Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

CityWide Sewer & Drain

Founded 1952 • With Angi since January 2006

4.3

(85) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 350

Carle Place, NY 11514

Description

Founded in 1952, Citywide Sewer-Drain & Plumbing is New Yorks largest and most trusted full service Plumbing , sewer and drain company. Citywide has achieved these bragging rights by providing excellent customer service coupled with friendly, highly trained and experienced licensed Citywide

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Kim B.
5.0
01/07/2023
I have had a series of significant but unrelated plumbing issues within the past 3 weeks and have repeatedly worked with Sean. Tonight he was once again outstanding in his professionalism and customer service. He was thorough and efficient. Sean gave excellent care for my disabled mother, as a representative of City Wide hw is outstanding.
Description of Work
Repair leaking toilet. Wax gasket had deteriorated.
Category
plumbing
Thomas M.
5.0
02/16/2021
Arrived less than 24 hours after the call. Thank goodness for their professionalism and persistence. A main clog cleared revealed clogs in lines leading to kitchen sink, bathroom sink, bathroom tub. It took three different auger machines, three hours, but all faucets ran for a half hour and drained. The professional insisted on cleaning the tub, all the sinks, and possibly diagnosed the cause. And a guarantee. Not free, but having all drains working is amazing! If you want the job done, call these folks!
Description of Work
Clearing clogged drains
Category
electrician, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning
Maria M.
1.0
02/10/2021
WHAT A BUNCH OF HORRIBLE PEOPLE. They had no problem taking $12,000 from me when installing a new boiler and water heater. Fast forward 2 years and they want to CHARGE ME to fix THEIR MISTAKES!! Steve came out to look at the damage they caused today and had the audacity to say he would only charge me $650 in labor to change the corroded joints/connections they put in. What a bunch of nonsense!! What nerve of these people. We'll be meeting in court, Steve!
Description of Work
BOILER & WATER HEATER INSTALL
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Hey sorry for your experience - we dont handle this type of work and your address is in Florida. We only service the NY area
Saul N.
2.0
12/18/2020
I paid a ridiculous amount of money to get a sump pump and installed and to figure out a water issue in my subbasement. Three times they sent people out and no one was able to solve the problem. I inherited a strange plumbing and sewer line set up when I bought my house so in their defense it was tricky to figure out what was going on. I wasn't able to get them over the last time my basement flooded so I found a plumber referred to me by a friend. He took one look - explained the problem and replaced my sump pump that CityWide had incorrectly put in. I wish I had gone with that guy from the beginning. Bottom line is I spent a lot of money and then had to pay more to get it done correctly.
Description of Work
Replaced sump pump for flooding.
Category
plumbing
Gretchen S.
1.0
08/06/2020
While the initial pipe replacement went well, all subsequent service lasted one day, I was told there is no warranty on the work, and the prices were outrageous. DO NOT HIRE
Description of Work
Pipes replaced, sink snaked and estimate for additional work
Category
drain cleaning
JoAnne A.
5.0
12/07/2019
We had been having trouble with one particular toilet that another local plumber had been unable to fix. So finally, I decided to buy another one. Citywide sent Evens to remove the old one and install the new one. However, he did try to fix the old one first, which certainly showed more initiative than I'd expected. Unfortunately, we all came to the conclusion that the toilet did need to be replaced, which he then did promptly and professionally. Evens was smart, considerate, personable, and efficient. He made sure the new toilet was working properly and we were delighted when we saw he had left the bathroom floor sparkling clean. I have called Citywide in the past, and after today's experience with Evens, will not only use them again, but will pointedly request that they send Evens.
Description of Work
Removal of old toilet in powder room and installation of new one.
Category
plumbing
Mindy B.
5.0
11/15/2018
I typically do not write reviews, but nowadays, when you find a company that is courteous, knowledgeable, thorough and fair priced, I think you need to say something. Delano was all of these things I mentioned. He helped me trouble shoot the problem and showed me each step of the way what he was doing. I called CityWide at 2:30pm and Delano was at my house at 4:15pm the very same day. I would highly recommend him and CityWide and would definitely call again if I ever needed their services.
Description of Work
Clogged waste line
Category
sewer cleaning
Greg B.
5.0
03/05/2018
Very Good. 25 year guaranty. Check back with me in 20 years.
Description of Work
Relined sewer line
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Ellen S.
5.0
09/06/2017
I was pleased enough the first time to call them back. Doubly pleased with the promptness and efficiency 2nd time around
Description of Work
This is the 2nd time I called them (2 separate problems) in the past few months. First time we had a blocked main sewer line. It was difficult to get to, and the guy persisted till problem solved. This time we needed 1 of our sump pumps replaced. Guy came within 1 hour of me calling, and fixed the problem on the spot.
Category
plumbing
Mary Ann P.
5.0
08/31/2017
They were excellent and they were a lot cheaper than another company. They did a great job.
Description of Work
They did plumbing.
Category
plumbing
Joseph G.
4.0
08/30/2017
The project only took a day which was fantastic and exactly what we were hoping for. I barely knew the crew was here while they were doing the work (other than the noise of concrete being jackhammered). The price was more than I expected but Citywide was recommended by our plumber so it is what it is.
Description of Work
We had a dry well installed near our backdoor basement steps.
Category
plumbing, wells
Alan B.
1.0
07/25/2017
Seemed fine at first. Then the cesspool collapsed because they broke the cover too close to an edge, installing a pvc pipe to drain through.
Description of Work
Cesspool location and pump out
Category
plumbing, septic tank
Beckie L.
5.0
05/02/2017
Two hrs later. Everything is done to our satisfaction and we gain a little more knowledge about septic tank.
Description of Work
The first company came, cannot find the septic tank and offer to sell me acid as a temporary solution. We did not know about septic tank. Good thing we did not use acid since it can damage the pipe depending on the type. We called citiwide, the tech has many yrs of experience and able to locate the tank and identify the problem of tree roots on the pipe after many attempts of snaking the pipe, it was clear out and we find out we have an overflow tank
Category
plumbing, septic tank, sewer cleaning
Joe L.
5.0
03/15/2017
Job went well. Tech took the time to find the second tank and aerate it as well despite the tricky location of the tank opening.
Description of Work
Septic tank drained and aerated.
Category
plumbing
Louis S.
1.0
01/25/2017
We had been steady and loyal customers for several years with no problems until this incident. On New Years Day, our cesspool backed up. I called them for service, only to discover that, without any notice or warning, they flagged us to no longer provide service, and when I asked for a reason, they refused to provide one. They left us with a backed up cesspool on New Years Day with nowhere to turn. We eventually found another provider who, during the course of the service, found a larger main cesspool that Citywide somehow missed. These people are incompetent and irresponsible and should be avoided at all costs.
Description of Work
Drain cesspool.
Category
septic tank
Wilson M.
3.0
11/08/2016
Citywide said they are too busy to come to my house. However, they recommended another business that does the same work as Citywide.
Description of Work
Sewage/Cesspool tank cleaning.
Category
plumbing
Carrie M.
5.0
10/24/2016
seamless. They were prompt and neat.
Description of Work
clear and repair a sewer line.
Category
electrician, plumbing, sewer cleaning
Jennifer B.
5.0
09/08/2016
They emptied the tank. It went as expected, not much more detail I can provide
Description of Work
Septic tank emptied.
Category
septic tank
Cemil B.
5.0
08/22/2016
After reading reviews about Citiwide's experience on replacing drain pipes (large jobs) on Angie's List, I called them on a Saturday evening. Gary showed up about two hours later. He said the first step was to run a snake to see if the pipe could be unclogged. I reluctantly agreed, as the first plumber had done that before. But, lo and behold, Gary was able to completely unclog the pipe and said that our pipe was not broken. About an hour after he arrived, we had an unclogged sewer system, when Gary left. Talking to Gary was very informative, he definitely knew his stuff. Gary was very careful about making sure that work area was clean and neat after he left. He had a very pleasant demeanor. I would hire these guys again anytime.
Description of Work
I had a sewer backup. Before calling Citiwide, I called two companies, The first tried to use a snake and claimed that he couldn't go any further because of a collapsed sewer pipe (the one that goes from the house to the municipal sewer main), and indicated the sewer pipe from the house to the sewer mainline would need to be replaced ($10000+). The second used a camera to "show" that the pipe was blocked by roots and partially collapsed. He also quoted $9800 to use a "pipe bursting" method to replace the pipe, except that his method would require several walls in my basement to be broken to pass through the new pipe. Repairing damage to the walls was not included in the quote.
Category
drain cleaning
Bob W.
5.0
08/18/2016
Very well. It was completed as promised. Workers were courteous. They arrived at the time that was agreed upon.
Description of Work
Sewer line replacement
Category
excavators, plumbing, drain pipe
Margaret K.
5.0
06/28/2016
As on two previous occasions (in 2014 and 2015) when we used Citywide, we were impressed by the serviceman's professionalism and thoroughness -- a far better experience than with other similar companies.
Description of Work
Pumped and cleaned out one cesspool and one drywell, 1500 gals each; chemical treatment.
Category
septic tank
Ruth U.
5.0
11/11/2015
Fred, the manager was very helpful and informative. He called back and answered all of my questions. The plumber that was sent to our home was very professional and he sure knows his craft. With the information I gave Fernando he was able to find the leak and jackhammer the floor in the exact spot the pipe with the hole in it was. When I saw the deep hole and bathroom tiles piled up all over I was apprehensive but the hole was filled with cement and every piece of debris was cleaned up. Fernando certainly knowledgeable and I wouldn't hesitate to call citywide again with any plumbing issues.
Description of Work
Find and fix slab leak
Category
home inspection
robert H.
5.0
06/13/2015
2nd time I used these people and the 2nd time they did an outstanding job. I had "Jose", come to the house and he was a good guy. Nice, clean and professional. The guy simply knew his trade and performed flawlessly. I will use them again and definitely ask for Jose again!!
Description of Work
Cleared 2 lines.
Category
home inspection
Richard M.
5.0
04/22/2015
It was a great experience. They cleared up the sewer line but unfortunately the pipe failed again last week. We called them back and they came and fixed everything the same day that we called. I would recommend them.
Description of Work
They unblocked the sewer line from the house to the sewer.
Category
home inspection
Debra A.
5.0
03/29/2015
Sherwin arrived to our home very fast after we asked for an estimate. We told him that we were going to get many estimates. He gave us the best price/deal that he could. In the end, we went with another outfit but we always remembered how nice that he was, as he was the 1st service provider to give us the estimate for this situation. Lo and behold a few months later, my friend, who lives about 15 miles away, also needed some help ASAP with a similar situation. I referred her to CityWide as they are big and can get the job done instantly. As luck would have it, her technician was also Sherwin ("like Sherwin paint"), one in the same, and she thought as highly of him as we did. Super nice! No complaints. Thanks Sherwin!
Description of Work
Estimate for a job regarding a sump pump.
Category
plumbing, wells

    Other local Pros in your area

    Resto Wizards

    Resto Wizards is an IICRC certified, non franchised, and local mitigation and emergency service provider that specializes in the cleanup, restoration, and reconstruction of residential and commercial properties damaged by water. fire, mold, sewage, smoke, storm, wind, and other damages to your home or business . Our approach is to provide our customers with practical, timely, and lasting fixes to any damages caused by a storm or incident. Our goal is to ensure that we leave our customers with peace-of-mind knowing that they are in good hands and that their lives and homes have been brought back whole.  

    Angi Certified

    ADU Water - Fire - Mold - Storm

    We are licensed general contractors specializing in Restoration Services. We restore property damage caused by disasters such as, a fire, flood, mold, storm or even a blood trauma event. We are an emergency service company, open 7 days a week and committed to restoring your property through the use of our skilled professionals and our state-of-the-art equipment. Give us a call today to request more information! Additional phone number: 516-231-9945.  

    Angi Certified

    G-Tech Restoration Inc.

    G-Tech Restoration specializes in Fire-Water-Smoke-Mold disaster recovery. We will treat your home as if it were our own and guarantee all services provided. If you are filing an insurance claim for your fire-water-smoke-mold damage, let our experts help you facilitate the entire process removing the stress and discomfort when venturing into the unknown. We offer financing and provide senior citizen/military veteran discounts. Call today to setup your free inspection!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
    Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
    24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Plumbing , Sewer & Drain Cleaning ,Sump Pumps, Sewer Pumps, Electric line snake,Pumping of Grease trap & Ejector pits, Cesspools & Septic service, High velocity Water Jetting , Rooter Services , Storm drain & Catch basin cleaning- Sewer & Water Main Replacements - Preventive Maintenence Agreements

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CityWide Sewer & Drain

    How is CityWide Sewer & Drain overall rated?

    CityWide Sewer & Drain is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are CityWide Sewer & Drain open?

    CityWide Sewer & Drain is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does CityWide Sewer & Drain provide

    CityWide Sewer & Drain accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does CityWide Sewer & Drain offer free estimates?

    Yes, CityWide Sewer & Drain offers free project estimates.

    Does CityWide Sewer & Drain offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, CityWide Sewer & Drain offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CityWide Sewer & Drain offer a senior discount?

    No, CityWide Sewer & Drain does not offer a senior discount.

    Does CityWide Sewer & Drain offer emergency services?

    Yes, CityWide Sewer & Drain offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by CityWide Sewer & Drain?

    Yes, CityWide Sewer & Drain offers warranties.

    What services does CityWide Sewer & Drain offer?

    CityWide Sewer & Drain offers the following services: Plumbing , Sewer & Drain Cleaning ,Sump Pumps, Sewer Pumps, Electric line snake,Pumping of Grease trap & Ejector pits, Cesspools & Septic service, High velocity Water Jetting , Rooter Services , Storm drain & Catch basin cleaning- Sewer & Water Main Replacements - Preventive Maintenence Agreements