Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

K9Advanced dog training

Founded 2010 • With Angi since May 2017

4.7

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11 laurel ave

East Islip, NY 11730

Description

At k9advanced your are only working with the owner....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

02/18/2020


Gina B.

I am writing this review because I have never been so angry. Jolean is a Dog trainer based in Long Island, where I sent my 8-month-old dog Jasper to her two week Board and Train Program. Jolean had 12 very positive reviews, so I felt comfortable and happy sending and have my dog in her care. However, Jolean failed to mention a massive part of how she was going to train Jasper, with a Stym collar. Any use of e-collars to train a dog is a negative reinforcement training technique. I am aware and understand people train their dogs left and right, but that is not a method I would ever choose. The use of collars was not said to me when dropping Jasper off; it is not stated anywhere on her website or her Liability Release form. The only mention of it is on her Payment portion on the contract, and it says, 'I also understand that the remote collars are not to be left unattended or on the dog overnight, and I will read the collar instructions as provided by the manufacturer.' Because this was the only mention, I thought it was merely a collar he had to wear under her care at her facility. The language in her contract is ambiguous to the point of purposeful deception. How do you not provide intensive information about such an important topic regarding training? I found out she was using a collar when I picked Jasper up after the two weeks, and she handed me the box and instructions. Since having Jasper back, he has shown never before aggression towards me. I questioned it and told Jolean, her response was, 'It's either he is growing up, and his true personality is coming out, or his border collie nipping is. Or you're using the collar the wrong way.' Nice, huh? To add to the situation, during the drop-off, I asked to see where Jasper will be sleeping at night. She refused and went on to tell me its illegal to show me. It makes you question the conditions these dogs will be under while in her care. I refused to continue using the collar with Jasper as I do not believe in negative reinforcement training. Jasper reverted to all old ways. What did I pay for? I asked for partial payment back, and Jolean refused. Her contract states no-refunds yet fails to mention the considerable part of her training methods.

Description of Work
2 week board and train program

Category dog trainers

5.0

07/25/2019


Justin F.

K9 Advanced Training is fantastic. Our 8-month old lab, Lulu, was very hyper and easily distracted… constantly pulling and jumping. After completing the 2-week board / train program, she came back to us the same sweet, playful, affectionate puppy as before, but so much better. She is calmer, listens well, and interacts with us all in a much more positive way. Jolean truly cares about the pets she works with and the success of their training. She ended up keeping Lulu for a few extra days (at no additional charge) to make sure she could consistently block out distractions and follow commands regardless of her surroundings. When she dropped Lulu off at our house, she spent over an hour going through the commands and having each of us work with her, and has since come back two more times for in-house training (also at no additional charge). Lulu’s transformation in such a short period of time has been amazing. I highly recommend K9 Advanced Training to anyone… Jolean will get the job done!!

Description of Work
Dog Training

Category dog trainers

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for taking [Member Information Removed] time to write an amazing review. I truly enjoyed working with your sweet Lulu and family.
5.0

02/14/2018


Tara G.

Jolean does what she says she will, and doesn't dress up the truth or tell you what you want to hear. Instead you'll get proper instruction on how to communicate with your dog and improve both yours and your dogs overall well-being with tried and true practices. Very flexible and accommodating with scheduling in home sessions. Available for emergencies by phone, which is very comforting when dealing with issues such as aggression. Can't recommend enough.

Description of Work
Basic Obedience Training and Resource Guarding Agression

Category dog trainers

5.0

10/11/2017


Kathryn B.

After 6-8 visits, each lesson building on the last, Jolean's theories turned our dogs into three well mannered dogs. This is no magic bullet, by any means. If you put in the work, Jolean gives you the tools you need to help YOU manage your dog and get your dog to be the best it can be. I am truly amazed at how fast my dogs turned around in such a short time. The time I put in with my dogs myself, based on the tools Jolean gave me was no more than 20 minutes a day and then just solid reinforcement every single day, you are guaranteed to have a magnificent dog for life.

Description of Work
Dog Training for Three Very Young, Rambunctious Golden Retrievers. We went through THREE trainers before we found Jolean. All promised the world and delivered nothing.

Category dog trainers

5.0

08/19/2017


George F.

Fantastic..exceeded all expectations👍😎

Description of Work
Can't say enough good things...Jolene took my hyper husky..and brought him back a conpletely trained dog...

Category dog trainers

5.0

07/04/2017


Sue N.

We sent our 6 month old Boxer mix puppy for 2 week board and training in 2016. She came back to us a perfect little dog, friendly well socialized house broken and eager to please. Now that she's no longer a puppy and developing her adult personality we sent her back this past spring for a general refresher and more rigorous obedience work. Jolean worked her magic again. Our dog is super obedient and still just as friendly and loving as always. She's exposed to lots of people all day long and she's become a great little ambassador for her FDNY EMS station. Thanks to the work done at K9 Advanced Dog training, she is the queen of the neighborhood and much loved.

Description of Work
General obedience training, crate training, socializing, potty training, and control of barking.

Category dog trainers

5.0

06/15/2017


Sonia K.

Overall the training was excellent. My puppy is very well trained. As new dog owners it is a peace of mind knowing our dog is trained and wont hurt anyone or hurt himself. Extremely pleased with Jolean's work.

Description of Work
I needed my 3 month old golden mini doodle trained.

Category dog trainers

5.0

06/15/2017


Michael R.

Very nicely. Jolean came and explained her methods after demonstrating some of her techniques. We liked the results and hired her as our puppy's trainer. The step by step weekly lessons progressed each week and worked very well. Our dog learned from this with our practice and repetition and Jolean had answers for all of our numerous questions. She is patient, easy to schedule with and offers many suggestions. The puppy is now a year and we are very pleased with the results of the training. Jolean has done a wonderful job with our puppy who started out problematic and has now evolved into a great member of the family.

Description of Work
We had a New puppy that had some poor behaviors and we needed general guidance on the proper way to treat and train the puppy.

Category dog trainers

5.0

06/04/2017


john M.

EXCELLENT !!! I wasted a lot of time with You Tube thinking I could train my 8 month Lab myself it doesn't work! I spoke to a few dog trainers before going with Jolean she came over and did a free evaluation and I could see she loved dogs and knew what she was doing the very first visit. My dog was smart but wouldn't listen, I also have a very bad back and she would drag me around like a rag doll hurting me a few times Jolean corrected this by the second visit she sits, stays, comes when called and heals when walking my friends cant believe she's the same dog.

Description of Work
Dog Training

Category dog trainers

5.0

06/02/2017


Sue D.

Jolene was awesome! My dog is so well behaved now. She was great. I would definitely use her services again, and recommend her to anyone who needs a dog trained. Great service, easy to contact, with quick response. We loved her!!!!

Description of Work
I rescued a dog, that needed training (he's very high energy). I wanted in-home training so the whole family would be able to work as a team with the dog

Category dog trainers

5.0

06/02/2017


Kathleen D.

Things are going great! We now enjoy taking her for a walk in our neighborhood, where she used to walk us. She is fully potty trained, and lets us know when she has to go out. She is still only a puppy at 6 months old, but a pleasure to have around due to the help and advise that Jolean has given us.

Description of Work
It had been a long time since we had a dog in the house. Needless to say that when we came home with our 4 month old Labrador, Maggie, we were doing everything wrong. After Jolean's first visit to our house, things only got better. We were not using the dog crate that we purchased, and we were using wee wee pads for potty training, big mistake. Jolean is still working with Maggie and us, but the commands that she has already helped us with has made it a pleasure to have a dog in the house again.

Category dog trainers

5.0

06/02/2017


Arik V.

Jolean is amazing, very knowledgeable and patient. She developed a great program and provided us with guidance to turn our overexcited puppy into a well behaved dog. She always explained the reasoning behind her methods in great detail, which made our home training effective. She made herself available to work nights and weekends with our schedule, and was always there to answer any questions of nervous new dog parents.

Description of Work
train our new puppy

Category dog trainers

5.0

06/01/2017


Nicole O.

After a couple short months we have a well behaved, loving puppy. The most important thing I learned in the process was it's not just the dog that needs training, it's also the owner! Jolean worked miracles for our family!

Description of Work
We recently adopted a pup who had proven to be a quite a challenge. She constantly bit, jumped, and basically destroyed anything in her path. We actually thought about bringing her back to the shelter when I reached out to Jolean.

Category dog trainers

    Animal Training
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    At k9advanced i train dogs. I can come to you for a free in home consultation. I offer in home where I train in your home. You can also choose a board and train program where your pooch can come and stay in my home and learn their manners.

    Services Not Offered

    Boarding. I only board my client's dogs.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about K9Advanced dog training

    How is K9Advanced dog training overall rated?

    K9Advanced dog training is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are K9Advanced dog training open?

    K9Advanced dog training is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does K9Advanced dog training provide

    K9Advanced dog training accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does K9Advanced dog training offer free estimates?

    Ask K9Advanced dog training for details on free project estimates.

    Does K9Advanced dog training offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, K9Advanced dog training offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does K9Advanced dog training offer a senior discount?

    No, K9Advanced dog training does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by K9Advanced dog training?

    No, K9Advanced dog training does not offer warranties.

    What services does K9Advanced dog training offer?

    K9Advanced dog training offers the following services: At k9advanced i train dogs. I can come to you for a free in home consultation. I offer in home where I train in your home. You can also choose a board and train program where your pooch can come and stay in my home and learn their manners.

    Are there any services K9Advanced dog training does not offer?

    Boarding. I only board my client's dogs.