Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Cny Chimney Svc

Founded 2001 • With Angi since August 2010

4.8

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5406 Loretta Ln

Clay, NY 13041

Description

Owned and operated as a family business. I take pride in my work as if your home was mine. I started in the masonry trade when I was 16 in 1991. I apprenticed for 10 years before opening my own business in 2001. When you call it is me who answers and comes out for your estimate. If you choose my

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Sue T.
5.0
11/21/2017
Phil did an amazing job of repairing the damage and making them look like new. I appreciated the time he took to explain to me both before and after the work was completed what had been done and why. I also highly recommended him to a family member for a similar job.
Description of Work
My homes front stairs are natural stone and the mortar was dissolving. We had used real salt on them in the winter, not realizing the damage this caused.
Category
masonry
Augie T.
5.0
09/11/2017
Outstanding workmanship and attention to detail, 5 stars! It was clear from the get-go that the owner Phil takes a great deal of pride in his work, and has a remarkable blend of knowledge and expertise and great work ethic. He and his assistant completed this project on schedule and with no cost overruns. They were extremely courteous and willing to address our questions. Phil also took the time to call a few different suppliers to get us the best pricing on our custom-sized chimney cap. We were referred to Phil by our roofer as well as staff at 2 masonry supply shops who gave glowing recommendations. Second recommendation was unsolicited and came after work was already in progress. We were selecting bricks for the project and asked the salesperson (who we had randomly selected) how well they would hold up to Syracuse weather. He said it all depended on the install. I stated we were having a contractor do the work, and he started sharing shoddy workmanship horror stories. At that point I mentioned Phil's name, and he immediately stopped and said we'd have no worries. Said he was in the process of recommending Phil for a family member! We recommend CNY Chimney highly to anyone who wants a quality job done right the first time!
Description of Work
Second story 80-yr-old chimney rebuild from roof line up with new poured concrete crown and cap
Category
masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair
Rod S.
5.0
08/07/2017
Very Good nice professional job
Description of Work
Chimney liner
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
elizabeth M.
1.0
07/15/2017
Waited all day for him to come-Never showed up......................Very puzzled-Was very professional on the phone. Emergencies do happen, but a phone call would have been appreciated..................
Description of Work
Needed chimney rebuild/repair..................
Category
masonry, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I apologize for not calling. I had every intention on stopping by and completely forgot. I'm sorry for any inconvenience.
Mary D.
5.0
12/20/2016
I was very pleased with the work. They responded quickly to my request for an estimate and completed the work within the same week. They protected surrounding surfaces and did an excellent job of cleaning up. The quality of their work was excellent.
Description of Work
Aluminum chimney liner for furnace was replaced with stainless steel. Damaged parging on exterior of masonry chimney was removed and replaced. Top of chimney was resurfaced as well.
Category
masonry, chimney repair
RICHARD B.
5.0
11/29/2016
Prompt, courteous, professional. Took time to explain what he was doing and preventative measures/trouble signs to look for. Heartily recommend.
Description of Work
Chimney cleaning
Category
chimney sweep, masonry
Tammy M.
5.0
09/26/2016
Very fast and courteous service
Description of Work
Mice getting inside house
Category
pest control, masonry
Jacob M.
5.0
07/08/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Major house foundation rehab on three sides; new chimney crown and chimney caps. Both jobs went well. Very satisfied
Category
masonry
Julia E S.
5.0
05/27/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Phil took on a job other chimney places had turned down as too dangerous, as our chimney was crumbling and could have fallen. He & an assistant took down the whole chimney using a lift because of the danger and rebuilt from the ground up. The new chimney is great, looks perfect.
Category
chimney caps
Susan B.
5.0
04/07/2016
Phil and his crew were professional,tidy, and fun to have around. Obviously take pride in their work. My old chimneys were leaking water into the house. He tore both down and rebuilt with stones from my stream. lovely copper caps were the finishing touch. He gave me estimates for all work which I approved. Very good to work with them.
Description of Work
Totally rebuilt 2 fireplace chimneys
Category
masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces
Christine P.
2.0
11/24/2014
The provider was called ~ I left a detailed message with my name, telephone number and the work I needed done. The provider did not have the courtesy to return my call.
Description of Work
nothing ~
Category
masonry

Service Provider Response

I do apologize for not responding to you. I try my best to return every call but sometimes the demand is overwhelming. I am working harder to prevent this. Sincerely Phil Gregory
cheryl Z.
5.0
05/14/2014
They just came over to clean my chimney. They did a very good time. They are always on time. I have been using them for a very long time. They are very honest, cheaper, professional, and clean. Overall, they deserve an A.
Description of Work
Chimney Sweep Service.
Category
chimney sweep
Robert H.
5.0
05/01/2014
Great to work with!! Phil showed up when he said he would show. Started when he said he would start the job and finished the work when he said he would finish. Had a hard time getting any one to even give me a estimate. Can not say enough about what a great job CNY did on my chimney. Going to have him back to make us a pair of front steps and do some foundation work.
Description of Work
Chimney replacement.
Category
masonry, chimney repair
Jennifer J.
2.0
04/08/2014
It didn't. I left several messages regarding the pellet stove insert I have and requested their chimney sweeping service. I am very surprised and disappointed at the total lack of follow up.
Description of Work
I left several messages to request Chimney Sweeping services. Never received a return call.
Category
chimney sweep
Melanie R.
1.0
11/11/2013
Nothing happened; received no call back. I will not hound a provider beyond the first call. Their lack of response is all the information I need.
Description of Work
I called the firm, left a detailed message and never got a call back.
Category
masonry, chimney repair, fireplaces
Diane C.
2.0
11/06/2013
No work was done.
Description of Work
The provider prmptly provided an estimtae of the cost for a chiney repair. He was articulate, knwoledgable and pleasant. When I called to say I wanted to hire him., he did not return my call. I called again two weeks later and still had no response.
Category
masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair
Robert G.
5.0
09/24/2013
We purchased natural stone on our own from an out-of -state quarry. We then tried with great difficulty to find a mason. On Angie's List we found that CNY Chimney did masonry work and had great reviews. Phil Gregory was very responsive and came out promptly to go over the job and give an estimate. He gave different options regarding cost and benefit. Masonry is a challenging task. Phil clearly had the knowledge, skill, and equipment to do the job. He worked efficiently and had the job done within 3 days. The wall has held up to strong wind and rain, and it looks terrific. Moreover, Phil even did some work on our chimney as a bonus. Phil is great to deal with and does great work.
Description of Work
Put a stone facing on the concrete way of our barn
Category
masonry
Daniel C.
5.0
09/01/2013
Excellent service. Job completed in one week. Quality is top notch, cleanup was done well.
Description of Work
Complete re-surface of large chimney with 3 coats of stucco.
Category
masonry
Leslie T.
5.0
07/19/2013
Personable, professional, quick response. No mess was left, all work was up to specs.
Description of Work
Removed and replaced a block chimney onto our home.
Category
masonry, chimney repair
Glenn W.
5.0
07/08/2013
I've used CNY Chimney in the past to replace the top portion of my chimney down to the roof line. The person did such a great job I asked him to help me with my deteriated parging on my foundation wall. Instead of just leaving me with a patched wall, he took the time to remove all the existing parging and re-parged the entire wall. It looks like a new wall. I'm very happy with its appearance and would ask him to help me in the future.
Description of Work
Removed old parging on foundation wall and re-parged it.
Category
masonry
Cindy G.
5.0
05/20/2013
Perfect.
Description of Work
Inspected and cleaned my fireplace and chimney.
Category
chimney sweep, masonry
martha S.
5.0
09/28/2012
From start to finish everything went very well.
Description of Work
Phil tore down chimney, rebuilt to perfection. He put in a gorgeous patio, steps and walkway. His work is superb, he is friendly, easy to talk to, and a perfectionist. He has great ideas, loves what he does and it shows. We will most definately call him in the near future!
Category
masonry, chimney caps, glass block, hardscaping
Colleen F.
5.0
09/05/2011
Considering the time of year (winter) and the scope of the work I was amazed with the finished product. Phil saved our behinds on this project that was completely unexpected. It was quite expensive-but a value overall.
Description of Work
Complete tear down and rebuild of two chimneys from roof line up. Working in terrible weather 3 stories high.
Category
masonry

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gannon Pest Control Inc

    For over 18 years, Gannon Pest Control has responded to the pest control needs of Central New Yorkers. Our knowledge base is strong and deep; our staff and technicians are fully trained ready to serve you. We are a locally owned and operated company, with management committed to and actively involved in the Central New York community. Our technicians are fully trained and our office staff is well equipped to answer any of your Pest Control questions. Our office staff and technicians will ensure that you are fully educated regarding our procedures and all precautions you should take with regard to treatment.  

    Angi Certified

    EMR Lot Clearing LLC

    We offer land clearing and site preparation for new homes. We also offer utilty trenches,excavation, brush hogging and brush removal. We are a women owned business with 12 years experience in excavation.  

    Angi Certified

    TEKTON CONSTRUCTION, LLC

    Tekton Construction LLC is a company built on trust right here in CNY. We uphold the trust and integrity needed to treat you and your home with the respect you deserve. From the foundation to the roof our goal is 100% customer satisfaction. We achieve this through the highest level of craftsmanship, attention to detail and effective communication with our clients. Tekton is fully insured & accredited by the Better Business Bureau.  

    Angi Certified

    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Brick,Block, Stone, Stucco, Concrete. Chimneys, Fireplaces, Steps, Foundation repairs, Drainage, Basement windows, Retaining walls, Mailboxes, Patios, Walkways, Wood fired ovens and more!!! . Custom Masonry and restorations are my specialties.

    Services Not Offered

    Chimney sweeping is no longer offered.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Cny Chimney Svc

    How is Cny Chimney Svc overall rated?

    Cny Chimney Svc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Cny Chimney Svc open?

    Cny Chimney Svc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Cny Chimney Svc provide

    Cny Chimney Svc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Cny Chimney Svc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Cny Chimney Svc offers free project estimates.

    Does Cny Chimney Svc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Cny Chimney Svc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Cny Chimney Svc?

    Yes, Cny Chimney Svc offers warranties.

    What services does Cny Chimney Svc offer?

    Cny Chimney Svc offers the following services: Brick,Block, Stone, Stucco, Concrete. Chimneys, Fireplaces, Steps, Foundation repairs, Drainage, Basement windows, Retaining walls, Mailboxes, Patios, Walkways, Wood fired ovens and more!!! . Custom Masonry and restorations are my specialties.

    Are there any services Cny Chimney Svc does not offer?

    Chimney sweeping is no longer offered.