Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Spec-Pro Home Inspections

Founded 2004 • With Angi since February 2010

My name is Ian Robertson and I am a second generation home inspector. We have been inspecting homes for happy clients for decades. We take our trade seriously, as such, we offer a full range of home inspection services. Not only am I licensed by NYS, but I am a Board Certified Master Inspector, which is considered the highest honor in the industry and I am one of only a few hundred Master Inspectors in the entire country. In addition to this I am NACHI certified, IAC2 Certified, licensed by the EPA and I am also a NYS Home Inspector Instructor teaching other inspectors the trade.My inspections includes the roof, siding, windows, doors, foundation, garages, basement, electrical, heating, plumbing, attic, kitchen, baths, interiors and much more. All of our inspection reports are delivered the same day as your inspection with pictures and descriptions of your inspection in electronic format. We encourage you to be on the inspection with me if at all possible, because you are the real reason we are there. I love what we do here, and I know that you will too!

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(110) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 110 reviews
Christine M.
5.0
10/12/2016
Ian did a fantastic job and I would absolutely recommend him. We used Ian for two home inspections this year. This first inspection he found a significant number of major issues, and saved us from a real headache down the road. We happily used him again when we found another house that we were interested in. Luckily this house was in much better condition. He is extremely thorough and his reports are very clear and easy to read!
Description of Work
Inspections: Structural Radon Wood Destroying Organisms
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We enjoyed working with you too!
Lane R.
5.0
10/06/2016
If you are like me and like to keep copies of everything, he provides a beautifully formatted pdf with pictures and explanations as part of his final report. I enjoyed learning about some of the history of my home and he also had some excellent recommendations for what to tackle in terms of repairs and provided a general idea of the cost so that when I had people come out for estimates of work that I would not get ripped off. He was very responsive to questions, emails, and phone calls. I could not speak higher of his work or his attitude.
Description of Work
Ian has been my go to for home inspection for years. His knowledge of the field is outstanding and he takes the time to thoroughly walk you through the house and answer any questions.
Category
home inspection
Nicolas S.
5.0
05/25/2016
Spec Pro was extremely thorough and engaging during the inspection. Ian explained to us exactly what he was doing throughout the inspection and was very candid about issues that were concerning and about those that were of little or no concern. For example, we were worried about some stains in the shower and Ian reassured us that the issue was likely a cleanliness fix, not an underlying issue. He climbed into the attic and inspected so thoroughly that he identified potential mold-like substances under the insulation. The report was promptly provided the same day and included detailed descriptions and pictures of the home. When we had follow up questions to clarify elements of the report, Ian was responsive and helpful.
Description of Work
Spec Pro conducted a home inspection for a home we were in the process of purchasing.
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! You were a pleasure to work with and I am always available for question afterward for all of our clients!
Cacchina S.
5.0
03/30/2016
He arrived much earlier and had been on the roof and done a thou rough walk around the property prior to my arrival and then walked through all findings with myself and my agent. Had all waters running from time of arrival to exit, checking for leaks and all surrounding walls for moisture .Checked foundations, heating and cooling, electricity , attic for mold and moisture and leaks. Checked everything! He took detailed pictures of all findings big or small and wrote them up executively while explaining them to myself and 15 year old son in laymans terms. Very knowledgeable and helpful and report was emailed with pictures included same evening! Radon test resulted by email as well.
Description of Work
Home inspection. I had used Ian for an additional home inspection on a house I did not purchase and again on this onewhich I am. Besides the routine super punctual thorough detailed inspection, he just goes above and beyond explaining in detail all the little things and the big things and is such a pleasure to work with. He takes the scary and formidable house buying experience and just really makes you feel comfortable about your biggest investment ever.I highly recommend.
Category
home inspection, radon testing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you!!!!
Scott H.
5.0
12/21/2015
This was my first home inspection. Ian actually showed up ahead of the scheduled time and started right in with his inspection of the home and grounds. I think that Ian did a very thorough job and took time to explain various findings. He was at the home for over three hours. He answered all of my questions and provided a detailed report that same night. I had a couple of follow up questions that he promptly answered. I highly recommend Ian.
Description of Work
Full home inspection with well pump test, water quality test and a radon test
Category
home inspection, radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you! You had a beautiful home and I enjoyed inspecting it with you!
Marilyn B.
5.0
10/28/2015
Ian was very knowledgeable and conscientious in providing me with all the information as we went through the inspection. He was happy to thoroughly answer all my questions. He provided a detailed report - ~40 pages with lots of photos. It was a great relief to have the information and I would recommend him without reservation.
Description of Work
Ian did a great job of inspecting my house and garage.
Category
home inspection
Marilyn F.
5.0
10/18/2015
I asked for the inspection since I plan on putting my house on the market in the spring and I wanted to to identify any issues that I may encounter when a buyer hires a home inspector for my house. Ian was very professional and explained each issue and its level of severity. He further explained how my home may be viewed by other inspectors. He responded quickly when I emailed him to get further clarification. Based on Ian's inspection, I am having one issues fixed and I have my winter "punch list" to spruce up my house for a spring sale. Joe
Description of Work
Ian performed a full house inspection include Radon and termite inspection. He produced a 30+ page report identifying the condition of all interior and exterior parts of my home.
Category
home inspection, radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
jennifer A.
5.0
05/28/2015
Ian was enthusiastic, thorough, informative, friendly and candid. He was a great home inspector and was recommended by a friend who had the same opinion and said he was one of the best. He lived up to his reputation. I would highly recommend using his services above all others
Description of Work
Home inspection
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you, you were both great to work with!
Mark J.
5.0
04/24/2015
We contacted Ian nearly nine months after he performed a home inspection of our property. After living in the house a while, we called Ian again for help in resolving stubborn problems that he identified in his report. He came to the house within days and recommended a number of potential solutions. He did not charge us for the follow-up visit.
Description of Work
Provided a free follow-up inspection of some problem areas that were identified in an earlier home inspection.
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! I always tell every client "once a client, always a client", and I mean it!
MARK M.
5.0
12/28/2014
Ian is THE BEST choice for your professional home inspection. He is amazing at what he does, makes you feel very comfortable, provides superior customer service and most importantly is an honest and great guy. Ian is always on time for his appointments, very friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about helping people. If you are in the process of buying a home, you should absolutely choose Ian and Spec Pro! You will not be disappointed! My wife and I were first time home buyers and nervous about who to choose as our inspector. Ian was recommended by a friend and we are so grateful that we went with him. We worked with Ian on two homes. We really liked the first house, but during the home inspection at the property Ian noticed some bad signs namely mold, pest and structural issues that my wife and I would have never noticed if we didn?t use Spec Pro for our home inspection. Ian always educates his customers and with him there are no stupid questions as he clearly explains everything down to the smallest details. He saved us from buying a home that potentially had many problems and would have cost a lot of money to fix. Thankfully, we did not purchase that house. However, we did find another house and Ian performed the home inspection at that property as well. This time everything went great and we thank Ian for all his time and help with our new dream home! In this world we live in few businesses provide decent customer service let alone anything more. Ian goes above and beyond every day helping thousands of people just like you and me. Furthermore, our realtor that we used has over 30 years of experience buying and selling homes in the capital region of New York, and she has experience with many home inspectors. She said ?Ian is the most detail-oriented and best professional home inspector she has ever come in contact with.? We think that shows a lot as to the quality and service Ian and his company provides. My wife and I give Spec Pro and Ian our highest personal recommendation.
Description of Work
Home Inspection, Pest Inspection, Radon Test and Structural
Category
home inspection, radon testing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you! You were both wonderful to work with as well!
VINCENT S.
5.0
09/08/2014
It's very clear that Ian loves what he does and Spec-Pro is a top notch company. They have a super reputation and rightfully so. My agent was forwarding an email to me regarding when the bank appraisal would be done and I noticed further down in the email chain where she wrote, "the inspection was extremely thorough, this was my first encounter with Spec-Pro (Ian) and I would recommend them to anyone who needs a home inspector." That was nice to see and I hope more people get to work with Ian. Highly, highly recommended.
Description of Work
Outstanding! Ian Robertson performed a full home inspection plus a radon test in Wilton, NY for me and my wife, the buyers. Ian arrived a half hour early and had already had been on the roof to inspect it and was inspecting the perimeter when we showed up. Nicest person you ever want to meet. Personable, intelligent, and down to earth. Walked us through every corner of the house and gave us loads of advice on simple fixes that can be done as weekend projects. He kept asking if we had any questions and was happy when we did ask. The report was amazingly thorough and my real estate agent was very impressed. He really makes what can be a scary and stressful process fun and enjoyable. We felt empowered afterwards, like, ok... we really got to know this home (good and bad) and what things we need to tend to first and what we don't have to worry about.
Category
home inspection, radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review! You are a great family and I wish you all the best!
jameel A.
5.0
09/02/2014
He was extremely thourough and educated us on what he was doing. Went into the attic and crawl spaces and did a lot of physical inspections. Definately more than expected.
Description of Work
He did our home inspection for us. We were first time buyers.
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you! I always try to deliver more than expected. You were great to work with!
Christine I.
5.0
07/03/2014
Ian was extremely helpful and friendly and informative. He had great social skills and shared everything he observed. He even invited me to join him on the ladder for a better view of a problem and provided suggestions for how to take care of problems and for how to improve energy efficiency and overall health of the infrastructure. There were a couple of major problems and he spoke very considerately and offered a range of options that could be used along with a range of possible costs. Overall, I would recommend him to anyone. Even my realtor said he moved to the top of her list!
Description of Work
Inspected a home we are considering buying
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you, you were great to work with as well!
John T.
5.0
07/01/2014
Ian was extremely thorough and saved us from buying a major headache. He was professional, punctual and thorough. After his inspection, we decided not to buy the property and are now using him for our next inspection.
Description of Work
Ian completed a full home inspection.
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
Amanda D.
5.0
06/09/2014
Ian was extremely knowledgeable in so many ways. We are first time home buyers with a lot of worries/concerns and lots of questions. Ian started off by putting our minds at ease and doing a very thorough inspection of our new potential home from top to bottom. He arrived early and stayed with us until all questions were answered. We very much enjoyed the time we spent with Ian and will probably take him up on his offer to call when we have questions in the future! Thanks for all your hard work and we would definitely recommend!
Description of Work
Home Inspection, Structural, Pest, Radon
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much, I enjoyed working with both of you as well! I tell every client that we are always available and happy to answer question, even years after you inspection, and I mean it. Once a client, always a client!
William M.
5.0
05/16/2014
We used Spec-Pro, Ian, for three homes now. He has saved us from some VERY significant issues that would have otherwise been unknown, such as structural, mold, water, and roofing concerns. He was very prompt, getting there earlier than us each time. His report was nearly 80 pages, with excellent detail, and he remains available for his customers for follow on guidance should anyone ask for it, such as repair work down the line, advice on general maintenance issues, and future inspections. My fiancee and I were very pleased with his professionalism, prompt sending of his report, and flexibility regarding availability (we work fluctuating hours making scheduling somewhat difficult). I've already recommended him for a pre-sell inspection to my parents, and would easily work with him again. He was a blessing-of-sorts for some surprisingly risky homes, and we're very grateful. As nervous first-time buyers, he is as highly recommended as can be.
Description of Work
Ian inspected our home per the standard home inspection agenda, including pest, radeon, mold, and structural analysis.
Category
home inspection, mold removal

Service Provider Response

I am very happy to help. Thank you for the feedback!
Barbara D.
5.0
05/15/2014
He did a complete inspection literally from top to bottom. In the first property he even made small suggestions on how to save money regarding heat usage. In the second property he even showed me how to change the filter on the furnace. He always goes the extra step and answers all questions regarding present and future issues. There would be no question I would use him in the future or refer him to others.
Description of Work
Complete home inspection on two of my properties
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much!
Kathleen B.
5.0
04/25/2014
We did not end up getting a home inspection, because the sellers backed out of our contract. But Ian helped us work through asbestos issues related to the home and the contract and was knowledgeable and offered incredible professional services. He was kind and very nice to work with.
Description of Work
We were extremely pleased with the experience of working with Ian Robertson and Spec-Pro Home Inspectors. Mr. Robertson returned phone calls quickly and acted with absolute professionalism. When faced with a challenge in the contract from the sellers, Mr. Robertson took the time to call us in the evening and explain our situation to help us make an informed decision. We were very impressed. I would recommend this inspector and this company!
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your feedback! Professionalism is very important to us, and we feel that when you truly care about people proffesionalism comes naturally.
SUSAN N.
5.0
04/20/2014
Ian was professional and thorough from start to finish. The 44-page report was complete with photos and clear recommendations. It gave me an excellent roadmap to follow, with the issues prioritized.
Description of Work
Full home inspection
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

I am glad I was able to help. Thank you!
Dvora G.
5.0
02/03/2014
We have used Ian twice now, and have nothing but great things to say about his work, his professionalism, and his demeanor. We would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a home inspection on a potential home. He was also incredibly flexible with our ever-changing schedule, which was hugely appreciated. A++
Description of Work
Inspection of home
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you! It was a pleasure helping you with your first home years ago, and now helping you with your second home. I always take it as the highest compliment that a client like you has used me throughout the years. All the best to you and your family!
Michael M.
5.0
11/24/2013
The work performed was excellent. Ian is exceptionally professional and provides good incite during the inspection. He took a long time (over three hours) to inspect the entire house and provide feedback. He never rushed through the house and always made us feel comfortable. Buying a house can be a bit nerve wracking, but with a good inspector you know what to look out for. By the next morning we received a 46 page report with colored photographs and detailed commentary about everything he noticed. The radon test was set up and we received the information within a weeks time. The whole process ran exceptionally smooth and is thorough. Some people might suggest that spending $450 to $650 for an inspection is a bit much, but we thought it was well worth it. Also, once you work with Mr. Robertson, he always makes himself available if you have questions down the road. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a good home inspector.
Description of Work
The provider performed a home inspection.
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
Frank B.
5.0
11/04/2013
Ian was punctual, professional and thorough. He was easy to deal with and was happy to take whatever time was necessary to discuss questions or issues that I had. Since I have some knowledge of building practices we were able to discuss various questions in detail and I found Ian to be a wealth of knowledge and well educated in his field. Within the typical constraints, (no, despite what Mike Holmes would have you believe, you can't smash holes in someone else's walls to check the plumbing, electrical, insulation etc...) we completely reviewed the electrical, plumbing, heating, structural systems as well as interior and exterior finishes, fixtures and appliances. He was able to point out a number of more minor issues that I hadn't noticed and also answered questions about a few systems I was unfamiliar with. Since one of the elderly home owners was not feeling well and unable to leave the house during the inspection, I was impressed with how friendly, polite and respectful Ian was with the owner as we worked around the situation. Ian's report was comprehensive and the accompanying pictures, complete with circled details and arrows pointing out findings, will be useful in making future repairs. Great job.
Description of Work
Full house inspection, pest inspection and Radon test
Category
home inspection
TODD R.
5.0
11/04/2013
When I called Ian to schedule an appointment, he asked me questions about my foundation and prepared me for what I needed to do before the inspection (ie, move items or drywall in basement where I suspected damage). He came promptly at the scheduled time and was very thorough in inspecting both the outside and inside, giving us clear explanations of why the cracks had formed in the foundation as they did. He also made recommendations as to how to fix them. During the inspection, which was only supposed to be for the foundation, he also gave use some warning on a water leakage problem we happened to run into, which I thought was very valuable! He took pictures of our foundation and possible problem areas and used them to give us a full written report. I emailed him a few weeks later to ask him a question, and he replied promptly. Throughout the whole process, Ian was very professional, friendly, helpful, clear, and easy to work with. I would definitely use him again and recommend him to anyone.
Description of Work
Inspected our foundation, which was showing multiple cracks, and gave us a full written report
Category
home inspection
Christina O.
5.0
10/29/2013
It went great. Ian was prompt, professional and helpful in what could have been a very stressful situation.
Description of Work
Full home inspection, including structure, electric, plumbing. Included a detailed write up including pictures and degree of issue severity
Category
home inspection
Dawn C.
5.0
10/21/2013
Ian arrived before we did and was already busy inspecting the property. He walked us through the entire inspection and provided a detailed explanation of everything he checked. He identified current issues and pointed out areas of future concern. He was able to identify a mold problem which turned out to be a major issue. We didn't buy the house and have Ian to thank as dealing with the issues identified would have been more than we would have been able to handle. The report arrived the same evening, was extremely thorough and covered all of the issues discussed during the inspection and more. Ian has been very responsive to our e-mails and questions and we will definitely call upon him again once we select a new property.
Description of Work
Performed a home inspection on a home we were considering purchasing
Category
home inspection

Phone

Address

1C Brookside Mdws Ste A

Ballston Lake, NY 12019

Other Information

Services offered

Home inspections, radon and mold inspections (IAC2 Certified), pest inspections (WDI), and much more.

Services not offered

Ask for details.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Spec-Pro Home Inspections is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Spec-Pro Home Inspections is open:

Sunday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Spec-Pro Home Inspections accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Spec-Pro Home Inspections offers free project estimates.

Yes, Spec-Pro Home Inspections offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Spec-Pro Home Inspections does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Spec-Pro Home Inspections offers emergency services.

No, Spec-Pro Home Inspections does not offer warranties.

Spec-Pro Home Inspections offers the following services: Home inspections, radon and mold inspections (IAC2 Certified), pest inspections (WDI), and much more.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Meerkat Pest Control

5.0

(47)

Angi Certified

Meerkat Pest Control

Local family owned & operated pest control company with over 100 years combined experience. True craftsman to their trade, Meerkat technicians' take great pride in service excellence and complete customer satisfaction. All service personnel is licensed, insured and NYS certified. Meerkat offers eco-friendly environmental solutions including choices for traditional or organic pest products, installing natural barriers & critter proofing for bats, mice and squirrels. In addition to pest proofing, we also specialize in attic & basement remediation work. Meerkat is a full service pest control & nuisance wildlife removal company handling problems with ants, bees, bats, mice, moles, squirrels, raccoons & more. Call us today for a free inspection!  

NU-Life Resources

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

NU-Life Resources

Nu Life Resources is a multi-AWARD WINNING mold abatement company. We use a CHEMICAL-FREE process and advanced technology to eliminate the mold - and the root cause! We have multiple certifications and the LONGEST WARRANTY in the industry.  

Van Dyk Solutions LLC

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

Van Dyk Solutions LLC

We perform full service Mold remediation and ventilation. We can provide a quick inspection to check for mold and mold prevention. Mold Remediation Contractor Ventilation Ridge Vents Bath Vents Bath Fans