Kemet Electric LLC

About

Founded 1997 • With Angi since June 2006

Kemet Electric is an owner operated company. I Kamau Bakari will personally be on each job at your service. You will have 30 years of my electric expertise and 17 years of owning and operating Kemet Electric. I have extensive experience of working closely with interior designers/decorators. For example centering chandeliers over tables, installing new sconces, also centering vanity lights over sinks. With my stock of large ladders I can install on 20 foot ceilings. I also provide free estimates and am a native of Las Vegas. . Additional email - kbakari@cox.net....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.9

(268) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

245

4

8

3

6

2

2

1

7

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

electrician (253)ceiling fan installation (67)lighting (65)home security systems (3)window treatment (2)HVAC Companies (2)
Showing 1-25 of 268 reviews
5.0

03/14/2021


Richard S.

Very good. Did what I needed and when it worked for me.

Description of Work
Ran 240v circuit

Category electrician

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2021

1.0

03/08/2021


Gary G.

I called to make an appointment for someone to come out, look at my situation and give me an estimate on some outdoor lighting. The guy on the phone, whose name I cannot pronounce, started questioning me. "Are the lights outside?" "Did you replace the bulbs?" "That's usually the problem." He wanted to troubleshoot the problem on the phone instead of coming out to actually look at my lights and see what I needed. It's no wonder they offer free estimates, they won't even look at the job and give you an estimate!

Description of Work
Repair or replace outdoor lighting

Category lighting

Work Completed On 03/08/2021

5.0

02/24/2021


George C.

After requesting quotes from Angie's List, Mr. Bakari showed up the same day. He explained what the job entailed and gave the most reasonable quote compared to other Angie's List electricians. As soon as we received the pendants, we called him, and he was able to squeeze us in the same day! (he sensed our excitement in having the pendants installed). Like a true professional, he installed our pendants. He did not charge us extra even after we slightly changed the pendant locations causing him more work. He will be our electrician for life! I highly recommend him. We are now thinking of having him install pendants over the kitchen island.

Description of Work
Installation of 3 pendant lights on 20 ft ceiling at foyer

Category electrician, lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2021

5.0

01/28/2021


Nell M.

Ok..repaired fixture that was not working. Put In longer lasting tubes.

Description of Work
Kitchen lighting

Category electrician

Cost $155

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

08/04/2020


Suzy C.

All was exceptional PS I put the crystals on the fan after Kamau finished installing the fan.

Description of Work
Kamau did an excellent job taking down the existing ceiling fan in our master bedroom & installing them new fan. He can prepared with his tools , a drop cloth, booties to cover his shoes & wore a mask as required by the state. I plan on hiring Kamau for other jobs in the near future. His is now my electrician for as long as I live in Vegas! He is a great conversationalist & very knowledgeable about history, one of his passions.

Category electrician, ceiling fans

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2020

Images

Review for Kemet Electric LLC - 556 N Eastern, Las Vegas, NV - 38771861
5.0

07/07/2020


James M.

I needed 2 track lights installed in the kitchen.

Description of Work
The men did excellent work and were very professional. They gave us suggestions in the future to use recessed lighting instead. At my request, he even screwed in the bracket for the ceiling fan that I was having trouble with. His price quotes were very reasonable, I would hire him back in a heartbeat

Category electrician

Cost $125

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/1970

5.0

06/24/2020


Ted W.

Impressed. Usually I have to clean up and patch or touch up areas. Kamau did an excellent job and I didn’t have any touch up to do

Description of Work
Hard wire 3 rooms for ceiling fans

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

Cost $675

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2020

5.0

06/04/2020


George M.

Very efficient, was able to to move from task to task quickly and was very friendly too.

Description of Work
Installation of ceiling fan, installation of 3 pendant lamps, repair of existing ceiling fan

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2020

5.0

03/16/2020


Margot B.

I have used this company to do electrical work for my house for several years. I have a very high atrium, so I call him whenever I need something done which is high up, and for other projects as well. Previously, this included installing a new fire alarm unit, and a chandelier. On his last visit, I had him install a new wall outlet. On that same visit, I was considering moving a wall-switch. However, he gave me some good advice on what I might do about the issue instead. He was totally willing to do the work, however, I appreciated that he would offer the alternative not involving his company. Kamau, the owner, is also quite personable, and I always look forward to interacting with him. I recommend his company highly.

Description of Work
Addition of a wall outlet.

Category electrician, lighting, home security systems

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2020

5.0

10/19/2019


Michelle R.

I needed 3 ceiling fans installed. My bedrooms didn't have light fixtures installed in the ceilings, so I knew this meant having someone go into the attic and run electrical wire. I received quotes from at least 4 different electricians. Kemet Electric was the one I chose, as he was the most down to earth and had a great price. Kamau, the owner, got everything done in a single day. Some of the fans gave him a hard time, and one of the remote controls didn't work. He came back as soon as I had a replacement and installed it for me at no extra charge. He did great work, didn't leave a mess, and is a great person. Thanks, Kemet/Kamau!

Description of Work
Install 3 Ceiling Fans

Category electrician, ceiling fans

Cost $750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2019

5.0

10/03/2019


hitoshi H.

SUPER FIRST SERVICE, COMPLETE DONE, ON TIME WORKING RECOMMEND FOR EVERYBODY , VERY HONEST GUY AAAAA +++++

Description of Work
CHANGE DRYER OUTLET LAUNDRY ROOM

Category electrician

Cost $110

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2019

5.0

09/20/2019


David B.

Went excellent! Not a complex operation. The gentleman showed up, I showed him the location of the sub-panel, he grabbed a breaker off of his truck in the panel, pull the doubled wire, relanded it on the new breaker on he was off.

Description of Work
Installation of a new breaker to properly land a wire that was doubled on another breaker.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2019

5.0

02/13/2019


Rose B.

Mr. Bakari was prompt, professional, neat and very efficient. He completed rewired the existing light fixtures and installed the LED bulbs he provided faster than I could clean the light covers. He built and installed the fan that included a light kit on the patio in record time despite having to make alterations to the stucco ceiling. His prices are very competitive and his work is outstanding. While here, he looked at the current lighting in my kitchen (inefficient can lights) and noted that the down rod on the very large/very heavy ceiling fan in the great room was too long for safety. He suggested alternatives & provided a cost estimate. He will be returning to install recessed lighting in my kitchen and to install a down rod the correct length. When you call Kemet Electric, you get Mr. Bakari, who gets back to you timely. If you have to wait for an appointment, keep in mind that he is well worth the wait for a job priced right and well done.

Description of Work
I have 3 fluorescent lights in laundry room and closet; wanted to have them update to LED and have a recently purchased patio ceiling fan installed.

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2019

5.0

12/08/2018


debra B.

Excellent He was amazing He was my on time professional and the price was right, He will always be the company I call for electrical work,,

Description of Work
I needed my chandelier rehung

Category electrician, lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/08/2018

5.0

10/08/2018


Mark G.

This issue took place over two visits. This first visit verified that the outlet was actually ok, so I paid their minimum of $75 for the service. When they left, the circuit failed so they came out again and discovered their were loose and poor connections throughout the line. Our technician went through the line and re-worked all the connections. This took two hours and they were kind enough to apply the original $75 toward the 2hrs this required to repair. I monitored the work and it was excellent, professionally done and the line and outlet have worked perfectly ever since the work was completed. I will use them again for any electrical issues and I recommend this company highly.

Description of Work
We had a bad circuit and AC/breaker outlet.

Category electrician

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/08/2018

5.0

09/21/2018


DAVID B.

He provided excellent service, he was on time and worked cleanly. He gave a fair estimate and kept to his quote.

Description of Work
Replace chandelier 19' ceiling

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2018

5.0

09/04/2018


GLENN V.

The electrician was very professional. He answered my phone call in person, not with voice mail. He was able to come by my home and complete the repair almost immediately. He was skilled, courteous and the price was quite reasonable. I'll call Kemet for the next job.

Description of Work
Replace a circuit breaker

Category electrician

Cost $125

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/17/2020

5.0

09/01/2018


Derrell J.

Great. He got us in right away. Was prompt and called when he was on his way. The work was done quickly. He was very personable, gave good advice as to our system. He is very experienced and is the business owner. will defiantly use his services again.+-

Description of Work
circuit breaker need to be replaced

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2018

5.0

06/28/2018


Andelyn O.

honest, knowledgable and agood price.

Description of Work
2 fans installed

Category ceiling fans

Cost $170

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

06/23/2018


Henry C.

Kamau did an amazing job wiring my older house for new Nest security cameras and a full doorbell installation. He made sure there were no ugly wires hanging around and did a spectacular job. I will definitely go to Kamau for any electrical needs in the future.

Description of Work
Wiring of security cameras and doorbell

Category electrician

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2018

5.0

06/20/2018


Lora C.

Incredibly well!!! My husband tried to assemble a ceiling fan in hopes of then installing it. He only made it through step 1 of assembly. We immediately reached out on Angie's List and Kamau responded to us within 10 minutes. He assembled & installed it the same day within hours of our call for help! He was extremely accommodating and pleasant. I highly recommend Kamau for all your electrical needs. His professionalism & standards are beyond exceptional!!!

Description of Work
Ceiling fan assembly & installation

Category electrician, ceiling fans

Cost $75

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2018

5.0

06/14/2018


Anna P.

Kamau picked the phone right away every time I called. He accommodated me in his schedule , I was removing the gas fire place with electric pilot light, and huge mantel. After the demolition the wires were sticking out which prevented the contractor from putting up the dry wall. Also the electric outlets needed to be moved forward on newly added wooden construction before the dry wall could be added. The electric part of the job had to be done on two separate occasions. Kamau also fixed the switch in the bathroom for the vanity light. He completed the job very swiftly. I wish all the contractors were like that. THANKS KAMAU! I will hire him in the future!

Description of Work
Repositioning of electric outlets, taking out the wire and putting it in a different place.

Category electrician

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/13/2018

5.0

06/08/2018


Brenda B.

I needed to hang my new ceiling fans and the electrical box was not compatible because of the screw spacing. He told me what to do over the phone which saved me a lot of money. He didn't have to do that. Doing business with honest professionals is not always easy to find. When I need electrical work in the future,

Description of Work
I called this guy to get a quote to exchange 2 electrical boxes.

Category electrician