Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp

About

Founded 1946 • With Angi since May 2009

Financing available. Additional Email - service@schumacherandfarley.com. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Verified Reviews

4.4

(15) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

10

4

1

3

2

2

2

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.0

Professionalism

4.4

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.3

Responsiveness

4.3

Read reviews by category

plumbers (14)drain cleaning (4)HVAC Companies (2)water heaters (1)
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews
5.0

07/11/2022


Meme E.

They were very good, very efficient, they try their best to come even on short notice. They were professional , very nice , very informative. I've been using them for so many years.

Description of Work
Plumbing

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2022

5.0

07/08/2022


STEPHEN K.

It was perfect, they fixed the problem. They gave me personalized service. They know me, they know who I am. They're very good at customer service and very attentive.

Description of Work
They inspected the noisy pipe in my building.

Category plumbing

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2022

5.0

07/07/2022


Zachary C.

For context, I live in a coop in Manhattan that was renovated about five years ago. The bathtub in one bathroom stopped draining completely and I reached out to Schumacher & Farley to unplug it. They had an appointment available the next morning and were right on time. The team was very professional and immediately offered to take off their shoes. They put down tarps and protected all of the surfaces in the bathroom and finished unplugging the drain within 45 minutes. They cleaned everything up and the bathroom looked great after they finished, plus the tub drained better than it ever has. I asked them if they could take a look at the faucet in the other bathroom. For years, this faucet would run at full pressure for a bit and then the flow would slow down significantly. The team quickly figured out that it was the valve below the sink and fixed that in a few minutes. Then I asked them to look at the showerhead in that bathroom because it has been significantly leaking when in use for nearly five years and I haven't been able to use it. It is an unusual showerhead but the team called the home office, found information about it, disassembled it, found and fixed the issue, put it back together and it works perfectly. I had previously had the original contractor come out multiple times and also had the super look at these items and nobody could figure them out. In under two hours, the Schumacher & Farley team managed to figure out the problems and fix them. They are incredibly professional and resourceful. I cannot recommend them enough and they are definitely my first call the next time something comes up.

Description of Work
Clear bathtub drain, fix showerhead

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2022

5.0

01/25/2017

Schumacher came over to assess what could be replaced with minimal work. He recommended replacing stems for the faucets but not replacing the fixtures, which would have required removing a tile wall and the kitchen ceiling below the bathroom. A couple days later, I made appointment for the work to be done. They scheduled for that afternoon, and plumbers came promptly, clearly discussed the costs, obtained the specialty replacement parts for the stem and handles, and soon had the leak fixed and new handles placed. Tub fixtures now look new and we avoided major tile work. Plumber also suggested we replace entire shower body plus the standing waste pipe (the pull for bathtub stopper, located on floor outside of tub) should we ever remodel the kitchen or bathroom; I appreciate his assessment of what to fix now and what to leave alone.

Description of Work
Fix leaky bathtub fixtures without tearing out walls/ceiling/floor. Home is 90 years old and fixture model is out-of-date.

Category plumbing

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/25/2017

5.0

08/11/2016


Susan C.

Description of Work
.

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2016

3.0

10/31/2015


Glenn R.

Tech came out and charged 250.00 dollar fee to come out on the weekend and 125.00 diagnostic fee. This was fair. He said the price of he thermo couple was 200.00 and the price of the gas valve was 400 dollars. In my opinion 1000.00 dollars to just change a thermo couple and gas valve was way over priced as the price to replace a thermo couple and gas valve is not worth 650 dollars. I feel I was ripped off on the price of the service to replace the parts.

Description of Work
Change thermo couple and gas valve to fix boiler because pilot light went out

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Cost $1,025

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2015

5.0

10/30/2015


Grace C.

Description of Work
They were great in trying various ways to unblock a blockage in the sewere pipe from the bathroom to the front of the house. They came back 3 times, used camera andother equipment. When their equipment was not able to fix the blockage to the back of the house they gave me the name of a company that probably had the stronger equipment. And they did. I thought that was very professional of them. I would definitely use them again.

Category plumbing

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2015

5.0

08/05/2015


Jerry M.

Description of Work
They instaled a low water cutoff and also cleaned the entire system. They are very professional and I would highly recommend them. |I will definitely be using them again as the need arrises.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2015

5.0

11/18/2014


William K.

Description of Work
They installed a new gas-fired steam producing boiler. They took apart and removed the old boiler and installed the new boiler in one day. It was a three man crew. The lead plumber, Jerry, and his crew were professional, informative, and courteous. They did the job the correct way. I was pleased with the result and would hire them again. Also, I highly recommend them.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Cost $5,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2014

5.0

05/13/2014


Marie F.

They are very polite and helpful. They listen to my needs. I have been dealing with them for 45 years and I never have had a problem. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They came out to check my plumbing and drains for leaks. It is a free service for being a part of their program as much as I want. I pay an annual fee to have this done. It adds up to be about a dollar a day to be a part of the program. If any work needs to be done I then have to pay for the work.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2014

2.0

02/15/2014


Xiaowu X.

Our sewer line was getting backed up quite frequently. It was cleared each time by a technician with a snake machine. But we wanted to get to the root of the problem. After some googling, we called Schumacher and Farley after reading good reviews on Yelp. They came on 1/8/14 and I explained to them the problem. They said to find out the problem, the best bet was to do a camera inspection, which I agreed and was performed on a later time (1/31/14). They charged $705.60 for it and promised that footage would be uploaded and sent to me in a couple days. After a few days, after more internet search, I realized they over-charged me for this service. I emailed the company and someone called and explained that they billed me incorrectly for blockage clearance and camera inspection and promised a refund. He said the cost of camera inspection would be $400. I also mentioned about the footage from the camera inspection. Again, he said they would be sent in a couple days. After another few days, I realized it was billed $530 for the service which the man said would cost about $400. I called and I guess a manager explained to me that the man quote a range. I asked when the footage would be sent, and she said a couple days. The reason I hired them was to find out what is clogging the sewer line and present a list of options going forward. I have received nothing but a hefty charge. On their invoice, it says "customer service is our #1 focus" and the Yelp reviews mention reasonable charge. None of it is true with my experience.Will never use them again, and the Angies List reviews confirmed my experience. Wish I had checked them out earlier. Avoid!

Description of Work
Asked the company to do a camera inspection of the sewer line since it was getting backed up quite frequently

Category plumbing

Cost $530

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2014

5.0

06/12/2013


Virginia B.

Schumacher and Farley Plumbing and Heating Corp. was very good. They were reliable. I called them and they came. We didn't have any problems. They're a pretty good company. They did everything they said they would. They saved us money. Their price was very good and very reasonable. I can't complain anything about them. They were just really accommodating.

Description of Work
We had our heater done by Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp. They replaced our boiler and heater.

Category water heater repair

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/19/2012

2.0

01/29/2013


Peter M.

We have leaks from our 2nd-floor bathroom coming down into our 1st-floor living room. Both the bathroom drains and the riser (water coming up to the bathroom) leak. We currently have no water in the bathroom. If we leave it on, it leaks. Since fixing this problem will likely put holes in two floors our house and the cost could run into the thousands, we called three plumbers for estimates. Schumacher is the only one that charged for this service ($89), but that is their right and we agreed. When the plumber showed up, only my wife was home. The plumber wouldn't believe that the leak was coming from both the drain *and* the riser (incoming pipe). True, when things are dry, it does take a few minutes to saturate things before the water starts to flow through the living room ceiling. But it will start flowing in a few minutes. Trust us; we know! Instead, impatient, he flushed the toilet -- which also leaks -- and determined that was the only problem since the leak didn't start till the toilet was flushed. Well, now we're getting nowhere. Then he said he couldn't commit to an estimate until he could actually see how messed up things are behind the walls. He said punching a hole in our wall would cost $380. We understand a company may not be able to commit to an estimate without seeing the whole problem, but then don't charge for an estimate! So in effect we paid $89 for an estimate of receiving an estimate. Thanks for nothing. Today the company called to see if we wanted their services. I tried to explain that we weren't happy since we hadn’t received the estimate we paid for. The polite woman on the phone only wanted to know whether or not we wanted them to come back. Needless to say, we don't.

Description of Work
Charged $89 for an estimate we never received.

Category plumbing

Cost $96.09

Work Completed On 01/28/2013

4.0

07/14/2011


Kevin D.

Not happy about them overcharging me. I won't be using them again.

Description of Work
We've used S&F for over 30 years. Called them to clear a shower drain. Their service charge is $179.00. BUT they called in a company that charges at MOST $99 (I know because I knew the guy from when I called this company to clear a clogged line in the basement. A MUCH bigger job). S&F first chargest me $179.00. I call and argue with them that one, this guy isn't a licensed plumber, he just clears drains with his machine and two, THEY DIDN'T DO THE JOB. They contracted it out to a company I could've called myself or they could've just gave me their number as I didn't think to call them at the time. I talked them down to $129.00 or $139.00 and they acted like they were doing me a favor. If I called the company myself, I'm sure they would've charged no more than $59 as they charge $99 for the larger drain line from house to street and back.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Cost $129

Work Completed On 05/14/2011

3.0

05/04/2009


HENRI D.

I have alternated between them and another plumber, and the results haven't been great. They come out and look at things and promise to come back, but they do not. They 'yes' you to death, constantly saying they will get back to you but they never do. If it is something they can do right away there is generally no problem, but their responsiveness is definitely lacking. Their service has declined over the years, and I hope to not have to use them again.

Description of Work
I have used them for over 35 years, and most recently called them for a faulty flush mechanism.

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2009

    Contact

    Phone

    Address

    77-15 19th Rd

    East Elmhurst, NY 11370

    Hours

    Sunday
    Open All Day
    Monday
    Open All Day
    Tuesday
    Open All Day
    Wednesday
    Open All Day
    Thursday
    Open All Day
    Friday
    Open All Day
    Saturday
    Open All Day

    Website

    http://www.schumacherandfarley.com

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information

    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    Yes
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    COVID-19 Update
    We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

    Health & Safety Measures

    We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
    All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp

    How is Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp overall rated?

    Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp open?

    Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp provide

    Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing Available

    Does Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp offer free estimates?

    No, Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp offer a senior discount?

    No, Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp offer emergency services?

    Yes, Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp?

    Yes, Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp offers warranties.

    What services does Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp offer?

    Schumacher & Farley Plumbing & Heating Corp offers the following services: Stoppages Electrically Cleared, Including House Drains & Kitchen Sinks. Also, Cesspool service, Water Mains & Sewers Repaired or Replaced, Complete Replacement or Repairs of your Gas Heating Equipment, Repiping, Installations and new construction, Commercial Plumbing, Drain Cleaning,