Alden Painting

About

Founded 1979 • With Angi since July 2015

Proud earner of multiple Angie's List Super Service Awards most recently 2018. We are a family owned and operated business that services New York and Vermont. Please contact me at (518) 742-0210 or (802) 681-5719. I have nearly 37 years of hands on painting experience. I work every job myself with

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

Before After Before

Verified Reviews

4.8

(41) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

36

4

2

3

0

2

0

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

house painting (33)interior painting (19)pressure washing (13)general contractors (7)deck cleaning (3)door installation (2)wallpaper removal (2)gutter repair (2)cabinet refacing (1)
Showing 1-25 of 41 reviews
5.0

05/05/2021


Robert J.

John and his team completed the work in a professional, timely, and efficient manner. Perfect job from top to bottom. John is a true gentlemen. True to his word, reliable and honest - with an excellent work ethic. In my opinion, hire him. You will be extremely pleased with his work product.

Description of Work
Exterior and Interior Painting of Historic House in Washington County, NY

Category contractors, wallpaper removal, pressure washing, house painters, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2021

5.0

05/05/2021


Frank K.

Clear estimate, timely work, skilled & friendly crew

Description of Work
Interior painting, exterior touchup, lawn cleanup, door replacement, deck pressure wash and paint

Category contractors, gutter repair, pressure washing, house painters, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/21/2021

5.0

01/13/2021


Thomas S.

John and his team arrived on time every single day for the three consecutive days it took to paint the entire interior of my house. Not only was John tasked with painting, but he was also asked to replace a lot of broken molding and baseboards. The work performed was truly exceptional and exceeded my expectations. I will be hiring John again this spring to do some more exterior painting for my barn, as well as some unrelated exterior work on my house.

Description of Work
Interior Painting, Entire House

Category contractors, interior painters

Cost $6,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2021

5.0

07/21/2020


William R.

They did a good job and the work went smoothly .

Description of Work
Interior and exterior painting

Category house painters, interior painters

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/21/2020

5.0

05/12/2020


Marian W.

We could not ask for a better experience with a painter -- Mr. Alden was prompt, efficient and clean. He is a consummate professional and a true gentleman. We had him working on our house while we were away and he sent photos of his progress with regular updates. We heartily recommend Alden Painting for all your painting needs. M&C Wade, Stephentown, NY

Description of Work
Painting of entire house exterior including roof.

Category pressure washing, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2020

5.0

10/22/2019


Cynthia L.

All went as scheduled. Colors were nice.All was done in a professional manner. I would definitely hire John again.

Description of Work
Interior painting

Category house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2019

1.0

10/02/2019


Christine G.

They called me crazy because their work was substandard and I was also nit picking. Wow, how professional! Their contract was vaguely written. I was told the paint was included, then was told that I needed to pay for the paint, after I fired him. Then he involved the State Police. Their work doesn't meet up to what their website suggests. If you're looking for quality, they don't have the time because they have other jobs lined up. They show up late, leave early, and will expect to use your restroom, that's right, totally inappropriate.

Description of Work
Attempted to paint my exterior

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2019

Service Provider Response

"Crazy", no question about it i did'nt do your job. The day i met you you were doing battle with a very well known and reputable roofing contractor. You had his sign locked in your garage and you were having issues with the lady across the street. I gave the lead to my son who is also a painting contractor, sorry son, and explained things. He met you with a clearly written proposal. You both agreed to the terms. He lasted 2 days on a job that would have taken 2 weeks. He said it was the worst experience ever and couldnt get out of there fast enough. He needed the aide of the state police to get his equipment and to be reimbursed for the materials he purchased. Everybody likes him and likes his work. I think you wanted a whole lot for very little. Again i didnt do your work, thanks for your review.
5.0

09/10/2019


Richard T.

The painting went very well. John Alden did such a nice job on a neighbor's house that I hired him to repaint our Cape Cod style house. The pressure washing and application of stain (Benjamin Moore) were completed in good time, with high quality finish on siding and trim. They took good care of the surrounding garden while working and cleaned up well when done. All of the team were very pleasant to have around. Overall an excellent experience.

Description of Work
Re-paint house and detached garage exterior

Category pressure washing, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2019

Images

Review for Alden Painting - PO Box 330, Cambridge, NY - 38097931
5.0

08/26/2019


Jamie B.

John came, gave a very fair estimate and we figured out a good time to start the work. Every day they showed up on time and worked all day, only stoping to take a brief lunch break. Their work ethic was stellar, manners impeccable and their work is excellent. They even did some other small jobs for me while they were there! I even have them queued up for the next job.

Description of Work
We needed the exterior and trim of our lake house and garage painted.

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2019

5.0

06/17/2019


Karen S.

John and crew were excellent from start to finish. John responded to all my texts, and answered every question I had . They went above and beyond in performing the job. John actually put different colors on our door and let us pick out the one we liked. He did the same thing with the stairs— he makes house painting fun! It was completed timely and they left the worksite completely cleaned up. My house looks awesome and I cant say enough kind words about john and the crew.

Description of Work
Exterior house painting

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2019

5.0

11/14/2018


Nancy F.

BEST EXPERIENCE EVER!!! John Alden, his son and his workers are A M A Z I N G!! We purchased our home six years ago. A really cool Stickley Bungalow, that was built in 1910 - a one story, somewhat 'rambling' (several additions, lots of angles), large home. With a lot of inside work to do, we concentrated our efforts - and our money, on this... leaving the exterior for 'another day'. Well, that day finally arrived and I went hunting on Angies List for a good painter. Instead, I found a GREAT PAINTER!! The exterior of our house was stained brown, actually, many differing shades of brown, as the various areas were no doubt done piecemeal over the years, by the original family who built and owned the home. Along with the solid brown stain, came lots and lots and lots of yellow trim. When I originally contacted John and he came by to check out the job and give me an estimate, I asked him to paint areas that needed it only... so, kind of like 3/4 of the house... sides and trim. As almost half faces away from the street and our side yard, I figured that I'd save some $$ by doing it this way. John gave me a very fair price for this original job, back in August, informing me that I'd be his final exterior customer of the season. He checked back often after this, making sure we were still set for the job and letting me know he planned to begin in late September. Unfortunately, Mother Nature had other plans - sending lots and lots of rain - tough painting weather. John persevered, beginning the job as soon as he could and worked like crazy to get it done! As he was nearing that time, and the portions he had completed looked SO GOOD, he offered to do the whole (John will smile if he reads this), 'kit and kaboodle'... for a very reasonable fee. All I can say is WOW! Our one hundred-eight year old house looks gorgeous... absolutely beautiful! So, to recap: John Alden is a great painter. He goes above and beyond... arriving early, staying late... keeping things tidy... no mess, no drips, just perfect. We are 200% satisfied with John's work, his work ethic and his attention to detail. We wish we'd done this sooner ... but are so happy that I found the BEST PAINTER in Southern Vermont, to do the job up right. To anyone looking for a painter, to do exterior - or interior painting - do yourself a favor and have John take a look. Trust me, you'll be glad that you did! Last - he power-washed the house prior to painting, and included a marble patio and stone steps that are located in the back of our house. Both areas now sparkle! I didn't even know it was possible to get both to look SO GOOD! John did this without being asked to do so, he's just that kind of guy! And, at my request, his son hoisted/set up a pair of storm windows for me, with a smile. Nice people. Really, nice people!

Description of Work
Painting of exterior of our home in Arlington, VT.

Category pressure washing, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2018

5.0

08/10/2018


Jarimi L.

I hired Alden Painting this past April to replace some bad siding, install gutters, and paint the exterior of my home. I am more than pleased with their work. The place looks great and I will definitely hire them again when the need arises.

Description of Work
Exterior painting, Replace siding, install gutters

Category contractors, gutter repair, pressure washing, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/05/2018

5.0

08/09/2018


Susan F.

Excellent job. John (the owner) was very responsive and always available. John was able to meet all of our wants and needs. Accommodated a color change after a room was completed with no problem. I have to say I was very impressed with the work, and will have John back next spring to paint the exterior of our home and our deck.

Description of Work
Interior painting (3 bedrooms, kitchen, living room, and 2 bathrooms)

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2018

5.0

08/08/2018


Tammy N.

Great work! John and his son came when they said they would. Completed the job ahead of schedule and met all of my expectations for a painter. Would absolutely recommend and hire again!

Description of Work
Painting inside and out

Category house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2018

5.0

08/08/2018


Charles M.

Received several estimates on power washing but was hesitant with hiring just anyone due to the fact of putting our home on the market. Aldenpainting was very knowledgeable and professional, hired him on site.

Description of Work
Light carpentry, power washing

Category contractors, pressure washing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/21/2018

5.0

06/13/2018


Ralph B.

Good job, nice family business attentive to detail

Description of Work
Replace and paint siding that had been damaged

Category contractors, house painters

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/13/2018

5.0

06/12/2018


Ralph B.

It Went Very Well !!! This is a BIG deck 700 Square feet and a wrap around on pillars. I got a call back from John Jr. within 24 hours with an apology it was not quicker. (Other business sent me e-mails asking for photos or took a few days to get back). John was there the early evening of the day we talked and did the estimate. He went out of his way to get there as soon as possible even though it was no emergency. The price was upper mid range and the quality was excellent.The job included replacement of a number of 2 to 4 foot sections of decking that were damaged. Their protocol is to use a mold killer before pressure wash. They use ArborCoat stain which is high quality Benjamin Moore. Application was brush and roller which provided great coverage. Work was done when promised and area cleaned up at the end of the day. This is a family business and they care about the quality of their work. I would recommend them and am having them return to do some other work (carpentry and painting) on the outside of our house

Description of Work
Deck Repaired, Power-washed and Stained

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters

Cost $2,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2018

Images

Review for Alden Painting - PO Box 330, Cambridge, NY - 37150018

+1 More

1.0

06/12/2018


Frederick P.

On June 2nd they replied by email that they would get back to me as soon as possible.... haven’t heard a word since.

Description of Work
Exterior painting.... trim, lattice etc.

Category house painters

Work Completed On 06/02/2018

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review i did call right away and left a message check your voice mail
4.0

10/30/2017


Linda C.

It went great. Weather was not good so he had time from his exterior job. Came right when promised and finished when he said.

Description of Work
Interior painting

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2017

5.0

09/30/2017


Sandra F.

John Alden, the owner, promptly returned our phone call and provided a very fair estimate. John and his son were professional, dependable, personal and were very careful, deliberate and thorough. We couldn’t be more pleased with their work and the results. It feels like we have a new home!

Description of Work
Our summer home needed painting - the original cabin built in 2005 as well as a new small cabin. A few boards - rotted by the snow - needed to be replaced and the decking needed pressure washing and a coat of preservative

Category deck cleaning, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/05/2017

Images

Review for Alden Painting - PO Box 330, Cambridge, NY - 36335500

+9 More

5.0

09/29/2017


Dennis D.

Very well, we are very pleased with the work that was done. John the principal was easy to deal, with and very professional, we would recommend him to our friends and anyone who needs a painter.

Description of Work
Power washed, scraped, spot primed and painted exterior of a two story house and barn with over 4800 sq ft of area. I addition coated two flat roofs, with over 2500 sq ft, with roofing coating. Remove and reinstall shutters.

Category pressure washing, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2017

1.0

09/14/2017


Paula I.

I hired him based on the reviews on Angie's List and his price, but that was a huge mistake. I think spending thousands for a job gives me the right to ask questions and get responses.

Description of Work
Power wash and paint exterior of chalet style house. Worked was never done because he walked away from the job today, Sept. 13, 2017. He said I made too many phone calls about the date of the power washing and start date of the painting. In April 2017 we accepted his price for the exterior painting and power washing with a target of beginning the job at the end of August beginning of September to power wash and paint the exterior of our house on the Stratton Mountain Access Road. Since we live in CT, we needed to know the start dates for the painting so we could be at the VT house. John Alden did not want me to contact him and resented the times I called or emailed him about the job.

Category pressure washing, house painters

Work Completed On 09/14/2017

Service Provider Response

That is not how it went nor is that how I operate. I am a man of my word to the best of my ability. Your camp would have been done by the end of this month. However, the never-ending text message and phone calls, drove me away. I did not walk away. I would have done the camp and I would have done a really nice job. But I cannot deal with the constant pressure that you put on me. I have a lot of people that I am trying to keep happy besides you. Good luck to you and to your painter.
4.0

09/11/2017


Stephanie C.

Very timely in reply and giving estimate. Very professional. Communicated on when they would be there to paint and to do the work as we had pets we needed to make sure were secure. Really really appreciated that they got back to quickly to give us a quote etc and work schedule. Would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
We had a large deck stained/waterproofed; part of garage - the wall stained; pressure washed the entire house and garage; painted interior staircase with vaulted ceiling.

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/11/2017