Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

LONG ISLAND DECKING

Founded 1999 • With Angi since March 2006

4.9

(108) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 442

Baldwin, NY 11510

Description

We are a family owned and operated business that takes pride in transforming the outdoor living space of our clients. As a third-generation builder, James Oliver grew up in the industry, working with his uncle, and other contractors. While his family focused on general remodeling, Jay as his friends call him was drawn into decking because of his passion for the outdoors, and his love of carpentry. What started with a pickup truck and a helper has grown to be the most reputable and largest installer of decking products on Long Island. Company milestones include being published in the do it yourself line from Sunset Books “The Complete Deck Book,” and being dubbed “Long Island’s King of Decks” in Deck Contractor Magazine. The TREX® Company named Long Island Decking the areas largest TREX® composite decking installer. We are also proud members of the Better Business Bureau and the North American Deck and Railing Association. Please call ahead for your Free Design Consultation with the owner Jay. Long Island Decking® has been serving Long Island homeowners since 1999. We can’t wait to get you started....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/21/2022


Karen M.

I highly recommend Long Island Decking Inc! They redid our whole deck that was unsafe and just falling apart. We went with Trex decking and it’s absolutely flawless. My backyard now feels like a relaxing resort and I can’t wait to decorate it! Jay and his team were just fantastic to work with! Jay took the time to explain, and plan every part of the deck with me. He had lots of information on different types of Trex and never pressured me into any services. His team is was quick putting up the deck yet so efficient they worked miracles compared to what my deck used to look like. They cleaned up before they left for the day and cleaned the area after the project was completed! They were so kind to my daughter (1 1/2 yr old) and always waved hello when she would do a surprise inspection haha. I’m so happy to have my backyard back!! Thanks Jay and Team [*** Link removed ***]

Description of Work
Deck replacement

Category decks, deck cleaning

5.0

09/15/2022


Kelly Y.

Finding/hiring a contractor is always a stressful process. Luckily Jay and his team made the process as easy as possible. Jay was extremely professional. With my quote he included 3D modeling to visualize your new deck and consulted an engineer due to the larger size. Compared to my other quotes, LI decking definitely overbuilt in certain aspects to ensure longevity and that's something I really appreciated. Reaching out to him was easy, and texts are always returned promptly. While we didn't start at the estimated date, once the project was rolling, progress was swift and his team paid attention to the details. The end result was a beautiful deck and I couldn't have been happier.

Description of Work
Replacing an old deck

Category decks

5.0

12/06/2021


Michael L.

We would like to thank Jay and his team at Long Island Decking for building us an amazing deck! They spent the time with us understanding our requirements, and asking all the right questions to make sure the deck would be built exactly as we envisioned. In terms of the actually build, the team were always professional and courteous, with all demolition and debris quickly and neatly removed at the end of the job. Once started, the construction proceeded quickly and completed on time. Even though it is winter, we are already enjoying our new deck and couldn't be happier. Thanks again Jay, great job.

Description of Work
They demolished old deck and built a new and expanded deck.

Category decks

5.0

11/04/2021


Charles A.

For several years I had wanted to refresh my backyard living space and finally reached out to Jay Oliver and Long Island Decking to accomplish that. Working with Jay was easy, from explaining what we wanted to finally seeing the finished results. We couldn't be happier. The install team led by Jose were reliable, respectful, on time and meticulous in every detail. I would recommend them highly!

Description of Work
New Deck, pergola, and patio

Category awnings, decks, patios

5.0

07/07/2021


Gene K.

Jay and the entire crew from Long Island Decking were amazing. Not only was the quality of work outstanding but the entire team was such a pleasure to deal with. Jay was extremely professional and helped guide us through the entire selection process without ever feeling like were were pressured to go with one choice or another. Once things got started, they demolished our old deck, put up the new one, and cleaned up everything in just a few days. Beyond expectations! Everything looks fantastic and we are looking forward to enjoying our new deck for many years to come.

Description of Work
New Deck Construction

Category decks, fencing, lighting

5.0

06/28/2021


Christine D.

This past week LI Decking replaced our existing wood deck with a new Trex deck. It was difficult getting a firm start date, but worth the wait. Jay and his crew arrived on Monday morning when he said he would, and they stayed until the job was done. Jay was here when necessary, but he placed the job in the very capable hands of Jose, who was very professional and willing to answer any questions that came up. The entire crew worked hard and clearly took pride in their work. The deck looks great, and they left the yard as clean as when they started. I would recommend LI Decking without reservation.

Description of Work
Replace an existing deck with a Trex deck.

Category decks

5.0

06/25/2021


David H.

Jay designed a great gazebo for us and Jose and the team did a great job building it. The gazebo is fantastic, looks great, highly functional, and is a centerpiece in our yard. We cannot thank Jay, Jose, and the rest of the team enough.

Description of Work
Gazebo, pavers, and fence

Category decks

5.0

06/22/2021


Phil A.

Hired Long Island Decking to remove 30 year old wood deck and replace it with Trex on the top deck and pavers on the bottom. Gave Jay a picture we found of how we would like it to look. We honestly didn't expect it would come out nearly as nice as the picture, only hoping it would be somewhat close. To our pleasant surprise it looks almost exactly like the picture!! We can't believe the difference! We love being at outside now! When Jay told us it would really transform our whole yard he wasn't kidding! Jay was great to work with, always available to answer any questions and make changes if we asked. The crew was great, super nice and did excellent work!! I would highly recommend Long Island decking to anyone!! Phil Anzalone

Description of Work
New deck and patio

Category awnings

5.0

06/05/2021


lauren F.

My husband and I are incredibly happy with our beautiful Trex deck and highly recommend LI Decking. Jay and his team are so easy to work and communicate with, even through a series of permit- and pandemic-related delays and complications. The build was completed quickly, the crew was always courteous, and our property was left in great condition at completion. Would absolutely hire again!

Description of Work
New screened-in deck construction with full roof

Category decks

5.0

05/14/2021


Patti B.

Our experience with Long Island Decking was excellent from start to finish. The owner, Jay, his foreman Jose and their crew were professional, highly skilled, knowledgeable, friendly, on schedule, punctual and tidy. Our new Trex deck is absolutely beautiful! We are so happy we chose Long Island Decking.

Description of Work
Demo existing wood deck and build new Trex deck

Category decks

5.0

04/30/2021


McGarry C.

Long Island Decking replaced our old wood deck with a Trex. From inception when the estimate was provided, to assisting with the type and color of the deck, railing and lighting, they were fantastic, courteous and professional. During the demolition phase of the old deck, the construction of the new frame and deck, they demonstrated a commitment to their craft resulting in a beautiful new deck. Finally, the communication with Long Island Decking was excellent throughout the entre process. We HIGHLY recommend Long Island Decking!

Description of Work
Replacement of old wood deck from ground up.

Category decks

5.0

04/26/2021


Neil W.

We recently had a Trex deck installed by Long Island Decking. Jay and his crew were very professional, patient, courteous and willing to do whatever was necessary to make us happy customers. Jay met with us more than once to go over the project and answer all of our questions. His crew came on time, put in a full day and cleaned up before they left each day. They worked with us throughout the project to meet our expectations. We are extremely happy with the results. It has only been a week since the deck was completed and we have already recommended them to a couple of people and will continue to recommend Long Island Decking to all.

Description of Work
new deck built

Category decks

5.0

04/08/2021


Michele H.

We are thrilled with our new deck! Jay, the owner, was very knowledgeable and helped us through the process of choosing what we wanted. Jose and his team were fantastic. They were quick and efficient. They really did a great job! They custom made a bench for us and the lighting on the deck looks great. I would definitely recommend Long Island Decking for any decking needs!

Description of Work
deck with bench and lighting

Category decks

5.0

04/07/2021


Tom K.

Jay and his staff replaced our pool deck with a trex deck and lighting. They did an outstanding job with every aspect of the job from design to demo and new build. My wife and I were amazed with how quickly they worked and how clean and thorough they were. Start to finish it was done in three full working days. I would recommend them without any hesitation!

Description of Work
Deck rebuild and expansion

Category decks, lighting

5.0

03/30/2021


Jeffrey M.

Jay did our deck. He was incredibly responsive and helpful. He was extremely communicative (which is a rarity with contractors) and even better, the work product turned out exceptional. I would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Deck Construction

Category decks

5.0

03/20/2021


Stephanie B.

Amazing! So happy with the results. Truly helped transform our outdoor living space. Meticulous and professional. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
New deck in backyard

Category decks

5.0

01/06/2021


John C.

This deck project was a very good experience with great result because we chose the right professional contractor to do the job. The team of pros on the job are great at their craft and it shows from the moment we first discussed the project, during construction and all throughout until the last bit of cleanup. We recommend Long Island Decking.

Description of Work
Design and built a new Deck

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] we all really appreciate you taking the time to write this review! Happy New Year my friend. Enjoy the new Trex Deck Jay

5.0

12/16/2020


Joseph G.

Jay and the LI Decking guys just finished up my new outdoor living space. He created a huge outdoor space to cook and entertain including an outdoor kitchen with grill, sink, fridge, side burners, my home made smoker and the gem of the project a pizza oven. The paver patio is 55' x 20'. His work is terrific with great attention to detail, his craftsmen are very talented and respectful. The project came in right in budget and Jay was instrumental to help pick pavers and stone face to match our house and yard. Cannot reccomend them enough and look forward to many years of enjoyment. Thank you LI decking.

Description of Work
Patio and outdoor kitchen

Category decks, masonry, woodworking, hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

Hey [Member Name Removed] I cant wait till spring to get the final pics of the new yard it came out amazing!! So happy you guys love it save me a slice for sure!! Enjoy Jay

5.0

11/26/2020


Elaine C.

Long island Decking did a beautiful job replacing our old rotting wood deck with Trex: no hidden extra costs, it went up very fast, and Jay kept us up-to-date every step of the way. He even fixed an off-kilter gate in our fence! And despite the ominous pile of debris during construction, the backyard was neat as a pin when they left.

Description of Work
replaced outdoor deck

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] I hope everyone is doing well and out back on the dew deck!! Enjoy, Jay

5.0

11/23/2020


Anthony P.

If we could have give 6 stars we would! After collectively working in the construction industry for over 30 years on client projects ranging from the iconic NYC Woolworth Building, Atlantic City Casino/Hotels, high end northeast residential etc, we feel that client experience is paramount. We can say that LI Decking is by far one of the best contractors we’ve worked with over many years and many interactions. Jay and his team handled our project as if it was their own home and delivered a seamless experience with a final product that exceeded our expectations. More importantly the outcome was exactly what we envisioned during our design processes. Thank you Jay and Team! Your excellent work will provide many years of memories with friends and family. JoAnne and Anthony

Description of Work
Full rear yard build

Category decks, lighting, woodworking

Service Provider Response

One word ... WOW!! Thank you guys for a wonderful review it really means a lot the entire team here at LI Decking. Have a wonderful and safe Holidays and make amazing memories in your new yard!!

5.0

11/21/2020


N C.

I would strongly recommend Long Island Decking. We recently had a deck installed at our home, and we were extremely happy with the quality of the work and the professionalism of their entire team. The deck that they designed and installed was delivered on time and on budget, and you could tell that the team took pride in their work. We love the way the deck came out, and we look forward to enjoying it for years to come!

Description of Work
We had a deck designed and installed.

Category decks, deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for this review... You guys are the best!! Stay Safe this winter and see you in the spring for pics!! Jay

5.0

10/20/2020


Marc R.

Jay, the owner, is deeply involved from start to finish and easy to get a hold of. Professional team of craftsmen.

Description of Work
Patio installation. Stairs replacement.

Category patios

Service Provider Response

Hey Mark great getting to know you my friend!! Enjoy your new Trex Steps and Cambridge Patio!! Jay

5.0

10/06/2020


Wayne E.

So happy we took Jay’s advise with replacing the entire deck which was approximately 30 years old. While demo found 3 supporting posts rotted at the ground. Another registered Trex installer told us we could reface the deck, it would be fine! Thankfully we went with L.I. Decking!! Jay and his team were respectful, punctual and the clean up was on point. Didn’t even know work was in our yard except for seeing our beautiful new deck. Thanks again Jay!!!

Description of Work
Replacement of old wood deck.

Category decks, deck cleaning, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] sometimes its harder to convince people because it costs more to build but when I hear reviews like yours I know we are doing the right thing for our customers. Enjoy, Jay

5.0

09/29/2020


christina E.

Everything went smooth. All the workers were efficient and courteous. They respected my property and did a magnificent job!! They truly take pride in their work Pictures attached is the stairway before and after

Description of Work
Replace deck from wood to trex

Category awnings, decks, deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

Hey [Member Name Removed] thanks for posting this review and the images!! I love how the colors turned out. Enjoy Jay

5.0

09/10/2020


Grace G.

Long Island Decking did a fabulous job on our brand new Trex deck. Jay was fantastic to work with from day 1. His professionalism and ease to get in touch with about any question we had made the entire process a pleasure. His manager, Jose and his crew were terrific. All the men were courteous, hard workers that did an incredible job and they were all very respectful of our property. My husband & I would joke about the frame of the deck being strong enough to land a helicopter on!! If you want a professional job then Long Island Decking is the company for you. We love our new deck. Thank you Jay

Description of Work
A new deck

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Hey [Member Name Removed], All the staff here at Long Island Decking truly appreciates your review! We work really hard for them and it is nice to know that hard work is paying off. Enjoy the new Trex Deck!! Jay

    Other local Pros in your area

    High level masonry

    All phases of masonry, pavers, concrete, brick, block, stone work and veneer, anything masonry. Thirty years plus of experience. No job to small or to big. Fourth generation master mason, owner and operator. We take pride in what we do and provide exceptional quality.  

    Milestone Restoration & Roofing Inc

    A BBB ACCREDITED COMPANY Milestone Restoration Inc specializes in Masonry Restoration, Brick Pointing, Brick Restoration, Cement stucco ,Flat Roofing Installations & Repair, Slate Roofing Repairs, and work related to Hanging Scaffolding and Pipe Scaffolding Services. With good reputation and over 30 years combined experience, we know how to give homes and businesses that "like-new" appearance while ensuring your Safety. Our basic categories include: brick tuck pointing, brick siding, scaffolding work , natural slate roofs,and flat roofs (our specialty). We don't use sub contractors because we like to monitor and complete all projects ourselves. DCA License #1405707 Exp. 02/28/2023 2014 Angie's List Super Service Award Winner - 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 2018 and 2019  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Allied Chimney

    Family owned and operated for over 23 years! Providing unparalleled customer service and quality workmanship for over in the New York Metro area, Long Island and Connecticut. Call us today for an immediate response!  

    Offers by Allied Chimney	 on Angi
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Check, Visa, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    DECKING, PATIO PAVERS, OUTDOOR KITCHENS, LIGHTING, FENCING, LANDSCAPING, OUTDOOR FURNITURE, FIREPITS, AWNINGS, PERGOLAS

    Services Not Offered

    .

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about LONG ISLAND DECKING

    How is LONG ISLAND DECKING overall rated?

    LONG ISLAND DECKING is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are LONG ISLAND DECKING open?

    LONG ISLAND DECKING is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does LONG ISLAND DECKING provide

    LONG ISLAND DECKING accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Check, Visa, Discover

    Does LONG ISLAND DECKING offer free estimates?

    Yes, LONG ISLAND DECKING offers free project estimates.

    Does LONG ISLAND DECKING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, LONG ISLAND DECKING offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does LONG ISLAND DECKING offer a senior discount?

    No, LONG ISLAND DECKING does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by LONG ISLAND DECKING?

    Yes, LONG ISLAND DECKING offers warranties.

    What services does LONG ISLAND DECKING offer?

    LONG ISLAND DECKING offers the following services: DECKING, PATIO PAVERS, OUTDOOR KITCHENS, LIGHTING, FENCING, LANDSCAPING, OUTDOOR FURNITURE, FIREPITS, AWNINGS, PERGOLAS

    Are there any services LONG ISLAND DECKING does not offer?

    .