Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Five Boro Mold Specialist

Founded 1994 • With Angi since September 2009

4.3

(49) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

394 Marcy Ave.,

Brooklyn, NY 11206

Description

Five Boro Mold Specialist specializes in Mold Inspection and Remediation for both residential and commercial properties. We provide a six step process for a full mold inspection. We send down a crew of certified technicians. They take air samples to check if there is mold in the air and swab samples off the surface itself. They use infrared thermography to determine quantities of moisture or condensation behind the walls and moisture readers to verify moisture levels throughout the affected air to determine possible sources of mold growth. We use particle counters in the home as well as outside to determine the amount of negative particles that are in elevated levels compared to the outside. Within 2-3 buisness days, we recieve the lab results and submit them to you, along with a full report from our company detailing the findings of the technicians, if there is mold, how severe the growth is, the process necessary to remove the mold, how to prevent it from reoccurring, along with the infrared pictures pertaining to your property. The cost for the inspection includes air testing, swab sampling, particle counting, infrared technology, and moisture readings and the detailed report clarifying the type of mold, if it is toxic or non-toxic, how severe the growth is, as well as the health symptoms relating to this form of mold. If remediation can be performed the same day then it will be done, if not, we will set up an appointment, to perform remediation...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/26/2017


David L.

5 Boro was very responsive to our particular requirements

Description of Work
Remediation

Category mold removal

5.0

03/27/2017


Johnny W.

They performed professionally and did a through job.

Description of Work
Check for mold in the basement of church and eradication.of same.

Category mold removal

5.0

10/19/2016


Schneur D.

It was good. They were very thorough and they were the cheapest and quickest from all the places that I called. It was $400 for the inspection and it was $100 for the two extra samples that I wanted because I just wanted to make sure that the entire home was good. The customer service was good, the people knew their stuff. They quoted me that price and the guy actually showed me the bill for extra $100 when I told him what the price was. Basically what had happened was, I was calling from a local number and because they actually had to drive an hour out to our place, it was really supposed to be $100 more, but they stuck to the original quote.

Description of Work
They checked the house for mold, found it in a few places and gave a very complete estimate of what needs to happen.

Category mold removal

5.0

07/23/2014


Cynthia M.

I am very happy with the service from Five Borough Mold Specialists. They were prompt, courteous and efficient and cleaned up after themselves. What I thought was a superficial crack in my ceiling turned out to be a mold nightmare due to a leaky upstairs bathroom pipe. But they were quick to identify not only the problem of mold but the direct cause of it. Fixing the leak was pretty easy and the cleanup was completed within a few hours. Their pricing is fair and everyone I came into contact with was professional and engaging. They provided some of the best service I've ever had. Once the repair and cleanup were completed I was able to have the ceiling repaired and it looks as good as new. I couldn't be happier!

Description of Work
The inspected my entire house and identified mold in my dining room ceiling which was caused from a leaky pipe from the upstairs bathroom. They then took steps to quickly and efficiently remove the mold and all affected materials.

Category mold removal

5.0

07/20/2014


Peter S.

I was quite impressed with Five Boro's punctuality and professionalism. They did everything when and how they said they would and I was very pleased!

Description of Work
Did a classic non-toxic mold inspection and very minor remedy

Category mold removal

5.0

06/30/2014


richard F.

The experience with Five Boro Mold Specialists was a pleasant one and they clearly explained all the options I had. They went out of their way in explaining how mold is truly removed and that many tiimes you can't clean away all the mold and it comes back over time. They explained that the proper way to remove mold is to completely remove it. It went well and I was very satisfied with the experience.

Description of Work
Inspected my mold problem and was able to remove the mold that was present. They did however explain that the proper method of removing the mold would require replacing the contaminated areas and not just cleaning it. I could not afford replacing a section of my home at the time and had to settle for the best they could do. I appreciated their honesty and felt what they charged for the inspection and temporary clean up was very fair.

Category mold removal

3.0

05/14/2014


Carole C.

This company charged $550 to come in a take an air sample - then we got a call that we needed to sanitize the basement - the additional charge they wanted was $2,400!! When my husband told them over the phone that that price was outrageous, they came down a few hundred dollars - they came and we were told to leave the premises, so I'm assuming the job was done correctly - when I asked the head man to please give us a certificate that the work was being done, he said I would need to call them and would have to pay an additional $500 for that certificate - THEY TOOK ADVANTAGE OF PEOPLE WHO WERE SUFFERING AND FOUND THE OPPORTUNITY TO MAKE AS MUCH MONEY AS POSSIBLE DURING THAT STRESSFUL TIME.

Description of Work
because of Hurricane Sandy, our basement was flooded and needed to be sanitized because there were signs of mold after only a few days.

Category mold removal

5.0

03/30/2014


Kenneth R.

They found toxic and non-toxic mold. Kirk and a crew came on February 25th to do the mold remediation in my apartment, we opted to have them use organic material to do it. We had to leave the apartment for about 5 hours. They drilled some holes and took off the moulding where the mold was on 2 walls and treated them. They brought in some big special fans to clean the air of mold particles and vacuumed out all of the radiators and air conditioners. I do not remember exactly what else was done. Tracy suggested that we buy a dehumidifier to keep the moister out of the area where we had the problem. We came back and there was a slight perfume scent in the apartment.

Description of Work
On February 21st Kirk came and tested my apartment after having noticed that there was mold under wall paper and moulding and I had paid extra to have the test done faster at a 3rd party lab.

Category mold removal

4.0

03/03/2014


Erica J.

Setting up the appointment was simple. There was poor lack of communication towards the end of the job.

Description of Work
Mold remidiation

Category mold removal

4.0

01/10/2014


Joyce (Joy) M.

They did a great job. Very thourough and professional. Would defintely use again.

Description of Work
Came out and did a mold evaluation study and a lab report with photographs. They only did one or two rooms and I wish they had done a bit more.

Category mold removal

1.0

12/19/2013


Aisling W.

I discovered later they were fraudulent. There was a conflict of interest because they do testing. They said they removed the mold but it was still there. The owners are rude and they use 20 different websites with different names to confuse the consumer. They don't do the job accurately or professionally.

Description of Work
They did mold testing and remediation.

Category mold removal

4.0

11/17/2013


Melissa D.

The remediation was very painless- I left in the morning, they came somewhat close to on time, and I could re-enter my house by the late afternoon. The house smelled nice and I could feel the difference in air quality right away. They did their job and left and the expense was worth it. The mold testing appointment, however, was quite painful. They were 8 hours late, and a different gentleman ended up coming to the apartment instead of the originally planned crew. He was very nice though and did the testing, answered all my questions. I felt like a more thorough visual inspection could have been done, but he took air quality samples from a few places and I suppose that's where they assume the proof is in the pudding with regards to sporing and mold presence. The price for testing was comfortable- I used a coupon from Angies List which saved me a few hundred dollars (hooray!). And the report with results from the testing was informative and thorough. Overall, not a terrible experience, but it was far from perfect for the overall price I paid.

Description of Work
Mold Testing & Remediation

Category mold removal

4.0

07/31/2013


Marcia F.

They work has been good so far. They did what they said they would and were on time.

Description of Work
They removed some mold from 4 apartments in a condominium..

Category mold removal

5.0

07/31/2013


Grant G.

The work turned out great. They were professional, quick, and thorough.

Description of Work
They performed mold testing and remediation.

Category mold removal

3.0

07/31/2013


Erica J.

They were too expensive and I could not afford to have them come back and test again for mold after the work was completed. I was also not happy with their customer service, as there was a lack of communication. They were supposed to let us know when they were done and they left the garage door open.

Description of Work
We used them for mold testing and remediation. They also had to replace a portion of the wall in the basement.

Category mold removal

3.0

07/31/2013


Carole C.

The work turned out well. However, they were very, very expensive and did not give us a certificate saying that they had cleansed the basement after the work was done. He said that it would cost another $350.00 to get a copy of the certificate. This was after we had already paid $2450 total for the air sampling ($550) and the remediation work ($1900).

Description of Work
We used them for mold remediation.

Category mold removal

5.0

07/31/2013


Johanna R.

They were great. They were very responsive and worked on our office right away.

Description of Work
They did mold testing and remediation work.

Category mold removal

3.0

06/27/2013


Yasmine E.

I'm forced to reconsider my original review. I will complete a full review when the service has been completed and/or service issues/mistakes have been resolved.

Description of Work
I will provide details of the services rendered when I hear back from the company regarding a resolution.

Category mold removal

5.0

06/21/2013


Chrysetta P.

They were excellent , thorough and very quick with their response. I was having severe breathing problems and my landlord insisted that there was not a problem. The testing help to prove that there was mold present. After reviewing my Mold report my Dr. had proof of what was the cause of me having Asthmatic symptoms. If you ever need proof of a mold condition give them a call.I would not hesitate to call them again. They are worth every penny! Thank you again 5 Boro Mold!

Description of Work
Mold inspection and provided a thorough assessment report of the condition in my apartment.

Category mold removal

5.0

06/09/2013


David L.

I needed someone to test an apartment with a short lead time. 5 Boro was able to get in very quickly and do the testing and issue proper reports...They were responsive, knowledgeable, and timely I woulld work them again.

Description of Work
Test for mold spores

Category mold removal

1.0

05/31/2013


Linda F.

This was before they did the job. I told them to open up the stucco, but they took infrared pictures, and it is jet black behind the stucco. He would not open the stucco. Another company told me they would have to remove the stucco. This guy who came out was in such a hurry. He sprayed inside the house, but he would not remove the stucco. I told them it's not coming from inside, it's coming from outside. Everyone I talk to says they should have at least taken the stucco off and looked behind it.

Description of Work
They came out to remove mold. They told me I had mold behind my stucco. They wouldn’t pull off the stucco to see what was behind it. The owner was ungodly. I kept coughing. I had bronchitis 5 times after they did the job. They put the a/c in in November. If I have mold behind the stucco, the cold air isn’t going to make it smell. Now, my outlet is getting hot whenever I plug in the air conditioner. There’s water coming in from the a/c – they put a frame around the a/c. I called a contractor out, and he pointed out the white marks around the frame of the a/c. He pointed out there is water going behind the stucco from the air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,mold removal

Service Provider Response

As it was explained to the client, we do not remove stucco and a licensed contractor would be needed for that job. We were contracted to remove the mold from within her property, which was performed on 10/26/12. Also, we never installed the A/C units in her home nor do we specialize in electricity, so the statement she made about her outlet getting hot is an electrical problem and should not be addressed to us. Her A/C units were already installed when we performed the inspection on 10/17/12 and we have pictures to prove it. Our inspections are non-invasive which is one reason why the infrared images are taken throughout the property during the inspection, to show any moisture and/or potential mold growth behind walls, floors and/or ceilings. Also, she did not pay anywhere near $10,000 for her removal. The total cost of her mold inspection and removal was $2,100 paid with checks, which can be proven. She was also given Organic Material as a courtesy, which is a $650 value. The representatives in the office have been extremely compliant, patient and professional with Ms. [member name removed] and have spend several HOURS on the phone with her as she complained about irrelevant things, such as bees in her windows and how her neighbors are thieves. She called 7 months after remediation was performed to inform us that she has an odor coming from her A/C units and has not yet repaired the the exterior of the property and is still getting water in her home. Once again, it was explained to her that she will continue to have a mold problem within the home if the exterior is not repaired properly by a contractor who is licensed to remove and replace the stucco. We have been falsely accused and unfairly graded due to the fact that we have followed protocol step-by-step and have explained to her the necessary steps she needs to take in order to guarantee a normal living environment, which she has not yet complied with and is causing a reversal to the treatment performed for her. We can no longer be held responsible for her on-going mold issues until she rectifies the exterior problems throughout her property.
4.0

02/19/2013


Maria S.

They were pretty thorough in checking everything. They showed us all of the information with their brochures and explained their services. They seemed to have done a pretty good job. They did not tako so long in their job. They did everything they were told to.

Description of Work
Five Boro Mold Specialist worked for us. They noted areas of moisture and pumped some anti-mold spray. They also filled up some cracks in our condo where water is coming in and creating moisture.

Category mold removal

5.0

01/16/2013


Joyce L.

I was very, very pleased. I would recommend them to anyone who is looking for that type of service. The biggest thing I liked was the detailed report. Most companies just give you a conversation, but this was a 20-paged report that detailed everything they were going to do. Then, they gave me a detailed report of everything that was done.

Description of Work
They came out to do the inspection. They gave me a detailed report of what the problem was. Then, they came out and I decided to go with the company for the remediation. They did exactly as they said and they gave me a detailed report to say the mold was removed.

Category mold removal

5.0

08/01/2012


Daniel H.

I moved into this apartment about 3 months ago and since the 2nd week my children were sick with coughs, runny noses and red eyes. After speaking to one of my neighbors they suggested i use Five Boro Mold Specialist to test for mold. I contacted the company and spoke to a very pleasant representative who was able to schedule my inspection the same day i called. When the technicians arrived they were courteous and informative. They showed me on the infrared camera that i had moisture trapped behind one of my walls in my boy's bedroom and it was due to condensation from the A/C unit. Thankfully they rushed my lab results and i was able to receive my full report which included the infrared images, digital photos taken in my apt, a treatment process and they even broke down the lab results which was like reading another language to me. I contracted Five Boro Mold Specialist to perform my mold remediation and it was complete within a day. In one weeks time i had an inspection, results and abatement of the mold. Im so thankful to the representatives and staff of Five Boro Mold Specialist for making what could have been a painful and time consuming ordeal into a relieving situation. I no longer have to worry about my apt making my children ill.

Description of Work
Mold inspection including air & swab samples, infrared technology, visual assesment and full report given. The a mold remediation (removing the mold)

Category mold removal

5.0

07/31/2012


Nicole S.

I contacted Five Boro Mold Specialist to perform a mold inspection in my home, as I was beginning to see black spots in my dining room and there was a musty smell there as well. I noticed it for quite some time but didn't actually schedule my inspection until myself and my children began to experience various allergies all of a sudden. As we had never suffered from any symptoms previously, I was concerned that it was possibly a result of the mold, especially after my contractor came in to take a look at it and said it may very well be a mold issue. His recommendation was to hire a professional company to perform a mold inspection to see if mold was in fact present. I called Five Boro Mold Specialist and spoke with Tracy who was extremely personable and answered all my questions. She gave me insight as to possible causes of mold growth and took note as to my main concerns. I spoke with her on a Monday and as a courtesy due to my urgency, she was able to give me an appointment the next day. I already felt comfortable working with such an accommodating and knowledgeable staff. On Tuesday, I received a 20 minute courtesy call prior to the technicians arrival. Once they arrived at my home, they performed a complete walk through taking infrared thermography images to pinpoint any sources of moisture or water damage. They also took visual images to correspond, swab sampling from the black spots on my dining room ceiling and air sampling in my dining room as well to see if mold was present in abnormal levels in the air. The technicians left my home and within 2 business days I received a complete detailed report outlining the findings and the appropriate course of action. It turns out, I did have a mold problem. Tracy then called me once I received the report to review it and go over any questions I may have had as well as the actual mold removal process. The technicians verified the cause of the mold growth was from a previous leak from the bathroom above and therefore part of the remediation was drying out this area to make sure that once treated, the mold would not reoccur. She also advised me as to various preparation steps to take prior to the mold removal process. I scheduled the mold removal service for 3 business days later. When the technicians arrived, they explained the process to me again in full and began their treatment. They performed a thorough mold remediation process with organic materials (which were recommended because I have children in the house and they are usually more sensitive) and ever since, my children and I have not had any symptoms at all. Five Boro Mold Specialist also provided me with a guarantee of service and assured me that if I ever see or smell anything awkward they would come down and fix it free of charge. They also informed me of what can happen if a mold problem is left un-addressed for a long period of time, such as cross contamination - mold spreading to other rooms, contamination of A/C units etc. I am extremely satisfied with the way my mold issues were handled from start to completion. I feel I was handled with "white gloves", all my questions were thoroughly answered, the technicians were extremely knowledgeable and the mold inspection report I received was thorough and complete. Both the office staff and the technicians were very friendly and helpful and made me feel 100% comfortable that I was in the right hands. I would definitely recommend this company to anyone having a similar issue looking to have this service performed.

Description of Work
Mold TestingMold RemediationOrganic Disinfectant Used

Category mold removal

    Other local Pros in your area

    Healthy Home Services

    With many years of experience, Healthy Home Services has been providing professional indoor air quality services to Long Island, Five Boroughs, Westchester, New Jersey and beyond. We help homeowners, property owners and managers, real estate professionals, service professionals and medical professionals. We stay up to date on all the current technology, science and machinery in order to provide top quality service for our clients. Our services include everything from minor remediation jobs to major in-home demolition. We specialize in non-invasive mold and odor treatments when the project allows for it. All products we use are natural and safe.  

    The Abatement Group

    Our company specializes in mold remediation, lead testing and removal, water and smoke damage, and asbestos! We have industry experience since 2013, where we then branched off to create our own company in 2020. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by The Abatement Group on Angi
    Nunez Construction and Painting

    **Now offering FINANCING up to $100,000!! and 10% off to Angie's list Members** Contact Nunez Construction Inc., in Flushing, New York, with many years of experience as a interior/exterior home repair company. We do quality work you can depend on. Our work is done by the owners personally and 1 to 6 workers or as many as needed. Our motto is we do it right the first time for the lowest price. Whether you're looking for interior or exterior work or need a little of both, Nunez Construction Inc. is here to help you decide which changes and upgrades are right for you.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Nunez Construction and Painting on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Mold inspection. Remediation. Moisture detection. Air quality testing. Cross contamination. Organic materials. Dehumidifiers. Clearence testing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Five Boro Mold Specialist

    How is Five Boro Mold Specialist overall rated?

    Five Boro Mold Specialist is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Five Boro Mold Specialist open?

    Five Boro Mold Specialist is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Five Boro Mold Specialist provide

    Five Boro Mold Specialist accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, American Express

    Does Five Boro Mold Specialist offer free estimates?

    No, Five Boro Mold Specialist does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Five Boro Mold Specialist offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Five Boro Mold Specialist offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Five Boro Mold Specialist offer a senior discount?

    No, Five Boro Mold Specialist does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Five Boro Mold Specialist offer emergency services?

    Yes, Five Boro Mold Specialist offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Five Boro Mold Specialist?

    No, Five Boro Mold Specialist does not offer warranties.

    What services does Five Boro Mold Specialist offer?

    Five Boro Mold Specialist offers the following services: Mold inspection. Remediation. Moisture detection. Air quality testing. Cross contamination. Organic materials. Dehumidifiers. Clearence testing.