Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

J.M. Tree Service Inc

4.8

(157) Verified Reviews

Founded 2004 • With Angi since February 2012

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
No License Required for Trade
Trade License Number
17-0034 Crane License- Joshua Miesch
Trade License Locale
New York
Trade License Authority
Dept of Labor
Trade License Expiration
06/30/2020
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

3567 Sweden Walker Rd.

Brockport, NY 14420

http://www.jmtree.com

Description

J.M. Tree Service, family owned and operated for more than 15 yrs, is known for quality jobs at fair prices. J.M. Tree Service employs I.S.A. certified arborists to evaluate every job, ensuring your job will be done the right way. We have top notch equipment and unparalleled experience to perform all tree services projects. Joshua Miesch-NY State Licensed & CIC Certified Crane Operator #JR22887...

Verified Reviews

4.8

(157) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

137

4

14

3

5

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

tree service (157)lawn & landscaping (3)lawn care (2)
Showing 1-25 of 157 reviews
5.0

09/07/2021


James P.

very response and excellent service

Description of Work
Tree Services

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2020

5.0

11/18/2020


Azanda D.

They are professional and they did a great job.

Description of Work
They did a tree service.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2017

5.0

10/06/2020


Bob K.

They removed the trees as quotation with equipment that did no damage to the lawn and ground the stomps. They were fast, courteous and asked me if I needed anything else and if I was satisfied with their work. I was totally happy.

Description of Work
Remove some dead ash trees and advise on other trees in the backyard

Category landscaping,tree service

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2020

5.0

08/26/2020


Sue M.

They did a great job with care to protect other things that might have been damaged by falling limbs or heavy equipment. Very neat and professional.

Description of Work
2 large high trees removed. One in front yard and one in back yard.

Category tree service

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2020

5.0

05/16/2020


John K.

Very well. The communication with the 3 guys who came to cut was fantastic. They kept checking with me about which trees to cut, and the total number of trees to be cut. The ground was wet but they took massive extra care to make sure the Bobcat caused no lawn damage, which it did not. By the time they left, it was if they had not been there - everything raked and cleaned up that should be. I was completely satisfied with the whole project.

Description of Work
Cutting down 14 large ash trees that were dead or dying and put a house at risk.

Category landscaping,tree service

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2020

5.0

01/18/2020


Gerry H.

Very pleased Jeremy and crew showed up early Christmas Eve that's right, the trees were cut debris removed and the logs cut in 6-8' lengths and stacked neatly on side yards. I told Jeremy minus the trees missing they left it looking better than it was. Very minor yard repair in spring. Thanks to all again

Description of Work
11 Ash Trees Cut down

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/24/2019

5.0

09/20/2019


Andrea P.

Everything was done quickly and efficiently, and even through the ground was soggy from the wet spring, there was no damage to the lawn from their equipment. We would absolutely hire them again.

Description of Work
Removed 5 ash trees

Category tree service

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2019

5.0

06/09/2019


debra W.

We have a tree that drops limbs every time the wind blows over 30mph. We wanted the advice of an arborist and found wonderful reviews for J.M Tree Service. They did a wonderful job we couldn’t be happier with the results.

Description of Work
Tree thinning service

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2019

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to give an A rating! We are so grateful you are satisfied with the tree work. Our 3 ISA Certified Arborists on staff take pride in the knowledge they have and being able to educate our clients about their trees, as well as, giving the best recommendations. We are so pleased to hear you are satisfied with the whole process and the completion of your job! Please give us a call if you have any future tree care needs! -Kristin J.M. Tree Service, Inc.
5.0

02/15/2019


Kimberly V.

Highly qualified and professional. I appreciated that they are certified arborists and were able to help me make choices that considered the health of my trees as well as protecting my home. They were also knowledgeable about issues surrounding city regulations and managing issues regarding property lines with your neighbors. Due to weather, they got behind schedule, but they provided me a discount to compensate. I enjoyed working with them and will do so again in the future when I need help with my trees.

Description of Work
Tree trimming

Category tree service

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2019

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to give an A rating in every category! We are so grateful you are satisfied with the tree work. The owners do make sure they are up to date in knowing the surrounding city regulations for when situations arise like yours. Our 3 ISA Certified Arborists do their absolute best when making recommendations for our client's trees. This winter has given us some delays with the crazy weather changes, but we do our very best to keep our customers informed as to what is going on. Please don't hesitate to call us if you have any future tree care needs! -Victoria J.M. Tree Service, Inc.
5.0

06/10/2018


Ed A.

The entire process was the best. The initial consulting went well, including his educating me on the disease and the process they would do to remove the tress and stumps, which required a follow up for the trump removal. They arrived on time, including 2 crews to do the job. They went to work, removing the trees and debris.

Description of Work
Remove 5 Elm Trees - Killed By Dutch Elm

Category tree service

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/28/2018

Images

Review for J.M. Tree Service Inc - 3567 Sweden Walker Rd., Brockport, NY - 37819344

+3 More

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to give us an A rating in every category! Our 3 ISA Certified Arborists on staff take pride in the knowledge they have and being able to educate our clients about their trees, as well as, giving the best recommendations. We are so pleased to hear you are satisfied with the whole process and the completion of your job! Please give us a call if you have any future tree care needs! Happy Spring! -Victoria J.M. Tree Service, Inc.
5.0

05/29/2018


Warren S.

Had to wait several weeks due to wind storms creating emergency work for T&L. When they committed to a date and time they came exactly on schedule. Work was completed neatly and safely with only minor lawn damage. They stacked logs at the edge of the yard so I could cut it up for firewood. Chipped and hauled away all the branches. Charge was exactly as quoted.

Description of Work
Cut down a large (about 70' tall) dead maple tree that was close to the house. Grind the stump.

Category tree service

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2018

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed]. The company you wanted to review is t and l. My company is jm tree. I know Laura from t and l and although we always appreciate a positive review we are a stand up company and would like to see this review go to its rightful owners at t and l.
5.0

12/03/2017


John M.

They were excellent and when they left not a leaf left behind. Very professional job!!

Description of Work
Tree Trimming

Category tree service

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2017

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the positive review! It was our pleasure pruning the mulberry tree to give your garage more roof clearance. We enjoy hearing how much our customers love our cleanup! If you have any future tree care needs, please don't hesitate to give us a call! Have a great day!
5.0

11/21/2017


Ed A.

When Josh came to quote the work I immediately liked him. From his comments I could tell he cares about trees. He came across as the "down to earth guy" and, although this is his livelihood, he does not strike me as someone out to "make money" at my expense. As it was his price was better than the others. They were flexible with the scheduling as I was going to be out of town and they waited until I was going to be home. On the day of the work a lot of men and trucks arrived. I was the last house scheduled for the day and he explained the two crews teamed up on the last job so that everyone finished the day at the same time. Again, insight into his character; in this case, as an employer. Once they unpacked their gear and got things set up they went to work and everyone seemed to know their tasks. Everyone kept working along, doing the various tasks that needed to be done. They cut down the 5 trees, again 9 trunks, carried/dragged/raked the lawn to move the debris to a shredder and a truck bed for the larger logs. The use of a crane was impressive. They were done in about 2 hours. The grinding will be scheduled for another day. The area of the yard gets soggy from the rains. We are waiting for my yard to dry up sufficiently so as not to be damaged by the equipment.

Description of Work
Remove 5 ash trees (9 trunks) that had died from ash borers, including grinding stumps to ground level.

Category tree service

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2017

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words and positive review! It was a pleasure meeting with you, and removing the ash trees from your backyard. With an ISA Certified Arborist and our well trained crew, we are well qualified to complete and accommodate a job. We work hard to deliver great tree service in the industry and I'm so glad our visit reflected that. It's always so rewarding to hear the praise of a satisfied customer. If you ever have any future tree care needs, please give us a call! We would be honored to work with you again. Have a wonderful day!
5.0

10/16/2017


Aaron H.

It went well, they were early to arrive and had two crews working both trees. They did a nice job with clean up. They were efficient in their work. It was tough to communicate during the job since you really shouldn't be walking under trees and pointing at branches that could be coming down. The yard was a bit more torn up than I had hoped after the job, but very few branches came down from a high wind storm two nights later which tells me they got the dangerous pieces.

Description of Work
two large oak trees trimmed in our back yard with limited access (no lift trucks)

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2017

5.0

10/06/2017


Ralph M.

All services from start to finish exceeded expectation.

Description of Work
Removal of large Norway Maple tree and stump grinding.

Category tree service

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/28/2017

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for the positive review! I'm so glad we had the opportunity to remove the Norway maple tree. Customer satisfaction is always of utmost importance. If you have any tree care needs this fall, please don't hesitate to give us a call!
5.0

09/28/2017


Lynne M.

Excellent, they were thoughtful of our lawn and waited until the ground was dry enough to drive heavy vehicles onto our lawn to complete the job.

Description of Work
removal of tree and stump grinding

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the positive review! Thank you for your patience as we waited a little longer for the ground to dry. As a family owned business we take pride in every job from the begging to completion. Please give us a call if you ever have any future tree care needs!
5.0

09/15/2017


Linda A.

Great! A bit expensive, but totally worth it given the promptness and efficiency of emergency service. Very fasts and efficient removal with great care taken to not damage the neighbor's lawn. Very good communication too arranging for the service and payment. They even called to confirm their receipt of final payment. Best tree service around.

Description of Work
Complete removal of large linden tree and large maple branch from linden tree splitting, hitting maple tree and hitting side of house.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2017

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your kind words! When it comes to emergency situations, urgency dictates a higher priority. We are so glad we could remove the linden tree before it could cause any further damage to the property! At J.M. Tree Service we value the importance of communication with our customers, and staff throughout the job process. Please don't hesitate to give is a call in the future with any other tree care needs; it would be an honor to work with you again!
5.0

08/16/2017


Robert F.

Very professional. Very neat. Worked well with neighbor. 100% satisfied. They did well especially considering how wet the year has been.

Description of Work
Removal of a large dead elm tree intertwined with the power lines.

Category tree service

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/27/2017

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the positive review! As our ISA Certified Arborists are also trained in electrical hazards we are so glad we were able to remove the elm tree before it became a safety hazard. We strive for each and every customer to be satisfied! If you have any tree care needs this summer, please give us a call!
5.0

07/20/2017


Ronald P.

All done and cleaned up in half a day.

Description of Work
I had a large black walnut limb that leaned toward a neighbor's garage, and needed to support it as a precaution.

Category tree service

Cost $432

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2017

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the positive review! We were happy to assist you in adding supplemental support to your black walnut tree by installing a cable. Our highest praise is a satisfied customer! Please don't hesitate to give us call in the future with any other tree care needs!
5.0

07/12/2017


William F.

Extremely well. Completed all services in less than seven hours.

Description of Work
Removal of several trees

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2013

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the positive review! It was our pleasure removing the locust trees before they became hazardous. We are glad to hear you were satisfied with our promptness. If you ever have any future tree care needs, please give us a call. We will always appreciate your business!
5.0

06/15/2017


Nicholas N Z.

Everyone showed up as scheduled, performed the agreed-upon work and left the yard clean and litter-free.

Description of Work
Removal of trees and stumps in the front yard. Everyone from office personnel, arborist/estimator and workers were all friendly and efficient. Price was very reasonable. Will definitely hire again if/when tree work is needed in the future.

Category tree service

Cost $1,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your kind words and positive review. It was our pleasure removing the willow tree from your backyard. We love the praise of a satisfied customer, and love hearing such wonderful things about our company all around, including our office staff and our crew. If you ever have any future tree care needs, absolutely give us a call!
1.0

05/15/2017


ANNE P.

They would not give me a price until after they performed the work( my bad) but we needed the tree moved. The charge was ridiculous. 4800 dollars. Then I had to call them several times to get them to come finish removing stumps and roots and pick up meanwhile I had horrendous text message from them that upset me very much when I complained about the price. He stated demand , and people are in a hurry to get tree removed but not to pay. Remember he had not finished the job. I guess he thinks if the insurance company will pay for the tree removal he can charge as much as he likes. I would NEVER hire them again and several local nurseries will NOT recommend them EVER!

Description of Work
They came out to remove a tree during the wind storm. It was not that large a tree but was on the cars and the house.

Category lawn service,tree service

Cost $4,800

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2017

Service Provider Response

Well [Member Name Removed]. First of all you have still not paid us at all. Secondly we gave you a ballpark range for the work based off of pictures once we received them. The price for was for emergency service in a storm at the end of an already extremely long day as we were trying to accommodate you as well as many other people with trees on houses. We did come out the same day as promised and I was within the ballpark I gave although it was at the higher side of it. I could post our text conversations here as I feel your representation is very unfair. Secondly the services we performed only related to the emergency removal of the tree off the house and the vehicles. As we have already discussed we did send a piece of equipment capable of lifting the large tree sections off the house so as not to do any further damage. Thirdly we came out two additional times at no charge to you to grind out what was left of the stump and remove debris that were previously hidden under the snow at no extra charge..... your insurance company did pay for the entire thing and yet we haven't received a penny for it yet....... when you wrote this f review did you notice that it's the only one? Are 135 other people all wrong and we really are a horrible company or do you think maybe writing such a negative review is really not the right way to handle this? In all reality you were extremely happy with us until you got the bill and felt it was too much. So in all fairness in that respect the only area of that we deserve a bad rating would be price... if we provide f rated service then I am amazed you got calls and text back in the middle of or horrific weather event and saw a crew out that same day. If our quality is so bad and our professionalism is so bad why did we come out to do additional work at no charge to you? I openly told you that yes during storm when we are all working 16 plus hours days and everyone is all on double time we do charge a premium for the services we are providing. It's not like we can wait 4-6 weeks to come and do the work at our convenience. Your job was the last job we packed into the schedule before and during getting approx 2-3 feet of snow. It was a state of emergency because road conditions were so bad and we still came and got it done that day as promised. I ballpatked you 2500-5000 once I saw pictures of what was going on. Any ballparks from office staff which would have been minimum charges and not ballparks for your specific job were a mute point once I saw pictures of what was actually going on. I'm sorry you feel so dissatisfied by our company but really feel your review if very unfair and all based on you