Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

YACK CONSTRUCTION INC

Founded 1972 • With Angi since September 2006

3.5

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3246 COLEMAN ST

North Las Vegas, NV 89032

Description

NV CONTRACTOR LICENSE #0028092, UT GENERAL CONTRACTOR LICENSE #92-252555-5501. ADDITIONAL CONTACT: KEVIN GENTRY....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/12/2019


Matthew L.

If I could update this review for 0 Stars, I would gladly do so. Here is the timeline which should be all you need to know to NEVER sign a contract with Yack Construction: 8/1/2019: We write $1,000 check to Yack to cover the deductible that was left out by our insurance company for Yack's bill. 8/14/2019: I leave a glowing review for Yack on Yelp 8/29/2019: I have 2 inches of water in my kitchen due to poor tile work in our recently paid for, $23K bathroom upstairs 11/10/2019: my home remains half gutted in both the kitchen and the upstairs master bathroom with ABSOLUTELY ZERO work having been done to fix either area of my home. Yack will tell you when they pitch you to sign their contract that there is a Warranty that comes with their work. And you will even get a signed Warranty print out when you have paid in full, but DO NOT EXPECT THEM TO HONOR THEIR WARRANTY WHEN THEIR WORKMANSHIP FAILS. Their Warranty States: "Yack Construction, Inc. expressly warrants for a period of 5 YEARS from the COMPLETION of work that the workmanship and manner of construction provided by Yack Construction, Inc. and shall be performed in a good, workmanlike manner, in accordance with industry trade standards, and in compliance with all applicable local, state and federal statutes, codes, ordinances and regulations. Additionally, Yack Construction, Inc. expressly warrants for a period of one year from the completion of work that all materials, equipment, or other building components FURNISHED by Yack Construction, Inc. will be new, of good quality, and FREE OF DEFECT." That said, and they have refused to lift a finger to repair my home after their garbage subcontractor (Flooring America) failed to install the plastic membrane in our shower prior to tiling it up. Water began leaking from the grout and eventually the grout gave way and now our brand new bathroom is completely gutted again. To make matters worse, the water leaked into our kitchen, ruining a 10x8 foot area of laminate that will require our entire first floor of laminate to be replaced (900 sq/ft). Instead of honoring their warranty, they opted to lay all blame on THEIR subcontractor, and then their subcontractor (Flooring America) decided they would not honor their warranty either and simply pushed it off to their insurance company as a liability claim. If you think a liability claim is fun, you are wrong. It has been over a month of being nickle and dimed in their settlement offers, the first of which was only $10K would not have even covered replacing our floors on the first level. So I have had to fight tooth and nail with them demanding concessions from their part until FINALLY we are offered what should be enough to perform all repairs. I say, SHOULD BE enough because I have been fighting for additional settlement money for the past 2 months based on Yack's estimate for all repairs. Unfortunately, now that the settlement has been agreed upon, Yack and Flooring America have decided to revise their estimate on the upstairs bathroom tile work to take up the ENTIRE settlement so that I don't even have enough money left over to replace the flooring downstairs much less even paint a wall when it is all done. So now I will be having to subcontract out all repairs myself, and have submitted a formal complaint to the Board of Contractors on Yack Construction for their refusal to honor their 5/1 Warranty for their work and the work they furnished via their subcontractors. We will look to sue as well. Do not trust this company, they are of the lowest rung of construction companies, refusing to honor the very warranty that THEY PROVIDED. And when you as the homeowner are down and out, left having to fight with some insurance company all by yourself, you will then have to deal with collusion and extortion from them and their subcontractors as they scandalously inflate their costs so they may profit off of your misery and their very own poor workmanship. You've been warned. Don't do it.

Description of Work
Warranty Work

Category remodeling

1.0

10/04/2017


Kelsey W.

My water damage occurred on 4 July 2017, work was finished on Sept 28th. Yack is done with the work. I am an active duty service member that was very unhappy with the customer service that Yack Construction provided. -the time spent on the project -the rude workers -building a cabinet with my cat trapped behind it (I was blamed for this and I will chalk it up as my mistake) -left three weeks worth of trash and materials along the side of my house, I had to take it out on trash day when it started attracting bugs. -poorly placed baseboards and chips left in my walls that were not repainted. -they chipped my tv -cabinet colors do not match They did a botch job of reflooring my stairs and caused more damage. I voiced my concern to my insurance company and Effron the supervisor many times. Nothing was fixed. He then came by the house to ask for the final payment. I refused because I was not happy with the service. However, two days later the owner of Yack Construction, Mr Rodney Yack says "Business is Business, how would you like to pay us". Thank you Yack for your awful customer service and support to the military community!

Description of Work
Sewer back up. Flooded the first floor. Needed new cabinets and flooring.

Category remodeling

1.0

08/28/2017


Stephen Y.

I wish there was a way to give this company negative stars. One of the worst experiences ever. After a break in, my insurance company sent this joke of a company to my house. They did the emergency repair of the front door and then took weeks to get a new door to replace the damaged one. No communication in between. As they are repairing the door, they pull out the frame, but don't replace the 1x4s to secure the screws in to. I mention this to the guys and they said that's how it is, the screws just float there. I told them that this was unacceptable and they finished up and said they would return tomorrow. I sent photos of the "repair to my insurance, and we both agreed that the front entrance was less secure then before the break in. Yack did not return the next day and it took over a month before they did. So while waiting for them, I'm getting letters from my HOA to paint my door, which should have been done by them. My insurance company finally is able to get them back and someone who said he was important said, this wasn't done correctly and they would do it right. Two days later, they job is completed. They were real fast to hit me with my deductible payment. I explained to the man, that due to them taking so long to do their job correctly and the fact that I have three children living at home who are already nervous because of the incident; I had to add additional security measures to my house to make them comfortable. I explained that I would have my check by the end of the month and I would pay them then, he said it was fine. He then proceeds to send me a notification of intent to lien on my house for it before the end of a month. So they think it's alright to do below par work, take months to complete a one day job and then have the nerve to demand payment after stating you understood the end of the month. Avoid at all cost!!

Description of Work
Emergency repair and new front door after a break in.

Category remodeling

5.0

12/25/2015


David Z.

Description of Work
Replacement of kitchen cabinets from water damage. Very good customer service always polite, on time and job was completed in like new condition. This is my second experience with Yack Construction and I would not hesitate to use them again if the need arises.

Category remodeling

3.0

03/05/2015


David A.

Last summer, we had a validation done like a year and a half ago. It was an insurance claim so our insurance company sort of paid for everything. We used the only one we had Yack Construction. They are decent at regular stuff and not good as specialists.

Description of Work
The last time we used their services was about this time last year. They did the general contracting work, anything from drywall to flooring to pluming.

Category remodeling

5.0

08/05/2013


michelle H.

nnIt went very well. He worked until 9 pm that night so that my floor installers could come back the next morning and finish the job.

Description of Work
I was having new flooring put down and found a very uneven floor. I called around 20-25 construction companies and handymen looking for someone to remove my sub floor and plane down a truss that the builder completely screwed up. Yack Construction took my call and promised a call back with in the hour. Jorge called and said he would be there the same day by 4:00 pm. My job was too small for this construction company, but they referred me to a licensed handy man that could do the job.

Category remodeling

5.0

09/27/2012


Victor D.

As a result of required electrical work to our Air Conditioner Compressor we ended up with a foot square in the side of our house. on 6 September I contacted Jorge Abrego, Project Manger, who provided me a estimate for the repair work. We greed on a date for the work to be done. On 12 September, Jose, Technician, came out as scheduled and repaired the hole. On 13 September, Jose stuccoed the wall and finished by painting it. The pain matched the rest of the house perfectly.

Description of Work
Repaired and stuccoed hole in outside side of house.

Category stucco

5.0

09/09/2012


Victor D.

1. On 22 August after being notified by my insurance company, USAA, Yack Construction called and told us they would be there the next day, 23 August, to look at the damage and give an estimate. 2. As scheduled on the 23rd, Kevin Gentry, Estimator, from Yack Construction came out and climbed on the roof and indicated what work needed to be done. 3..The next day, 24 August, he provided USAA an estimate. After receiving the estimate via e-mail from USAA, I agreed to the contract. 4. On 28 August, Jorge Abrego, Project Manager, from Yack Construction called and we agreed to have the work done on 4 September. 5. On 4 September the workers from YACK Construction came as scheduled and completed the work on the roof. We then scheduled a follow visit to paint the ceiling for Thursday. 6 September. 6. On 6 September, the workers returned and completed the work by painting of the ceiling.

Description of Work
Repaired roof leak and painted ceiling.

Category roofing

5.0

08/24/2012


Megan A.

They still have a few finishing touches, but I have never seen construction workers do such speedy and thorough work. We will definitely be calling them for any future projects.

Description of Work
They removed faulty solar panels, repaired roof, pressure washed, and installed pigeon preventing spiky things.

Category remodeling, roofing

5.0

09/10/2006


JUDY D.

Rodney is really a great guy with a really laid back and honest demeanor, he really went above and beyond what we expected for our backyard, he understood what we wanted to spend on the Awning and concrete, and he kept it real for us, I would use him for any project we will need, really a good guy that cares.

Description of Work
6'ft Pagoda Awning with Concrete Decking, Window Awning.

Category awnings, decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    FH&R services LLC

    We perform a range of maintenance duties for homeowners our duties are *Painting *Drywall *Stucco Repairs *Power washing *Cleaning *Junk Removal *Flooring *Epoxy *Interior demo  

    Sharpline Painting

    Professional exterior and interior painting commercial and residential house painting. faux finishing, door painting, drywall repair and installations, fence and gate painting, stucco repair. furniture restoration and painting. Sharpline has become known for the clean detail finish of all our projects. 15 yrs. experience...  

    Borjas Handyman

    With 20 years of experience in home improvement, we specialize in interior and exterior painting and drywall repair. FREE estimates!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    General Remodeling
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    NEW CONSTRUCTION, DESIGN BUILD, REMODELS, RESTORATION, TENANT IMPROVEMENTS, ADDITIONS, RESIDENTIAL, INDUSTRIAL, VALUE ENGINEERING, STEELBUILDING.

    Services Not Offered

    N/A

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about YACK CONSTRUCTION INC

    How is YACK CONSTRUCTION INC overall rated?

    YACK CONSTRUCTION INC is currently rated 3.5 overall out of 5.

    Does YACK CONSTRUCTION INC offer free estimates?

    No, YACK CONSTRUCTION INC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does YACK CONSTRUCTION INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, YACK CONSTRUCTION INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by YACK CONSTRUCTION INC?

    No, YACK CONSTRUCTION INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does YACK CONSTRUCTION INC offer?

    YACK CONSTRUCTION INC offers the following services: NEW CONSTRUCTION, DESIGN BUILD, REMODELS, RESTORATION, TENANT IMPROVEMENTS, ADDITIONS, RESIDENTIAL, INDUSTRIAL, VALUE ENGINEERING, STEELBUILDING.

    Are there any services YACK CONSTRUCTION INC does not offer?

    N/A