Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Verrazano Flooring Co

Founded 1988 • With Angi since November 2005

4.8

(62) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4901 2nd Avenue

Brooklyn, NY 11232

Description

Verrazano Flooring offers a wide variety of premier materials for your new hardwood floor installation, including unfinished, pre-finished and laminate wood strip flooring, borders and medallions. Our extensive selection of wood strip flooring includes floating floors...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/02/2019


P W.

We had a great experience - they accommodated our schedule, offered different options for covering and protecting the floor, especially since it was the kitchen, and came in on schedule and did an amazing job. The owner of the company made sure to check up on us, and also brought back his team for an extra clean up in areas that they were technically not obligated to do after the job was done. Respectable, and stand behind their work. Would highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Sand, seal, and finish newly-installed white oak kitchen floor

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, floor cleaning

5.0

09/17/2018


FABIENNE L.

Well prepared and planned in a short period of time; very professional interactions and work; good advice on what could be done and what was not necessary. Left the apartment in clean order. Thanking the whole team for a beautiful floor!

Description of Work
Hardwood Flooring

Category hardwood floor

5.0

01/30/2018


Andrew H.

We had a very tight one-month window to get new floors installed in our new apartment. Of the four companies (all with A ratings here on Angie's) that we contacted, Verrazano Flooring was by far the most responsive, professional and helpful, of the bunch. Frank, the owner, is very personable and truly conscientious in his work ethic and craft. He assured me that the job could be completed on time, got his team on site immediately and they worked diligently until the job was finished. Our new floors are solid and beautiful, and the excellent working relationship we experienced with Frank and his team really is a rarity these days. Verrazano isn’t the cheapest, but this is definitely a case of “you get what you pay for.”

Description of Work
New hardwood floors installed on short notice.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

04/21/2016


Michael M.

They were responsive and helpful and did a great job on the repairs. They matched all the details in the flooring, including underneath the radiator.

Description of Work
Verrazano Flooring took up the old carpeting in one room of my brownstone, repaired the wood flooring, then sanded and polished the floor.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, floor cleaning

5.0

02/26/2016


Hillary Q.

From the moment I first contact Verrazano Flooring, I was treated with respect and a great deal of care and consideration. My job was complicated, as I live about 2500 miles away from the apartment where the work was being done. Glenn was a great communicator and took the time to review a floorplan and provide thoughts before coming out for the estimate. The job wasn't easy, as Verrazano had to rip up some cheap work and then match the good flooring that still existed in another room. On top of that, I was on an impossibly tight schedule - and knew that having Verrazano get in and out every day was going to be an issue in my building. But that's why you hire REAL PROFESSIONALS, right? The office staff made sure that I had my contract and paperwork completed on time, and worked with me so that I always knew where the team was - because it is hard to monitor a job from across the country. When the cheap floors came up, we made the discovery of some gorgeous floor border underneath - and Glenn made a trip out to see if they could be salvaged (even though they looked pretty shot from the pictures the crew sent me). In the end, I made the decision to replace all the flooring, and the work speaks for itself: The new flooring is gorgeous, and it has totally transformed the room. The work was on-time, on-budget, and exceeded my every expectation in every way. I would serve as a reference for Verrazano any day of the week! I'm so happy, I'm going to add some pics to their profile!

Description of Work
Estimate of work; removed old flooring; disposed of old flooring; installed new flooring.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

02/16/2015


Yu S.

We bought an old house which was really in bad shape so that many serous works were called for. Our schedule was also very tight and general contracting work and floor installation went in parallel so I had to ask them to install hardwood in weird order, starting from 1st story and third, then second story. They did great job, very professional, clean, punctual. All people in field, office and sales were wonderfully fulfill responsibilities. And the floor is beautiful. I am very happy with them.

Description of Work
Install new hardwood floor to our three-story house.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, floor cleaning

5.0

11/14/2014


Kathleen D.

It was done in one day and it went great. They were very nice and worked by themselves with no problems. I was very pleased with them they came around 8-8:30 AM and were done by 4:30 PM, so I had the rest of the afternoon to myself.

Description of Work
They put down wooden hardwood oak flooring in my bedroom

Category hardwood floor

5.0

01/20/2014


Lisa L.

Fantastic! We had them come while we were out of town, which I was a little concerned about, but they managed the project efficiently, the floors came out beautifully, and there was not too much dust to clean up when we got back.

Description of Work
Hardwood floor sanding, refinishing. They also moved furniture out of the area to be refinished and sealed off adjacent rooms prior to beginning work.

Category hardwood floor, floor cleaning

5.0

08/13/2013


Denise M.

I was extremely pleased . They were on time ,very neat and professional. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Installed hardwood flooring in a hallway. Sanded and polyurethane approximately 16 stairs. They also placed molding in hallway and along staircase landing.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

08/12/2013


Alexandra B.

We recently purchased a house which is over a hundred years old. We wanted to use minimal carpeting and needed solid, splinter free floors throughout the house. We knew other folks who used Verrazano and were told by them that we would pay more money but that Verrazano would give us the best results. That was our experience, too. They were knowledgeable, professional, and very responsive to all our requirements, questions, and concerns. A few times I did question them on the work being executed and each time I did so they dispatched either the owner, management or master craftsperson to my home to investigate my concern. For example, I thought the wood trim (3 types of wood to match the parquet) that they replaced around the fireplace mantle should terminate in a smooth line and not be cut to fit the stones in the floor. The master craftsperson visited, heard me speak about how I preferred it to look, and with no further discussion recut and replaced the trim the next day to my complete satisfaction. Their work on both the repairs and refinishing was excellent. My floors look great! I'd use Verrazano again and will recommend them to friends.

Description of Work
Verrazano repaired and refinished the oak parquet floors on the first floor; repaired and refinished the pine floors on the 2nd and 3rd floors. They also refinished the treads, risers and stringers of the staircase to the 2nd floor and the stair treads to the 3rd floor.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

06/25/2013


joyce B.

The workers were efficient and neat. Time schedules were kept and work was completed on time as promised. The only difference between the estimate and final cost was due to the additional damage discovered and my decision to have a third coat of polyurethane.

Description of Work
Sanded and refinished with 3 coats of poly all but two rooms in house including stair treads. The floor looks great, not like new but given the condition they were in it is better than anticipated. They also did a repair of underlayment and new oak boards that was more extensive than estimated but the extra cost was worth it because the blend is imperceptible.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

02/11/2013


Patrick H.

Glen from VZ flooring came to our house looked at the damage from hurricane sandy and gave us an estimate for the work we felt needed to be done. He gave us a fair price for rip up of our old floors, screwing down our floorboards for better support, installation and finishing of the new floors. He told us after the rip up we had to wait for the moisture levels of the sub floor to be right or the new floors would just warp and breeding for mold ground over time. After the rip up we waited about 10 to 14 days. He returned checked the moisture with a meter and determined we were ready to go but we noticed that some of the floorboards of the sub floor were not to secure and simply screwing the down for support was not going to cut it. He recommended Plywood over the subfloor for support. He deducted the price of screwing down the subfloor from the new installation of the plywood. They then went and installed sanded and finished the new floors we had some minor problems along the way but they were always addressed and fixed by the company without a hassle. We are very happy with our new floors and would recommend using VZ flooring to anybody.

Description of Work
Great job

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

10/18/2012


James M.

They did an excellent job. The gentleman told me that you would see a difference between the new wood and the old wood, but it would look better than the damage we had. At the end of the day you couldn't see a difference - it blends in perfectly. They were very good - professional, clean.

Description of Work
Verazano Floors stripped a floor, they stained it, poly urethaned it. They repaired it as well. There was a stain on the floor and they replaced the wood.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/09/2012


Andrew I.

Prompt and on time return calls, emails, visits for quotes and dropping off samples and supplies. Just great contractor experience from start to end.

Description of Work
Installed hardwood flooring and subfloor over my beat up pine floor in living room and dining room. They did such professional Job of sealing off the work area from dust, and finished exactly as to schedule.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

01/27/2012


stephen B.

We Recently purchased a home on Staten Island and were surprised to find Hardwood floors beneath extremely outdated carpets. Initially I contacted the Office, Gina, who promptly set us up with Glen who was at the house within a day or so. Glen took all necessary measurements and gave us a free quote. He was prompt and courteous and wasn't a pushy salesman. He told it like it is. We were initially going to replace the carpet, but Glen made a good point that refinishing the floor would cost about the same. We booked him on the spot, based on Angies List. I'm usually a skeptic of that, but hey. glen explained all necessary steps in preparation. There are a lot of extras that I was not prepared for however, but made a world of a difference. For example, the "Water Popping" process. We were initially unsure about what stain to choose, so Glen said that the crew can help us decide that when they came. On my first service day, the 2 man crew arrived on time and ready to go. I was assuming that they would show us some blocks of wood with the stain. Instead, they had us standby for a few and started sanding away a 5'x5' patch on the 2nd floor, with 9 or more stains directly on the floor!!! It was awesome! We could see exactly how the stain would appear. We chose Sedona Red. Here's the extra. The crew also goes ahead and says basically, "Wait, there's more"... In an area immediately beside the stain, he did what's called the "Water Pop" process. This expensive extra was pouring water and some alcohol type solution to the floor opening up the grain of the wood and making the stain POP. It did, and we fell for it. It really made a difference. After about a week or so, the floors came out GORGEOUS. We couldn't believe our eyes. What an amazing job. If you are looking for gorgeous floors, call this company. A little pricey with the extras, (water pop and an extra coat of varnish). Our family consits of 2 people and 2 LARGE dogs, which is why we opted for the 3rd coat of varnish. Not everyone needs the extra coat. Plan at least a week for the entire process to be completed and allow time for the floors to dry!

Description of Work
Sand, Minor repairs, Water Pop, Stain and 3 coats of Varnish.

Category hardwood floor, floor cleaning

4.0

01/23/2012


anthony V.

They did a great job, and was very pleased with the outcome. Did not give them as high a rating as this would imply because I felt you relly had to stay on top of them. They did not respond quickly and did not remove their left over work materials after the job was finished.

Description of Work
They refinished the flooring in a one bedroom apartment. Actual floor area to be refinished was approx. 600 sqft.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

10/08/2011


Margaret P.

The owner who came to the house to give me the estimate was very friendly and professional and gave me a break-down of all the charges. The job was scheduled to take one week. The first day (Monday) they would remove the carpeting in the living room, sand and stain the floors and closets. They would return on Wednesday to put down the first coat of polyurethane and then return again on Friday to put down the last coat of polyurethane. The two young gentlemen who came to do the work arrived promptly (a little early the first day). They were extremely polite, friendly and professional. The work was completed as scheduled. The floors look beautiful. I live in a co-op garden apartment on the second floor. The only issues I had with the workers were that they left a mess in the building hallway; some of the molding was removed in the living room and it was not replaced and they had to remove the cover to the fuse box and did not replace it and I couldn't locate the screws that belonged to the cover. Very minor issues but I did bring them to to the owner's attention. Verrrazano Flooring did a wonderful job and I would highly recommend them. I did find them a bit pricey but I would use them again. As I said, my issues listed above are minor ones - nothing to prevent me from definitely recommending them.

Description of Work
I had my living room, small hallway, bedroom and four small closets sanded, stained and polyurethaned (two coats).

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/05/2011


sophie D.

They had good ideas and it was a good price. They were nice people and easy to get in touch with. It was one of the easiest jobs I did during my renovation. They did a nice job.

Description of Work
I used Verrazano Flooring to sand and refinish my apartment floors. It was four rooms.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

04/18/2011


J Eric F.

They did 2 rooms and a hallway. It was easy to communicate with them and completed the job on time. I liked their services and will use the same in future.

Description of Work
I used the services of Verrazano Flooring Co. to rescreen the floors and some drywall patching, in July, 2010.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

03/14/2011


Jack A.

I was happy with them. I’ve used them twice. They were not cheap, but they were efficient, on time, and got the job done. The company that was less expensive never responded. The flooring that I had was detailed, but they were able to finish the job well. I was very satisfied.

Description of Work
floor repair for two areas: a 3x3 area and also for a 1x1 area.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

01/20/2011


Hannah L.

They were wonderful. They came when they said they would. They did the work neatly and efficiently. They have a showroom which is nice. I received kind and attentive service when I went in to look and see what they had. They were extremely responsive and helpful on the phone. They had to schedule for putting the last coat around the snowstorm, but they were right on it. They got back to me and they told me that they couldn’t come on that day because they couldn’t get the trucks out. They said that they would come out the next day. I would certainly use their services in the future too.

Description of Work
Verazano Flooring installed a new solid wood kitchen floor and put on three coats of polyurethane for me in October.

Category hardwood floor, floor cleaning

2.0

09/03/2010


Janet L.

I really have not been happy with how the job has held up. Over the last two years we have noticed that it hasn't held up very well. It seemed to last 3 years in good shape.

Description of Work
In 2005 upon moving into my apartment they refinished the floors.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

08/04/2010


D H.

Right on time and neat work throughout. Right on estimate, too.

Description of Work
Verrazano repaired and refinished my oak parquet floors. The floors were sanded to remove the old finish, and after inspection, repairs were made to several deteriorated sections. The floors were then progressively screened to a fine finish, and given one coat of sealer and two coats of satin polyurethane. The result is quite beautiful!

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

4.0

08/04/2010


John R.

The person who gave the estimate was nice, and I also felt that they were honest. I would consider them for the future.

Description of Work
They gave us an estimate on floor refinishing.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/14/2010


Colette B.

We used them before and they are fantastic. I love working with them and they were nice guys and were always on time. They were fast, great and moved our furniture. We had to move out for two days and they moved everything back in exactly as it was and it was really easy. When we came back our floors were beautiful. We paid about $3,400 for the whole house.

Description of Work
We used Verrazano Flooring Co. in November and they stripped our floors and refinished them.

Category flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Dry Foam Way To Go

    If you have any questions or you would like to get a quote on the services offered, please don’t hesitate to give us a call. We can be reached by calling 1-888-518-0076 or 347-374-2464 . Someone from our team will be more than happy to work with you to decide exactly what you need and when it can be done. When ready, we’ll schedule a time for us to come out and complete any service selected.  

    3M Melo Hardwood Floors, Inc

    Melo Floors, Monmouth County NJ hardwood floor installer, is the premier hardwood floor expert in Central New Jersey, providing expertise in hardwood floor installation, precision sanding and refinishing of all finished or unfinished and prefinished hardwood floor varieties.  

    Wood Vitalize

    Dustless Hardwood Floor Refinishing (complete sanding without the dust and non-sanding techniques when sanding is not needed, there are space limitations, or the wood floor is too thin). Multiple hardwood floor cleaning options with spot damage treatments are also available for worn and dull doors. We cover all aspects of hardwood floor refinishing involving the following: An Array of Clear High-Quality and Durable Quick-Drying Finishes, Colors, Color Technology (Non-Toxic Fumes), Natural Oils, New Trends, Non-Dust Techniques, Repairs, Restoration/Preservation of Older Floors, Seamless Color Blending on Damaged or Faded Areas, Innovative Staining (Ebony, White-Washed, Walnut, Coffee, Oak, Gray, Charcoal, and Mixed Stains.  

    Offers by Wood Vitalize on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Hardwood floor installation, repairs and refinishing, supply hardwood flooring & materials.

    Services Not Offered

    We carry wood floor cleaning supplies, however, we do not have a service for this type of cleaning.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Verrazano Flooring Co

    How is Verrazano Flooring Co overall rated?

    Verrazano Flooring Co is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Verrazano Flooring Co provide

    Verrazano Flooring Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does Verrazano Flooring Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Verrazano Flooring Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Verrazano Flooring Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Verrazano Flooring Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Verrazano Flooring Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Verrazano Flooring Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Verrazano Flooring Co?

    Yes, Verrazano Flooring Co offers warranties.

    What services does Verrazano Flooring Co offer?

    Verrazano Flooring Co offers the following services: Hardwood floor installation, repairs and refinishing, supply hardwood flooring & materials.

    Are there any services Verrazano Flooring Co does not offer?

    We carry wood floor cleaning supplies, however, we do not have a service for this type of cleaning.