Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd

About

Founded 1959 • With Angi since June 2010

Family owned & operated. Started by the original Owens brothers of Robert, Peter and Dennis in 1959, when they were each only 19 & 21 years old, the Owens Bros. NYC Tree Company had humble beginnings with its’ only assets being a skilled crew of brothers with modest equipment and a true love of their craft. For many years, they worked with the NYC Department of Parks & Recreation as business-to-business contractors and then gradually over time, evolved into a more customer-oriented tree company serving the people of the community. They had discovered that there was a true need and demand for their skills and services for the unique challenges of tree pruning, tree trimming and tree removal in the Bronx and New York City area by the people, families and businesses that live here. They realized that their level of service was hard to find for dealing with the challenges of the city landscape. Since then, what the original Owens brothers started has become a strong force in the tree services industry in NYC, Bronx, Pelham, Riverdale, Mt. Vernon, New Rochelle, Yonkers, Manhattan and the Lower Westchester area. As experts in their field and now using the finest tree service equipment and technology, the Owens Bros. continue to strengthen their ability and commitment to giving the highest quality services to every customer and every job. Contact by phone is preferable....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Owens Trees

+10 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(19) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

17

4

1

3

1

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

tree service (17)snow removal (2)
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews
5.0

03/06/2021


Pamela P.

Owen's Brothers Tree Service was excellemt! The team was punctual, polite,, and professional. I would not hesitate to hire them again in the future! Thanks so much!!! Pamela NYC

Description of Work
Tree trimming.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2021

5.0

07/03/2020


Elizabeth J.

Steve did a great job, he worked with me on making payments which made a. Big difference for me to be able to get the work done. Very professional.

Description of Work
Tree removal and clean up

Category snow removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2020

4.0

05/13/2020


Victor E.

Did not hire

Description of Work
Cut a tree

Category snow removal

Cost $800

Work Completed On 05/13/2020

5.0

05/08/2020


Anthony C.

Owens Tree Service are a TOP notch team. I was in need of some work which involved a fairly large tree that needed to be trimmed, I met with several companies in the Bronx and Owens was by far the most professional and knowledgeable. They explained the process clearly and were very competitive with their price. They showed up on time, completed the job and removed all debris from my property. Overall I was very impressed and would highly recommend them to anyone that is in need of their services, You will not be disappointed. Anthony Throggs Neck, N.Y.

Description of Work
Tree Trimming

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2020

5.0

12/18/2019


Louella B.

Perfectly! They were speedy and on time!

Description of Work
Two trees removed

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2019

5.0

10/10/2019


brian G.

The service was great. The job was completed in 90 minutes from start to finish. The crew was professional and spent time to clean up. They even went the extra mile to trim a few additional items in the yard. Best decision I made was hiring this company.

Description of Work
Remove 3 - 25 foot trees from backyard. Haul-away from property though first floor apartment unit.

Category tree service

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2019

5.0

11/14/2018


Daniel D.

Steve Owen looked at the job and gave a quote to do the job the following day. His truck and crew arrived first thing the next morning. They had the job completed in an hour and cleaned up all the debris. The work was very quick and very thorough. I would call him first next time.

Description of Work
Prune Norwegian maple tree

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2018

5.0

08/24/2018


Mike T.

They were in and out, it was great.

Description of Work
They cut down a big tree and removed the stump.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/18/2018

5.0

08/24/2018


Zach S.

Dennis, is the owner, and he had a great personality. I really appreciated how quick they were able to provide the services; I called them one day and then they were out the next at like 6:30am.Him and his crew did a great job. They were able to tackle the job quickly. They had all the right equipment and it was actually cool to watch the process. I was nervous about the tree hitting the house, since it was so close, but they were very careful about that.

Description of Work
I had him cut down an old oak tree about a year ago.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2017

5.0

08/24/2018


Michelle S.

The work was great.

Description of Work
They trimmed the trees and only did what was necessary instead or cutting them down.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2018

5.0

08/23/2018


Mike P.

They do a really good job. I was DYI'ng my yard and they helped me get it back in shape.

Description of Work
Pruned trees, took a tree out, landscaping

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2018

5.0

08/23/2018


Jeannine F.

Awesome from the very start. Very prompt in getting back to me and in starting the job. They made the whole process simple and stress-free. I have sicne referred them to friends

Description of Work
Tree work at my parents house

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2018

5.0

08/23/2018


Sarah S.

It was great. They were on time and really courteous and professional. They did a great clean up as well.

Description of Work
Removed a maple tree from my backyard.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2018

5.0

02/05/2018


Haydee M.

They performed a superb job! They arrived on time and were finished in the time frame that Mr. Dennis stated. The trees were taken down professionally. There was no damage to anything! They were very professional and cleaned up everything afterwards. There was no mess and nothing that I had to clean up afterwards. It was like the trees were never there! Thank you so much Dennis!!

Description of Work
I needed several trees removed from my backyard. I contacted Owens Bros. because of the reviews I read. I made an appointment and Mr. Dennis arrived on time and gave me an estimate of the work to be done. I decided to hire them.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/11/2017

3.0

02/05/2014


FLORENCE K.

.

Description of Work
Prune tree. After they left I noticed that they neglected to prune some limbs that I wanted pruned.

Category tree service

Cost $850

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2013

5.0

07/28/2012


John F. D.

During one of the extreme July 2012 thunderstorms, our beloved 90 foot 100 year old oak tree was stuck by lightning in the late afternoon. I immediately made a call to the emergency number for the Owen Brothers Tree Service and within the hour (still during the storm) Dennis (the president) came to my home to assess the situation. Unfortunately due to safety issues the tree had to be removed. Dennis said that a full crew would arrive early the next morning. At 6:45am they arrived. I live on a very narrow street and was amazed that they could fit and maneuver their boom truck and assorted vehicles up the block and in my driveway. As the canopy of the tree covered both my house and my neighbors in a very confined space, I knew that this was a difficult task. The expertise and professionalism during this process was impressive. Dennis explained everything that was going to occur which brought peace of mind and reassurance during a very stressful situation. The job was completed in several hours without any damage to my home, property, or adjoining houses. The cleanup was spotless. I have used other tree services in the past for maintaining our trees, but was completely satisified by the Owen Brothers for this difficult removal. I would highly recommend Owen Brothers Tree Service without any hesistation. You get what you pay for and my thanks to Dennis and Stephen for a terrific job. It was a pleasure to do business with them.

Description of Work
Emergency Tree Removal

Category tree service

Cost $8,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/19/2012

5.0

05/07/2012


Catherine B.

I was very pleased. They were very good. They were local and they had a coupon. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
I used Owens Brothers Tree Service to remove shrubbery from the front of my home.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2007

5.0

10/03/2011


Elizabeth H.

I was pleased with the services of Owens Brothers; they were competent, knowing exactly what to do and did so efficiently and cost effectively. They were also courteous from the initial phone call to the final clean up.

Description of Work
Owens Brothers removed a medium size tree in the front of the house, since the roots damaged the main water pipes to the street. They also removed portions of a rather large tree in the back of the house, by removing 2-3 of the major branches which had become so huge, they were endangering the garage in the rear. Owens Brothers were prompt, thorough and removed all branches in an efficient manner and left the area they worked on "super"clean. I will use them again soon.

Category tree service

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2008

5.0

03/31/2011


MARJORIE M.

They were thorough. They got rid of the trees. They got rid of the plants. They got rid of everything. The cleanup was excellent.

Description of Work
I used the services of Owens Brother's Tree Service for cutting down my tree. I last used them about four months ago in the late fall.

Category tree service

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/13/2010

    Contact

    Phone

    Address

    528 City Island Ave

    Bronx, NY 10464

    Hours

    Sunday
    Open All Day
    Monday
    Open All Day
    Tuesday
    Open All Day
    Wednesday
    Open All Day
    Thursday
    Open All Day
    Friday
    Open All Day
    Saturday
    Open All Day

    Website

    http://www.owenstrees.com

    Services Offered

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information

    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd

    How is Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd overall rated?

    Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd open?

    Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd provide

    Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check

    Does Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd offer free estimates?

    Yes, Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd offers free project estimates.

    Does Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd offer emergency services?

    Yes, Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd?

    No, Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd does not offer warranties.

    What services does Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd offer?

    Owens Bros Tree Service Ltd offers the following services: Residential & commercial tree removal, tree pruning & trimming, hazard tree & limb removal, stump grinding & removal, land clearing, 24 hour emergency tree service.