Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco

Founded 1981 • With Angi since August 2010

4.5

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 6964

Santa Fe, NM 87502

Description

GMB was established in 1981 as a specialty-plastering firm. Our goal was to create a diversified organization that could afford clients the opportunity to benefit from a professional approach to construction handled on a personal level. This has been successfully accomplished by maintaining an

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

08/06/2021


GINA O.

Mike’s crew stuccoed our house in three and a half days in June 2021. However, they stuccoed our back door shut, got stucco all over the roof, yard, garden, & fencing. Not only that, but two of our lights weren’t working after they reinstalled them. We agreed on a time for his crew to come back and clean up, but they delayed, then no-showed. It wound up taking six weeks for Mike to send over a crew to clean up after the first one. During those six weeks, Mike put a lien on our house and threatened to foreclose. After he finally sent a crew to come clean up, his letter to remove the lien had the wrong information and wasn’t notarized. (It’s a legal document, you need to use the correct information. And according to the Santa Fe County Clerk, it must be notarized.) After way too much drama, we got another letter (with accurate numbers), got it notarized, I paid him, and then, FINALLY, we were done. The stucco looks good, we’ve even had compliments on it. However, I recommend you find someone more competent and professional, even if it costs a little more.

Description of Work
stucco restoration

Category stucco

5.0

09/10/2018


Frank J.

Project went well. Mike provided material recommendations considerate of our budget. Project documentation was provided including before and after photos and a transferable warranty. Overall I'm very pleased with the outcome by quality, cost, and schedule.

Description of Work
Restucco exterior of home

Category stucco

5.0

09/22/2017


Sharon A.

Mr. Barela first did an inspection from his office with a computer program that took a picture of my house from above. He then came to my house to inspect it. He is very professional and knowledgeable. He recommended that I just restore the parapet at this time, so he didn't try to sell me more than I needed, as I felt another company had done. I was not in a hurry and he fit the work in in due time. I had a lot of questions even after I had contracted with him and he was very responsive each time. Email was the best way to keep in touch with him. I can not get on a ladder to inspect the work but I think I got a very good job and I woud hire GMB again and recommend them.

Description of Work
The parapet of my house needed stucco restoration.

Category stucco

5.0

06/28/2016


Moore G.

We were very impressed with GMB and Old World Plaster and Stucco from beginning to end. The bid process was very prompt and professional. Michael answered all of our questions thoroughly and provided the bid quickly after his visit. We received 5 bids and selected his bid as it was competitive in scope of work, quality of materials, and time to completion, and superior in quoted price. The workmen showed up on time every morning and worked hard all day long. We had great communication with the foreman, Luis, during the process. We were extremely impressed with the quality of the work that was done and the result is stunning. Our neighbors are very happy with the new look as well. The only advice we can offer to others is to follow up on Angie's list emails with a phone call when contacting this company or others as they are often in the field working. Ask ahead about when they can start the work and they should finish, if there are no weather problems. We had a great experience with this company and are very pleased with the results.

Description of Work
House was restuccoed with synthetic stucco.

Category stucco

5.0

03/21/2016


DAVID B.

This was an Angie's Big Deal, modified. The original Deal was to re-stucco 2400 feet. Owner Michael came out and looked at the issue, 3 or 4 walls on two different casitas, plus I wanted him to figure in stucco from scratch on an attached wood frame storage building. We discussed the problem with the existing stucco, which was crackled & crazed. It was originally applied, years ago, directly over rastra (pumicestone) structure, with no wire or lath backing. Michael explained that the difference in thermal expansion rates, without the wire reinforcement, causes or exacerbates the crackling of the stucco finish; hence it is more pronounced on south and west facing walls, as it is on my buildings. After a bit of negotiation, he proposed, instead of simply a new color coat as provided by the Big Deal, applying a thin base plaster coat with nylon mesh embedded, and a second new color coat on one entire casita (instead of the cheaper color coat only spread over a few walls on 2 buildings). We negotioated a fair price adjustment over the Big Deal price, because I was in agreement to do the better and hopefully more permanent fix, plus we were doing the attached frame storage unit from scratch (paper coat, chicken wire, etc). They used a fibered plaster for the mesh embed, which may be the routine product, but definitely is something I would have requested to further reinforce against the surface cracking problem, if I had been smart enough to know about it. The crew was efficient, professional, thorough, careful, and friendly. They cleaned everything up. They even allowed our 15 year old Border collie to supervise from time to time, which is what she does now that she is retired. The job looks great, and hopefully this kind of fix will last for a long period. I was impressed with Michael's experience and knowledge. He has been around long enough to recognize the rastra construction issue, and recommend a fix. (Michael explained to me that rastra was a new technology when these casitas were built; it was apparently standard practice then to not use wire, because the rastra people promoted it as an unnecessary step, which could be eliminated to offset the higher cost of rastra construction. Turns out they were wrong.) Of course Michael may just be a good salesman, but his explanations made sense, based on the evidence. I have restored and repaired the various houses I have owned for 45 years now, and have at least a rudimentary understanding of how things work, and a helluva lot of experience fixing other people's mistakes and poor workmanship. So I think he's right. We didn't exactly do the Big Deal, but we negotiated a deal I liked better. I paid a little more, I got a much more satisfactory job for the particular issues I needed fixed. I am very happy.

Description of Work
Applied stucco to existing building.

Category stucco

5.0

03/18/2016


Pat B.

GMB Construction did a wonderful job re-stuccoing my house. One day one they filled in all the cracks and prepared the exterior with taping off the windows and doors and digging around the bottom of the exterior walls. The second day they did the re-stucco work and on the third day cleaned up the site. The crew was courteous and efficient and the workmanship is outstanding. I would hire this company again to do any other work I may have in the future.

Description of Work
Re-stucco work

Category stucco

5.0

09/29/2015


Susan M.

Description of Work
Beautiful job on replastering my kiva--shines white, wow. Only difficulty was with getting color samples and cell phone communication poor. Also worker was very polite and respectful, but spoke little English. Just worked hard and got job done in 2 days.

Category plastering, stucco

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the A review I do not understand Quality being rated so low the material is the very best on the market and at a premium price compared to the samples, and as you state WOW
5.0

06/04/2015


Malcolm P.

Description of Work
They reconditioned the walls around the pool area. The work was performed in a professional manner with the proper cleanup. The only issue we had is that they were not very responsive to emails and phone calls.

Category stucco

Service Provider Response

I love the Pet* ( name can't be mentioned on reviews), they are very knowledgeable in the products they want, I thank them for this review, although some parts are left out, such as special orders take 2 weeks and if my distributors say two weeks and I get emails ever three days asking about schedule all I can say is 2 weeks (yes cliche for contractors) I don t keep replying with the same message, we had record rain in our area for the month we would rather hold off than have to redo a project deemed as new, no mention of the weekend deliveries of special samples more than once or the ability to supply a work force other than GMB with material to complete similar finishes ( believe me on site you know where we applied finish) I am replying due to other reviews which I believe to be unfair Yes I want all A's this is what my company has been doing for over 30 years with out social media now I must level the playing field to attract new clientele GMB
4.0

01/12/2015


STANLEY Y.

I see some flaws a 1.5 later but overall satisfied with the service.

Description of Work
Re-Stucco with Materials Included

Category stucco

Service Provider Response

Ahhh here we go one and a half years later I get 5 A's one B and an overall rating of B this client has a two year warrantee if he had any flaws as stated would you not contact the applicator. I sometimes feel these reviews are like stepping of a curb only it is twice as high and you think to yourself wow where did that come from? I think some members stub their toe in the morning post reviews as to how the feel rather than to how much value for the dollar they just received We at GMB ask for all A,s by being judged fairly on the whole scope of the work, from the first piece of masking tape applied to the last shovel of trash being removed, not by feeling an employee is being rude by not responding to a greeting- he might not have heard or understood English. To all reading the reviews call and interview GMB you will find out how knowledgeable we are how many projects we have completed in 30+ years and why we are still here 30+ years later though all the economic down turns we will learn social media and be around for many more years after all it is the quality of the work which stands out. GMB
5.0

11/04/2014


Eugene H.

we felt that he met all expectations

Description of Work
estimated materials needed. informed us how he was going to do the job. his people did a one day in advance set-up. his full crew came in and did the stucco job in one day. all of this at our convenience.

Category stucco

Service Provider Response

GMB strives for an all A rating I thank this member ( names cant be used on reviews) I can't believe the roller coaster of reviews this site generates even though a client is happy one B offsets any good work. GMB
3.0

06/18/2014


Donna E.

They were not punctual and did not perform the work as scheduled.

Description of Work
The quality was good. They rescheduled several times for the work. It was difficult to deal with the reschedule as it ended up coinciding with our move.

Category stucco

Service Provider Response

Please note this review was posted 8 months after work was done. The issue here is scheduling. GMB will schedule according to the clients request to the best of our ability, unforeseen action can seem to create unnecessary delays, which are common in the building trades for example, a three day rain storm, a building permit or inspection delay. A two week block on the calendar can be set back as much as an additional two weeks. Every client has direct communication with our supervisors on site who can answer all questions regarding schedule and completion of each project. Please check out our other many great reviews. GMB
4.0

01/02/2014


Astri B.

The first appt. they did not show up. After that they did, prepped the walls, etc, then returned the next day to put the mud on. Most of the crew was non-English speaking and it was at times difficult to communicate. They swore that this process would last 15 years, which I doubt, but when it starts falling off, I will write another review. Most people have told me that it will in one to two years. Right now it looks very good. Clean up was so so. They picked up their own stuff, but the stuff they had to move was mostly left out, especially the small stuff. Had to ask them to move back some of the big furniture or it would have been left. They were willing to do some "extra" patching. The surface of my house is nowhere near 2900 sq ft, so it wasn't actually that much "extra". Since, I think, not that many houses have that much wall, I noticed the company lowered its price for a smaller surface. The warranty is only for one year.

Description of Work
The put a new layer of stucco on my house and covered cracks

Category stucco

Service Provider Response

It is difficult to understand how a client will choose to judge, some must follow a judgement to the letter, as in not showing up for the first appointment (it was raining)- the square footage of wall area versus floor living area, wall area is 2.5 x larger in most cases. The warrantee we supplied is the same as the manufacture, our workmanship will last as long as the base coat it has been applied to, a new base coat with a new finish coat would have a life expectancy of 15 years, our client missed this sentence in the review. I am now upgrading the warrantee in this review for all to see from a 1 year to a 5 year warrantee under all the written provisions of the original paperwork. This should allow for, our client receiving the most value for the dollar. Unfortunately I do not have an answer to the clean up only being so/so We pride ourselves on making sure all windows, doors, woodwork and landscaping are covered during our scope of the work, this I am sure was done but all the small tape and final broom finish was not to the clients satisfaction, this we will do better by allowing more time to complete the projects. GMB
5.0

12/30/2013


Susan S.

They do a very good job. I would recommend them to others. There are many companies in the Santa Fe area how charge just for service calls and then for providing the actually repair; whereas GMB always give free estimates and the service is very competitively priced.

Description of Work
They did a few different things for me. They have never tried to upsell me and they always just perform the service that's needed. They provide free estimates and high quality work. Most recently, they fixed a crack in my stucco.

Category stucco

5.0

11/14/2013


Kay S.

They patched several cracked, broken areas of stucco all over the house. They did a great job except for a bad color match right by my front door. Hopefully it will fade. The guys were hardworking, professional and pleasant. I would use them again.

Description of Work
I used GMB CONSTRUCTION INC OLD WORLD PLASTER AND STUCCO

Category drywall, plastering, stucco

5.0

11/07/2013


Rosemary C.

I purchased a big deal coupon for this company.

Description of Work
GMB Construction Inc. Old World Plaster & Stucco we had a lot of rain and one part of my car port stucco fell off and they did any cracks that they found on the parra pads and the stucco wall.

Category drywall, stucco

1.0

10/30/2013


NORMA M B.

They were to start work at 09:30 a. m. Wednesday morning. I recieved a phone call at 08:30a. m. that morning telling me that they would not be able to come Wednesday because they had had a problem at another jog site. Thursday they were suppose to arrive at 09:30 am--they were more than an hour late--arrived with nothing to work with---took one measurment and left for five hours. The company sent a single person who was so destructive and had no respect for my property at all. He pulled 3(inch)" diametor by 5'(feet) tall bushes with out even trimming them at all. He also destroyed more than five feet of an arbor that had none of the bushes on it due to the fact that I had already paid to have the bushes removed up to the wall. When I found out what he had don eand told him that the arbor was built by my daughter's dead father-and could not be replaced---He suggested that if I would find a picture of her father that a rose bush could be planted and a shrime with the rosebush and picture could be placed the in the area he destroyed. I would never have anything so trashy and stupid around my home. I am English, Irish, Scottish, Portugeese and German and none of those cultures would ever allow such trash around the home. I called their manager and informed him what had happened and that he needed to come to my home immediately. I had to wait more than an hour for him to come. In the mean time I informed the person that did the damage to clean up his mess, but to leave the largest pieces out of his truck so that the manager could see what he had done, He cleaned up only part of his mess even though I brought him a push broom to help with the clean up. As he was putting the branches into his truck what did he do-----He broke all the large peices into smaller ones so that it would look like he had done nothing wrong. When the manager arrived----the person that did all the damage LIED about everything. When I called him on the lies---he became belligerent and kept lying. I told the manager that he had to repair the damage that was done and that the company had lost the job! I did pay $100.00 for two patches on my firepalce. There is no way that I would allow such a careless company to work on my house. If I had allowed them to stucco my home----I would not have had a house standing at all never mind the thousands I have paid for landscaping. That night the owner called from Santa Fe -he stated that he would refund my $3000.00 through Angies list----NO REFUND HAS BEEN ISSUED. He also promised that he would have the manager at my home Monday morning at 09:30. No phone call--no one arrived. I have no choice but to call the owner--have him issue the refund and have someone actually arrive to repair the damage his worker did. This is not a company you want around your house unless you want your home completely demolished. If you don't have hours and hours to wait for the workers to arriveand leave plus plan to watch what is happening every minute of the work day------ Stay away from this company. Go with a stucco company that is a reputable company or do the job yourself.

Description of Work
Destroyed an arbor made by the dead Father of my daughter. RUN RUN RUN! Away from this company!

Category stucco

5.0

10/18/2013


jane P.

The whole experience was good. I had contacted 6 other stucco companies over the past several months, and only one of those companies returned my call. That company's estimate was high, and I wanted at least one more to compare with it, but was unable to get anyone else to take my business. I saw the special deal on Angie's List for a re-stucco by GMB CONSTRUCTION INC OLD WORLD PLASTER & STUCCO and decided to go for it, since their ratings were good and I'd had no luck getting the other folks to respond. It was a large upfront purchase with a company I didn't personally know anything about, so I was more than a little apprehensive, but trusted the Angie's List recommendations. I was pleased to discover that someone from GMB called me within a couple of days, as described in the deal offer, and had an estimator out here the next day. They scheduled the work immediately, and completed it promptly, including the prep, cleanup, and several follow-up visits to wet down the new stucco and check for discolorations. The special offer price was very good, and the offer had stated that it was a base-price only, with additional charges applicable based on square footage, repairs, etc. We had some areas that we knew needed substantial repair prior to being re-stuccoed, and expected that to bump our final cost. Our price did end up being more than the Angie's List Big Deal offer, but was still $2500 less than the other estimate. The GMB folks were easy to work with, did a great job, and the house looks like new. I am a very happy camper.

Description of Work
residential re-stucco

Category stucco

5.0

09/17/2013


Marian R.

It was good. Mike called me back each time I contacted them. We made an appointment right away. When I first called him, it took maybe five days later and they were working on the house. Took them three days to complete the work, there were a few things to clean up afterwards and they took care of it. I’m very pleased and they did a good job.

Description of Work
It's a stucco house.

Category stucco

Service Provider Response

I thank our client for this positive review, We had many issues after the project was completed as rain storms, hail and cold hit the project, discolored the finish and caused lime bloom, after weeks of trying to repair the new finish we gave up and applied a new stucco finish at no cost to our client, I hope this gives potential clients faith to hire GMB
4.0

09/11/2013


Ben M.

They did a nice clean job in their work they were also on time. I tried however to contact them several times for a second job I had cause I needed an estimate and they never got back to me. I also tried to just get some information in regards to the color stucco they used on the first job and again they have not gotten back to me. In this regard I find them unresponsive and unprofessional. They do good work but I don't like the headache of having to chase people down.

Description of Work
I had them patch around 5 windows and 2 doors that I had replaced.

Category drywall, stucco

Service Provider Response

We politely declined to do anymore work for Mr. (member name removed) as he uses a third party General Contractor to negotiate, as far as referring a special color he would need to do the research his self as we do not supply field work for free
1.0

09/09/2013


John R.

We got an email suggesting that a satellite survey of the property indicated the coupon wouldn't cover the job. Bogus!!! The deal provided up to 2,900 sq ft of restucco. Our house has half that.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal from GMB Construction Inc./Old World Plaster & Stucco.

Category plastering, stucco

5.0

08/12/2013


Merry C.

They put new stucco on the entire house. They helped us with choosing the color. They trenched around the house so the stucco went well to the ground.They did it promptly, professionally and we are pleased with the results. The job was done quickly and professionally. The workers were pleasant and worked hard. They also resurfaced a portion of a patio as needed. Everything was left clean and neat.

Description of Work
re-stuccoed the entire house

Category drywall, stucco

5.0

07/05/2013


Julia R.

They did a marvelous job and I would recommend them to anyone. They were a great crew. They did what they said they were going to do and did it in a timely fashion.

Description of Work
They restuccoed the house.

Category drywall, plastering, stucco

5.0

05/31/2013


Raul G.

Every experience with this company has been GREAT! From speaking with Michael and getting started, to being introduced to the foreman who would be handling the project. Every crew member was polite, friendly and seemed happy to be working on this project. They kept the area clean at all times and actually left it cleaner than it was when they arrived. Every step in their work was consistent with what was proposed. I asked for a certificate of insurance before any work was done and I received one from their carrier, again, within 24 hours. This is a very professional company that has not forgotten the importance of customer relationships. I would recommend them with no hesitation what-so-ever.

Description of Work
GMB Construction came out and inspected our building with damaged stucco that had been improperly installed by the original contractor. Michael explained, in detail, how the damage was caused as well as the proper way to repair it. He had a formal inspection report and estimate sent to me within 24 hours.

Category stucco

4.0

10/08/2012


Merry C.

It went well except for difficulty getting answers to our phone messages. They now have given us a new number which might make that problem go away.

Description of Work
Re-surfaced patio and fixed some stucco cracks.

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

Notice our client was satisfied enough to give us a larger project, cost is always an issue
5.0

08/14/2012


Sarah D B.

Came out each day, and worked ALL DAY....did a FANTASTIC JOB on a 20- year-old house that had not been maintained. Helped with color selection....which in beautiful. Everyone was helpful and professional.

Description of Work
Restoration and repair of existing stucco, and application of new coat.

Category drywall, stucco

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gurule Construction llc

    Gurule Construction, LLC provides high quality remodeling, concrete installation, and roofing services for owners of residential and commercial properties in Santa Fe, NM, and the surrounding areas. We bring 26 years of experience in the industry to each project we undertake. We source all of our materials from industry leading manufacturers and our experts install them with a high level of expertise. No matter the size of your project, we are fully equipped to deliver in an efficient and timely manner without skimping on quality. Our services include remodeling, kitchen remodeling, bathroom remodeling, concrete slabs installation, concrete patios building, sheetrock installation, roofing repair, and roof replacement, along with porches, decks, and more. We provide great work and take great pride in having our customers satisfied and happy. Before beginning work, we listen to our customers’ needs and expectations and pay close attention to details. We are reliable, honest, trustworthy and very friendly. We offer free estimates and competitive pricing. Our goal is providing the highest quality service with 100% customer satisfaction.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by Gurule Construction llc on Angi
    RIO GRANDE LATH & PLASTER

    We have been in business for over 20 years. We offer Free estimates and have many available references. Chose us and you do not pay a penny until job is fully done to your satisfaction  

    Angi Certified

    B.W. Earp, Inc.

    Welcome to B.W. Earp, Inc. B.W. Earp, Inc. is a stucco contractor serving Albuquerque, NM. Since 1990, B.W. Earp, Inc. has been at the forefront of contemporary surfacing. This unique contracting company combines the timeless quality of handworked stucco and the contemporary usage of highly crafted interior plasters to bring the customer a specialized surface that is custom-designed and looks great! The specialized techniques used by each contractor require the combined skills of structural integrity, architectural design, rigorous craftsmanship, and an eye for beauty. Since 1990, residents and businesses in the Albuquerque area have turned to B.W. Earp, Inc. for a variety of stucco services, including waterproofing and bonding. Their expert staff is always there to help you decide the right surfacing option to match your building construction. Their hard work and expertise have led them to become an industry leader and the most respected name in resurfacing and waterproofing. Our company provides the following services - Stucco, synthetic, and El Rey - Venetian plaster & variance finishes - Re-stucco - New construction -Parapet Repair and Waterproofing B.W. Earp, Inc. is New Mexico's most experienced and creative resource for exterior stucco and interior plaster surfaces. Visit our website to see what we have to offer! We are proud to be licensed, bonded, and insured. Visit bwearp.com to see the work we've completed. Call us today! We invite you to ask for an on-site estimate. 505-344-2111 ***If you live outside the Albuquerque area there is a $50.00 fee for an estimate. This charge will be credited toward the project once our contract is signed. Thank you for understanding.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    1.5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    stucco, stucco restoration & maintenance, waterproofing parapets, plaster all system types, drywall install & finishing, steel framing, suspended ceilings. Walls & patios, adobe home restoration & repair

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco

    How is GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco overall rated?

    GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco provide

    GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco offer free estimates?

    Yes, GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco offers free project estimates.

    Does GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco offer a senior discount?

    No, GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco does not offer a senior discount.

    Does GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco offer emergency services?

    Yes, GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco?

    No, GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco does not offer warranties.

    What services does GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco offer?

    GMB Construction Inc Old World Plaster & Stucco offers the following services: stucco, stucco restoration & maintenance, waterproofing parapets, plaster all system types, drywall install & finishing, steel framing, suspended ceilings. Walls & patios, adobe home restoration & repair