Tri-State Window Factory Corp

About

Founded 1969 • With Angi since February 2006

Tri-State is the manufacturer and installer of premium quality vinyl windows and patio doors. We do the entire job ourselves, no subcontractor or middleman! Tri-State builds them, installs them and we guarantee them....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+48 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(415) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

370

4

26

3

6

2

3

1

10

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

window replacement (385)siding companies (73)door installation (41)roofing (17)gutter repair (14)general contractors (13)egress window (5)skylight installation (1)
Showing 1-25 of 415 reviews
5.0

02/07/2022


Anna V.

They did an excellence and I'm satisfied with the work they did.

Description of Work
They create my window.

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/22/2021

5.0

09/28/2021


Joan / Robert R.

They did an excellent job. The work was professionally done. They even cleaned up after themselves. They just did a phenomenal job.

Description of Work
Window installation

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2019

5.0

07/22/2021


William S.

The guys arrived EARLY!!😁 All of them were very professional and friendly! I couldn’t be happier with the results! Extremely Satisfied!!

Description of Work
Sliding doors

Category contractors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2021

5.0

05/21/2021


carrie M.

Very professional, friction-free process. We needed to replace some Marvin windows that broke within 10 years. These windows are MUCH better designed; they open and close easily and lack some of the obvious design flaws of our previous windows (which were handsome but functioned poorly).

Description of Work
Windows replacement

Category replacement windows

Cost $3,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/21/2021

2.0

09/14/2020


Leo S.

They are located in Deer Park NY and cannot travel to NJ for < 6 window job. Understandable but they do have a location listed in paramus NJ making it appear that they service TRI-STATE

Description of Work
BAY WINDOW INSTALLATION

Category contractors, replacement windows

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/14/2020

5.0

08/19/2020


Linda F.

I love my new windows and I love Tri-State Window Factory! I have 11 new beautiful windows! Paul the salesman was wonderful as well as Chris who measured the openings and the two gentlemen that installed them today. So very happy! Will continue to recommend them to everyone I know! My mother also had 3 windows installed and is so pleased. After receiving a quote from Renewal by Anderson, she called Tri-State and was quoted 1/4 of the price. Not only the price sold her, it was the amazing quality of the three pane windows. She lives on a busy street and her living room is so quiet now! She’s so happy!! Thank you again to Paul and all of Tri-State! I will be calling you soon to do my siding! We cannot wait to start that next project!

Description of Work
11 windows replaced

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/18/2020

5.0

07/30/2020


JAMES C.

WORKERS ARRIVED AND STARTED RIGHT. WORKED NON STOP. TOOK THEIR TIME CHECKED THEIR WORK. EXTREMELY THOROUGH. CLEANED UP WORK AREA. A++

Description of Work
NEEDED A NEW WINDOW INSTALLED

Category contractors, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2020

5.0

07/08/2020


Phil H.

The team at Tri-State Window Factory just did yet another fabulous install at our home (new storm door and window) and I had to share. They're meticulous throughout the whole process, from sales to measuring to installation, we have always had a pleasant experience with each team. We have done all our windows now at this point and a few doors too. Love it when friends and family comment on how nice they look and how well they're built. Never had any hidden surprises or costs either. The cost breakdown is clearly written up every time which we appreciate. We are fortunate to have found Tri-State and will continue to use them as needed ... their warranty policy is also hard to beat, just got a few of their window screens re-screened too that were damaged from years of weathering and no hassles and no charge!

Description of Work
Window and door replacements

Category siding, replacement windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2020

5.0

07/08/2020


John K.

I've used tri-state in my Home for years. We've replaced every window, and had new sliding doors installed. Most recently we had a new storm door put on the back of the house and replaced our last "old window." Andreas and team were fantastic (as they have always been!) the measurements were completed at the time they indicated (and the gentleman wore mask and gloves without question) and the day of installation was seamless and clean. HIGHLY recommend this company!

Description of Work
New storm door and double hung window

Category contractors, replacement windows, doors

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2020

5.0

07/08/2020


Christine A.

Hired Tri state to do windows siding roofing and doors. We built a house recently in massapequa and we needed a ton of work to be done. We hired Tri state to do everything and we could not be more pleased. From the quality to the beauty of all there products we are extremely happy! Would definitely use again in the future if we ever decide to do a crazy renovation like this again.

Description of Work
Windows siding roofing and doors

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2020

1.0

07/06/2020


Cathryn R.

Was told I would receive a call regarding a quote. Never received a call.

Description of Work
Window replacement

Category replacement windows

Work Completed On 07/06/2020

1.0

06/30/2020


patricia S.

I and my husband decided that we were going to replace the older windows in our home. We received presentations and estimates, from several companies. Each of the proposals included a fairly detailed, written estimate, showing the bottom line cost, for everything, with no alleged hidden expenses. In each case, the sales person examined, then measured, the existing windows, explained the differences, between double-pane and triple-pane windows, the different gases used to fill them, plus their various model differences and what is and isn’t included in the price, plus the details of the warranties. All seemed pretty clear and our initial decision was to go with Tri-State Windows, because the salesman, Bill Luftig, repeatedly explained that he had been doing this, for 48 years, was a thorough windows professional and knew everything there was to know, about his windows and every one of his competitor’s products. He made a convincing presentation. Later that day, on Saturday, 6/27, I called Bill Luftig, to come back to our house, then complete the paperwork. He said he would be there, the next day, Sunday, 6/28 at 11am. My husband couldn’t be there, at the time, due to a prior commitment and neither of us expected a problem. Bill Luftig did show up, a bit earlier than scheduled but that was not an issue. The problem arose when he advised me that, because the original windows were Anderson, there would be an additional cost, of $150, per window, because, allegedly, Anderson does not use standard window frames and they would have to build custom frames, to match the openings created by the existing, Anderson windows. When I asked why he didn’t mention this, during the original sales pitch, his only answer was “I forgot.” “I forgot,” from someone, who, at THREE different times, during the sales pitch, claimed to know everything about everyone’s windows? He also pressured me, to give him a deposit check, which I did, because he claimed that, on the afternoon of Monday, 6/29, he was leaving town, on vacation and, if I didn’t complete the contract, then and there, everything would be postponed, for a minimum of several weeks, until he returned. When my husband arrived home, that evening, I explained what happened and, after realizing that we had become the victim of a bait and switch tactic, we decided to cancel the purchase. My husband phoned Bill Luftig, the next morning, from his office, only to get Mr. Luftig’s voice mail, then left a message, telling him we didn’t like the bait and switch tactics, to cancel the purchase not to contact us, again, in any way. Guess what? Less than an hour after being told not to make any more contact, Bill Luftig phoned me, on my cell phone, to tell me how much we’re hurting him, by cancelling the order and tried to get me to reverse the decision. I told him the decision was not going to be reversed and I did not appreciate what he did and did not want any more contact, from anyone, at Tri-State Windows, after which I hung up. About two hours later, after now TWICE being told not to call again, someone, who claimed to be Bill Luftig’s manager, phoned my husband, at his office, insisting that my husband listen to him. My husband told him there was nothing to discuss, then hung up on him. Within two minutes of that, that same “manager” phoned me, on my cell, again trying to get me to change my mind. I told him to stop harrassing us and that there was no chance of changing our minds. We called our 2nd choice window company, then gave them the order. That company had no problem, with the original windows and window openings being Anderson and did not have any “surcharge,” for that or anything else. I phoned our bank, then placed a stop payment order, on the deposit check, expecting Tri-State to ignore our cancellation, then deposit the check. We also returned their contract, via this morning’s mail, marked cancelled. Based on this, we will not only avoid Tri-State Windows, like the plague but make sure that our family and friends learn about their dishonesty and high-pressure tactics. Finally, we filed fraudulent practices complaints, against Tri-State Window Factory, with the Suffolk County Dept. of Consumer Affairs and the with the NYS Dept. of State’s Division of Consumer Protection, suggesting that both licensing agencies closely examine this company’s practices. update 7/10/2020 One of the things we have noticed, with practiced and inveterate liars, is that they always try to incorporate some element of truth into their fantasy, so as to provide a semblance of credibility to their lies. We’ve also noticed that they will change their story, to promote their interest, as the audience changes, in the hope and expectation that the multiple audiences will not be able to compare details. It’s always nice, when the liars are caught, with proof of their lies, which is what we’re about to provide. First, let’s deal with the truth portions of Tri-State’s statement: Truth 1) on the salesman’s initial visit, which was Saturday, June 27th, not Friday, June 26th, as Tri-State claims, we did discuss the idea of replacing only 4 windows. The salesman, Bill, knew they that ALL of our windows, not just the additional 4, were Andersen, from the initial visit. He even commented, during that first visit, that he could tell that they were all the old type of Andersen’s double-pane windows, because he could see the metal strip, inside the double-pane glass. Truth 2) we did phone the salesman, on Saturday, June 27th but that was the same day of his initial visit, not the next day, as Tri-State claims and it was at that time that we advised that we were going to replace 8, not 4, windows. Truth 3) on the salesman’s second visit, which was Sunday, June 28th and which my husband was not able to attend, because of a prior commitment, I was advised that the price, for ALL 8 windows, was going to be increased, by $150 each, for a total increase of $1,200 (8 x $150), allegedly because the old windows were Andersen. I was also pressured, to write a deposit check, at that point, based on the higher amount, being advised that Bill, the salesman, was going out of town, for an extended period and, if I didn’t commit to the job, then and there, it would all be pushed back, until after he returned. Now, let’s deal with the carefully constructed lies of Tri-State: Lie 1) “unwarranted, slanderous attack on our Company’s great reputation.” FACT: There is nothing untruthful or unwarranted, in what we said and proof of that is in the letter, dated Monday, June 29th, from Tri-State (PDF copy attached), which was written and mailed, obviously, before they discovered that we had outed their lies. (We’ve erased our full name and address therefrom, in accordance with your complaint posting procedures.) Lie 2) “the [4] additional windows being replaced are old Andersen.” FACT: Every window in our house is Andersen, which the salesman knew, as explained, above. Tri-State also states, in that same June 29th letter, that the salesman (who, on three separate instances, claimed he was the ultimate window expect) was incorrect and should NOT have tried to charge us the EXTRA TWELVE HUNDRED ($1,200) dollars. Gee, how could the ADDITIONAL charge be TWELVE HUNDRED, if only the four ADDITIONAL windows were Andersen? That would have been only SIX HUNDRED (only 4 x $150), if that was true. Lie 3) “The Sales Manager called the husband and he slammed down the telephone on him. The owner’s son then called the home number and the wife also slammed the phone down.” FACT: First, when my husband phoned Tri-State, on Monday, June 29th, to advise that the order was cancelled, the phone was answered by an answering machine. In his voice message, to Tri-State, my husband advised them, in extremely clear and unmistakable language, that not only was the contract cancelled and that we were placing a stop-payment order on the deposit check but that NO ONE, at Tri-State, should phone us or make ANY additional contact, in ANY form, as we did not wish to have anything more to do with them. Despite that, a man, claiming to be “Andre, the manager” phoned my husband, at his office, about an hour later, in an attempt to pressure him into revoking the cancellation, at which time my husband repeated that he did not wish to speak to anyone at Tri-State and that they were NOT to make any more contact. Not two minutes after being told, for the SECOND time, NOT to attempt any more contact, that same person, who also identified himself, to me, as “Andre, the manager” of Tri-State, phoned me, on my cell, trying to pressure me into reversing the cancellation. I reminded him that he was told not to make any more contact, after which I hung up on him. Gee, if being hung up on him hurt his feeling, that’s too bad. The “sales manager” and the “son” are one and the same person, not two separate individuals, as their response tries to make it appear. Another carefully constructed lie. If the “sales manage/son” had only followed his instructions and not repeatedly lied, he would not have “hurt feelings.” Lie 4) “ It is outrageous that she claims there was a “bait & switch.” FACT: How else would anyone honestly and legitimately describe what Tri-State tried? Maybe attempted grand theft? Lie 5) “The salesman told her they would look fine, but she decided she wasn’t interested, so the salesman wrote the contract for all eight windows at the same price per window that she had been quoted on Friday for a standard replacement installation.” FACT: Read Tri-State’s letter, in which they admit to the $1,200 “extra” being INCLUDED in the new contract but that they were, now, willing to waive it.

Description of Work
Window replacements

Category contractors, replacement windows

Cost $5,000

Work Completed On 06/28/2020

Service Provider Response

The salesman went to the consumers’ home on Friday, 6/26 and gave an estimate for 4 replacement windows. On Saturday, he was asked to return and came back on Sunday. When he got there, the consumer said she wanted to add 4 more windows, with the add’l windows being old Andersens. The salesman explained that there is an option when replacing Andersens to do a “new construction” installation, removing the frame to the studs, cutting the exterior siding to remove the nailing flanges, installing new jambs/moldings/stool/sill/apron and building up the exterior frame before capping. It’s a lot of labor and material, but we told her that he would do it for $150 per window for each Andersen. She asked how it would look with the standard replacement window installation vs. the “new construction” installation. The salesman told her they would look fine, but she wasn’t interested, so he wrote the contract for all 8 windows at the same price per window that she had been quoted on Friday for a standard installation. It is outrageous that she claims there was a “bait and switch”. There was no “bait”- she was offered an option which she declined and there was no “switch” since the contract was written for the original price per window. On Monday 6/29, we were notified that the consumers were canceling the contract. We wanted to eliminate the misunderstanding and accommodate the consumer, so we tried to contact them. The Sales Manager and the owner’s son both called and had the phone slammed down on them. The owner’s son then wrote them a letter explaining that it was a misunderstanding and returned the deposit check, while offering to do all 8 windows as “new construction” at no add’l cost, for the price of standard installation as quoted, in an effort to make them happy. Instead, we get viciously abused on the internet by these people. We are an old, family-owned company with a great reputation for great workmanship, integrity, and customer service. We go out of our way for our customers.

5.0

06/05/2020


Kevin E.

aside from the salesman everything else was better than expected. The windows are a great product and the installation was extremely professional, neat, clean, and quick. I assumed I would need to repaint the inside frame after installation but remarkably no need to! The grew worked expertly around some challenges and the finished product was first rate. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
11 windows replaced

Category replacement windows

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2020

5.0

01/06/2020


Joseph W.

Everything was great. The office staff was friendly and easy to work with. They replaced 3 bedroom windows and they came out fantastic. Price was excellent too.

Description of Work
Replaced 3 windows

Category replacement windows

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/06/2020

5.0

12/29/2019


Gus M.

AWESOME! Paul who came to our house was well informed and never pushy. He answered all our questions we had. We actually went to the factory to see how the windows were made. This is a big investment in our home and there is none better. Knowledgeable, friendly workers. Everything was covered and cleaned up when the work was completed. Will definitely use them again! We highly recommend them. Gus & IRENE M

Description of Work
Had 15 widows installed

Category replacement windows

Cost $11,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/16/2019

5.0

08/13/2019


Beverly G.

The windows are excellent. They were very excellent. They cleaned up after themselves. They were very professional. The windows are super. The windows are really good. I am so happy with the work that they did. If I have any problem they will come and fix it for me immediately. They don't hassle you. I would highly recommend them. They stand behind their work. The salesman David he was very professional and easy to talk to.

Description of Work
Put in new windows in my entire house, new sliding door, brand new front entrance. They put in triple-pane windows.

Category replacement windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

5.0

07/12/2019


Irene G.

They came, did a template and install it, very friendly, professional, their price was reasonable and I'm happy with the service.

Description of Work
They install custom windows and doors.

Category replacement windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2019

5.0

04/27/2019


Natasha B.

I am a returning customer who was satisfied with prior purchase from Tri-State Windows. I can’t speak highly enough about Marc, sales person from Windows Factory. Marc came out to my home several time to help me throughout the process of purchasing 11 windows. He was very patient, knowledgeable and gave no pressure during the process. He was even present for installation though not required, simply to ensure a smooth process. The price was very fair. The installation team were very courteous and professional. The windows came out beautifully. One of the best experiences I’ve had during my renovation process. I give them five stars! Highly recommend Tri-State and ask for Marc!

Description of Work
Replacement and New Window installation!

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2019

5.0

10/15/2018


Gerald I.

Our 87 unit 3 story coop brick apartment building had 30+ year old windows and terrace doors needing replacement. Aside from judging the quality and design of various window vendors, we wanted the scheduling and installation to be coordinated by the vendor with minimal drain on building management and maintenance personnel. We were impressed with the window design, specs, lifetime warranty and dealing directly with the manufacturer. Scheduling was flexible and installation went smoothly. The installers were efficient, neat (careful, drop cloths, vacuuming) and courteous. The sales and office staff were helpful and easy to deal with. Shareholder feedback has been very positive. Would highly recommend. - Submitted by Coop Board President

Description of Work
Windows and terrace doors for Coop apartment building

Category replacement windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2018

5.0

09/09/2018


Bill M.

Well this was the 4th time we used Tri-State window factory in Deer Park NY. Now my home and garage have all Tri-State windows and I could not be happier. These windows are far superior to the Anderson windows I previously had. Last winter was brutal last year on here Long Island and the Tristate windows I had were incredible and that why I wanted them in my entire house. They are beautifully made and incredibly energy efficient. Andreaus was my sales rep. and I wouldn't use anyone else. Andresus is a very nice young man and very knowledgeable. He gave us a very fair price on the windows. The entire process was painless once again, from picking out the windows, the measuring process and the installation. The installers were fantastic again, they did a beautiful installing and cleaning up. Tri-State installed all the windows in my house and did not disturb anything on the inside of my house. No moldings to play with or paint to touch up. The entire process took 3 weeks from picking out the windows, the measuring and the installation. I recommended Tri-State to my parents and they were so happy with the windows and the installers (and my parents are not easy to please) We are thrilled with our new windows and want to thank Andreaus once again. Once again we are satisfied customers and will continue to recommend Try-State Window Factory to all our friends and family!!!

Description of Work
8- 5400 series triple pane windows. Garage door frame capped in aluminum.

Category egress windows, replacement windows

Cost $4,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/06/2018

5.0

06/28/2018


Angela F.

Tri-state replaced over half our windows and our roof. The crew arrived promptly and did an excellent job on the windows. Two days later a larger crew came and again did an excellent job. They were very professional and made every effort to leave the property clean. They had to work hard around the weather for the roofing, but kept to their word. We will definitely be hiring them again and refer our family and friends.

Description of Work
Windows replaced and roofing

Category egress windows, roofing, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/23/2018

5.0

06/01/2018


John D.

Excellent work !!!! From start to finish.!!!Thank you everyone at Tristate!!!

Description of Work
Siding and window replacement

Category siding, replacement windows

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2018