Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc.

Founded 2004 • With Angi since January 2010

4.8

(86) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13 S Kelly Ave

Endwell, NY 13760

Description

Homeowners and business owners alike can depend on us for prompt, quality service and maintenance. We believe in creating long-lasting relationships with our customers, that is why our Technicians will give you an Up-Front Price, before beginning the repairs. We feel it is important to treat your home as if it were our own, call us today and see for yourself!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/06/2020


Michael I.

Excellent job at a very reasonable price

Description of Work
Furnace repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

5.0

01/20/2020


bob P.

it went well. i had recently purchased a water-purification system from a manufacturer and needed installation of said system. i had response from 2 possible installers, i chose the highest rated local installer. they were responsive, on-time, and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
install a water purification system

Category plumbing, water softeners

5.0

05/19/2019


Joyce T.

Work done on time and for a fair price. Sales representative, Evan, was extremely knowledgeable and explained everything very well. Was able to give us the price including everything the day he came out. Installation crew was wonderful. They did a great job! I can’t praise Artic Bear enough! Even received a Thank you for your business” card👍🏻😊!

Description of Work
Replaced 30 year old boiler and installed indirect heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/03/2019


john S.

Full explanation of the work to be done. They were able to schedule the work quickly. Installers were knowledgeable and great to work with. Will use them for plumbing and HVAC needs in the future.

Description of Work
Replacement of gas boiler

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/26/2018


D R.

The service technician listened to the entire problematic history that I have encountered since a new oil tank was installed early last Spring. He spent quite a bit of time familiarizing himself with the current layout explaining the restrictive issue that has developed, proposed a solution and the work is scheduled for the first week in November. This was the first assessment that went beyond just replacing "parts" of which I have replaced in all four pumps between both devices. Once the solution has been implemented, a second rating should be filled out. The assessment cost was reasonable especially for the amount of time the service technician spent explaining what has occurred.

Description of Work
Needed an unbiased assessment of heating and water heating equipment

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

5.0

07/19/2018


Clark-Ann K.

They did an excellent job. The gentlemen were extremely knowledgeable. I found them because when I had my home inspection done on the house I was buying, the inspector passed the A/C and Furnace, but suggested I get a specialist to inspect them because the furnace was 20 years old. So, I contacted Arctic Bear to do the inspection. They spent four hours doing it and only charged me $160 for the inspection. They were extremely thorough. During the inspection, they discovered that the carbon monoxide levels our system was putting out was four times the allowed amount, so they had to red tag it. Because we discovered this before the closing, the seller paid for the replacement of the Furnace. When installing, the gentleman in charge of putting our system in let me know he would return to add in another intake valve because the one we had was extremely noisy once the new, heavy duty system that was put in place. I look forward to this in the future. Had we not used Arctic Bear to do our HVAC inspection on our home purchase, we would have placed our family at risk and had to pay for a full replacement out of pocket on a newly purchased house. Thank you Arctic Bear!

Description of Work
They replaced my furnace and air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

11/07/2017


kathy L.

the service technician performed the work and ended up telling us that the emissions going out the chimney were in the unsafe category although it was safe in the house. he red tagged the furnace closely followed by his supervisor showing up ready to sell us another furnace. In fairness the furnace was over 30 yrs old so we called another company to install a new furnace for $500 less. as a follow-up the gas company checked on a fireplace in the house and that service person told us it was unnecessary to have the furnace red tagged in the first place. it was unlikely the emissions were polluting.

Description of Work
we purchased a certificate to have a furnace cleaned and evaluated. this is in a house that we just closed on.

Category plumbing

5.0

10/17/2017


Michelle P.

I was very pleased with my entire experience with Arctic Bear. The motor on the blower of my power vented water heater seized up so we were in a bit of a bind with no hot water. After trying to get it replaced through some other options, I called Arctic Bear. They had a technician to my house in about 1 1/2 hours. Knowing replacement was what needed to happen, we discussed all of my options. He had the pricing readily available and could tell me exactly how much my options would cost. We ended up deciding on a tankless system and even though it was late in the day they agreed to install it that day. Shout out to Alex and Phil! They were at my house probably much later then they wanted to be working that day but even so they were always nice, friendly, and professional. After the install, their customer service has also been great! JoAnn really helped me out and even sent me completed NYSEG rebate forms that I just had to fill out a couple of things and mail it in! I highly recommend Arctic Bear!

Description of Work
Needed a new water heater ASAP!

Category plumbing, water heater repair

2.0

09/29/2017


Philip G.

In the past I have reviewed Artic Bear on Angie's list as awesome. As time has passed I have lowered my expectations of the work they perform. The latest (8/17) was an inspection of which I pay an ongoing monthly fee. Their inspector "cosmetically" damaged my A/C unit. I wanted the four damaged pieces replaced. Artic Bear replaced two. The damage was caused by something, possibly a cleaning agent sprayed, into the A/C unit and getting all over the A/C's housing, fan, top grate and another piece. I did a google search to find out how an A/C cleaning "should" be done. I determined and it was determined that the A/C housing was not removed and the cleaning agent was just sprayed thru the top grate and onto the coils. Spraying thru the Grate would not reach the coils. This is not how this is to be done. The A/C housing should be removed, the inside coils sprayed, let to set, and be flushed with running water and a hose. This was not done. I placed a call to Artic Bear about what pieces I wanted replaced. The only call I got was that pieces were ordered. No confirmation was made to confirm the asked for pieces were ordered. The two pieces arrived and Artic Bear came and installed them. I told the installer that there should have been four pieces. He didn't know anything. There was never a call from Artic Bear to ask if everything was okay and was I satisfied. I am not their most wonderful customer. After dropping over $20,000 with them you think they may just be a little nicer. Nope. Lastly the inspector was at my house for two hours and before he was leaving he presented me with a detailed $2,500 estimate to replace some old pipes and add an outside faucet to the other side of the house. He should have taken the time to do the A/C unit correctly rather than pushing for more work. I turned the offer down. The ice maker hook-up was around 6/2017. All the plumbing was all ready installed, by Artic Bear. The ice maker connection was completed, but they never turned the water on to go to the unit. Being disabled and unable to get into position to determine what valve turned the water on, I had to have my wife unhook the hose and then crawl under the sink and turn knobs until we found the right one. She then had to hook up the hose. I did not complain, but a trend was developing. It may be sour grapes but Artic Bear installed a new sink and faucet among other tasks. It was probably back in 2014. Back then, they finished the job and I thought all was well. About two weeks after the installation I went to the basement and found that I had a mini flood. The hot water connection was leaking and had been for two weeks. Once again this is not something I could fix. I called Artic Bear and they came tightened the connection--no charge. But also no apology--nothing--see ya. The basement is somewhat finished and the leak went down behind sheeting that covers the concrete of the basement wall. Three shelves collapsed and misc. items were water damaged. Someday I will need to remove that sheeting to find out what is behind it. That day has not come yet. I admit I should have said more or done something, but I didn't. But at no time did Artic bear reach out to me; knowing full well that the three issues were their fault. It is apparent that once Artic Bear completes a job, you are on your own. These three incidents were minor mishaps and all three were the results of shoddy work. Just inattention to what should be basic standards. I have to wonder now how the big jobs went. No issues at this time. Artic Bear installed a new furnace, central A/C unit, water softener system, reverse osmosis system, a wall room A/C with out side unit, sink, faucets in kitchen and bathroom, new gas line, and new connection to the outside water source. I have always been very cordial to all the folks that have done work for me, except the A/C. That pushed over the edge so to speak, because this foolishness had gone to far. I will see in the coming months what these inspections are, as I have advised Artic Bear that I will be sitting right beside them when they do any inspections. Maybe a little late, but I want to see exactly what I am paying for and how they conduct their inspection as all their installed pieces are covered by a monthly fee. They no longer have my blind trust.

Description of Work
A/C inspection. Sink and faucet replacement & Ice maker hook-up.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/16/2017


Sue G.

We rent out our house and the tenant was having issues with the toilet running and not getting heat in a bedroom. Arctic Bear staff was very courteous and prompt. Alex came and was very thorough. He also left a list of services which the company provides.

Description of Work
Plumbing and heating issues

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

07/19/2017


Jennifer K.

Good. They came out and gave me an estimate. The bill was the price on the estimate, no extra charges.

Description of Work
I need my ducts cleaned out with a sanitizing solution in my duct work due to water from a leak in the bathroom.

Category air duct cleaning

5.0

07/03/2017


Julie B.

They did a great job. We didn't need new duct work which made the job easier. The salesman did a great job explaining our options and worked hard to squeeze us in as soon as possible. The workers were efficient. All in all a good experience. We love our central air. It has only been a few weeks but so far great job!

Description of Work
Central AC installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

03/30/2017


Chris M.

Ended up paying twice for a furnace inspection. I recommend that you only pay the tech instead of purchasing through angie's list.

Description of Work
Paid for the furnace checkup through angie's list. Contacted the contractor to schedule service but they were unaware of the service offer. I was contacted a few days later to schedule service. After the service was completed, the tech requested payment again. Still trying to resolve this...

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], We are so sorry for your inconvenience. We did refund the second accidental charge on the same day, the 30th. Usually we see an email alerting us that a customer has made a payment via Angie's List, however, unfortunately we had not in your case. Please, feel free to let us know directly if you haven't seen that yet. We do appreciate your business and hope to have another chance to give you a better experience. The Bear
5.0

03/04/2017


Kevin N.

Arctic bear has been nothing short of greatness. They are incredibly professional, punctual, and incredibly fair. So very glad they came highly recommended and I will be sure to spread the good word. If you need anything plumbing, HVAC, Furnace work related DO NOT HESITATE to call Arctic bear. They will be my go to company from this point forward.

Description of Work
New furnace installation with complete ductwork revamp and removal of cast iron to PVC waste lines.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/18/2017


Mark R.

I got a fair price. It was a day job and they left the work area clean before leaving.

Description of Work
I used Arctic Bear. They installed a new well pump and reservoir tank.

Category wells

5.0

12/30/2016


Gene K.

After a year, both are performing very well. The person who came to the house to size up the job for an estimate was VERY professional and courteous. He answered all of our questions and was not at all pushy. He provided us with information on what products they offered so knew what we were getting. Their prices was very competitive but the installation was absolutely stellar. They arrived when they said and completed the work right on schedule. The plumbing work they did was literally like a work of art - VERY well done. I mean I do simple plumbing and think I'm pretty good but their work was off the charts - it was that good. They didn't leave and mess behind and they put down material on our floors so they would get dirty, scratched, etc., while they were doing the work. I would highly recommend them for any plumbing work and will use them for all my plumbing needs in the future.

Description of Work
About year ago we hired Arctic Bear to install a new furnace and hot water heater.

Category plumbing

5.0

12/05/2016


Kathie G.

Very well! I was very pleased with the work they did and would hire them again in a heartbeat!!! Everyone was friendly and knowledgeable on what they were doing. I felt confident in the work that they did. They were punctual and completed the job in a timely fashion! I don't what else to say - they were awesome!!

Description of Work
Installed new furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/06/2016


Terry S.

good, the serviceman arrived on time and conducted a thorough job.

Description of Work
Inspect & clean furnace and air conditioner units

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/23/2016


Don R.

Outstanding. They are prompt, professional, and reasonably priced. Everyone I have dealt with, from Paula at the office to the Sales and Tecchnicians are knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. We have recommended them to family and friends, and will call them for all our plumbing needs.

Description of Work
replaced furnace and cleaned air ducts 2014, replaced central air system 2016

Category air duct cleaning

5.0

02/25/2016


Mark R.

Outstanding! We where originally scheduled to have an in home quote for both the dishwasher issues and water treatment. Leak was detected before they arrived called for an emergency service and within an hour they arrived assessed the situation fixed all the issues. Plus the water treatment specialist showed up to do the in house quote. They both took the time to explain what was going and what should be done correct the issues. Provided us with many options, allowing us to make the best decision possible for our situation. Fixed all issues will use again.

Description of Work
Installed water shut off valve for dishwasher under sink, fixed leak under floor, replaced trap under sink, hooked up dishwasher and provided quote for water treatment.

Category plumbing, water softeners

5.0

02/18/2016


Christopher F.

Very well. These guys are my "go to" people for heating/cooling/water. We also had a stopped up garage drainage pipe that they do not deal with so they referred us to a company that does and they came right out as well. Good people, fair price.

Description of Work
Repaired 3 faucets, inspected water connections in basement, estimated repair to tub/shower

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water softeners, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

5.0

02/11/2016


Jeremy E.

It went very well, he did all work for the price of the deal but the deal didn't cover fuel oil but he did it anyway and for a cheaper price. They were real professional and helpful

Description of Work
He cleaned my boiler and changed filters and my fuel oil filter

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair, water softeners

5.0

12/31/2015


Denise F.

As usual, Arctic Bear does not disappoint. Annual maintenance was completed professionally with no issues. I also had my blower wheel cleaned. This was something that was suggested last year, but I had declined. I have a 17 year old furnace and I don't think it was ever done previously so I wanted to be sure to do it this year Phil showed me the before and after results and it was definitely something that was needed. I'm a maintenance member so I saved $$ also. Maintenance service was free as a member, blower wheel cleaning was $192. Completely satisfied!

Description of Work
Annual furnace maintenance and blower wheel cleaning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/27/2015


Alice W.

These guys are great! They explained things prior to beginning the job as well as while they went along. Crew was clean, well-mannered and efficient. They were able to fit the new equipment into an existing structure in the attic, and were able to save us money doing that...and the job took a bit less time! They actually took more time evaluating our situation before giving us a quote, and then came back to verify their measurements before beginning. Another estimator never went into the attic, just gave us a quote for replacing everything, and our original duct work was perfect. Arctic Bear actually praised our original sheet metal crew's 15 year-old duct work and assured us it didn't need replacing. A third estimator scorned using the new refrigerant and we now suspect he didn't have the skills to do that work.... A service contract was offered but there was no pressure at all to purchase it. We plan to use them again for our heating and A/C work in the future!

Description of Work
Replaced/upgraded existing whole house A/C compressor and condenser.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, air duct cleaning

5.0

10/22/2015


Peter S.

Arctic Bear is exceptional and totally client-driven. Their people are highly experienced and professional, extremely knowledgeable, incredibly thorough and take the time and patience to explain everything. We have complete trust and confidence in Arctic Bear to service our heating and air conditioning systems. Well done and thank you, Arctic Bear!!

Description of Work
Completely and thoroughly serviced two oil-fired boilers.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Atlas James Construction & Fabrication

    Atlas James Construction & Fabrication is a construction and stone fabrication business. From complete new builds to room remodels, we do it all! Not only do we focus on general construction but love doing stone fabrication projects such as new quarts countertops, etc. Your project means just as much to us as it does you! With years of experience and a great team, we can ensure you will be happy and satisfied with having us as your contractor.  

    J. Ventura Contracting, LLC

    We are a growing, locally owned and operated company that values honesty and integrity and treats your home as if it were our own. We offer a variety of Roofing & Remodeling services, both Interior & Exterior customizable to each individual project. You will find us to be competitively priced for Superior Quality work, paying close attention to the details of each and every project that we are involved with. We look forward to building lasting relationships and guarantee your satisfaction! Our vision is to help improve the quality of Broome County Homes striving to transform the Southern Tier into a safe and beautiful location for our families to move forward in, while preserving our Historical imprint in the State of New York. Our mission is to provide the highest level of Integrity and Quality to our valued Homeowners.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Elite Professional Painting

    My name is Mikki, I am a mother of 4 children, as well as the owner of Elite Professional Painting. We are a family owned and operated company since 2009. My Husband Bruce has painting experience dating back to 2000, specializing in all aspects of painting & special finishes. We understand everyone has a budget and we do everything possible to help you stay within that budget. Residential and commercial. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Plumbing. Heating, water heaters, air conditioning, gas lines, well & sump pumps, drain & air duct cleaning, in floor radiant, water treatment systems & bathroom remodeling

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc.

    How is Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. overall rated?

    Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. open?

    Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. provide

    Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. offer emergency services?

    Yes, Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc.?

    Yes, Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. offer?

    Arctic Bear Heating & Air Inc. offers the following services: Plumbing. Heating, water heaters, air conditioning, gas lines, well & sump pumps, drain & air duct cleaning, in floor radiant, water treatment systems & bathroom remodeling