FITCH CONSTRUCTION, Inc. & the Fitch Design Studio

About

Founded 1987 • With Angi since July 2006

Fitch Construction, Inc. is a 35 year old remodeling company serving the Rochester NY and Buffalo NY regions. Fitch Construction carries America's most trusted name brands in home remodeling: Four Seasons Sunrooms, Andersen windows & doors, Sunrise windows & doors, Velux Skylights & Sun Tunnels,

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

3.3

(30) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

10

4

3

3

2

2

8

1

7

Rating Details

Price

3.6

Professionalism

3.4

Punctuality

3.5

Quality

3.5

Responsiveness

3.2

Read reviews by category

window replacement (14)skylight installation (9)patio enclosures (8)door installation (4)decks & porches (2)basement remodeling (1)home remodeling (3)ceiling fan installation (3)roofing (3)woodworking (2)insulation (2)gutter repair (2)
Showing 1-25 of 30 reviews
5.0

09/28/2022


Gary C.

Excellent, the repair was thorough and professional. Service person ensured he was careful going into attic and vacuumed and cleaned area afterwards.

Description of Work
Repair of sun light tunnel in bathroon

Category skylights, ceiling fans

Cost $170

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/28/2022

5.0

07/08/2022


Gerald S.

Great. Our skylight was leaking. Finch replaced our skylight, it has been over a year and not one drop of water. We will call Fitch first, if we need any repairs or if we do any improvements in our home

Description of Work
skylight replaced

Category skylights

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this review. We were happy to help. We're so glad your Skylight is now doing what it should - provide you with beautiful sunlight without causing worry when it rains.
5.0

06/16/2022


MaryLynn D.

Installers were very professional and did a great job installing our new basement double door package. Project Manager was also on the job making sure everything was done correctly. Great job Fitch Team!

Description of Work
Basement Door

Category doors

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/24/2022

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] - Thank you for the kind words. We're so glad you love your new door!
1.0

06/07/2021


Joseph G.

Badly. The initial work was done in 2017. Problems with installers and poor workmanship. Some response in 2018 after much delay. Leaks developed in 2020. New representative indicated that original install was done incorrectly. After much delay one skylight was reflashed. Representative warned that the others were also installed incorrectly. I have been trying to get repair since fall 2020. Nothing but promises. It's now June 2021. More leaks and I still don't have a correction date.

Description of Work
replace 3 skylights

Category skylights

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2017

1.0

10/05/2020


Rick C.

Please understand this is a review of Fitch's dealings with me. Others hopefully have had a better experience. I suspect due to the relatively low price of my project I fall at the low end of their priority list. My opinion is if there were another zero in the cost of my project I would not have had the experience I did. In short, on a 5 point scale with 5 being the best, I would rate my experience as follows: COMMUNICATION: 1 SERVICE: 1 QUALITY OF WORK: 3 QUALITY OF PRODUCT: 1 OVERALL EXPERIENCE: 2 I have tried to be patient and understanding. However, a product I was promised in late July 2019 was not installed until September 2019. I was able to use the product about 6 weeks before closing that home. Upon opening my home in mid May 2020, I was able to use it as designed for another 6 weeks or so. By manually controlling the screen position with the remote, I got another month or so. It took over a month (from 6/23 until 7/27) to have a tech come out. Tech attempts to fix the screen resulted in what was believed to be a burned out motor and the screen has since been inoperable. I no longer get any response to my emails. I essentially have a $4,700 hanging screen on my front porch, held in place by some of my own wood clamps. At this point, the company has a LOT of work to do to not only fix/replace the screen but to regain my trust. If I read it correctly, the warranty will run out in a few weeks. I would hate to think I would lose out on having a defective product addressed because of a history of lack of action by Fitch. No matter what, this is approaching the end of a second summer I have been unable to use the screen. UPDATE: I am so disgusted with the office support I will be contacting an attorney to determine if I can take legal action! In short, I explained the residence in which the screen was installed was seasonal. They sent a technician out once a month to attempt to fix the screen. The first time the tech burned out the motor. The second time they sent some poor tech with no training/experience to attempt a fix. He found a problem with the frame. Long story short over the course of 3½ months they were unable to fix the problem. Now I am told they need to contact the manufacturer for MORE replacement parts (motor, end support bracket and now screen channels). They are essentially telling me sorry you haven't been able to use this screen this summer, but it is under warranty and the manufacturer has to send replacement parts and walk a tech through the install process. In MAY 2021!!!! They are telling me it isn't their problem but the manufacturer. However, they sold me the screen, took my payments and have sent techs to fix the problem. I am hoping for good news from my attorney as this has reached the point I want them to take the screen away and refund my money.

Description of Work
Motorized retractable screen

Category awnings

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2020

2.0

09/11/2020


aniko M.

The company completed the install of a Four Seasons room addition to our house on August 12, 2020. Since the install, we have had numerous leaks which resulted in wood damage, and in some areas rotted wood was covered over without replacing. First on August 18th, our flooring installers exposed the water barrier membrane around the perimeter of the room to begin the tiling, which revealed soaking wet, rotting wood. This wood is 32 years old from when the original sunroom was built and it supports the entire room. In my opinion, for $100 in wood this should have been replaced. ( tiling is cancelled the first time) On August 21, the production manager came out to look at the damage. He cut out a piece of the wood which showed considerable rot on the top and the bottom of the wood.. He said exactly "that the wood still has some meat to it" and the solution was to take down the room and replace the rotted wood, which he said they have no intention of doing. Apparently water got trapped under the water shield barrier around the perimeter of the room as it was exposed to the elements for a week or so during the rebuild process. No real explanation was given as to why this happened other than its very unusual, and we were told to run fans and a dehumidifier. I am just hopeful that its integrity hasn't been compromised and that we don't have issues down the road,The most recent leak became apparent on September 4, 2020 after a heavy rain, which has caused further delays to our construction schedule ( had to cancel tiling again). As there were new water stains around a wrapped wooden support beam, we decided to remove the metal to see where the water is coming from. The beam was completely rotted and soaked and we found out that each time it rains the metal wrap around the beam had disguised the leak. It was so deteriorated that you could put your hand through it. I had to hire a contractor to replace it immediately as I feared the structural integrity was compromised. Now we are on standby, waiting for the company to respond , have someone come and repair the room to eliminate the leaks. Meanwhile our floor installer, electrician, painter, and carpenter is kept in limbo. We have sent several emails, texts and left voice messages for the owner and the production manager and have received no response for 4 days now.

Description of Work
Sunroom installation

Category awnings, sunrooms

Cost $43,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2020

Images

Review for FITCH CONSTRUCTION, Inc. & the Fitch Design Studio - 7278 Pittsford Palmyra Rd. Rt. 31, Fairport, NY - 38866451

+4 More

2.0

08/07/2018


John B.

We saw them at a home show and they were highly recommended. They were very prompt in calling to set up an appointment. Dave came out and spent time discussing our project and what we were hoping to accomplish. He had some great ideas and seemed enthusiastic about the job. We were supposed to see him "next week, same time" and he never showed. We waited another week and still nothing. Called and spoke to Terry, who scheduled our appointment and she assured us he would give us a call. It has been months and we have never heard from him again. Like the other reviews stated......a simple phone call, email or conversation would have been a more professional way to handle the situation. Fitch is not looking for new business.

Description of Work
Requested an estimate

Category remodeling

Work Completed On 04/02/2018

2.0

09/27/2017


Steven B.

No work was performed. I requested a quote and the response was very prompt. Dave came out and we had a great conversation about the details that my wife and I were looking for in a sunroom. I had asked when we could expect a follow-up with a quote and was told a few weeks. Over the course of a month with three additional calls where I was told he would call me back that day- nothing. I finally received an emailed quote after the third call for a price on par with a Tesla that came in at over double competitive quotes. When I inquired about what he thought was driving such a large quote, I received no response back. Experience wise- I wouldn't recommend if follow-up/follow-through are important to you when you are paying for a service like this. Service should be prompt. Even if the quote wasn't ready, a follow-up on a new date and brief explanation would have been more ideal than nothing. I'm hopeful that the price I was quoted isn't what customers would actually pay and was due to him not wanting the job. Either way, an honest timely conversation would have made the experience much better.

Description of Work
Quote for new sunroom

Category replacement windows, skylights, sunrooms

Cost $58,000

Work Completed On 09/27/2017

1.0

05/31/2017


Lisa T.

Mikes qupte was MORE than double the other two quotes. He was very abrupt with me on the phone and a m onth later he still has not sent a new estimate.

Description of Work
An complete rebuild on our house starting at the frame and foundation.

Category remodeling

2.0

02/16/2017


Connie C.

The remodeling was hampered by poor follow through. One set of employees would start, then be replaced by employees who had no knowledge of the job. Workmanship was very shoddy. We had 6 windows added to our room. One single window and 4 sets of double. One of the double windows was not level and tipped to one side! We had to point it out to the contractor! The single window had to be rehung as there was a problem there too. Electrical outlets not attached to studs, still have one of the windows we can't use. We can open it, but it won't close. Many other problems. Contacted many times.....but no one has come to fix problems! Year after year after year.

Description of Work
An enclosed porch was turned into a sunroom.

Category drywall, replacement windows, woodworking, ceiling fans, sunrooms

Cost $24,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/16/2017

5.0

03/15/2016


dessie H.

Fitch Construction did a full kitchen remodel for us. We don't have enough words to express how much we love the new kitchen. The design they came up with proved much needed room and cabinet space, while still adhering to the same space. Paul and his team did a beautiful job. They were always on time, courteous and pleasant. We also had a small, full bathroom placed in the basement. This replaced our "Harry Potter" toilet. Literally, a toilet under the stairs. When minor snags happened, they were discussed and fixed with ease. All our questions were answered in a timely fashion. We highly recommend Fitch Construction for your next project.

Description of Work
Full kitchen remodel. Add full bathroom to basement

Category remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2016

3.0

05/15/2015


Dan V.

They are a big promise lousy outcome business. In the long run they fixed the problems, I hope. Customer service was terrible. Salesman promised a lot but the outcome was full of unicorns and puppy dog tails. I do love my sunroom but Fitch Construction is not the way to go.

Description of Work
Installed a four season sunroom.

Category replacement windows

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2012

Service Provider Response

Often times in a home there are pre existing situations that need to be addressed like flooded back yards and the extreme need for drainage. We recommended these things however we were not permitted to do anything about non scope items.
5.0

11/24/2014


Daniel & Melissa G.

After the sale we were given a round about date and as the date approached we still had not heard from them. We called the offices three times before finally getting confirmation of the install date. The day of install the team for to our gone and realized the salesperson didn't give them all of the details for then to bring proper tools. We reschedule. The day of they called to confirm they were headed out and Josh and Ryan did an amazing job! They were professional, very knowledgeable, super nice and took great care with our floors and furniture. They did a great job cleaning up after they completed the job! We would definitely use them again!

Description of Work
Installed two skylights

Category roofing, replacement windows, skylights

Cost $4,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

1.0

06/19/2014


Mary Ellen M.

We were really dissatisfied with them. It was the worst experience ever. It leaked and the attitude of the people that were here wasn't good. They broke off part of our driveway. The list is long. It was a disaster from beginning to end. Their responsiveness was awful. They made it seem like it was our fault that it was leaking. It was supposed to be weeks and it took months to finish. We got other estimates. We would never, ever, ever use them again.

Description of Work
We used Fitch Construction to put on a 3 season sunroom. It was a porch that they constructed into a 3 season room.

Category remodeling, sunrooms

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2013

Service Provider Response

The McDowell's existing Screen room conversion was a three sided room conversion with an existing roof. This existing roof had several valleys commencing over the converted sunroom. We were hired to install a 'walls-under' section to the existing structure. Often times in a room conversion (Screen Room to 3 season sun room) there are different floors, walls and roofs that need to be re specified to the new use of the room. We had a driveway company repair the damage caused by the dumpster. After completing the punch list we left on good terms.
5.0

06/14/2014


Penelope N.

I spent about $28000. They are reliable, they were on time for the work, they cleaned up after themselves each day and they were pleasant. They were her for about 6 to 8 weeks because it was a major job. The head guy was doing all the plumbing an electrical and he had a helper.

Description of Work
I used Fitch Construction Inc 3 years ago and then I used them again to almost rebuild a complete bathroom. It was more of a laundry room and they re-did it into a handicap bathroom a year and a half ago.

Category replacement windows, home remodeling

Cost $28,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2011

2.0

05/07/2014


Beth S.

Back in November we contracted with Fitch to install a new sliding glass door and new kitchen floor. We initially agreed to go with Fitch because they told us they partnered with Messner flooring and financing would be provided. We were told that once our door was installed about a week later they would install our floor. When that time came and went, we found out that Fitch had dropped Messner (without our knowledge or Messner's) and we were introduced to another subcontractor that would be installing our floor. In addition, we found out at that time that our floor had not even been ordered. After numerous phone calls to Fitch and the subcontractor, the floor was finally delivered to our home on 1/31/13. Mind you, the door was installed on 11/25/13. The floor was finally completed on 1/8/14 by VanCott Flooring but it was installed incorrectly. Fitch confirmed that the floor had been installed incorrectly. During this whole ordeal, we were never contacted by the owner of Fitch or the sales person we had dealt with originally. From here, the process starts all over again. We "interviewed" several "new" subcontractors to have another floor installed. After all this time, the pattern we had picked out was no longer available. At this point, we are now faced with taking more time off from work to have the second floor installed. Our floor is finally done. After all of this, we have been informed that we will not be receiving a discount of any kind to account for the amount of time invested in getting this project completed due to their shoddy workmanship ? not to mention the amount of stress we endured through this process. Fitch came to this decision after taking VanCott to court, only to have their claim (and his counter-claim) dismissed. They feel that they've lost enough money on this project. Apparently that is their only concern at this point and making things right with their clients is obviously not a priority. Especially noticed when Fitch sent out someone to install a lock on our screen door (something left out of the original installation), the person wasn't there 3 minutes and was asking me about the signed financing paperwork. So just like that, payment is expected. We wait 5 months to have this project completed and before this service call is even started they are looking for payment. I hope the service person relays my exact message back to Fitch. If you decide to use Fitch, which I would strongly advise against, do your research first. Research your contractors and subcontractors and ask for references.

Description of Work
Installed new sliding glass door and hired a subcontractor to install a new vinyl floor.

Category replacement windows

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/11/2014

2.0

03/29/2014


Connie C.

But after that, it goes downhill. Had to have them redo several windows...one pair not even level! Several of our Thanksgiving guests commented on that! Had another contractor come in and and fix several drywall problems. At least one outlet was never even grounded! One of the new windows would not close. Called them to repair this window. Manager said part would be ordered and would call when received. Waited over a month with no response. So I called...Just came in that day....yeah right. Worker came out to repair, but not right part. Right part would be ordered and we would receive a call to come out. This was in August I believe. Here it is March and no call. Granted we do not need the window open now, but how about August, September, October and November? Called them at the end of January 2014 for info specific to windows for energy tax credit for our taxes and to check on the repair our broken window initially reporte in July 2013. Matt did send the certificate we needed but not with the cost of the windows which was also requested at the same time. We called again in February for the cost of the windows and info on the July 2013 window repair. Here it is March 2014......no response at all. Indicative of the carelessness of some of their employees is the time I came home and the mulch outside this sunroom was burning. Probably from a carelessly discarded cigarette. (We don't smoke,) Lesson learned????? Get references and see their work in person.

Description of Work
We love the "Four Seasons" windows!

Category replacement windows

Cost $24,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2012

4.0

03/17/2014


Christopher D.

Impressed with the Fitch representative we met with especially his professionalism, knowledge, and commitment to complete the project from obntaining approval from the town government to completing the construction. Will definitely contact Fitch when we are ready to have the addition constructed.

Description of Work
It turned out that we could not proceed with the addition to the house, after our initial meeting with the Fitch representative. When we are at the point of being able to move forward we will contact and discus with Fitch.

Category replacement windows

Cost $75,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2013

2.0

12/07/2013


Ron D.

It was about July 19 before any work began and then only the entrance door was installed by a subcontractor. When I asked about the storm windows and storm door I was told that the storm windows were sent back because they were the wrong size and the storm door was sent with them. At this time I decided to upgrade the storm door since it had been sent back and I was told that I would have to pay the difference between the cost of the ordered door and the upgraded door I would also be charged a restocking fee because I changed the door. The work done to install the entrance door was horrible. The door was not installed straight there were gaps on the sides of the door through which light from outside could be seen inside. Foam insulation was supposed to be installed but the subcontractor used fiberglass insulation instead. The wrong door hardware was used (We ordered Brass and they installed a Brushed Nickel). The door did not close right and we could not lock it. The subcontractor had to come out and do some filing on the deadbolt so that we could lock the door. About August 7 when the subcontractor came back to install the storm windows and storm door they had to first completely remove the entrance door to correct the many faults on the door installation and change the hardware to Brass. The storm window installation went fine however they brought the wrong storm door and had to go and get the correct one. The storm door installation was horrible, there were gaps along the edges and top of the door and the door closers weren't aligned correctly. The handle of the door was not centered on the door latch. Fitch construction sent out an inspector to check the work and he found other items of which I wasn't aware. The storm door had to be replaced and another door was ordered. The subcontractor installed the new storm door and again it was not installed correctly and the closers would make the door slam shut. I was pointing out to the subcontractor all the problems I saw with the door and was told that I was too nitpicky. I called Fitch and asked to have the Service Manager and the Inspector to come out together for the final check on the work. About September 18 they came out inspected the job and made the final corrections themselves. I was told that because of the many problems I've had with the work they were going to waive the restocking fee on the door and give me a whole $50.00 dollars off the total price. At this time I asked for the owner's manual for the storm door and the energy efficient entrance door also the cost of just the entrance door minus the installation costs for tax purposes. I was told that they would mail it out the next day. After many phone calls I received the owner's manual for the storm door on about the 9th of November. Still no information on the cost of the entrance door or an owner's manual. Their subcontractor definitely deserves an F for the work they did. Because of all the phone calls necessary, missed appointments, canceled appointments, unreturned phone calls, the fact that they only gave me $50.00 dollars off for all my aggravation, still not having the information I need and it taking 3 months to complete the actual work, I would give Fitch a C. Combining the subcontractor's work ethic and Fitch's response I have given them a rating of D.

Description of Work
I hired Fitch Construction to install 2 storm windows an entrance door and a storm door on 6/18/2013.

Category replacement windows, doors

Cost $2,320

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/07/2013

2.0

07/24/2013


Margaret B.

We asked for an estimate to repair storm damage to a three season room. While they showed up in a timely manner to review the job and promised an estimate within a few days, we never heard from them again.

Description of Work
showed up for an estimate

Category remodeling

Work Completed On 07/12/2013

1.0

05/26/2013


Michael A.

The simple unprofessional nature of this company is what led me to post this review.

Description of Work
I called for a Sunroom estimate. The contractor made the first appointment to review our needs. They also followed up in a little over a week with an initial estimate. After discussing and making revisions I have not heard from them. I have left 4 voicemails both on cell phones and at the office as well as attempting to email them for a revised proposal.

Category sunrooms

Work Completed On 04/26/2013

Service Provider Response

Your budget of $18,000 was too low for what you wanted to do. We professionally told you this at the first meeting however you told us to go back and 'sharpen' our numbers.
5.0

02/28/2013


Michele S.

Fitch Construction Inc did a phenomenal job. They were very conscientious, they did great quality work, they were fantastic with the clean up, did everything on time, were very attentive, and the sunroom has been my favorite room since they did it. The work crew were very, very nice guys, tried to be unobtrusive, and were very good about not spreading their mess to the rest of the house. If you need to have people working in your house for several days Fitch Construction Inc was wonderful. The only setback was that the original quote when up a little bit because they saw some problems once they started the work but it was certainly not anything unreasonable. They were a little bit more pricey than some of your more generic sunroom companies but the quality was worth it. I really lucked out in choosing them and I'm very, very pleased.

Description of Work
Fitch Construction Inc rebuilt a deck, put on a sunroom addition to my house,

Category ceramic tile, decks, handyman service, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, interior designers, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, sunrooms