Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc.

Founded 1963 • With Angi since July 2006

Rocky Mountain Stone was started in 1963 as a supplier of natural building and landscaping stone for the Albuquerque area. Since then, we have expanded into every aspect of the natural stone industry including; * Full fabrication and installation services of all types of dimensional stone, including both residential and commercial applications * Waterjet cutting services. * Full service supplier of natural stone for the landscaping and masonry trades Rocky Mountain Stone continues to be a progressive leader in stone fabrication with the state of the art Abrasive Waterjet cutting, CNC profilers and cutting machines, which allow even more opportunities for the Architect/Designer/Builder in creating designs and products never before available in natural stone. Rocky Mountain Stone installs dimensional stone throughout the state of New Mexico and Southern Colorado. Our workforce, with over 150 years of combined stone and construction experience is committed to providing the highest quality materials, workmanship, and service for all of our clients.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(77) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 77 reviews
Allegra H.
3.0
03/24/2022
It did not go well. I got conflicting stories from various people. When installers came, one did not speak any English. Neither introduced themselves. The countertop, despite two visits and laser measuring, was done incorrectly, with gaps at all four corners of the sink. They tried filing it in with adhesive, which fell out the next day. They then sent another person who did fix with gaps - albeit there should never have been gaps, but the guy who was to reset the sink, left it dripping on my rug, and then did not put it in straight and I had to insist that he sealed it. They left a mess both times when they left, and never apologized, and I never received a follow up on my satisfaction. The quartz itself is good quality but the service was bad and I would never use them again.
Description of Work
replaced countertops with quartz
Category
countertops
Catherine L.
5.0
10/29/2020
Every person that we dealt with from start to finish went the extra mile. We are tremendously thrilled with our process from start to finish... our granite is gorgeous, the project looks like a million bucks! We could not be more satisfied. The price was so reasonable for such a professionally done project. We recommend RMS very highly!!
Description of Work
Granite vanity/countertop/sill/wall topper in bathroom and large window sill in kitchen
Category
countertops, marble & granite, home remodeling
Koelle U.
5.0
06/14/2017
My kitchen is so attractive now. I'm very pleased with the outcome. I would definitely hire them again.
Description of Work
Rocky Mountain Stone installed a granite top in my kitchen. They did beautiful work and I'm very pleased with the outcome. They were prompt, courteous and answered all my questions before and during the installation.
Category
countertops, marble & granite
Robert A.
5.0
05/07/2017
We had a great experience with Rocky Mountain Stone at every stage of the project, from the initial visit to their showroom to installation. Steve went above-and-beyond in terms of allowing us to select our granite slabs and store them for several months until we moved into our home, even letting us swap them out for others when we saw pieces we liked even more. After we informed them that the cabinetry was in place, they came out promptly to measure the space. It took just a couple of days to fabricate the countertops, and they were back out to install. Communication was quick and professional at each step, the craftsman were hard-working and personable, clean-up was thorough. Top-notch company; we are very happy with the outcome. These stone counters are works of art.
Description of Work
Granite kitchen countertops
Category
countertops, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words and for the opportunity to provide this work for your home. We look forward to serving you again soon. The RMS Team
Charles B.
5.0
04/10/2017
Everything went very smoothly, the whole job was complete in less than two days.
Description of Work
Had Granite Counters installed.
Category
countertops, marble & granite
CYNTHIA M.
5.0
11/06/2015
very well, timely and professional in all aspects...from the measurements to installation.
Description of Work
installed granite counter tops
Category
countertops, marble & granite
Cindy G.
1.0
12/19/2014
NEVER, NEVER, NEVER use this company. The install crew was rude, argued about terms of the install that were detailed and discussed with the initial salesperson. Totally a horrible experience.
Description of Work
Granite counters for Master bath and guest bath.
Category
countertops

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Wow! How do you address a review such as yours? A short, brief overview of the project might be in order to set the stage. You selected remnant pieces of granite to be used for your two vanity tops. We agreed upon a price and set a time for us to come measure. We arrived at your house on the day and at the time that we agreed upon. We measured the tops and called to schedule the installation for 6 working days later as promised. We coordinated the other contractor to come in and remove your sinks, because we told you we would. For the record, we are not licensed plumbers and therefore do not carry liability insurance to cover that type of work. Our guys arrived on the exact day and at the exact time that we told you we would be there. The sinks were self rimming sinks and our salesman told you that we would set the sinks. What we were NOT told was that the sinks were the same ones that were used in the old countertops and that there was 20 year old caulking stuck to the outside perimeter of the sinks. Our installers normally set under mount sinks because they become an inherent part of the counter top and are very difficult to install correctly after the counters are in place. Your type of sink, a self rimming sink, simply sits in the hole that is cut out in the stone and is normally installed by the plumber. The idea of setting the sinks in the hole was NOT the issue. The issue was that your husband insisted that RMS not only install the sinks but that we needed to clean the sinks of the 20 year old caulking and were threatened by your husband with the liability of chipping the sinks if we did so while removing the caulking. He also insisted that my guys hook up the plumbing to the sinks and then tried to talk them into putting the mirrors on the wall! And for the record, after your husband called and though he was incredibly rude to my daughter on the phone, we instructed our installers to stay and clean your old sinks and set them into the counter tops. We are in the business of fabricating and installing counter tops and have a stellar reputation for doing so in the New Mexico marketplace. We are not in the plumbing, mirror/glass or remodeling business. I'm sorry that you feel the need to disparage our company with this post and to criticize our installers for looking out for the best interest of their company. I trust that the quality of the stonework....the fit and finish of what you actually paid for is acceptable, as you make no mention of exactly what it was that was contracted for us to do. As a side note to whomever reviews these posts from Angies List, I would respectfully request that this post be removed from our page as it is a baseless and does not convey any constructive insights for our future customers. Thank you, Scott C. Lardner, President
Larry D.
5.0
12/16/2014
It went smoothly and difficulties were dealt with quickly and professionally.
Description of Work
Installed new kitchen counter top, sink and faucet and also removed old tile and replaced with back splash, then repaired the wall.
Category
countertops, home remodeling
Maxwell K.
5.0
11/09/2014
Dealing with this company has been easy. They returned every call, set up appointments based on my schedule (even with as little as a few days notice), and showed up more or less on time. The new countertops look great thanks to a monumental leveling effort by the installers. And the price beat everyone else I looked at.
Description of Work
Granite countertops, new sink.
Category
countertops, marble & granite
Gail S.
3.0
09/10/2014
We had used RMS in the past and were pleased with the results. This time, though the granite is beautiful, it was a hassle of scheduling.
Description of Work
Installation of Bathroom and Kitchen Countertops.
Category
countertops
Ann C.
5.0
08/26/2014
thorough explanation, very helpful, excellent stock to choose from
Description of Work
showed samples, explained pricing
Category
countertops
Deborah B.
5.0
08/22/2014
the 2 techncians were on time, professional, pleasant, kept a clean work area & cleaned up after. thanks! great job
Description of Work
for a quartz top: measured new bathroom vanity top, cut hole for undersink & fixtures. shaved down backsplash to accomodate large sink. Installed quartz top, back splash and undersink.
Category
countertops
John D.
5.0
07/14/2014
The lady that was the project manager was very knowledgeable, very knowledgeable, and very professional. She was an awesome service oriented lady. She knew how to match things. They made a mistake on the backsplash and they fixed it right away.
Description of Work
I have used Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. for the counters and backsplash for the kitchen.
Category
countertops, marble & granite, home remodeling
Laurel L.
5.0
06/26/2014
Excellent work!! We were able to get the exact granite pattern we wanted, they gave us a tour of the facility before we ordered our granite, they showed up on time and did a great job! We are very happy with our new granite counter tops!! Highly recommend Rocky Mountain Stone!
Description of Work
Measured, delivered, and installed granite counter tops in kitchen.
Category
countertops, marble & granite
Alyssa W.
5.0
06/25/2014
Rocky Mountain Stone stocks and sells stone slabs. Not only did they have a great selection of stone, they fabricate and install. My wife and I LOVED the one stop shopping. They do it all. Not only that, they install in a very timely manner. When I first called them, (after calling others in the area and getting on the slow boat to nowhere), I was impressed by our sales person Karen Ryan who said come on down and have a look. I got a very professional feel from her right from the first conversation. We went down and she was very knowledgable about the stone as well as the entire process from start to finish. They had the granite slab in Vecchio that we wanted right on their lot. She even looked at pictures of our home and made suggestions as to what she felt we might like?and she was spot on! She told us RMS is a family owned business and has been doing this a long time. She said they would take care of us and they did. A week later Craig showed up to do the template and a week later they brought up the the new counter tops and installed them with much precision. Everything could not have gone smoother and our Kitchen looks fantastic. Thank you so much to everyone at Rocky Mountain Stone for a job well done. If you are reading this you may already know what a daunting challenge redoing your kitchen or bath can be. Give yourself a break and stop by and see Karen and the rest of the staff at RMS. They'll take good care of you.
Description of Work
Fabricate and install new counter tops.
Category
countertops
Debra M.
5.0
06/23/2014
All went well, the job was done professionally, the sink cutouts were perfect. Looks great and cost less overall than I expected. The granite is beautiful-even though it is a "common" granite pattern, the colors are extraordinary.
Description of Work
New kitchen counters.
Category
countertops
Gaye L.
5.0
05/30/2014
Great experience! Steve Bickel from Rocky Mountain Stone came down and provided a great quote. He worked to get our install scheduled around our time constraints. Rocky Mountain did a great job in every aspect. The subcontractor, Chris Quintana brought his crew in to do the demo and then returned to re-connect all the appliances and install the back splash. Chis did a GREAT job of working with us to select tile to coordinate with our new granite. He worked diligently to make sure we were happy with every aspect and we were. We would recommend both Rocky Mountain Stone and Chris Quintana to anyone!
Description of Work
Removed tile countertops and replaced with granite countertops.
Category
countertops, marble & granite
Yvonne S.
2.0
05/14/2014
The granite installation went well, but one slab didn't batch, so they remove it, and put in another. The damages done were never fixed after 6 months, and many phone calls.
Description of Work
The provider put my granite in, and it was a month late, because people wanted theirs in by Thanksgiving, so I gave them time to do that. I took them days longer to do mine, and when it was done, one section didn't match the rest. The changed it out, and I give them credit for that; but I've had calls in for months to fix the damage done, and they always say I'm one the list, but no one ever calls to fix it. After 6 months, of promises, I guess they aren't going to do it.
Category
countertops
Robin R.
5.0
03/31/2014
Extremely responsive and professional company. Came when they said they would. Cleaned up after themselves. Installers courteous and knowledgeable. Things were done correctly the first time. Twelve years ago they redid my entire kitchen in the same manner. I give them the highest recommendation.
Description of Work
Replaced sinks, backsplashes, and counter tops in two bathrooms. One single sink and one double sink.
Category
countertops, marble & granite, home remodeling
Carole N.
5.0
03/26/2014
The installation went very smoothly with a minimum of mess. The whole process, from measurement to completion, took one week. The installers were professional and friendly and they arrived at the appointed time. Unfortunately, after the installation was complete they noticed a crack in the sink which did not affect the use of the sink and which, to the naked eye, was impossible to detect. I myself couldn't find it. They assured me they would replace the sink at no charge and it wouldn't affect the granite installation. That is exactly what happened. Within a week, a new sink was swapped out for the defective one and the result is a beautiful kitchen. Karen, at Rocky Mountain Stone, was a delight to work with and answered my many questions with professionalism and sweetness. Chris Quintana, who handled the tear out and plumbing portion of the job was also terrific. I have already recommended Rocky Mountain Stone to a new neighbor and am certain she will be contacting them. It is a pleasure to deal with a very reputable company and its professional staff.
Description of Work
Granite countertops in kitchen and installation of undermount sink
Category
countertops, remodeling, marble & granite

Service Provider Response

Dear [removed member name], Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your new kitchen. Our goal on every project is to provide the very highest quality stone work available in New Mexico and, though not every job goes according to plan (as evidenced by the cracked sink on your project), when all is said and done, the final product needs to be of the highest standards. I'll pass along your comments to both Karen and our entire production team. We look forward to taking care of your neighbors and very much appreciate the referral. If we can be of further service please give us a call. Thanks again, Scott Lardner, President
Tammy M.
5.0
03/13/2014
Rocky Mountain Stone was referred to me by a friend as a reputable source for replacement of my kitchen countertops with Granite. From the quote to templating, demolition to installation, the process was professional and went extremely smoothly. Rocky Mountain honored an Angie?s List coupon savings which helped with cost as well! Karen, my contact / sales rep, was very responsive and knowledgeable. Even the contractor recommended to me by Rocky Mountain for demolition and plumbing service was wonderful. I would and have recommended this company to friends without reservation. A great experience, beautiful countertops and a well deserved ?A? rating!
Description of Work
Replacement of kitchen counter tops with granite including installation of sink and fixtures. Monitored progress from beginning to end, and recommended an excellent contractor contact for demolition and plumbing.
Category
countertops

Service Provider Response

Hi [removed member name] - thank you for taking the time to give us this positive feedback. We very much appreciate the opportunity to provide your stone work and I'll certainly pass along your kind words to both Karen and the entire crew. We'll look forward to hearing from you on the next project! Thanks again, Scott C. Lardner President
David P.
5.0
02/11/2014
Met sales rep at RMS lot, picked marble we liked, & provided dimensions of L-shaped shelf to be installed. Sales rep emailed estimate and we placed order. Installers arrived on time & immediately set to work. Installation was completed within 2 hrs. Their work was quite professional and considerable attention paid to little details (80+ yr old house so nothing is square). This was the 2nd time RMS has done work for us (1st was granite fireplace surround) and both times we have been pleased with their work, attention to detail, and quality of their work. Perhaps a bit more pricey than competitors, but well worth the extra cost.
Description of Work
Installed marble shelf in library.
Category
countertops
Sonja R.
5.0
02/07/2014
They did a great job. Everything was professional. We were very pleased. I would recommend them and I would use them again.
Description of Work
We did use Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. for kitchen countertops.
Category
countertops, marble & granite
Jason W.
5.0
02/03/2014
We are very happy with the results! We won a gift certificate from them at a home show and despite the reduced $$$ to RMS they were very responsive and helpful in all stages of the process. Karen was very helpful with the design features and suggestions to match our current decor. The installers was speedy and very professional, leaving the place very clean and the job well done!
Description of Work
RMS put in a new bar countertop for us; approximately 60 sq. ft of 3cm granite was installed on top of custom cabinetry.
Category
remodeling
Bill and Nancy Q.
5.0
12/07/2013
Measured: Excellent use of laser technology, no mess, and the old countertops did not have to be removed until the day of installation. Cut: Laser is not perfect. Slight miss-measure of the sink center on the cabinet, and another on the bar top. Both were compensated for by the installers. The granite matching at the seams and backsplash overlap with the top is unbelievable, the grains run together as if the stone was bent into shape. These guys really know their profession. Install: Valentine and Lupe were outstanding; professional, respectful, careful, knowledgeable, clean, and exacting in every detail. They caught the measurement errors and knew exactly how to compensate. They did make one trimming error which caused a one-day delay in completing the installation (to err is human). Only complaint: punctuality; the installers showed up 1.5 hours early on the first day and we nearly missed them. They were .5 hours late on the second day. Management/sales: Steve Bickel was our salesperson and managed the entire effort, Steve is the guy you want he was awesome in every respect. If you use these guys request a tour of the shop, you will be impressed. Side note: We chose our granite from Arizona Tile, it is beautiful and they worked well together with Rocky Mountain Stone on this project. Our kitchen looks like something out of a magazine for the rich and famous.
Description of Work
Measured, cut, and installed granite counter tops, bar, and backsplashes in our kitchen.
Category
countertops, marble & granite

Phone

Address

4741 PAN AMERICAN W FWY NE

Albuquerque, NM 87109

Other Information

Services offered

CUSTOM COUNTERTOPS AND LANDSCAPE MATERIALS. SALES AND FABRICATION OF NATURAL STONE PRODUCTS, INCLUDING MARBLE, GRANITE, SLATE, TRAVERTINE, SOAPSTONE AND SANDSTONE, FULL LINE OF BUILDING STONE, NATURAL THIN VENEER, LANDSCAPE MATERIALS, FLAGSTONE, GRAVEL AND BOULDERS.

Services not offered

LANDSCAPE DESIGN OR INSTALLATION.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Check

FAQ

Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check

Yes, Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. offers free project estimates.

Yes, Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. offers warranties.

Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. offers the following services: CUSTOM COUNTERTOPS AND LANDSCAPE MATERIALS. SALES AND FABRICATION OF NATURAL STONE PRODUCTS, INCLUDING MARBLE, GRANITE, SLATE, TRAVERTINE, SOAPSTONE AND SANDSTONE, FULL LINE OF BUILDING STONE, NATURAL THIN VENEER, LANDSCAPE MATERIALS, FLAGSTONE, GRAVEL AND BOULDERS.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Sol O Alire Construction

5.0

(84)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Sol O Alire Construction

Family owned and operated for 20 years in the Albuquerque area. Great afordeble work and professionalism. We are licensed insured and bonded for any residential and commercial needs. Let us assist you with any construction needs and assist you in creating, fixing or just renewing any construction based project in your home or business. Dont forget to ask for the 5% Angieslist discount for new clients thanks!  

DaBella - Albuquerque

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

DaBella - Albuquerque

We are the premiere home improvement company, with service and products that will keep you happy for years to come. Our customers receive unmatched warranties and exclusive products. We offer exclusive roofing, siding and window systems that are manufactured in America and installed by factory-trained installers, delivering the best possible result every time. DaBella Baths is our exclusive bath division, specializing in tub and shower conversions, bathtub replacement, walk-in showers and walk-in tubs. If you want to work with a contractor who is passionate about service, committed to quality and determined to delight you, then DaBella is for you! We're ready to turn your dreams into a beautiful reality.  

LIC # 33557 Full service landscape company with more than 28 years in business. Horticulturist/owner. Over the past 30 years I have learned a lot. At New Mexico State University I was educated in Horticulture and Landscape Design. Under the Horticultural program we learned about Agronomy ( soils) , Entomology( insects) , Biology, Chemistry , Pathology ( diseases). Everthing that was needed to be a Professional. Sure I have my education but I've learned so much from my hands on experience. Many years ago when I started Summersweet Landscapes. Other landscapers would ask me. "Do you need a degree to do landscaping"? I answered " no you don't , but I do". I started Landscape Design when I was in high school. I was trained by a Horticulturist also from N.M.S.U. He taught us that the Horticultural field was a professional one. And that the industry should be respected as one. Professional. He had all students join Future Farmers of America. It was mandatory , inorder; to be enrolled in his class. We went through competition in design. In my last two years of high school competition I was on both District and State Landscape Design Championship team. I graduated with both high school diploma and two year vocational technical certificate in Horticulture. After high school I attended N.M.S.U. where I got my Bachelor in Science Degree in Agriculture. Thank you Eric and Carmela.