Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Capital Region Masonry

Founded 2007 • With Angi since June 2012

5.0

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1 Wood St

Albany, NY 12203

Description

Capital Region Masonry has the skills and equipment need to beautify your home. Since 2007 we have been severing the Albany and surrounding areas with quality work. We have always taken great pride in providing our customers with the best services and pricing in the industry. No matter how large or

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/16/2020


Erik P.

Mario was quick to contact me after I requested the quote. He was prompt for both the appraisal and the work. Mario did a beautiful job replacing the cracked and sunken concrete/flagstone landing below our front steps and left the job spotless when he left.

Description of Work
Exterior concrete/flagstone landing replaced

Category masonry, chimney caps

5.0

06/25/2020


Thomas U.

Mario did a fantastic job. We had another contractor on site replacing kitchen floor. He was equally impressed with the work done. The flooring contractor has already referred Capital Region Masonry to his clients The job started off as a repair but as the damage to the front step unfolded, Mario explained to us what the correct and better approach should be. He explained everything in detail without being condescending. He was very respectful of our property. He left the job site clean each day and was very pleasant to have around when he was here.

Description of Work
Repair/ rebuild brick front entrance steps

Category masonry

5.0

08/31/2019


Leslie S.

Mario was punctual, but had dates mixed up for estimate. Didn't really matter. I thought we would schedule the work for a few weeks from now, but he called to ask if he could get it done before the weekend. Agreed, he showed up on time and did a careful and utterly satisfactory job. His price fit my budget and he was professional. Interesting conversationalist.

Description of Work
Clean and reset pavers, cold patch asphalt to level edge with driveway.

Category masonry

5.0

07/12/2019


Anthony G.

They did an excellent job. They were big jobs and they could not have done it any better. Their price was fair and upfront and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They did three masonry jobs involving rebuilding a chimney, replacing a sidewalk and reinforced a deteriorating garage wall.

Category masonry

1.0

04/12/2019


Lisa C.

I spoke with Mario and after a few minutes of discussion and confusion (on his part) he requested that I sketch him what I wanted. Well, what I wanted was a rectangular monument sign -- but I sketched it anyway -- to scale and e-mailed it to him. He called back to tell me that I needed to provide the information regarding the foundation depth and information. I told him that in my 30+ years of construction, I have NEVER heard of a customer being asked to provide this information to the mason unless it was an engineered project. I will be looking for a quote elsewhere. If his work is anything like his level of knowledge or customer service -- buyer beware!!

Description of Work
Commercial Monument Sign with foundation

Category masonry

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed] Sorry i couldn t give u a price for your project. Probably i did not understand exactly what u looking to do ,at this point i am try to believe u need someone to DESIGN your sign/monument /head stone (that s how u describe it to me ) .I really don t understand why u got mad on me when i ask additional question regarding your project, but u offer me very little details about your project , yes i got confuse about what u actually want to do . The sketched u send me was minimal, but a good starting point .When i call u back for some additional questions and your answer was :" i do construction for 30+years and i can do it myself and u are the first person who ask if i have a sketch or a drawing for the project " ...... Anyway if u have other contractors who already did work for u, maybe they will know what u looking to do .I newer did any work for you so yes i do need to ask additional question to be able to give u the proper estimate .For someone who do construction for 30+ years u should know that is a big diference betwin a sign ,a business sign , a monument and a head stone I hope u will find someone who can understand better that me
5.0

06/10/2018


Heather T.

Mario was very responsive and called back right away and was able to come the next week and do the project. Our concrete steps and pad needed to be resurfaced and the masonry on the foundation needed to be redone. He did this spread out over about 3 days due the weather. I will hire him again for any other masonry jobs we have.

Description of Work
Resurfacing concrete steps and face of foundation on house

Category masonry

5.0

08/24/2017


Chris D.

I did not go with them. They guy ended up showing me what to do and I did it. I really liked the guy. He said that he was so booked up so he would be unable to help me. He said I could absolutely do what I needed done by myself. I liked how honest he was. After looking at the other reviews that he had, everyone is pleased with his work.

Description of Work
They gave me an estimate to repair and replace some front steps.

Category masonry

5.0

08/02/2017


Frank L.

We contacted Capital Region Masonry and Mario quickly arrived to assess the work needed to repair the brick sides and stone steps on my front entrance. The work was completed in a day at the price quoted. I would certainly recommend Capital Region for masonry repair.

Description of Work
Repair of brick and stone steps into the home.

Category masonry

5.0

07/14/2017


Keith L.

Mario was great to work with. He arrived when he said he would and continued on the job when weather allowed. The final product looks great and is a huge improvement. We would recommend working with Mario to others.

Description of Work
Our patio and pool surround concrete was chipping badly and needed to be resurfaced.

Category pavers, gravel

5.0

05/12/2017


Maria L.

I contacted Capital Region Masonry with a small job and was pleasantly surprised to get a call back. The estimate was very reasonable and the work professionally done. I would definitely recommend this company.

Description of Work
Outside stair railing was very loose and needed to be taken out and re-cemented.

Category masonry

5.0

05/11/2017


margaret R.

Mario did a great job installing a new front walk for our house. He was extremely punctual, thorough and professional. His price was fair, communication was excellent and the job was completed in the time he estimated. I would recommend and hire again without reservation.

Description of Work
Installation of a new front sidewalk (concrete).

Category masonry

5.0

04/17/2017


Deborah M.

Mario is a very hard worker, and is knowledgeable about his craft. Discusses options with the homeowner prior to starting the job. He was on time each day. He looks for a way to do the job efficiently, and keep costs down.

Description of Work
foundation masonry

Category masonry

5.0

04/05/2017


Amanda R.

After getting estimates from many other masons who tried to tell us that our foundation needed MUCH more expensive repairs, Mario was a breath of fresh air. He helped us fix the issue in the most economical way, without compromising the structural integrity of out house. Mario was fairly priced, reliable, and very honest. The quality of his work was excellent, and the repairs are still looking great now, over six months later. I would not hesitate to hire Mario again!

Description of Work
Mario repaired some cracks in our cinderblock foundation.

Category masonry

5.0

11/14/2016


Robert W.

Mario did a first-rate job. He is a skilled mason, hard to find these days. We will be calling on his services in the spring for major chimney repair. He is a true professional, and I strongly recommend him to other patrons.

Description of Work
Mario repaired our front brick steps and concrete porch floor.

Category masonry

5.0

09/23/2016


Doug D.

This is not the first time that we have used Capital Region Masonry. We had used them a few years ago to fix the bricks on the foundation of our house. I must say that both times he was punctual. The quality of work is excellent. And he is more than fair on price. There were several times where he could easily have talked me into spending more money but instead explained that certain things either did not need to be done, or I could do them myself for a fraction of the price. He was very easy to work with. And I would certainly use him again in the future if the need arises.

Description of Work
He resurfaced our front steps which had been crumbling and falling apart for some time. He also filled several sections in our garage where the cinder blocks had completely eroded.

Category masonry

5.0

09/02/2016


David N.

it went well. he was on time and performed the work quickly and efficiently.lbany

Description of Work
repair parapet wall

Category masonry

5.0

08/30/2016


Anthony G.

Very well. Mario and his staff were on time every day. The work was thorough and professional. He explained all the details in understandable terms and carried them out exactly. He took special care with details such as the curve of the sidewalk and the color of the bricks for the chimney - all at no extra cost. Also, at no extra cost, he trimmed a tree to get access to the chimney. Later an aborist stated that he ad done a very neat job on the tree as well - again, all at no extra cost. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Overhaul chimney Install new sidewalk to house entrance

Category masonry

5.0

08/28/2016


Dawn R.

Great. Mario was very responsive and knowledgeable. He told me about different options and left it to me to choose. I will definitely work with him again.

Description of Work
Replace mortar between foundation blocks. Sealing openings to basement.

Category masonry

5.0

08/28/2016


Dawn R.

Great! Mario came by and took a look at the foundation and discussed options with me before starting work. He also let me know what the cost would be for materials. He planned on completing the job within 1 day. Due to heavy rain he had to split the job into 2 days and he let me know that. Even though I'm certain that the work took longer than what I paid for in the Angie's List Special and what we originally planned for, Mario refused to charge me more. I am more than pleased with the quality of Mario's work, as well as his integrity. I will definitely use his services again and highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Replacing missing mortar between blocks in foundation. Also, filling spots where cement has eroded from foundation blocks.

Category masonry

5.0

08/23/2016


Shannon M.

Mario came out the same day I called to provide an estimate. After meeting him I didn't call for any other estimates as I liked how honest he was. He let me know that the brick work on my house that I was concerned about was cosmetic only and only needed to be repaired if I was concerned about the appearance, since this in the back of house I wasn't concerned and would rather save that money. He also let me know what to use on it myself to protect the brick from any further damage. The day of the work on my chimney he came on time and repaired the bricks that needed work and it looks great. Highly recommend as it can be hard to find an honest contractor sometimes! Will definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Brick/mortar repair on chimney

Category masonry

5.0

05/22/2016


Judy G.

I had him give me an estimate for the job and he delivered a great finished job for the agreed upon price and began the job on an agreed upon date. The jobs took a few days to complete allowing for the multiple steps involved for each job. Great care was taken in the workmanship. Many people today do not appreciate the value of good tradesmen. They can cost more than some fly by night workmen, but the results and quality are worth it to me. This company fits this description to a tee.

Description of Work
Replaced the front sidewalk, repaired the brick and concrete front steps, repaired the concrete garage wall.

Category masonry

5.0

04/15/2016


Todd G.

Mario was very professional and helpful during the proposal process -- even giving advice for how to ensure we would get quality work from others, if we didn't choose him. In the end, his price and professionalism won him the work and we couldn't be happier. He showed up on time (twice - we forgot to turn on the electric for him the first trip!) and performed beautiful repair work on our 150 year old brick townhouse facade. We will certainly turn to him for any future masonry needs.

Description of Work
Tuckpointing and repair on brick townhouse facade

Category masonry

5.0

05/27/2015


Helen A.

Mario was prompt and very professional . The finished stucco work was attractive and a great improvement over what was there before. He was amiable and easy to talk to about the job. He wasn't pushy and didn't try to oversell the repair work. The finished product greatly enhances the house appearance.i don't know if he's the cheapest alternative but his work is worth the cost

Description of Work
Foundation repair and refinishing

Category masonry, stucco

5.0

05/21/2015


Nick F.

The job went very smooth and was well done. Easy communication and prompt service. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Resurfaced two old exterior pre-cast steps. Repaired area of garage, which was detriorating.

Category masonry

5.0

07/31/2014


Jeremy E.

This guy is extremely polite and professional. Spent over 20 minutes going over the details that the work would require. Was very knowledgeable and provided several solutions for our problems. He also spent a good deal of time explaining in great detail how to do some of the work ourselves. Bottom line is this guy drove 45 minutes to get to our location, then spent over 20 providing us with a ton of information. In this day and age, time for these people cost money and he did this all for free which I think says a lot for his character. When the time comes for this project he is a good candidate in my eyes.

Description of Work
Provided a free estimate on building a foundation for a free floating porch addition as well as dry walling a ceiling of a mid size bedroom. Will require digging out under porch to lay foundation.

Category drywall, masonry, remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Saul's Paving

    The Fifth Generation Of Quality Paving At Reasonable Rates Driveways & Parking Lots, Paving Repairs & Patching Tar & Stone Driveways Paving Bricks & Excavating Fully Insured, Free Estimates, Member of BBB One Call Does It All... SAUL'S PAVING Paving Your Road To Success!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Copper Club Construction LLC

    Specializing in Plumbing, Electrical and General Contracting. From finishing touches to complete customization of your renovation, our focus on the details – communication, teamwork, skill, and ability – make us the perfect partner for your project. We are efficient, resourceful, and thorough. And we will be here for you whenever, however, and wherever you need us. All full renovations come with professional photography free of charge!  

    Angi Certified

    Twin Brushes Painting Services Inc

    My company's name is Twin Brushes Painting Services Inc out of Troy NY. I have over 10 years of experience, I do interior and exterior painting, and I mainly focus on residential but I have experience in commercial work.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Brick. Stone. Pavers ,Stucco. Vinyl. Siding repairs & install. Power washing. Painting. Drywall. Wallpaper. Graffiti removal.Snow Plowing

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Capital Region Masonry

    How is Capital Region Masonry overall rated?

    Capital Region Masonry is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Capital Region Masonry open?

    Capital Region Masonry is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Capital Region Masonry provide

    Capital Region Masonry accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Capital Region Masonry offer free estimates?

    Yes, Capital Region Masonry offers free project estimates.

    Does Capital Region Masonry offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Capital Region Masonry does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Capital Region Masonry offer a senior discount?

    No, Capital Region Masonry does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Capital Region Masonry offer emergency services?

    Yes, Capital Region Masonry offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Capital Region Masonry?

    Yes, Capital Region Masonry offers warranties.

    What services does Capital Region Masonry offer?

    Capital Region Masonry offers the following services: Brick. Stone. Pavers ,Stucco. Vinyl. Siding repairs & install. Power washing. Painting. Drywall. Wallpaper. Graffiti removal.Snow Plowing