Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

MONTAUK RUG & CARPET CO

Founded 1925 • With Angi since January 2006

Two locations. 24th Street in manhattan and Large warehouse store in farmingdale, Long Island. In business for 85 years

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
no
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.4

(25) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 25 reviews
Angela C.
5.0
03/24/2016
unknown
Description of Work
We got an area rug made from their Mohawk line. It took about 2 weeks (which is what they projected). It turned out nice and the quality is great.
Category
carpet installation
Joseph W.
4.0
12/03/2015
unknown
Category
carpet installation
Barry D.
5.0
11/03/2015
Everyone at Montauk carpet was very professional from the salesperson to the person who measured to the installers. We went multiple times because we could not figure out the color for our daughter's room. They allowed us to bring home pieces of carpets and samples to help us match up the color best. Everything came out great and they beat others prices.
Description of Work
We had our daughter's bedroom carpeted and a runner on the stairs. With the extra carpet from the runner we had a rug made for our living room
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
Devanshu S.
4.0
01/14/2015
.
Description of Work
Purchased carpet.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
Barbara H.
5.0
10/20/2014
They were very professional. They had a tremendous selection.
Description of Work
They did a stair runner.
Category
carpet installation
Aaron S.
5.0
06/27/2014
unknown
Description of Work
we bought a remnant and had it made into one area rug, one runner, and one mat. great deal, very helpful service. have used them before and will use them again.
Category
carpet installation
Stephanie S.
4.0
06/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Getting carpet runner installed in 2 days. So far experience has been good. They have a very large selection of runners in the showroom.
Category
carpet installation
Howard C.
4.0
06/10/2014
Found a better carpet match for what we wanted
Description of Work
Estimates on carpeting
Category
carpet installation
Lark C.
5.0
04/22/2014
unknown
Description of Work
replaced water damaged carpet. arrived on time, product was good, service was fine.
Category
carpet installation
William H.
4.0
05/15/2013
We went to the show room in Farmingdale and selected a carpet for our bed room. The salesman told us it would take a about a week after the floor was measured. They came with in a few days to measure the room. The next day they called with the exact price and again said it would take about a week. After almost two weeks we did not hear anything. We called them and they expected the carpet in a few days. and would install it two days later. Several days later I called again to see where it was. They told me they would have the salesperson check on it and call me back. The next day He called and informed me there was a delay at the mill and it will be a few more weeks. A week later they called me back. The carpet came in sooner than predicted. A few days later they came to install it. The two gentlemen that came to install it could not be better. They were pleasant to work with and the did a great job. They cleaned up after they finished and left the room perfect. They did an excellent job. We are completely satisfied. Although we were upset about a month delay, We give Montauk Carpet the benefit of the doubt. The problem was at the mill and not them. We purchased carpet there once before, many years ago and everything was fine. I would recommend them. Their installation service could not be better.
Description of Work
Purchase and installation of carpet
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
glenn K.
5.0
02/25/2013
They were fine. I had no problems. They came when they said they would and did everything okay. They laid the rug nicely. We had the sectional couch and when they moved the furniture, they didn't really attach it all back together when they put it back. They just put it back in the corner. It's so heavy that we haven't been able to do it. But, they did what they said and it appears to be a nice carpet. I haven't had any problems with it. I don't think that they are inexpensive but I believe that they knew what they were doing and I think they have been there for a while. They have a very nice selection.
Description of Work
Montauk Rug & Carpet installed new rugs for us.
Category
carpet installation
Lisa S.
5.0
02/13/2013
I thought the installation was excellent. The guys were just really, really good. I'd never seen an installation done and they were just really good. They were very nice. I would use them again if I needed to but this carpet is going to last forever. This is commercial carpet in a residence. I won't be doing it again for a long time. I did a lot of research. It's the only way to go, getting carpet put down you have to move so much stuff that you really don't want to do it that often.
Description of Work
I got wall to wall carpet from Montauk Rug & Carpet about 6 months ago.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
Joan C.
5.0
09/12/2012
They were on time and the men were delightful.
Description of Work
They put in some carpeting.
Category
carpet installation
Valerie S.
5.0
05/14/2012
The sales staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. The clerk that wrote up my order was rather brusque, and the man who brought the rug to us at the loading area was not helpful in putting the rug into the car. Hence, the lower grade on and quot;professionalismand quot; I shopped around a lot and found that Montauk had the best prices for what I was looking for by a significant margin. I have recommended them to others and would buy from them again.
Description of Work
I purchased a room-size area rug and picked it up at the store.
Category
carpet installation
Marguerite R.
5.0
04/10/2012
They installed my new carpet. I had used them before. They seem knowledgeable. They seem fair in their representation of cost. They are willing to spend the time to give me recommendations. They explain things, and give me rough estimates. I trusted them.
Description of Work
I used them for carpet installation.
Category
carpet installation
CAROL L.
1.0
10/16/2007
I didn't go through with the work based on the "customer service" displayed in the store; I'm glad I didn't. Made me wonder what would have happened if I had gone through with the carpet installation and then had a problem. This store needs to work on customer service.
Description of Work
I shopped and chose carpet that was in stock. The next day I decided to cancel the order (nothing was done by Montauk no measuring, ordering, nada, zilch). I called the store to find out how to cancel and was told to come in and see the cashier. When I arrived at the store the cashier was EXTREMELY rude to me and advised that since "my" salesman was off today no credit could be processed (odd, since the salesman had written up the order yesterday, and then directed me to the cashier who processed the deposit). Having no intention of again driving out to their store to get my credit card credited I asked to speak to the manager. The cashier called the manager on the phone and said I wanted a credit and was displaying "an attitude". The cashier then told me to sit down and wait for the manager. After about 15 minutes the manager did appear and process the credit as requested. What happened to the "customer is always right??" Based on this experience I wouldn't shop this store.
Category
carpet installation
ANTHONY D.
5.0
05/02/2007
This company is a top-notch business. The quality of their work is unmatched. We were impressed with the quickness and neatness of their work. They didn't leave any mess at all. Their professionalism is also great. We are very satisfied with our new carpet.
Description of Work
The Montauk Rug & Carpet Company laid carpet in our bedroom. This room is 10' x 13'. We took up the old floor and moved the furniture ourselves. The price came in right at their estimate.
Category
carpet installation
DAVID S.
2.0
02/12/2007
The selection and price were good but the sales and installation departments were a horror. The work was done over a couple of days. Some of the installers refused to move furniture. Another time they brought the wrong carpet and when we pointed it out they tried to convince us it was what was the carpet we ordered. They then brought back the carpet and left us with a bare floor. Another room they installed the carpet incorrectly and had to come back.
Description of Work
We had four bedrooms, a den, and playroom carpeted.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
ANDREA P.
5.0
10/06/2006
Vinny was very helpful when I went in to select the carpet that met my needs. He came and measured on a Sunday, on his way to work. Somehow though, he forgot to add in the steps and the hallway when calculating the measurements. When the crew arrived to do the rip up, they realized that not enough carpet had been ordered and were able to catch the error in time and ordered the remaining amount. I wasn't charged for the rip up and was given a discount on the price of the carpet that I chose as a result. They did a great job. They were professional and came on time. The carpet looks great and is exactly what I ordered. It was a pleasure working with everyone as they were extremely courteous, attentive and professional.
Description of Work
They completely ripped up and handled the disposal of my old carpet and installed of new wall to wall carpet and new padding.
Category
carpet installation
ALLAN M.
4.0
03/06/2006
THIS COMPANY HAS A GOOD SELECTION OF PRODUCTS. THE WORKERS ALWAYS SHOW UP FOR THEIR SCHEDULED APPOINTMENTS. I WAS VERY SATISFIED WITH THE FINISHED PRODUCT.
Description of Work
I PURCHASED THE CARPET AND THEY INSTALLED IT WALL TO WALL.
Category
carpet installation
5.0
03/06/2006
THE WORK WAS DONE IN A EXCELLENT MANNER. THE CARPET LOOKS WONDERFUL AND I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE WORK AS IT WAS BEING DONE. THE COMPANY DID A VERY GOOD JOB IN A PROFESSIONAL MANNER.
Description of Work
CARPET WAS INSTALLED IN TWO ROOMS, STAIRS AND FOYER.
Category
carpet installation
4.0
03/02/2006
I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY. THEY DID A EXCELLENT JOB ON THE CARPET. THE WORKERS THAT WERE SENT OUT WERE VERY RESPONSIVE AND PROFESSIONAL.
Description of Work
THEY PUT DOWN CARPET IN THE DEN.
Category
carpet installation
5.0
03/02/2006
THESE SERVICE GUYS WERE QUIT PROFESSIONAL TO WORK WITH. WE HAD CHANGED OUR MIND ON THE TYPE OF CARPET AND THEY DID NOT MIND. PLUS THERE WERE NO HIDDEN CHARGES OR EXTRA FEES.
Description of Work
WE HAD TWO ROOMS OF CARPET INSTALLED. ONE VERY LARGE ROOM AND ONE SMALL ROOM.
Category
carpet installation
randy H.
1.0
03/01/2006
THE JOB TOOK TOO LONG. THEN IT APPEARED IT WASN'T INSTALLED PROPERLY, WHICH THEY DENIED. THERE WERE ALSO SCRATCHES, WHICH WERE BLAMED ON US OR THE DOG. THERE WAS DUST ALL OVER THE PLACE, BUT WAS NOT CLEANED UP. WHEN I TRIED TO CONTACT THEM MY CALLS WERE NOT RETURNED.
Description of Work
THE CARPETING AND PADDING WAS REMOVED FROM THE LIVING ROOM AND HARDWOOD FLOORING WAS INSTALLED.
Category
hardwood floor
Marie B.
4.0
01/30/2006
THEY ARE A REASONABLE COMPANY. THEY TOOK CARE OF US IN A PROFESSIONAL WAY. THE CARPET IS A VERY GOOD QUALITY and WE ARE VERY HAPPY WITH THE WAY IT LOOKS.
Description of Work
I BOUGHT CARPETS FROM THEM.
Category
carpet installation

Other Information

Services offered

CARPET SECTION, AREA RUG SECTION, TILE SECTION, AND REMENANT SECTION.

Services not offered

hardwood and Laminate

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

MONTAUK RUG & CARPET CO is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

MONTAUK RUG & CARPET CO is open:

Sunday: 12:00 PM - 5:00 AM

Monday: 10:00 AM - 9:00 AM

Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 9:00 AM

Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 9:00 AM

Thursday: 10:00 AM - 9:00 AM

Friday: 10:00 AM - 9:00 AM

Saturday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 AM

MONTAUK RUG & CARPET CO accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, MONTAUK RUG & CARPET CO offers free project estimates.

No, MONTAUK RUG & CARPET CO does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, MONTAUK RUG & CARPET CO does not offer a senior discount.

No, MONTAUK RUG & CARPET CO does not offer warranties.

MONTAUK RUG & CARPET CO offers the following services: CARPET SECTION, AREA RUG SECTION, TILE SECTION, AND REMENANT SECTION.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Palermo Flooring Inc

4.0

(90)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Palermo Flooring Inc

Palermo Flooring Inc. was founded in 2006 by Matthew Bruno in New York, the current president. We are a family owned and operated business that has been serving the Tri-State area with all their hardwood flooring needs for years. We take pride in our work and guarantee excellent craftsmanship, dedicated service, and competitive prices. Palermo Flooring Inc. specializes in all aspects of hardwood flooring including, installations, refinishing, borders, inlays, custom stains, restoration, and repairs. We also have the capability to supply our customers with the finest quality of hardwood flooring such as unfinished and prefinished hardwood flooring as well as exotic woods that we can custom design. We are fully licensed, bonded and insured.  

Diamond Flooring

5.0

(24)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Diamond Flooring

Our goal is to provide you with information, products and services for maintaining your hardwood floors. Diamond Flooring is a family owned business that has been serving the Long Island, New York area since 1995. We install and refinish over 250 floors per year and have been showcased in the Parade of Homes. We specialize in all types of hardwood flooring. We also specialize in exotic woods, inlays, and borders. Through this website we provide cleaning products, chair pads, and useful tips for your hardwood floors.  

Class Carpet Floor & Home

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Class Carpet Floor & Home

1 Year Interest Free Financing. Family owned since 1989, Class Carpet Floor & Home is the leading service provider for ALL types of Flooring, Rugs, Window Treatments, Hardwood Floor Refinishing and Kitchen & Bath. We're well known for our personalized service, top-notch install team and products & services to satisfy every preference and budget. Specializing in: -ALL Types of Flooring, Rugs & Carpeting -ALL Types of Window Treatments -Wood Floor Refinishing -Area Rugs -Carpet, Rug, & Upholstery Cleaning -Interior Painting -Kitchen & Bath