Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

YORK ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS Inc.

Founded 1989 • With Angi since February 2006

4.6

(20) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Description

York Electric is a Residential and Commerical NYC licensed Electrical Contracting Company since 1989, bonded and fully insured contracting company. We are Based out of the Flushing Bayside NY area since 1989 We are a family owned and operated NYC Licensed Electrical Contracting Company. Co-Owners and cousins Dennis Karagounis and Dennis Tsicalos personally inspect all projects They have been proudly serving the five boroughs of New York City since 1989, with more than 30 years of experience, a reputation for quality and a team of versatile specialists, we support our clients at every level as they undertake new construction and renovation projects.. Providing high quality expert professional electrical services to residential home owners, building managers, interior designers, corporate clients, construction managers, general contractors, architects and engineers. YORKELECTRICALCONTRACTORSINC. 162-10 Crocheron Ave Flushing NY 11358 Tel: 718-353-7227 Email: yorkelectrical@yahoo.com...

Other local Pros in your area

Blaze Electric Inc

Over 45 years experience and expertise to get the job done right the first time! Blaze Electric Inc. has served the people and businesses of Brooklyn and the surrounding areas with a commitment to service and value. We appreciate your interest and look forward to earning your business. We are licensed and insured and provide 24-hour emergency service.  

Crossland Management & Electric Inc

Crossland Management & Electric, Inc. is your go-to electrical contractor for your home renovations or home remodeling. Our teams are trained and skilled for all your electrical and low-voltage needs. Don't hesitate to ask us a question or inquire as to why a certain process has to take place. Everyone on staff is friendly and knowledgeable because we know what it's like to be in your shoes. We want you to know just how special you and your project are to us, so we do our very best to ensure that you and your needs always come first. We even have a complimentary estimate where we'll come out to you!  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by Crossland Management & Electric Inc  on Angi
D&R Electrical Construction

We take great pride in our extreme professionalism, timeliness and superior customer service on every job. We develop lasting relationship so that the next time service is needed there is no question on who to call. Satisfaction is guaranteed! Call us today!  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by D&R Electrical Construction on Angi

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/25/2020


Elizabeth T.

Dennis changed my fuse box and did an awesome job. Dennis arrived at the house the exact time he quoted, looked at the old fuse box and gave me a price. His price was affordable not to mention reasonable. I immediately hired Dennis to do the job after he succinctly explained the job in detail. Dennis was polite, l prompt, people person and customer friendly. I will recommend Dennis to anyone and certainly hire him should an electrical issue arises again.

Description of Work
Changed fuse box

Category ceiling fans

5.0

01/05/2019


Phaidra T.

I was up all night after an electrician botched the whole job and ruined the wiring for my new dryer. I called Dennis at 3am to leave a message and he called back at 7:30am. He was so understanding and really took the time to talk to me about what I should do about the situation and send he was sending two guys out. They were there within an hour and a half! He gave me a price over the phone after I sent pictures and explained it all. The guys that arrived came in a licensed van and brought all there own equipment. (Which the previous “handyman” did not.) They were extremely polite and professional. They fixed everything PERFECTLY and in a timely manner. I could hardly hear them working either, so quiet! After it was finished they had made sure everything was hooked up correctly and turned on the machines. They went OUT OF THEIR WAY to re do horrible work that was done. Dennis and his guys were amazing and I wouldn’t have anyone else do my electric work again. THANK YOU from the bottom of my Heart!!!

Description of Work
Upgrading an outlet to 220v

Category electrician

5.0

10/25/2018


Jean M.

The providers were outstanding.Dennis came at the time promised to assess the problem and made recommendations. Tommy and his assistant Zeshawn were professional, courteous, and very competent.Five stars for their work!

Description of Work
Relocation on one outlet,installation of another outlet, repair of two fixtures

Category electrician

5.0

07/12/2018


Hamid S.

I own a rental in Queens and needed someone to troubleshoot and fix no power to several rooms. I blindly called this company based on reviews and they were excellent in timely responding and keeping me updated throughout the process. They charged me a fair price and performed the work the same day which was replacing a faulty circuit breaker and GFI outlet. They could have easily taken advantage of me since I was not in town but they obviously care about customer service and reputation. I highly recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
Troubleshoot and resolve no power to outlets

Category electrician

5.0

02/01/2017


charles W.

I have no complaints with their work. A's all the way around.

Description of Work
Replaced fan or light switch.

Category electrician

1.0

11/17/2014


l S.

Electrician was prompt as per appt. I had suggested just trenching into the plaster wall to insert pvc UF cable, to be covered by 1/16and quot; plate to drive accidental drill-in as per my understanding of code but this was summarily dismissed out of hand. Neither here nor there on that and not getting into argument. Was told BX need be used and quote of $580 plus $35 for each of two GFIC outlets was a bit higher (and gt;10%) than others but not far out of range and was ready to go for it given stated experience in neighborhood and paperwork needed by co-op. One outlet, in upper kitchen cabinet rear wall (this wall is part of building, not part of cabinetry) was to be used to plug in outlet strip to be mounted directly under cabinet, line cord going through bottom of cabinet to outlet. I was told immediately this was against code, but no recommendation on how to remediate. Nothing I had read anywhere suggested this was taboo. I also asked what it would cost to have a quad box with two duplex outlets. i was told $60. I know the diffference between a quad and duplex box cant be more than a dollar, he already said the outlet was $35 so how come $60 for the add on. A brusk :and quot;That's what it is.and quot; I was also told it would take 4 hours. I think maybe. After he left I emailed and called twice to ask if two possibilities might resolve the perceived code issue: 1. notch out the bottom of the cabinet and place outlet there at bottom edge so it was not in the cabinet.(I provided photo and diagram) 2. Hard wire the outlet strip (I provided specific model with built in GFIC). By phone I reached and quot;his partnerand quot; who assured me I would hear back. That was thursday. Today is Monday. I have heard nothing. The and quot;attitudinaland quot; experience I encountered is echoed by some of the negatives I have read. But if they are no longer interested in the small job, they should have said so. The partner should not have promised the call back. I am confident in my facts. I look forward to any response. I would not recommend them and if asked would urge to avoid them.

Description of Work
Called for estimate of running two outlets in kitchen from a current outlet box which was going to covered by backsplash tiling (although panel for easy removal of tiles for box access would remain. Essentially it was to add one outlet up about 3', and one down about 3'.

Category electrician

1.0

05/01/2014


Kamil G.

Now, I dont know whats up with this guy but he acted in the most unprofessional manner that I ever encountered and wasted a week of my time since he was the only one I was waiting to get pricing on. I recommend everyone stays away from this scumbag. And yes. I came on this website to share my experience with other customers. Now he's lying in his response to my review stating that I harassed him. Firstly, he never asked me to give him a week. Secondly, he left me a voice mail asking for me to call him, when I did, he cursed me out and hung up the phone. I am the one who was harassed by him, oh and he was late to the meeting... Now I see him saying there was no electrical work going to be done anytime soon, LIES. I came with the drawings showing the 1600amp main and equipment needing to be installed initially to we can have power for the construction crew and their tools! The interior electrical was to be priced separately and he was well aware. This is just an example of a bad contractor trying to justify his bad behavior with lies.

Description of Work
I called in Dennis to price out new electrical service on a new building. He showed up punctually, asked me weird questions as if I knew about electrical, which I couldn't answer since I was expecting him, the licensed electrician to know. He promised to get me an estimate within a few days. Yesterday he left me a voicemail saying that he is still waiting for his supplier to give him material pricing. I called back in the afternoon and to my surprise he tells me "You're not going to giving me the f &^%ng job anyway so stop F %#@$ calling me!" I said, "excuse me, but why would you think such a thing?" he says, "just dont f ^%## call me again" and hangs up the phone. Now, I dont know whats up with this guy but he acted in the most unprofessional manner that I ever encountered and wasted a week of my time since he was the only one I was waiting to get pricing on.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately this is not what happenned with [member name removed]. On April 25 2014 Friday morning I received a call from [member name removed] for an estimate for a new Catering House / Restaurant on Jamaica Ave in Queens NY. I said I could meet him there around 12-1 PM the same day which I did. I arrived to this job site that appeared to be either abandoned or bankrupt. There was an incomplete 30' deep foundation that had steel beam shoring the side wall so they wouldn't cave in, it was very obvious that there would be no electrical work being done any time soon on this project. The 1st floor steel flooring wasn't even installed. I asked [member name removed] what do you need? He said I need power to the the building ASAP. I asked him to show me the approved plans, which he showed them to me with NO ELECTRICAL SPECIFICATIONS OR DRAWING. I tried to explain to [member name removed] that he would need to retain either his Engineer / Architect or a NYC Licensed Electrician to design an electrical system for this tremendous project, he didn't want to hear it and asked me to just price in a 1600-amp 3-phase main service and proceeded to show me this room that wouldn't fit the massive electrical system, never mind the room was 10' from the front wall of the building, which new incoming electrical main services are always on the front wall of the building. There is no way to give a price without an electrical drawing. I told him to give me about a week, and i will try to come up with a budget number even though there were no specifications for anything. April 28, two days after I met with [member name removed], he called looking for a price. I told him I didnt even start the estimate yet, I will call you in about a week with the estimation price. April 29 he called again asking for the price. I told him I gave my supplier the list of equipment needed, and I am waiting to receive his pricing, I will call you when I have everything. April 30 at 7pm at night, he called me again , but this time very angry and annoyed that I didn't have his estimate ready. At this point i had no other choice, I couldn't take the harrassment anymore, I told him to get someone else, I wont be bidding this work, I would rather not do business with you, and please do NOT call me again! I guess after that he felt the need to come on this website and trash me for doing nothing wrong, and going there and offering my free services. We at York Electric thrive on customer service and have been doing so since 1989. We apologize for any misunderstandings that this member feels happened.
5.0

12/13/2013


Georgette C.

They were very call. He was excellent and he came right away.

Description of Work
He fixed my electrical wires.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank You for the great review.
5.0

11/18/2013


Marlene V.

Electrician was very professional and completed the job.

Description of Work
Replaced circuit breakers that were no longer working.

Category electrician

2.0

09/18/2013


Nancy P.

When I spoke to York Electric on the phone to set up the appointment I explained that a kitchen cieling light fixture was not working and that I had a new fixture that I wanted installed in it's place. The spokesperson on the phone was very nice and positive and assured me that if light fixture could be installed the work would be done. The job was charged hourly. The electrician who showed up got the light on with the old fixture in place in approx. 15 mins. When I asked him about putting up the new fixture, he said he couldn't do it, it was too involved and would take too long maybe 3 or 4 hours and cost $600. Frankly, it was difficult to get this much from him he was in such a hurry to be gone. And why not...he made his money as you know it's the first hour that is the most expensive. The next week an electrician from another company installed the light fixture easy peesy in just over an hour. Great, only I ended up paying two expensive first hour payments for the same job while York Electric made out. It's more profitable to run from one job to another just doing the minimum and collecting on just the first hour...you can draw your own conclusions...

Description of Work
The electrician got a light fixture to turn on

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

The Service call we charged you was for the repair you received, I believe we explained the fee prior to coming ou and repair the fixture. We couldn't hang the new fixture legally or according to the NEC Electrical Code with out replacing the junction box and repair the existing old wires in the ceiling the estimate for that repair was for six hundred which included travel time for East side of NYC and parking fees. Not sure what the other electrician did different, and the charge. We at York Electric Est 1989 thrive on customer satisfaction, if you ever need service again we would like to offer you a 20% discount. Sincerely, Dennis

    Services Offered

    York Electric is a fully licensed, bonded and insured contractors Company. With more than 30 years of experience, a reputation for quality and a team of versatile specialists, we support our clients at every level as they undertake new construction and renovation projects. Among our specialized services are: - Residential Specialist - Service Upgrades 100 - 200 Amps - 24-Hour Emergency Service- Air Conditioning Wiring - Single & Multi-Family Wiring

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes