Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BJ General Contracting

Founded 2002 • With Angi since April 2011

4.0

(31) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

501 McDonald Ave Brooklyn

Brooklyn, NY 11218

Description

B&J GENERAL CONTRACTING is committed to supplying your expectations with only the best, knowledgeable, skillful and expertise craftsmanship available. As an award winning firm our priority is the client, and providing you with the highest quality standard of service available in the industry. We are able to do this with our finest craftsman’s and skillful Professionals. The following pages will help you understand why thousands of home and business owners chose B&J Contracting...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/24/2014


Burnadette P.

He made a mess, the mortar is all over my pavers and he said he would come clean it up but never has.

Description of Work
He did some mortar work for me.

Category masonry

3.0

05/17/2014


Joshua K.

Kefayet did a small job on 2 bathrooms. He was good to work with & everything went smoothly. However a few weeks after the work was finished, the caulk started peeling off all over the place in one of the bathrooms. I made arrangements with him to come back and fix the work. He did not show up. I called him several times, and he did not return my calls.

Description of Work
Grouting, Caulking, Prep for Paint on 2 bathrooms

Category basement waterproofing, interior painters

1.0

01/21/2014


Michael L.

I called B&J General Contracting two weeks ago. I spoke at length about my issue. The ceiling in my bathroom had eroded at the point where the heating riser met the ceiling. I asked the provider to come here to view the issue for himself, and to provide a quote. The gentleman made an appointment to visit my apartment last Tuesday (1/14/14), and stated that he would be here any time after 2 PM. He asked me to text him my contact information, including address and phone numbers. I did this, and also provided a brief description of the issue, so that the provider would remember me. On the date of the appointment, and approximately 10:30 AM, I sent a text message to confirm that B&J would keep the appointment. I received no reply, but I figured it was due to the provider being busy with another job. I left work early to be home by 2 PM. I was, in fact, home by 1 PM and waited for B&J. Later in the afternoon and early evening, I left two separate voice mails, asking the provider if he was still coming to the appointment. I received to reply at all. It has been a week, and still I have not received any reply. Either the provider forgot about me, or decided that I was not worth the visit. In either case, the provider should not have agreed to meet with me if he wasn't serious about the job. At the very least, a phone call or text message informing me of the decision would have allowed me to stay at work and not lose a half day of vacation time. It was extremely unprofessional to make an appointment in the middle of the day and not keep it. Meanwhile, I found a temporary solution to my ceiling problem, so I don't need to find another contractor to come here for the time being, but I think it is fair to say I will not be contacting B&J for that job - or any other - in the future.

Description of Work
I made an appointment for the provider to visit my apartment and provide an estimate for repairing my bathroom ceiling. The provider did not show up, and did not return my calls and texts.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

01/01/2014


Jan V.

was here on time, did the job, all went well

Description of Work
replaces three 5' x 5' concrete sidewalk blocks

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

12/13/2013


Kelly T.

DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES HIRE THIS COMPANY. We paid them $7550 to waterproof the back of our house and our basement. Not only was it a mess in the backyard after they finished (including a jar of p*** left in the backyard by one of their workers), they were often late, did not respond to text messages and phone calls, and we had inches of standing water in our backyard and basement after the work was completed. After two unanswered phone calls, Ullah finally came to our backyard (more than 45 minutes late) and said that the soil and leaves were clogging the drain - to which we asked him then why did he suggest this small drain to be effective as a way to mitigate flooding in our backyard and basement. He shrugged and called his workers lazy and inefficient and then showed us a picture of a backyard that he worked on for which the drain apparently was effective, which made no difference to us because we were trusting him as the contractor to make an appropriate assessment of our backyard, which he was not able to do. He said he would come back the next day with his workers and then has disappeared into the universe neither responding to texts or phone calls. We are filing a Better Business Bureau complaint and taking him to small claims court for lack of services rendered. It really has lessened my belief in Angie's List that such an incredibly unprofessional and irreputable contractor was well-reviewed on this site. If you want to be robbed of thousands of dollars, have your time consistently disrespected, and still have your contracting problem unsolved, then go right ahead and hire these incredibly unprofessional, rude, and incompetent people.

Description of Work
What they did NOT do was waterproof our basement.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

11/21/2013


Aero J.

Im really satisfied with this company not only do they properly adjust the work being done to satisfy my budget but they also work diligently to get the job done excellently and on time

Description of Work
I call B&J general contracting from his card it was hanging on my door I called them to finish my back wall done it was Stucco Job and I had a siding wall well They r general contractor so they do mostly everything so I let them do my stucco wall window job and drywall and they also paint it back wall as well they really done beautiful job and the price was very reasonable I am very happy with the price and the job so I asked them if they need any reference they told me about the Angie's list and when I look forward BJ general contracting on angie's list and I saw they really have a good customer review and I will recommend all Angie's list user to have a business with BJ general contracting good luck

Category gutter repair, masonry, basement waterproofing, stucco, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks [removed member name] is been really good time to have any business with you your house mean my House our job mean my job stay happy and warm Thanks

1.0

08/13/2013


dan Z.

It seemed to go all right until there was actually some rain at which point water leaked into the basement. I called the contractor many times and never heard back. Not one returned call! I ended up having to hire someone to finish the job and even now the drain is barely working so I have to have someone else come clear it out. This has been a completely frustrating experience and I can't recommend B&J to anyone which is too bad because they seemed like nice guys and the patio looks good but they never did what they said they'd do which was waterproof my basement.

Description of Work
The contractor put a drain in my backyard and laid a brick patio. My problem had been water in the basement and he felt this would take care of it.

Category basement waterproofing, patios

4.0

05/23/2013


James S.

They were pricy so I didn’t go with them. They were able to speak English. I was able to understand them properly of what they were saying. It took a long time for them to come out and give me a quote. If a written quote was sent to me that would have been better instead of me relying on my memory.

Description of Work
I had a quote from B&J General Contracting for insulation.

Category insulation

5.0

05/13/2013


Simone T.

They were punctual. Cleaned up at the end of every day. Hauled all the debris away. Very nice crew of guys. Went over their progress at the end of each work day. Open to feedback and encouraged us to review the work and point out any concerns. Within budget and estimated time. The house looks great. We are very pleased.

Description of Work
B&J General Contracting repainted the exterior of the house and garage with two coats of thoroseal, replaced three rusted lintels that caused the masonry to buckle, replaced buckled brick, repaired two sections of stucco that were bulging, repointed bricks (including some additional spots that they came across without charging us extra for them). What really impressed us about this company was that they identified and addressed the root issue underlying the broken stucco and masonry instead of just painting it over. We received quotes from other companies for less, but they didn't identify the issues that were causing our problems and just offered cosmetic fixes.

Category masonry, stucco, house painters

5.0

04/09/2013


Tommy H.

B&J General Contracting came to my house to give estimate for roof repairs. They were prompt, professional and very detailed on the estimate for the roof replacement. They answered all my questions. Very pleased with the service they provided.

Description of Work
Had an estimate for complete roof replacement done by B&J General Contracting.

Category roofing

5.0

03/29/2013


Beau N.

B & J Contracting did an amazing job! My backyard was a nightmare. It had old broken and cracked concrete that made it unusable, not to mention unsafe to use. I received quotes from multiple contractors (all of which were from Angie's list) and the prices were astronomical. The main problem was that they couldn't get heavy equipment to the back of the house because of the narrow pass way and steps that they would have to traverse. Therefore, everything had to be broken up and removed manually. Moreover, once the old concrete was removed, the new concrete had to be mixed onsite manually, which was very time and labor intensive. B & J did a great job and charged what I thought was a more than fair price. Their workers were all very professional, courteous and knew what they were doing. In fact, they did such a great job with the backyard, I also had them replace my basement door and windows, stucco my brick foundation and do some painting in the front of the house. I highly recommend B & J contracting and will be using them again for other projects in the future.

Description of Work
-Broke up and removed 1000 square feet of old concrete in the backyard and side of the house. -Mixed and put new concrete in the backyard and side of the house. -Replaced basement door with new custom metal door. -Replaced basement windows with new custom windows. -Stucco on brick foundation. -Painted bricks and cast iron fence in the front of the house.

Category concrete driveways, masonry, basement waterproofing, stucco, house painters

5.0

02/04/2013


mark N.

my wife and i was worry about how we done this job how much is gonna cost we dont know any good contractor then i go to online and we found few contractor and we call B&J general contracting ullah pick up the phone after he come to our house we planing how we gonna done this job v Create one kitchen, one bathroom and two bedrooms with closets by dividing the entire area with walls. v Set up metal tracks on the ceiling, all around the enclosed floor and designated areas where the walls will be built. v Install six windows and seven doors to designated areas v Install soundproof insulation both on ceiling and created walls then cover with sheetrock v Connect all the necessary plumbing for the bathroom and kitchen also install new flat roof withe new gutter is really old house basment was so def ullahs team apply two coat of dry lock interior wall and exterior wall to back of the house also need some stucco repair everything done with good amount of money nice work

Description of Work
very nice people very friendly start work on time and finish on time did very good job good luck ULLAH and his team

Category concrete driveways, drywall, electrician, gutter repair, insulation, masonry, roofing, replacement windows, basement waterproofing, skylights, stucco, house painters, interior painters

1.0

01/30/2013


Sylvonne H.

I have called them multiple times and they either say they are busy and they will get to me when they can or they do not return my phone calls at all.

Description of Work
They came installed a sky light and also installed two new windows in the dinning room. They were also supposed to install a window in the boiler room. They also needed to put back the a/c unit back in the window because they were the ones who took out.

Category replacement windows, skylights

Service Provider Response

I finish the job and you already give me a review and you call me to make shelf for your account I told you I'm gonna do it for you free and when I'm free you r not home and when you free I'm busy and is winter I promise you I will do it soon is posibol I don't deserve f for that thanks for your report

5.0

01/19/2013


josh S.

The estimator was a professional roofer (not some n*** with a calculator), he immediately got out his ladder and inspected our roof. He then provided an expert report about the condition of our roof. He provided an estimate in about 10 minutes. I could see the man had skills and knowledge and I decided to use them. Ullah was very good about communicating with us leading up to the work date. On the work date, the crew of four showed on time (early actually), sprang into action tearing off old roofing, securing or replacing plywood as needed (Ullah used their own dump truck which really helped minimize clean-up time and avoid hassles with a roll-off). When installing new shingles, my neighbors watched in amazement as shingles were transported up to the workers by means of a conveyor belt. This skilled and highly focused crew completed the job in about 5 days including clean-up. Wonderful job.

Description of Work
Roofing, waterproofing on side wall and my skylight.

Category roofing, basement waterproofing, skylights

Service Provider Response

Thanks Customer all my customer I take as friend and your house as my house your job as my job thanks a lot

1.0

01/14/2013


Robert O.

I had high hopes, as they had done a little work on my deck in the past. Unfortunately, this time, they did 75% of the work, and had promised to come back and finish the job. However, after trying for 2 months to get in touch with them, they only responded when I sent an email via Angie's List. In that one and only reply to numerous calls and emails, they promised to come back and finish the job. They apologized and said they were out of the country. Well, I have not heard from them since that early November reply, and I see reviews that have occurred after they promised to finish my job. I made the mistake of paying 100% in full when they only finished 75% of the job.

Description of Work
They connected the outside gutter into our basement, into the main sewer line to help prevent all the water from our roof going in to our small backyard and causing flooding. They needed to connect the gutter to PVC pipes and open up holes in the wall to connect to our sewer line.

Category gutter repair, masonry, basement waterproofing

5.0

12/26/2012


Melanie A.

They were great. Nice guys, honest, hard workers, they were responsive to our suggestions and didn't try to sell us on anything we didn't need. I felt that they really worked with us to find the best and most cost- effective solution. They fixed the problem for a good price. And it looks great!

Description of Work
Our outside brick wall had deteriorated and ruined the interior wall with leaky mortar. They waterproofed the whole side of the house outside and in, replaced all of the interior walls that had been ruined, installed insulation where there was none, stuccoed and painted the whole long side and back wall of the house and pointed and waterproofed one part of the basement.

Category masonry, basement waterproofing, stucco

Service Provider Response

thank you so much Adsit for your review you guys r really good people I ever seen I take all my castumer as friend so your house mean my house your job is my responsibility good luck and thank you so much for your review

5.0

12/04/2012


josh S.

I would definitely recommend everyone to try them out. Their rates are very reasonable, but most importantly, they are very, very pleasant to deal with. Not at all impolite or rude. Just very friendly, knowledgeable, and professional overall.

Description of Work
On two separate occasions, I had some waterproofing done on an air conditioner unit that was improperly sealed, as well as some simple electrical work (blanking off unused sockets). Tahir came on time the first time and was even early the second time around. Tahir and his associate Ali did the job fairly quickly and were very pleasant to deal with throughout the entire project. Also, he is very flexible and was even able to come out on a Friday (which is his day off) and a Sunday.

Category drywall, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, masonry, basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks

5.0

11/06/2012


Bing L.

Communication by email and phone was a little difficult at first, but eventually worked out. After on-site estimation and signing of a contract, Mr. Ullah and crew arrived on time on the day of work, even for logistical reasons I did prepay a requested deposit. For the stone/concrete work, he directed one of his workers to a thorough repair; and then made additional touch-ups on the next day upon my suggestions. On repairing the stucco wall, initially he assigned a worker who did not do a good job. I took some photos of the work and emailed to him. After some telephone discussions, Mr. Ullah was gracious enough to acknowledge the shortcomings, and personally spent most part of a day to completely re-do the work, to a nice finish. I am impressed with his work ethics and satisfied with his work.

Description of Work
We had two parts of work to be done: to repair multiple small areas of damages on a soft stucco wall in the back of the house; and to repair cracked concrete of a bluestone pavement and stone retention wall in the front of the house.

Category concrete driveways, stucco

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much Customer

5.0

10/17/2012


Robert O.

The brothers seem like very good people. They came for an estimate, and did exactly what they said they would do - fast and efficient - for the exact price. So far, so good. It's been about a month, and while there has been some rain, it has not been fully tested by a real storm. That said, I am going to hire them for a bigger job in the next few weeks - dealing with the poor drainage in my back yard.

Description of Work
We had leaking that was making it's way from the 2nd floor back deck, between the walls of the 1st floor extension, into the basement. Water was coming from several places. J & M scraped out the old/loose grout, and re-grouted and sealed the entire deck in 3-4 hours.

Category decks, basement waterproofing

5.0

08/11/2012


Juliana F.

I am pleased with the work that they did. They gave me an estimate right away and stuck to the original price. They showed up for all the projected days of work and completed the job on time.Everything went according to plans.

Description of Work
This team of workers was very efficient and hardworking. Their price was much more reasonable than other contractors I called. They put stucco on an exterior wall of my house and re-grouted the tiles on my balcony.

Category decks, stucco

4.0

08/06/2012


Judy H.

I met the Ullah brothers when they came on Sunday afternoon as agreed to estimate the job and they gave me a spoken estimate which I agreed to . The written estimate was to be emailed. When they left I realized that I had not asked about workers compensation and sent an email; they responded that coverage was in place. They said that was no problem and provided us with a number and document that were not verifiable. When they came to start in midweek, we just came to the realization that there was a problem that they might not have actual coverage. We did not know whether to tell them to stop and they were already there. They were up on ladders for a few days and it was very nerve racking. Otherwise they did a nice job though and were pleasant despite the insurance issue.

Description of Work
Patched and repaired stucco and wood elements of my small two story detached tudor-style house. They painted and sealed the stucco and painted the wood trim with paint we agreed on. They patched or replaced rotted areas in the wood trim.

Category house painters

5.0

07/31/2012


Maureen L.

The job was perfect and the water problem has been resolved. The men were efficient, polite and above all neat. I also felt their prices were very fair. They were there every day before 9:00 am and worked until 5:00 pm. When the work was completed everything was cleaned up and all the garbage taken. I would highly recommend B&J Contracting.

Description of Work
I was getting water into my basement. They dug a 5 foot deep trench around the perimeter of the back of my house and applied 1 coat of waterproof cement, 1 coat of flushing and thick plastic. They put back all the dirt. Next they broke up the remainder of the cement in the yard, about 300 sq. feet replaced it with new cement about 4" thick. They also installed a new drain. They cleaned up all the broken cement and all of the garbage related to the construction.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

07/19/2012


josh S.

The project was very smooth, and ullah was responsive and professional throughout the entire process. I am an architect and was looking to save some money by drawing the plans and pre-purchasing most of the material. ullah was extremely easy to work with and gave good advice throughout the project. There was a delay in the completion due to an issue with the Kitchen cabinets which were ordered from home depot, through no fault of ullah. Even after the delay, he was able to pick back up and finish the job quickly. I would recommend ullah as a general contractor for this type of work, he is courteous, professional and does what he says. His pricing was also very fair, all in all, a positive experience. and about waterproof and roofing is a lot of thing to say but all over he is genius... good luck B&J general contracting

Description of Work
Renovation of a small kitchen, framing, drywall, electrical, plumbing, cabinet and appliance installation This contractor also have done complete waterproofing with pointing and thorolastic and alro did my 600sqf roof with 40x50 in skylight very good work by ullah,

Category drywall, roofing, replacement windows, basement waterproofing, skylights, stucco, interior painters

Service Provider Response

thanks for ur comment member

5.0

05/22/2012


lim K.

they come on time every day and leae about 4 4:30 dont had any problem with my never they r very friendly and nice pepole thanks B&J General contracting ....................

Description of Work
b&j general contracting nice pepole nice job and very friendly guy all around the house take out the old cement and they put tow coat cement 1st coat scratch coat and 2nd coat finishing is very nice work they done for me and also put tow coat thorocoat and after work they clean very nice

Category masonry, roofing, basement waterproofing, skylights, stucco

Service Provider Response

thank you ....

4.0

12/05/2011


Dolores J.

They came, removed the A/C unit, removed a cracked mat under the unit., they leveled out the dirt under the mat, laid cement and leveled it, after leveling the cement they said they had to leave the A/C unit on some boards so the cement could dry. They also went into the crawl space and put some cement around the base of the beams because there had been water damage. When they came back it was the evening, they removed the boards from under the A/C, laid a mat over the cement, and put the unit back on the mat. I wanted to make sure that the unit was straight. It seemed straight, but I wanted to make sure it was straight and asked him to come back during the day to make sure it was how it should be. I also thought they could have done a neater job laying the cement. I inquired for them to come back out to look at the cement as well. They said they would come out and look at it for me. They did the follow up for free and they were very curteous. They apologized for any inconvenience. They also leveled the concrete for me.

Description of Work
I had a leak in my crawl space. I thought it was coming from my A/C unit.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mr Brickman Inc

    All estimates are free. Owner operated. We are licensed and insured.  

    Rahmann Contracting

    For more than a decade, Rahmann Contracting Company, Ltd has been serving New York City’s five boroughs. Specializing in pointing, waterproofing and restoration, Rahmann Contracting is capable of addressing all masonry, roofing and structural issues in renovation or new building construction.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Rahmann Contracting on Angi
    Express Construction

    Brownstone, roofing, waterproofing, steam cleaning, brick pointing, print stripping, siding, stucco, gutters, painting, bathroom, kitchen, basement, carpentry, sidewalk, all kinds of cement work.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Check, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Basement WaterproofingCeramic TileConcrete RepairDock Building, RepairDrywallElectrical - Classic CarExterior PaintingFoundation RepairGarage DoorsGeneral RemodelingGutter Repair, ReplacementInsulationInterior PaintingIroningKitchen & Bath RemodelingMasonryPicture FramingPlumbingRemodeling - BasementsRoof CleaningRoof Ice & Snow RemovalRoofingSkylightsStuccoWallpaper RemovalWoodworking

    Services Not Offered

    online costumer 5% off

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BJ General Contracting

    How is BJ General Contracting overall rated?

    BJ General Contracting is currently rated 4 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does BJ General Contracting provide

    BJ General Contracting accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa, Financing Available

    Does BJ General Contracting offer free estimates?

    Ask BJ General Contracting for details on free project estimates.

    Does BJ General Contracting offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, BJ General Contracting offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BJ General Contracting offer a senior discount?

    No, BJ General Contracting does not offer a senior discount.

    Does BJ General Contracting offer emergency services?

    Yes, BJ General Contracting offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by BJ General Contracting?

    Yes, BJ General Contracting offers warranties.

    What services does BJ General Contracting offer?

    BJ General Contracting offers the following services: Basement WaterproofingCeramic TileConcrete RepairDock Building, RepairDrywallElectrical - Classic CarExterior PaintingFoundation RepairGarage DoorsGeneral RemodelingGutter Repair, ReplacementInsulationInterior PaintingIroningKitchen & Bath RemodelingMasonryPicture FramingPlumbingRemodeling - BasementsRoof CleaningRoof Ice & Snow RemovalRoofingSkylightsStuccoWallpaper RemovalWoodworking

    Are there any services BJ General Contracting does not offer?

    online costumer 5% off