revealing that it only covers one section, and that additional sections would each cost nearly as much as the first. She feels like Collingwood was preying upon the desperation of homeowners, anxious to avoid costly water damage from roof leaks, and using bait-and-switch techniques to close the deal over the phone only to change the rules upon arrival. Had they been forthcoming, she would have sought additional estimates from other contractors. Afterwards, Mom was less than surprised to see on the local news that Collingwood was being investigated for fraudulent practices and price gouging during the big November 2014 snowstorm.

Description of Work
Cleared one section of multi-roof home of ice dams.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2015

5.0

01/27/2015


Jerry K.

The contractor, foreman and their workers were all professional and went about their jobs diligently and carefully. I was told up front about possible additions that might be required (replacement of plywood sections, etc.) so there were no real surprises. The finished work looks fantastic and we are getting many complimewnts from our neighbors.

Description of Work
tear off old roof; install new roof and gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/13/2014

2.0

01/26/2015


Susan M.

Not well. It took 3 deliveries to get the correct type of vinyl to match existing siding. They partially installed the wrong type of vinyl after the first delivery. The whole job was drawn out over 3 weeks due to material screw-ups.

Description of Work
Replaced vinyl siding on one side of house that was torn off in wind storm.

Category roofing, siding

Cost $4,130

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/24/2012

5.0

06/17/2014


gregory K.

They were good; they provided a good estimate.

Description of Work
They did an estimate for the roof.

Category roofing

Cost $1,100

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2010

5.0

05/10/2014


Peter Y.

Worker's were on time and really worked hard. Initial cost was very reasonable but as work progressed, additional materials and of course time, were needed.Overall they were excellent in promptness, friendly, and area was cleaned each night of the 4 day project.

Description of Work
Almost a total new roof with new plywood, repair of outside wall near chimney.

Category roofing

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2013

1.0

08/27/2013


Jeff R.

In September, 2012, I discovered when I returned from vacation, that my foundation had sunk another inch, so I decided it was time to fix this. The town inspector confirmed the need for the repair and gave me names of five contractors. I selected three (Frank's, Young's, and Collingwood) to obtain estimates. I previously had done significant work with Frank's and Young's at my home and at my office, so I knew they were both quality contractors. I recognized collingwood, because I have often driven by their place on Millersport Highway. I learned that I needed engineer drawings/plan and soil testing which I started. I obtained bids from the three and final bids after the soil testing was complete. Collingwood through their representative-Doug Laufler provided a substantially lower bid. They were clear that they were breaking into this part of the business, and had only done a couple of jobs. After some intense negotiations which included my insistence that they come up with a meaningful warranty, we arrived at a lower price. In late November, we tentatively scheduled the work for January. Doug had suggested this was a three day job unless there was a heavy snowstorm. I needed to reschedule the early January to one week later (1/14), because I took a brief vacation to New Orleans. Doug expressed concerns because he was scheduled to have a double knee replacement on (1/17), but again stated they could get most of the job completed by then. When I returned on the 13th with no phone calls to set up the job, I contacted Collingwood. They did not reach Doug until 1/15, and he promptly claimed that he had never committed to the 1/14 start date. He was very optimistic that he would recover quickly, and that they could start the job 10 -14 days after his surgery was completed. Four weeks later, in mid February, I called asking for Doug and learned that he had a terrible recovery, and had to be re-hospitalized 1-2 times. They settled on the owner-Larry starting the job, and claimed that Doug could assist from a car just off property looking at cell phone pictures. (He could not walk even with a walker up to the house to visually inspect the work in progress.) I learned that Doug was the only person with expertise and any significant experience with basement foundation repair in this company. Of course, Collingwood is a roofing company , not a basement repair and drainage company. They started the excavation, and Larry met with us for the first time that night. He seemed angry and aggressive. They had torn out my old external drain system from the house, so he immediately pressured me to sign a contract, and give him a $3000 deposit for the entire costs for this part of the job, because and quot;he had to bring in a licensed plumberand quot; and was certain that he had to lock in their time. I gave him a check for $6000 to include the $3000 deposit due at startup. I signed this contract with reservations, but had already expected this work was going to need to be done. He then proceeded to request to look at my basement drain tile, and we walked through the entire large basement. He expressed a number of concerns about minor issues suggesting that the other half of my house was also sinking, and would need extensive repair. The next day he brought me out to see the excavation, and pointed out that each of the and quot;weepersand quot; was plugged with dirt. He suggested that this indicated that my drain tile was completely clogged, and would have to be replaced at probably an additional $10,000. I suggested that we will need to run camera's to inspect the drain tile to know that, and told him I would think about it. I promptly spoke with an expert, and learned that the weepers are always plugged, and that there was no evidence that any other part of the drain tile was not functioning except for the one five foot section that we already knew about. I also learned that the costs of re-installing the exterior drainage system is typically included in the price of complete job. My expert also doubted that any additional foundation work due to sinkage was required, because the engineer had already inspected the house in the Fall. It was clear to me that either Larry had no knowledge of basements and drainage systems, or he was being intentionally deceptive in the attempt to up sell unnecessary services to make the profits he felt he deserved. The next day, I met with him and promptly cancelled the $3000 contract (as was my right within three days). I suggested that with his one expert (Doug Laufler) unavailable and because it appeared they were over their heads that perhaps we could alter the main contract to bring in expertise so that they could competently complete their contractual obligations. Larry was of course indignant, and stated they were going forward with the drainage work because he had already committed to the plumber. He bolted out of my house refusing to talk further. I promptly wrote him a letter notifying him that I had cancelled the 2nd contract and required him to return my deposit. I gave him notice that I would hire another contractor to complete the drainage work inside and outside, and that this other contractor would have full access to the work site as my representative to ensure that they competently fulfilled all terms of the original contract. Larry was so indignant that he never spoke with me again. His son, Rich,who was managing the crew took over negotiations, worked out an uneasy agreement with me to complete the job. They continued to apply significant pressure for payment as if they were desperate for my money for the company to survive. They intentionally delayed the job for weeks at a time leaving my entire yard cluttered with garbage for the next two months or so. I found it very strange that they left my house in such hideous condition for so long with their trailer and sign with their company name for all to see. All of my neighbors had serious questions about what was going on when we talked outside once the weather improved. On several occasions, I had to threaten a lawsuit, and eventually threatened an OSHA complaint, because they left on open exposed 12-14 foot wide hole around the left side of my house with a neighborhood full of young kids. Following my threat, they showed further contempt for me by loosely tying up a 25 foot section of a flimsy picket fence to two trees (with open access to the hole on either side). The fence promptly fell over within three days with high winds. Eventually the work on the piers was completed. When Larry's other son refilled the hole, they damaged the external drain system, did a terrible job loosely filling the hole, did not bring it up to grade, and tore up my back yard leaving 2-3 foot gouges where they got their heavy equipment stuck. Even though the job was not finished, and the yard was a disaster, they promptly demanded the large $10,000 payment due for the completion of this phase of the work. Fortunately, Doug Laufler was finally back in action. Doug agreed this was wrong, fixed the drainage system, and brought in another contractor-landscaper who was skilled with excavation work, This independent contractor fixed most of the damage, and left the rest for later in the spring when they were supposed to bring everything to grade, add topsoil, and reseed all damaged areas. Since they completed this work, I made the rest of the $10,000 payment as agreed. In the spring, the independent contractor returned, loosely filled the hole to grade, removed the excess dirt (mostly clay), placed topsoil, groomed all areas, and left me with a bag of grass seed (at my request-because I planned on bringing in another company to fix my lawn. It looked good so I made the final payment. A month later, I discovered significant sinking in the dirt around the foundation in different spots. I also discovered that the landscaper had left little more than a dusting of topsoil (1/4 inch) in all spots not flower beds. This rested on top of mostly clay and easily washed away leaving bare spots, with no topsoil all over half of my yard. There was no point in contesting this because I had already paid them all of the money according to the contract. Finally, another broken promise: Doug Laufler was supposed to deliver the manufacturers warranty shortly after the completion of the job. It required 3-4 phone calls and six weeks before a copy was finally delivered to my door. I will never do business with these people again. The number of lies (large and small) was staggering. I did get foundation piers at an excellent price, but the costs of time, stress, frustration, and the liability they exposed me to with that open hole where someone could have been hurt or killed is clearly not worth it. I should have joined Angie's list and read the many negative reviews about this company and about the owner in particular. I would never have done business with them. Caveat Emptor my friends-- Buyer Beware with Collingwood

Description of Work
Contract was to install 11 helical piers to shore up and raise the sinking foundation on the left side of my home in Amherst. We negotiated a terrific price, so I signed a contract. What followed was appalling efforts by the company owner to upsell this job based on outright deception in the attempt to make "something" on this project "because we are giving this to you for free" (not true either). What followed was an extremely contentious process where I had to threaten lawyers, and reports to OSHA, to get them to do what they said was a three day job completed in 2 and a half months. I had to bring in another contractor (Frank's Basements) to inspect Collingwoods work, and to complete the rest of the necessary work to finish this Basement repair. Please feel free to look at the review I wrote about Frank's Basement's work and posted on this same day.

Category roofing

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2013

5.0

07/23/2013


Basilee E.

I'm very pleased with them. I have recommended them to two people that have also used their services and they were pleased. They've done work for my daughter and for another person I worked with and they were pleased. I'm very satisfied with their service.

Description of Work
I used Collingwood Construction three years ago for roofing.

Category roofing

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2010

3.0

06/26/2013


Peggy D.

Their prices were a little high. That's why I did not go to them. They were a couple of thousand higher than the other places. I though they want to talk me on somethings that I did not really like. But basically, they were okay about this. It was just the salesman that came over. He is the usual salesman type. Their prices are a little high. That's why I decided not to with them.

Description of Work
I got an estimate from Collingwood Construction for a new roof.

Category roofing

Cost $11,000

Work Completed On 04/01/2012

5.0

01/14/2013


James S.

We did have some problems with leaking from rain on an inside wall. They had to come out a couple times to get it fixed, but they saw it through and we are most pleased with everything. Our cellar, which was always damp and musky is now dry and the sump pump works perfectly. I would consider them again and would recommend them.

Description of Work
We had Collingwood do our roof and install Certainteed siding. The roof was complete tear-off for both the house and detached garage. The siding involved a tear-off of the old cedar siding and installation of foam board for insulation and a superior vinyl product that replaced the original material. They also put in a sump pump as well as a trench in the perimeter of our cellar.

Category roofing, siding

Cost $21,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2009

5.0

12/03/2012


LAVERN W.

.The job was delayed at times due to weather conditions. The final clean-up outside could have been a little better but was adequate. I was surprised the crew did not have ladders. They used one of mine.

Description of Work
They removed an old Bilco Door and some deteriorated foundation. Rebuilt the foundation and installed a new door.

Category doors

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/19/2012

5.0

09/25/2012


Rachel R.

They've been excellent! They're prompt to respond to our calls and requests. They've also done excellent work!

Description of Work
They've done roof repair.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2012