Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

K L Landon Floor Sanding & Refinishing

With Angi since September 2009

No description has been provided for this pro.
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(17) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews
Robert C.
1.0
07/11/2022
I think I hired Ken Landon because he had a lot of good reviews on Angi’s list. He told me he was booked nine weeks out and I said that was no problem. I sent him pictures of my L.R. & Dining Rm. The L.R. had a large pet stain which required replacing the hardwood floors in that area. He showed up a day late for the job and blamed it on the people before me being difficult complainers and then commented that he wasn’t sure if he could finish my job on time, meaning, finishing so he could get back on HIS schedule. When I said, “so I’m the one that gets screwed because of the previous difficult people, why don’t you just tell your next customer you’re going to be a day late?” To this, he smiled a guilty grin and it was obvious that the whole story was just a big fat lie. Later on in a rare moment of candor, (Ken rarely speaks at all), he admitted that he sometimes gets greedy and takes on jobs that he knows he really doesn’t have the time to finish. BINGO! When Ken and his son got to the sanding phase of the job Ken kept asking me, “how does it look?” I repeatedly said, “fine.” I mean how much more can you say about a sanding job. He must have asked me, “how it looked” at least 4-5 times and it wasn’t until later that I realized why. When it was time to stain the floor Ken came in with two big cans of stain. He took out his brush, dipped it in the first can, and laid down a swatch of stain. It was nothing like the color I had told him I wanted. I told Ken at least A DOZEN TIMES what color I wanted for my floor and even pointed to the risers on my staircase as a perfect example of the color, a sort of maroon "antique-like" color. Ken’s color was brown. I hoped the other can was going to be drastically different because brown is nothing like maroon. The next can looked exactly like the first, except only darker. I was speechless, and because I didn’t stand up for myself he just rolled right over me. He didn’t give a sh*t about what I wanted. He just took what stain he had in his truck and that’s what he was going to use, he wasn’t going to go shopping to try and find the color I had repeatedly told him I wanted. His only concern was getting back on his schedule, he didn’t give my wishes a second thought. At that point, I knew there was no working with this totally awful man and figured, well, it’s not what I wanted but it should still at least look really good. The next morning when I came down to see how the staining job turned out I was in a state of shock. There were at least eleven black blotches all along the front wall and a big black blotch near the middle of the floor. As he came in through the back door I called down from the second floor and said, “Hey Ken, what are all those black blotches all over the living room floor.” Ken didn’t even need to see how the stain job turned out to know what I was referring to, and called out nonchalantly, “Pet Stains.” Now I understood why he kept asking about how the sanding job looked? He wanted to know if I could see the pet stains that his trained eye could see which he knew would become really obvious once the floors were stained. I confronted him about this. He yelled, “Well, I guess we’re just going to have to start all over again from scratch.” At that point, I should have said, “you’re **** straight you are and I’m not going to pay you another friggin’ penny until you do,” or, just call him out for the lying ****** bag that he is and told him to get the heck out of my house. So, now it’s Ken’s move, what’s he going to do? He has his hand up by his mouth like he’s thinking real hard. This goes on for at least 30 seconds until he screams, “F*CK,” and stamps his feet like a petulant child. Then he repeats the hard-thinking routine and screams, “SH*T,” and again stamps his feet. I’m still waiting for him to say something of substance, like a professional would do, or simply like an adult would do, but he says nothing. At that point, I realize that nothing good is ever going to happen with this childish unprofessional and said, “you owe me some money.” He writes me a very modest check, which doesn’t even begin to cover the disappointment I’m feeling, puts on the polyurethane, and leaves. Never apologizes, just packs up his gear and leaves. Well Ken, SCREW YOU! Sorry it took me a year to write this review, I hope you like it. I'll never hire again.
Description of Work
Sanding, Replacement of damaaged areas, Refinishing
Category
hardwood floor
Mark F.
5.0
11/08/2016
Mr. Landon and his son arrived on time and scheduled, worked hard to accomplish the goals they set for completion. The end result was breathtaking.
Description of Work
Refinish/repair original wood flooring.
Category
hardwood floor
David G.
5.0
04/27/2016
unknown
Category
hardwood floor
Karen V.
5.0
01/08/2016
/
Description of Work
.
Category
hardwood floor
Karen V.
5.0
12/12/2015
Small glitch in the beginning, the start date had to be postponed two days. The installation was completed in one day. There was no mess, everything was left neat and tidy. Ken returned the next two days to apply the first two coats of polyurethane. He will return one more time to apply the final coat. The floor is gorgeous. Ken always returned our phone calls promptly. He is a no "fuss, no muss" guy, that is very skilled at his craft.
Description of Work
Installed white oak flooring.
Category
hardwood floor
Michael K.
5.0
09/16/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Ken does great work and is a decent and honest man. I recommend him to you, you'll be pleased with the quality of the work he does, and his pricing is very good.
Category
hardwood floor
lisa B.
5.0
11/17/2014
Super professional job at a reasonable price. Refinished a living room and hallway. He showed up on time and was very professional. The work was completed when he said it would be and it looks fantastic. I will definitely call him again for future work.
Description of Work
They refinished the floors in my father's living room and hallway.
Category
hardwood floor, floor cleaning
Mary Lou R.
5.0
10/29/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Refinished a bedroom floor. I had been waiting for another person to do the job (someone I had before and was very pleased with), but after several months of delay I decided to look for someone else. Ken called me back the same day, came to look the next day, and finished the job within 2 weeks from the day I first called him. I have had experiences with workers who fail to call back or show up even when they tell you they will be there on a certain day. I have had that happen with many, but that wasn't the case with Ken.
Category
hardwood floor
Sue G.
5.0
10/28/2014
Ken was always prompt getting back to me to set up the date and time of his visits. It took a few days for the job to be completed as he had to come back and put another coat of poly on the floor when the previous coat(s) had dried. His work is very professional and the floor looks great! We will certainly use his services again and would highly recommend him to anyone in the area.
Description of Work
Ken repaired part of the floor, then sanded and gave 3 coats of satin poly.
Category
hardwood floor
Robert E.
5.0
09/30/2014
We just had the work done and the finished floors look great! We have to stay off the floors for a day to two but can see them from the kitchen. All the rooms had carpet and in several places the padding was stuck to the floor which caused a stain. But is well and my wife and I couldn't be happier.
Description of Work
Ken refinished a large living room, 3 bedrooms and the hallway
Category
hardwood floor
Dottie K.
5.0
05/31/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Sanded and applied 3 coats of polyurethane to two bedrooms and closet. I have used Landon previously to stain the other bedrooms, living room, dining rooms and hallway in my home. I have always been pleased with their service and price.
Category
hardwood floor
Leia S.
5.0
12/30/2013
Ken was very professional and reasonably priced. This was traditional sanding, not dustless. He was willing to change his usual refinishing product because I wanted a very hard water-based finish. I had the floors refinished between closing on the house and moving in and Ken was flexible and accommodating in scheduling, even when my closing date changed. The floors look great! I would recommend KL Landon Floor Sanding and Refinishing. Just an FYI: Ken will return your calls in the evening only, but is responsive.
Description of Work
Sanded and refinished oak and pine wood floors, upper and lower floors and stairs. Approximately 1000 square feet.
Category
hardwood floor
Kathleen W.
5.0
05/01/2013
We hired K L Landon Floor Sanding and Refinishing based on Angie's List recommendations and weren't disappointed. Ken and his two helpers did a beautiful job restoring the living room floor, a stairway and landing and a small hallway in our 1950s Cape Cod home. Forty years ago, we went the and quot;do-it-yourselfand quot; route when we bought the house and refinished the floors ourselves. We thought they looked pretty good despite the wavy and circular patterns left in the floors by the rental sander...and the people handling it(!) Actually, we didn't think Ken could smooth out those 40 yr. old flaws, but we were hoping he could repair the worn areas and water damage. His estimate of $952 for refinishing floors and stairs seemed reasonable and affordable. There was no deposit, and we payed after the job was finished. Ken exceeded our expectations. The floors and stairs look like new and the satin finish is beautiful. And the wood is all smoothed out - no waves or circles. Upon completion, Ken gave us a hardwood floor maintenance instruction sheet with tips on keeping the floor in good condition and the names of products NOT to use on the wood such as Murphy's Oil Soap (which I would have used). All in all, we are very satisfied with the quality workmanship done by this company.
Description of Work
Ken Landon and his two employees refinished the oak hardwood floors on our 16 x 13 ft. living room, a stairway and its upstairs landing and a small hallway.
Category
hardwood floor
Dottie K.
5.0
12/18/2012
The work was excellent and the floors are still beautiful after 3 years. There were pet stains that had to be treated and it was amazing how he was able to remove them and restore the beauty of the oak flooring. Highly recommended. Price was reasonable. His estimates are prepared showing $$ per sq foot.
Description of Work
Back in 2009 and 2010, I used K. Landon to sand and stain my oak flooring after I had carpeting removed. I had previously submitted a review but perhaps reviews only stay on-line for a couple years. Floors in my living, dining, hallway and bedrooms were sanded and coated with 3 coats of natural satin polyurethane.
Category
hardwood floor
Dave K.
5.0
10/23/2012
Ken was clear with his schedule and offered a written, clearly spelled out estimate. He was there exactly as stated, worked quickly and left the job site clean. His equipment allowed him to keep the site free from dust. The floor looks amazing. I would highly recommend Ken's services.
Description of Work
I contacted Ken to have him refinish a large Living Room floor. The floor had been badly damaged due to heaving and required significant sanding. Ken said it'd be no problem and that he would fill some old pipe holes at no additional cost.
Category
hardwood floor
richard B.
5.0
03/03/2012
See above comments
Description of Work
We removed wall-to-wall carpet in our dining room and living room. The floor color was an ugly yellow with dark stain spots from pets. Ken Landon was the best estimate and very professional. His work was outstanding. He was always on time and the job took exactly the time he quoted. He even checked with me a time or two about doing something a bit different or a small extra (without charge) to make the overall job nicer. Ken sanded the floors, tacked clothed them to remove the dust, stained them to our desired color, applied two (maybe three, I can't remember) coats of floor finish, and was done. He left the job clean each day. He takes pride in his work and it shows!
Category
hardwood floor
Dottie K.
5.0
09/18/2009
I had recently removed the carpeting from the floors in my Living and Dining Rooms. I miss my dog Sparky terribly but after he passed on, he left behind some awful stains in the flooring from his accidents early on and then in his final days. In a couple areas, the stains were virtually black and were very deep in the wood. I had tried unsuccessfully to sand out the damage but was getting no where. I found Ken's name in the phone book. I usually get two to three estimates on any home improvement projects but after meeting with Ken and receiving his estimate, I felt really comfortable with accepting his estimate. And now I can tell you I couldn't be happier. In fact, I was totally shocked at how good the floors came out. The black stains are gone and I still can't understand how he did it. Ken and his work crew were punctual and courteous. The job extended across three days and I always knew when to expect them. I've had a few bad experiences but this was by far one of the best. I feel the cost was most reasonable for the job performed and I am thrilled with the outcome. I can't wait to have him come back to do the same magnificent work in the bedrooms and hallway.
Description of Work
Floors in Living Room and Dining Room were repaired, sanded and 3 coats of Polyurethane applied (approx 450 sq ft.)
Category
hardwood floor

Phone

Address

3608 Wildwood Dr

Endicott, NY 13760

FAQ

K L Landon Floor Sanding & Refinishing is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

No, K L Landon Floor Sanding & Refinishing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.