Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BACKCOUNTRY IRRIGATION & HARDSCAPE DESIGNS

Founded 1999 • With Angi since October 2006

COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. FREE ESTIMATES. FULLY INSURED.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

5.0

(16) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews
Henry R K.
5.0
07/18/2014
They did an excellent job. I have no problems with them, I wish all my problem went as smoothly as it did with BACKCOUNTRY IRRIGATION and HARDSCAPE DESIGNS. They did in a timely fashion, cost was very reasonable, they were prompt and clean after themselves. I've had them come back subsequently. I would highly recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
In ground irrigation installed.
Category
irrigation systems
MARTHA L.
5.0
05/18/2014
Called Darrin at the beginning of the week and he sent an employee out within 3 days to correct our sprinkler system. BackCountry installed our system about 10 years ago and I am pleased to contact them for tweaks to our system thru the years. Always professional and always punctual that's why I am a loyal customer.
Description of Work
installed a taller stationary sprinkler head and reajusted two additional sprinkler heads
Category
irrigation systems
Dvora G.
5.0
08/30/2013
Based upon Angie's List of sprinkle installation contractors with an and quot;Aand quot; rating, I contacted Backcountry Irrigation on Friday August 9, 2013 and received a return call on Monday August 12 from Darin that he was available that day to perform a site vist and provide an estimate. We discussed what I believed was an appropriate sprinkler layout and Darin made suggestions for an improved arrangement which I was in agreement. I considered his quoted cost for the installation to be very reasonable (I already had a 2012 estimate from another contractor for a smaller layout that did not provide coverage of the entire lot). I agreed to underake the work with an expected installation date of the first week in September that was subsequently moved up to August 20. Darin and crew of four arrived at the promised time (7:30 AM) and completed the installation the same day (1:30 PM). Prior to the placement of sprinkler heads, Darin received my input regarding any changes in the actual location. And when the installation was completed, we agreed on minor adjustments to the sprinkler head coverage. Darin also provided instruction and the tool for making future adjustments to the heads; none needed to date. Darin programmed the clock for the time and day of the week the system would automatically operate as well as provide instruction and demonstrate how to manually activate the system. In summary, I was skeptical that any contractor could deserve an and quot;Aand quot; rating and was proven wrong by Backcountry Irrigation. Not only did they perform the work to my complete satisfaction, they were polite and considerate, and very conscientious in cleaning up the yard before departing. I wish all my home projects went as well as this installation!
Description of Work
Installed inground sprinkler system consisting of 5 zones, 18 rotary sprinklers, programmable clock and backflow preventer for lot size of 100 by 160 feet.
Category
irrigation systems
Lorraine W.
5.0
07/01/2013
My original free estimate was received approx Feb. 2013 and I was very pleased with Darin's professional and thorough manner. He answered every question I had and then some :) I made my decision to move forward with this company pretty quickly and have not had any regrets to date. The sprinkler system was installed late April/early May 2013 again in a very professional and timely way,. Workers arrived around 7:00/8:00am and finished up around 4:00pm. I love the system and any questions I have had since have gotten quick response back. I was also told that the company will perform the end of season maintenance for a reasonable cost, as well as send an email reminder when the time comes. Very happy with this companies performance and product.
Description of Work
Installed a sprinkler system with rain sensor
Category
irrigation systems
Linus J.
5.0
12/21/2012
Very kind response and tried to schedule for me which was kind of urgent request but couldn't find time meaning they must have very good services.
Description of Work
I was looking for winterizing service for my sprinkler system and contacted Backcountry.
Category
irrigation systems
Brian W.
5.0
09/12/2012
I had a very positive experience with this company and would definitely recommend them to anyone. Darin personally came out to do the estimate for both the entire yard as well as if I just wanted to do the front and side yards, which I was considering. The estimate was done I believe the day after I initially contacted him. Upon selecting Darin to do the work, he was able to come the next week which was surprising as another person up for the job told me it would likely take a few weeks. Darin was punctual, polite, professional and meticulous. The work he and his guys did was great and he actually came in slightly under his estimate. He took the time to explain what was done. While doing the work, he accidentally sliced my cable but immediately put in the work order with Time Warner. An electrical line to my shed was also cut but he spliced that back together. The only thing I noticed was that it did sometimes take a bit of time to hear back from him when calling/leaving a message on his phone but since he is out actually doing the work with his guys this is easily understood and definitely not a big deal.
Description of Work
Sprinkler system install for entire yard.
Category
irrigation systems
Kevin K.
5.0
06/21/2012
Ther were here on time as stated and fixed a big break in a pipe. He moved some heads and changed out others. He had to dig in my garden and was extremely careful around my plants. I was impressed at how polite and professional he was..(.it was not Darin but don't know the guys name that was here!!!) he cleaned up and the garden is neater than before he started!!
Description of Work
They fixed a broken pipe, moved and replaced some heads
Category
irrigation systems
kathy D.
5.0
10/03/2011
EXCEPTIONAL!! OUTSTANDING!!! FABULOUS!!! I called Backcountry to help me not only winterize, but understand how the irrigation system works. Darin called back and put me on the schedule for a couple of weeks out (which was fine - not a problem at all). He then called me the next day and indicated that Nate would be in the area and would have time to help. Nate was exceptionally kind and patient with both his explanation of the system, and answering my questions. He then took care of winterizing our system. Things did not go as he expected, so he stayed to figure it out. Not to seem overdramatic, but I am not used to this level of service - professional, punctual, friendly and prompt! I wish I could call this company to do everything I need to have done with our new house They definitely deserve a Super Star award!!! Angie's List really helped me out with this one!!
Description of Work
I have never had a home with an irrigation system - I needed to have it winterized, but also wanted a "quick tour."
Category
irrigation systems
Brian S.
5.0
06/09/2011
Darin was rarely able to answer the phone when I called, but always returned my call within an hour or so. He was very polite when he came to do the estimate and actually called me to say he could show up early. Anyone who has worked with contractors knows how rare that is. His price was well below all the others we had received. When we called him back to hire him, he said they were scheduling about 3 weeks out and he would give me a call when we were next. Three weeks later I called him to see how close we were to the top of his list and he said that the rainy weather had put him a little behind schedule. This was understandable since we had a really wet spring, but I wish he had called me to let me know. He offered to do the indoor work the next day since the forecast was for more rain. I took the day off and he arrived with his plumber bright and early. Both of them were very professional and were no inconvenience. When he was done, the plumber showed me everything and walked me through what he had done. Darin called me back a week later when the weather was nice again and we set up an install day. Just like last time, I took a day off, he showed up first thing in the morning with a couple helpers and went right to work. With the exception of letting them into the house, I really didn't need to be there. They just did their thing while I read a book inside. It took them most of the day and when they were done, Darin showed me how to use the control box. I cut him a check and that was it. That was 10 days ago and the sprinklers are working fine. I have a pretty flexible schedule, so taking 2 days off wasn't as much of a problem for me as it might be for some. You just have to be aware that installing a sprinkler system does require a lot of indoor work as well, so it's not something that they can do while you're at work. All in all the experience was good. You can barely tell where they ran the line. The sod they dug up around the sprinkler heads is starting to turn brown, but that's to be expected. I'm sure it'll come back next year, if not later this summer.
Description of Work
Irrigation system was installed including 24 sprinkler heads, 1 control box, 1 rain sensor and all necessary plumbing. The installation took place in two separate visits. The indoor plumbing and electrical (control box) was done on a rainy day because no outdoor work could be done. Then they came back about a week later to install the sprinklers. Both visits took almost a full day.
Category
irrigation systems
PATRICIA S.
5.0
05/16/2011
The install took approximately 3/4 of a day. When the sprinklers are on, they don't miss a spot of lawn and no water hits my house or windows. My perennial garden on the hill in the back of my yard is now water from top to bottom. Darin was a pleasure to do business with. I got other estimates and Darin's was the best. He is very professional and goes over and above to please his customers. I must mention that Darin noticed a piece of my siding was coming off. As busy as he was, he took the time to fix it for me.
Description of Work
I had a full sprinkler system installed. The system consisted of 17 rotary heads and 4 misting heads for my flowers. My lawn space is irregular and involved placing sprinkler heads to cover the relevant areas without spraying the patio or deck. I have a perennial garden on a hill in the back of my yard which suffered every summer because it was not watered evenly. He positioned the sprinklers to water the entire garden.
Category
irrigation systems
Rob N.
5.0
02/21/2011
only gave him a B in punctuality as he's in such demand. Personal service. Recommends money saving options. Responds same day when I had question on setting zone
Description of Work
Front and back sprinkler system 16 heads
Category
irrigation systems
Sean B.
5.0
11/10/2010
Service went great.
Description of Work
Had him service my sprinklers at the end of the year to shut them down for the year. I am planning to use him in the spring to have him fix some broken sprinklers and have various adjustments done on them.
Category
irrigation systems
Clifford W.
5.0
05/20/2010
He is very accommodating. They are very popular in the neighborhood. They are very reliable. I like him a lot. He is reasonably priced.
Description of Work
He has had to come back several times to reinstall irrigation system because I have had to re-grade my yard. Every year he also shuts down the system for the winter.
Category
irrigation systems
Ron M.
5.0
05/11/2010
Darrin is great to work with. He was very helpful in describing our needs and the workings of the system. He and his crew were very punctual and professional. They were an absolute joy to work with. Oh by the way, their price was by far the best estimate we received. They will be doing our winterization of the system. I highly recommend this Company.
Description of Work
They installed a lawn sprinkler system for our new home. Also as an add-on they installed underground drainage for our gutter downspouts.
Category
irrigation systems
Clifford W.
5.0
06/19/2008
I feel that Darin is honest and he is a pleasure to work with. I think he knows what he is doing and works well with other companies. He gave us excellent advice concerning the system we put in.
Description of Work
We had used this company to install a lawn irrigation system.
Category
irrigation systems
MARTHA L.
5.0
10/04/2006
Super company to deal with. Prompt, courteous service. During the installation in 2005, minor damage was done to our vinyl siding and Mr. DiNallo paid for its replacement. We added onto the system this summer and are pleased we found this company. I recommend them highly.
Description of Work
In 2005, we had lawn irrigation put in the front yard. In 2006, we added on to the system for the backyard.
Category
irrigation systems

Other local Pros in your area

Albany Hardscaping & Landscaping LLC

Albany Hardscaping & Landscaping LLC is a full-service lawn and landscape company that offers services that include the following: -Mowing & trimming -Paver & patio Installation -Planting shrubs & Flowers -Spring/Fall clean-ups -Tree cutting -Pressure Washing and much more. We are a team of professionals that are committed to meeting every customer's need. We are detail-oriented and our work is what stands out. We are an owner-operated business. My team and I come with many years of experience in hardscaping and landscaping.  

Angi Certified

Eco Quality Landscaping

Eco Quality Landscaping LLC is a fully insured, design and build landscape construction and maintenance company. EQL LLC was established in 2008 and has been proudly serving southern Saratoga county and surrounding communities ever since. At Eco Quality Landscaping we believe no job is complete until our clients are completely satisfied. Contact us today to schedule a consultation.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

22 CENTURY DR

Ballston Spa, NY 12020

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

BACKCOUNTRY IRRIGATION & HARDSCAPE DESIGNS is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

BACKCOUNTRY IRRIGATION & HARDSCAPE DESIGNS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

Yes, BACKCOUNTRY IRRIGATION & HARDSCAPE DESIGNS offers free project estimates.

No, BACKCOUNTRY IRRIGATION & HARDSCAPE DESIGNS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, BACKCOUNTRY IRRIGATION & HARDSCAPE DESIGNS does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, BACKCOUNTRY IRRIGATION & HARDSCAPE DESIGNS offers emergency services.

Yes, BACKCOUNTRY IRRIGATION & HARDSCAPE DESIGNS offers warranties.

BACKCOUNTRY IRRIGATION & HARDSCAPE DESIGNS offers the following services: INSTALLATION OF UNDERGROUND LAWN SPRINKLERS. INSTALLATION OF PAVER PATIOS, SIDEWALKS AND RETAING WALLS