Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Elegant Home Improvement

Founded 1985 • With Angi since November 2012

4.9

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

146 Forbell St

Brooklyn, NY 11208

Description

Elegant Home Improvement is a professional contracting company that proudly servicing in New York over 35 years. We specialize in Residential and Commercial for Interior and Exterior construction and repairs. We provide the quality service beyond our customers expectations. To provide our clients with professional service and the results that they are looking for. In a business such as general contracting there are a lot of unscrupulous characters. We intend to show our clients that a trusting relationship can still exist with us as your general contractor. Elegant Home Improvement was established in 1985 as a small repair company and since then it has transformed into a general contracting company offering a variety of services to a variety of clients....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/08/2022


Jeremiah Z.

What didn’t this awesome team do for us? From building a closet to installing bathroom ventilation, regarding the backyard and installing a French drain, and countless other projects, Karim and his dream team exceeded our expectations. He gave us expert advice every step of the way. We’d hire him again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Various contractor projects

Category concrete repair, decks, drywall, electrician, plastering, plumbing, interior painters, mudjacking

5.0

06/24/2022


James M.

Karim did an awesome job! He took great care in making sure that the job went smoothly. It was a complicated, custom installation in our 1908 brownstone. I would recommend Karim to anyone that needs interior or exterior work!

Description of Work
Custom window installation

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

06/15/2021


Niki M.

We had our front landing and steps to our basement redone as well as our porch. This was the second job we had done with Elegant Home Improvement and the end result was really great and vastly improved the look of the front of our house.

Description of Work
Front of House Reno

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, decks, gutter repair, masonry, roofing, marble & granite, house painters, mudjacking

5.0

03/20/2021


Jeanie W.

They did excellent work. I couldn’t be happier.

Description of Work
Kitchen and Bathroom Renovation

Category remodeling

5.0

10/01/2020


Adam B.

Our bathroom had water damage from what we thought were a few broken tiles. A little project turned out to be a gut of the entire bathroom as we discovered some very poor ad-hock handyman work as we opened the walls. The subflooring was damaged and needed replacing. As we open the floors up we found someone had sawed through the joists; they needed sistering and additional repairs. In addition to all this, we found the plumbing was completely wrong and there was another giant leak coming from above the bathroom we were renovating. Long story short it was one derailment after another. Karim was very responsive to our issues and helped us tackle these problems in a timely manner. Workers showed up and were on time. Overall a good contractor to work with, responsive, communicative, and reasonably priced.

Description of Work
Bathroom Renovation & Water damage repair

Category drywall, plumbing, water damage restoration, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much. It was my pleasure to work with you guys.

5.0

03/09/2020


Kevin D.

Phenomenal work. Karim was honest, straight forward, and the work has been outstanding. We had a leak, he was able to see exactly what was wrong, suggest a fix, and then get it done. Haven’t had a leak since.

Description of Work
Roof Needed to Be Fixed

Category roofing

5.0

05/07/2019


Jaime T.

I have used Elegant Home Repair for two projects now. The employees were all friendly, professional, and thorough. The work done was to my satisfaction, I was updated regarding timing and they made sure to inform me of any other potential issues or projects that could be done while doing my projects. I would definitely recommend them to any of my peers. I will be using them for more work moving forward. It is hard to find people that you can trust, people that are open and explain things so that you have an understanding of the work going on or any particular issues with what you want to do. There are plenty of people that will take your money and run, but this company has a life-long customer in me. I received many estimates, but Elegant Home Repair was reasonable and explained the process for completing work for me from permits to inspection. All work was completed in a timely manner. They are number 1 to me!

Description of Work
Electrical and Window Replacement

Category electrician, replacement windows

5.0

03/02/2019


Sarita D.

Karim came highly recommended from some friends and we had the same great experience. He was thorough, clear, and patient. He was helpful with giving advice when we asked and pointing out things we may not have thought of, but he was never pushy. We always felt confident working with him and would gladly recommend him to anyone else!

Description of Work
Basement renovation

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, picture framing, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, basement waterproofing, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, mudjacking, foundation repair, basement remodeling

5.0

03/02/2019


Anim S.

Karim from Elegant Home Improvement came recommended from a friend who described him as an incredibly communicative contractor. That turned out to be very accurate, and it makes a huge difference. Karim has been extremely, clear, patient, and professional. He takes time to explain things and to understand our interests. It also seems like he takes pride in making things really nice — he takes satisfaction in it beyond the check. Because of difficulties we’ve had with the Dept of Buildings (NOT related to Karim), we’ve had to adjust a lot of things along the way. So we’ve had to communicate A LOT and not once have we ever felt like we’ve received anything other than honesty, details, and fair processing. Because of that DOB error, the process took longer than we intended, which means Karim has been in our lives - almost daily - for a period of months. It was a pleasure and stress free the whole time. I mean it. It’s amazing to say....but he did a really good job with our somewhat complicated needs and we’re really happy with the work and could not recommend Karim highly enough. On top of it, his team of subcontractors for plumbing and electric were also good to work with. I would share more photos but we’re still moving some boxes and furniture around so I think these few will give an idea of the nice flooring and tiling that Karim and team accomplished as well as an entire floor that Karim opened up to a continuous kitchen, dining room and living room with the built-in bookshelves Karim did for us I would recommend him highly to any of my friends...and I’m grateful to our friends that recommended him.

Description of Work
We needed a full renovation for a house we just bought and moved into. The job included taking out multiple walls, an upgrade of almost all the plumbing and electrical, removing some walls and adding others, and — as it turned out — roof and foundation repair.

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, drywall, electrician, egress windows, flooring contractor, picture framing, gutter repair, hardwood floor, insulation, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, mudjacking, foundation repair, basement remodeling

1.0

02/25/2019


Steven L.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! The most unprofessional, unreliable and dishonest company I have ever come across. After getting a quote I agreed to work with them. After 2 months of waiting for a gap in their schedule and confirming a date. I spend thousands and have a house full of building materials I had ordered to be ready for them. They pull the pin the day before as a larger job comes in. The lack of honesty, reliability and respect was mind blowing. AVOID THIS COMPANY and the owner Karim who can't be trusted.

Description of Work
Bathroom Tiling and upgrade

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] and Elegant Home Improvement never had a contract. [Member Name Removed] delayed signing an agreement and giving us a down payment. Our business cannot neglect our timetable because we respect our clients’ time. We did not allow [Member Name Removed] to interrupt our services to other clients. It is [Member Name Removed] who is dishonest and lacks reliability and respect.

5.0

01/30/2019


Tatyanna W.

Completed job on time.

Description of Work
Patching, painting and general repairs

Category ceramic tile, plastering, interior painters

5.0

07/17/2018


Todd D.

Karim is fantastic. Hardworking, smart, determined, kind and above all trustworthy. He was recommended to us by a new neighbor across the street during the purchase of our townhouse in Cypress Hills. Karim was prompt with estimates and his prices were very competitive. The quality of work was top notch throughout our rather extensive home renovations. Karim and his team gave us a new roof, refinished all our floors, and did and entire re-imagining of our parlor floor. This included removing interior walls for a completely open floor plan, an entirely new kitchen and powder room, and countless other details. My wife and I lived on the second floor while The downstairs was being renovated. Throughout this process we had the good fortune to get to know Karim and his crew quite well for several months. All of Karim’s subcontractors who were involved in the project also proved to be top notch and reliable. Because of this, I now feel as though I have a reliable electrician and plumber for anything that may come up in the future. And that in and of itself is a huge advantage in NYC. With all the horror stories you hear about shady contractors, we feel very fortunate to have met Karim and plan to work with him on future renovation projects. A++

Description of Work
Roof, dining room, living room, powder room, kitchen renovations

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, picture framing, gutter repair, hardwood floor, insulation, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, skylights, drain pipe, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, mudjacking

5.0

08/02/2017


Amerigo R.

Karim and his team are excellent. They listen to everything you have to say, show up when they say they will, and do an amazing job. I don't think you could find a better general contractor.

Description of Work
Total home renovation, including full electric, plumbing, kitchen, bathrooms, floors, masonry, etc.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

4.0

02/08/2017


Resham M.

Great! Karim and his team are very professional and honest. We are happy with the work they have done.

Description of Work
Roof repair, metal gate installed, garage framing, backyard landscape

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, remodeling, roofing

5.0

01/02/2017


Imrul I.

He is the only contractor I will ever hire again. A+++

Description of Work
Mr. Karim is an excellent contractor. He and his company beautifully renovated my bathroom. He was patient with my wife choosing the color and pattern of the bathroom floor tiles. He gave us a great price for an A+ job done.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

12/12/2016


Amerigo R.

It could not have gone any better! Karim was extremely thorough and communicative about the entire process. The pricing was fair, he treated his team of employees with respect, and they did an incredible job! Karim went above and beyond in several ways, and I highly recommend him to everybody if they want a job done right.

Description of Work
We needed a new roof for our brick row house. The old roof was removed and a new roof was put on, along with insulation, support for solar panels, and new vents.

Category roofing

5.0

11/21/2016


Leah R.

Karim is not my first contractor but hopefully my last one. I have gone through several in the past and was never satisfied with service, quality of work and money was all gone down to waste. Karim does a professional quality work. He takes pride in his work and will provide quality work to the last detail. The materials he uses are just right (not too expensive and not of poor quality, but average and durable). I even had Karim do some other additional small thing for which he never refuses. He is really courteous, professional, reliable and does his work as promised. I am actually hiring him in the future for both interior and exterior work. If he can't do something or not an expert, he won't take the job/profit but will hire another company to do it for you and I appreciate such honesty. Customer satisfaction is important to Karim.

Description of Work
I hired Karim for the following services: 1. Removing old siding and put cement stucco and paint. I 2. New porch with french doors 3. New fence with retaining wall

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed].

5.0

06/27/2016


Sharon S.

I have worked with contractor for many years on a variety of projects and he is always professional, knowledgeable, but most of all, reliable. Contractor is there when he says that he will be there and his workers are hard working. He does a thorough job and stands by his work. I would highly recommend Elegant Home Improvement because the contractor is a consummate professional who ensure that the job is done right!

Description of Work
Last project: Remodeled/ upgraded bedroom with old wood paneling. Previous projects include: kitchen remodel/ upgrade, roof repair/ replacement, basement remodel/ upgrade, install garage door, brick pointing.

Category drywall, electrician, garage doors, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

09/19/2013


Hazel F.

If you don't like something he will fix it. He does good quality work, and he is very easy to get along with.

Description of Work
H is re-tiling bathroom, and previously he has fixed our sidewalk. painted.

Category ceramic tile

    Other local Pros in your area

    FB Electrical

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    Rahmann Contracting

    For more than a decade, Rahmann Contracting Company, Ltd has been serving New York City’s five boroughs. Specializing in pointing, waterproofing and restoration, Rahmann Contracting is capable of addressing all masonry, roofing and structural issues in renovation or new building construction.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Rahmann Contracting on Angi
    Express Construction

    Brownstone, roofing, waterproofing, steam cleaning, brick pointing, print stripping, siding, stucco, gutters, painting, bathroom, kitchen, basement, carpentry, sidewalk, all kinds of cement work.  

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    New Construction, Roofing and Waterproofing, Siding, Brick & Cement works, Pavers, Patio, Kitchen, Bathroom and Basement remodeling, Plumbing and Electrical work, Door and Windows Installation, Granite and Tiles work.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Elegant Home Improvement

    How is Elegant Home Improvement overall rated?

    Elegant Home Improvement is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Elegant Home Improvement open?

    Elegant Home Improvement is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Elegant Home Improvement provide

    Elegant Home Improvement accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Elegant Home Improvement offer free estimates?

    Yes, Elegant Home Improvement offers free project estimates.

    Does Elegant Home Improvement offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Elegant Home Improvement offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Elegant Home Improvement offer emergency services?

    Yes, Elegant Home Improvement offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Elegant Home Improvement?

    Yes, Elegant Home Improvement offers warranties.

    What services does Elegant Home Improvement offer?

    Elegant Home Improvement offers the following services: New Construction, Roofing and Waterproofing, Siding, Brick & Cement works, Pavers, Patio, Kitchen, Bathroom and Basement remodeling, Plumbing and Electrical work, Door and Windows Installation, Granite and Tiles work.