Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Tom Goldston Roofing Inc

Founded 2004 • With Angi since October 2008

4.6

(44) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

P.O. Box 7013

Gardnerville, NV 89460

Description

BBB Accredited Business since 12/14/2005. Tom Goldston Roofing, Inc.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/04/2018


Lori D.

NOB9DY WANTS THE JOB. NOBODY HAS CONTACTED ME.

Description of Work
Need a full roof replacement

Category roofing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

We are not licensed in California!!! You give us an F because it is illegal for us to work in your state?? Look for a roofer that is licensed in your state
4.0

01/19/2018


James P.

Couldn't take original call. Asked that I call back in a week. Second call resulted in a an appointment the next day. Said it would take 5-6 weeks to get scheduled because of workload. Showed up unannounced four weeks later to do work. Work performed was satisfactory. Needed replacement tile, which had to be sourced. Work has been completed and problem appears fixed.

Description of Work
Repair flashing around vent pipe and clean valley.

Category roofing

5.0

04/24/2017


Bruce M.

Workers arrived, did the work in a professionally manner, cleaned up afterwards and left.

Description of Work
Fixed skylight

Category roofing, skylights

5.0

12/13/2016


Penny R.

Excellent. Can't say enough about their professionalism and quality. Developed a small problem 2 1/2 years later and they responded the next day and fixed problem at no charge. I recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Entire roof replaced

Category roofing

1.0

10/06/2016


David W.

Tom was very nice over the phone and we kind of hit-it-off talking about hunting and fishing. However, it seemed to upset him when I requested to use CertainTeed shingles instead of his preferred Pabco shingles. A timely written estimate was given and he came back with a bid of $26,730 - way higher than any of the other 5 bids I received and nearly 2.5x the winning bid of $10,995. After getting this outrageously high bid, I sensed that he was either upset about my request about using CertainTeed shingles or really didn't want the job and bid it high accordingly. If this was truly the case, I would have preferred that he would just have stated so. I would make sure to get other bids if thinking about using this company.

Description of Work
Needed to have a new asphalt roof installed on my 1550 sq ft house and detached 2-car garage along with replacement of the cracked skylight. Complete tear-off/haul away of existing cedar shake roof, new roof installation including new drip edge/ice guard, and clean-up were the parameters of the job . An early summer timing window for job completion was requested as well.

Category roofing, skylights

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed] We apologize for the error. I did back track and we did severely error! It had absolutely nothing to do with your preferred product it was a major error on our part and if it was at all possible to fix we would but since your roof has been completed alls I can do is apologize
5.0

04/23/2015


Heather W.

These guys were awesome! I got 4 estimates from around our area and theirs was the most complete and clear one we received, not to mention a pretty reasonable estimate. We weren't sure if we wanted a metal or composite roof and they gladly gave us estimates for both. We had a major storm and part of my roof had come off in the storm?.once we accepted the proposal and made the down payment one of their guys came to our house the same day and put tarps on our roof to protect from further damage. Whenever I emailed Jeannie I always received a prompt and friendly response. The guys were at my house at 7AM ready to work and were on my roof by 7:15. They removed two layers of old roof and installed a brand new 50 year roof in just 1 ½ days. They cleaned up after themselves and were very friendly and professional. Hopefully I will not need them to come to my house again for a while but I will definitely be recommending them to others in my area.

Description of Work
Work completed: Removed two layers of damaged roofing and installed new 50 year roof.

Category roofing

2.0

03/05/2015


Jennifer H.

I called the end of February and left a message. Two days later I called and their voice mail was full. I understand due to the storms how busy you are but I hope that you at least have put a statement on your voice mail about your situation. I did find another Company and they are well staffed to take care of my roofing needs.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

First I would like to say that I am glad you found a company to help you. I am not quite sure why you felt the necessity to ream us instead of just giving the company that has assisted you a thumbs up. We are still swamped and we have assisted many many people. We did not set up an appointment with you then not show we didn't install a roof for you that turned into a nightmare we are simply swamped. Have a great day
5.0

01/16/2015


Melissa N.

It was Christmas Eve when I discovered water dripping onto the garage floor beneath the furnace flue pipe during a rainstorm. The next business day, I called Tom Goldston Roofing and left a message that I needed a repair. Tom returned my phone call the following day, which was a Saturday. He told me over the phone that a little bit of caulk would likely solve the problem. He said he would probably not be able to get there on Monday, but would be there on Tuesday for sure. As it turned out, snow was predicted for Tuesday. Late Monday afternoon, I received a call from Tom. He said he would be over to take care of the repair. I was very pleased that he came before the snow arrived. He caulked around the pipe and also did a quick inspection to see if anything else on the roof needed to be sealed. He charged me only $20. A real bargain, in my opinion. Great service. Will call him again when I need a repair on the roof.

Description of Work
Caulked furnace flue pipe.

Category roofing

5.0

12/04/2014


Dana P.

He showed up same day, at the stated time and was able to find the source of the leak in my roof and repaired it on the spot. He also took pictures of the roof and showed me some potential problems that I needed to be aware of. He will provide an estimate for repairing problem places he found.

Description of Work
He provided same day emergency roof repair and diagnosis for a leaky roof.

Category roofing

4.0

11/11/2014


Jane J.

The price was quite reasonable. He came promptly, made an estimate and had the work done promptly and correctly. The quality was acceptable.

Description of Work
I used Tom Goldston Roofing.

Category roofing

5.0

10/27/2014


Richard W.

Everything went very smoothly. It was completed in one day. The workers were very courteous and conscientious.

Description of Work
The old shingles were removed, roof was assessed and new composite shingles were installed.

Category roofing

5.0

06/30/2014


James F.

everything went well.

Description of Work
Put a new roof on house.

Category roofing

2.0

06/27/2014


julie T.

Nice and friendly guy, but did not show up to do repairs after we schedule it.

Description of Work
Did not show up

Category roofing

5.0

11/28/2013


Robert R.

They operated a crew of 3 for 4 days to complete the job. It was extremely labor intensive, but their work was impeccable. The color of the cement matched existing tile perfectly. They were a hard working crew who were as nice and considerate as they could be. In addition to everything else, they cleaned the roof and the surrounding walkways, patio and driveways leaving the site cleaner and better than it had been when they arrived. Every night they secured the area. I spoke to a number of people in the business, and I found several qualified firms. No one that I trusted expressed a negative word about Tom Goldston Roofing and some, who declined doing the job, recommended selecting him to do the work if it was their roof being repaired. Others offered alternative means of sealing the ridges and ridge caps, but Tom offered the most effective and estetically pleasing proposal. It looks terrific and I could not be happier with the job they performed. They were very particular in their workmanship and it shows. Other firms offered alternatives that were less expensive, but they would not be as effective as the method developed by Tom.

Description of Work
I have 10 yr. old house with large barrel type cement tile roof. Ridge caps were open for bird nesting. Tom Goldston's crew mixed matching cement and sealed up the ridge caps and end pieces. Additionally they extended the metal pans in the valleys to keep water from draining onto the facia boards. They also cleaned the valleys of debris resealed the roof vents and painted the flashings.

Category roofing

5.0

07/31/2013


GLORIA N.

The manner the work was done was very professional. The roofers arrived a little bit before 7:00 A.M. and started working immediately. The first day was removal of the old roof. The crew took care to cover all the shrubs and areas that would be directly in line from falling debris. It was one of our warmest days to be on a roof working, the crew didn't miss a beat they totally had everything ready for a new roof the next day. Day 2 arrival was the same. What impressed me the most was how fast the crew/roofers worked; no fooling around, no loud music. Some conversation but nothing that would draw attention to personal actions. Mr. Goldston was present and working with the crew on the first day. I asked him if he could do something extra that wasn't included in the agreement regarding the roofing, he was very helpful and didn't have a problem with my request. After the roofing was completed each roofer participated in the clean up and each inspected around the house for nails on the ground. They even cleaned our garage of any debris, i.e., loose gravel, nails, etc. The quality of the roofing materials used is excellent and we are very happy with the end product. I would refer Tom Goldston Roofing, Inc. to everyone. Also, the way Tom Goldston treats his roofers and what he provides for them while on the job should also be mentioned. The roofers receive a fair amount of time for their lunch break and are also provided with a and quot;port a pottyand quot; so not to disturb the client or have to leave the job. Most of his employees have been with him for many years. One last thing. When the inspector for the Public Works Dept. stopped by to look at the roofing installation. He said, I had one of the best roofing companies do the work! What a great validation.

Description of Work
Removed the old roof and replaced with a new roof on our house.

Category roofing

5.0

07/15/2013


Ann-Berit M.

It went well. After I called him he came to my home the next day. He gave me an estimate, I accepted it, signed a contract and he did the work and cleaned up after he finished. I am very satisfied with his work.

Description of Work
I had some shingles that were raising up and I didn't know which roofer to call so I joined Angie's List and found Tom. He was local so I called him. He came out personally the next day. He gave me an estimate and sent me a contract.. The work was done promptly. I would call him again if I need any other work done on my roof.

Category roofing

4.0

06/19/2013


Howard R.

Tom was the only roofer to show up when promised to give a bid. His recommendations for repair made sense. His crew was fast and did a great. I would recommend Tom Goldston Roofing

Description of Work
replaced roof

Category roofing

3.0

05/16/2013


sydney H.

I think he fixed my leak but there was no follow up. I would appreciate it as I did call him about getting the dead bird out. No answer nothing. Don't know if I would use him again but he did seem to figure out the problem with the leak.

Description of Work
had a leak in roof. Didn't want to go in attic but looked at my insistence and found a bird's nest. Did not offer to get rid of it. Did the work and put wires around the spot where birds were getting in. But a bird got caught trying to get out. Don't think it got taken care of. I do think the leak stopped but have not repainted the ceiling. Never called me back to confirm. Don't think I was important enough.

Category roofing

5.0

05/09/2013


Wendy B.

Tom was great to work with and we are extremely impressed with he and his company! His proposal/estimate was less than half of the most expensive one we received, and was even less than the Insurance company's estimate, so I feel like we got a very fair price from Tom! He also gave us a discount from a coupon we often see in newspapers and flyers, and that was much appreciated too, especially considering he was very well priced anyway! On the day the repair was made, they came, worked quick and quietly, knowing we have someone that is bedridden in the home. We only knew someone was here, because we heard a couple of noises from above, when they first came. But that was all we heard the entire time, which was a surprise since they were working on the roof! Then, the only reason we knew they'd left, was that we heard their car door shut when they went to leave. Also, when done, they cleaned up everything, including the old tiles that had blown off the roof, and that we had stacked by the house. They were very thorough! It was a wonderful experience and I will definitely call Tom again, if the rest of the roof decides to blow off! One more thing that I appreciated a lot, was that Tom did not try to pressure me to have him do the entire roof, which was extra impressive, especially since another company we had gotten a proposal from tried hard to make it look like we needed to have them do the entire roof! We are very pleased with Tom Goldston Roofing! Thank you so much Tom!

Description of Work
Roofing repair after wind damage. Also sealed around our sky lights.

Category roofing

3.0

04/22/2013


Traci F.

see above I can only hope my experience was an anomaly. I give a c only because he used to be so good but that was before I joined the list.

Description of Work
until last year I always called Goldston for my roofing repairs. I live in a high wind area and he knew how to deal with it . in late 2011 I lost an area on my roof, he came out and repaired it. the difference is that he did not do oversee the repairs himself. about 4 months later the same area came off again. when I called him back he told me he it was not his issue. I argued with him, he sent someone else out again to repair and not it is off again. He sent me a bill for it which I left him a message that I should not have to pay. I never heard from him again. now I need the same area patched again. I'm bummed with the change of attitude. And now I'm looking for someone new.

Category roofing

5.0

11/15/2012


Thomas G.

Excellant service. Here inspected our roof and told us that the roof was in good shape overall, but was ready for some sealing maintenance around the vent pipes with caulking. We have a Mansard roof, and hope to use his services in the spring to replace the worn out wood shingles. He gave us a quote for that project and it was very reasonavble. I would use his service again.

Description of Work
We hired Tom to do caulking of the roof around the vents and pipes.and to seal an open area on the front of our townhouse. He did the job on time and his price is very reasonable. I would definetly use his roofing services again.

Category roofing

5.0

07/09/2012


Heather N.

Tom (the owner) came out to give an estimate the day after I called. With the quote he sent me a copy of his insurance, information on the competitor materials and a list of references. (The other quotes did not provide any of this information). We were very impressed with the quality of the work and how few nails, etc we found on the ground after they were done.

Description of Work
Had our original (20+ years old) roof and one skylight replaced.

Category roofing

5.0

06/07/2012


elizabeth H.

Owner originally arrived to assess the situation and then gave a written estimate. He ordered the materials needed, and called the day before to notify us when repair would begin. The roof looks great.

Description of Work
Roofer provided written estimate. Final price was under estimate. Very satisfied---job and employee and owner professional and punctual. Would definitely recommend and use this company again.

Category roofing

5.0

11/22/2011


David W.

2-Man crew showed up on time and worked dilligently for 2 hours. Did an excellent job - very professional!!!

Description of Work
Missing cedar shakes on 1550 sq. feet house roof and detached 2-car garage roof were replaced with 2 bundles of shakes. Pine needles were swept off as well. Raised nails were hammered in.

Category roofing

5.0

11/17/2011


Russell G.

He came out the same day that I called. He came out very quickly. The estimate was for $6750. The work did not include any skylights. I haven't had any work done. He was very professional. He could answer all my questions. I'll probably have to go back to him for another estimate because I'll probably use Tom Goldston Roofing.

Description of Work
I got an estimate from Tom Goldston Roofing Inc. for a 40-year roof. The work included installing a new roof and ridge venting.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    PuroClean of South Reno

    PuroClean of South Reno provides full water damage repair services because we know that dealing with such damage is a daunting task. You need a restoration company that will quickly restore your residential or commercial property. We provide water damage repair, fire restoration, mold removal, biohazard cleanup, and disaster restoration. If you are in need of a assistance because of damage to your commercial or residential property, contact us. PuroClean of Northridge proudly serves Reno, Sparks, Carson City, Virginia City and Unincorporated Washoe County.  

    Angi Certified

    East Fork Roofing

    East Fork Roofing has been providing quality roof replacements for over 10 years, with the owner having over 35 years experience. We currently have a crew of 10 full time employees & 5 part time employees. 90% of our business is word of mouth business & our focus is to provide effective, professional, and high quality replacement roofing services. Please contact us with questions about your roof replacement: 775-800-ROOF (7663).  

    Angi Certified

    Scott Roofing LLC

    We aim to help you with your roofing needs at your convenience with minimal disruption, and we are confident in our quality of work and our prompt response to repair issues. Fully insured for workers compensation and general liability, Better Business Bureau accredited business, locally owned and operated since 1948.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    free estimates, new roofs, roof repairs, new construction roofing, skylights, dry rot repair (roof related),

    Services Not Offered

    N/A

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Tom Goldston Roofing Inc

    How is Tom Goldston Roofing Inc overall rated?

    Tom Goldston Roofing Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Tom Goldston Roofing Inc provide

    Tom Goldston Roofing Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Tom Goldston Roofing Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Tom Goldston Roofing Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Tom Goldston Roofing Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Tom Goldston Roofing Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Tom Goldston Roofing Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Tom Goldston Roofing Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Tom Goldston Roofing Inc?

    Yes, Tom Goldston Roofing Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Tom Goldston Roofing Inc offer?

    Tom Goldston Roofing Inc offers the following services: free estimates, new roofs, roof repairs, new construction roofing, skylights, dry rot repair (roof related),

    Are there any services Tom Goldston Roofing Inc does not offer?

    N/A