Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc.

Founded 1963 • With Angi since July 2006

4.8

(77) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4741 PAN AMERICAN W FWY NE

Albuquerque, NM 87109

Description

Rocky Mountain Stone was started in 1963 as a supplier of natural building and landscaping stone for the Albuquerque area. Since then, we have expanded into every aspect of the natural stone industry including; * Full fabrication and installation services of all types of dimensional stone, including both residential and commercial applications * Waterjet cutting services. * Full service supplier of natural stone for the landscaping and masonry trades Rocky Mountain Stone continues to be a progressive leader in stone fabrication with the state of the art Abrasive Waterjet cutting, CNC profilers and cutting machines, which allow even more opportunities for the Architect/Designer/Builder in creating designs and products never before available in natural stone. Rocky Mountain Stone installs dimensional stone throughout the state of New Mexico and Southern Colorado. Our workforce, with over 150 years of combined stone and construction experience is committed to providing the highest quality materials, workmanship, and service for all of our clients....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

03/24/2022


Allegra H.

It did not go well. I got conflicting stories from various people. When installers came, one did not speak any English. Neither introduced themselves. The countertop, despite two visits and laser measuring, was done incorrectly, with gaps at all four corners of the sink. They tried filing it in with adhesive, which fell out the next day. They then sent another person who did fix with gaps - albeit there should never have been gaps, but the guy who was to reset the sink, left it dripping on my rug, and then did not put it in straight and I had to insist that he sealed it. They left a mess both times when they left, and never apologized, and I never received a follow up on my satisfaction. The quartz itself is good quality but the service was bad and I would never use them again.

Description of Work
replaced countertops with quartz

Category countertops

5.0

10/29/2020


Catherine L.

Every person that we dealt with from start to finish went the extra mile. We are tremendously thrilled with our process from start to finish... our granite is gorgeous, the project looks like a million bucks! We could not be more satisfied. The price was so reasonable for such a professionally done project. We recommend RMS very highly!!

Description of Work
Granite vanity/countertop/sill/wall topper in bathroom and large window sill in kitchen

Category countertops,marble & granite,home remodeling

5.0

06/14/2017


Koelle U.

My kitchen is so attractive now. I'm very pleased with the outcome. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Rocky Mountain Stone installed a granite top in my kitchen. They did beautiful work and I'm very pleased with the outcome. They were prompt, courteous and answered all my questions before and during the installation.

Category countertops,marble & granite

5.0

05/07/2017


Robert A.

We had a great experience with Rocky Mountain Stone at every stage of the project, from the initial visit to their showroom to installation. Steve went above-and-beyond in terms of allowing us to select our granite slabs and store them for several months until we moved into our home, even letting us swap them out for others when we saw pieces we liked even more. After we informed them that the cabinetry was in place, they came out promptly to measure the space. It took just a couple of days to fabricate the countertops, and they were back out to install. Communication was quick and professional at each step, the craftsman were hard-working and personable, clean-up was thorough. Top-notch company; we are very happy with the outcome. These stone counters are works of art.

Description of Work
Granite kitchen countertops

Category countertops,marble & granite,home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words and for the opportunity to provide this work for your home. We look forward to serving you again soon. The RMS Team
5.0

04/10/2017


Charles B.

Everything went very smoothly, the whole job was complete in less than two days.

Description of Work
Had Granite Counters installed.

Category countertops,marble & granite

5.0

11/06/2015


CYNTHIA M.

very well, timely and professional in all aspects...from the measurements to installation.

Description of Work
installed granite counter tops

Category countertops,marble & granite

1.0

12/19/2014


Cindy G.

NEVER, NEVER, NEVER use this company. The install crew was rude, argued about terms of the install that were detailed and discussed with the initial salesperson. Totally a horrible experience.

Description of Work
Granite counters for Master bath and guest bath.

Category countertops

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Wow! How do you address a review such as yours? A short, brief overview of the project might be in order to set the stage. You selected remnant pieces of granite to be used for your two vanity tops. We agreed upon a price and set a time for us to come measure. We arrived at your house on the day and at the time that we agreed upon. We measured the tops and called to schedule the installation for 6 working days later as promised. We coordinated the other contractor to come in and remove your sinks, because we told you we would. For the record, we are not licensed plumbers and therefore do not carry liability insurance to cover that type of work. Our guys arrived on the exact day and at the exact time that we told you we would be there. The sinks were self rimming sinks and our salesman told you that we would set the sinks. What we were NOT told was that the sinks were the same ones that were used in the old countertops and that there was 20 year old caulking stuck to the outside perimeter of the sinks. Our installers normally set under mount sinks because they become an inherent part of the counter top and are very difficult to install correctly after the counters are in place. Your type of sink, a self rimming sink, simply sits in the hole that is cut out in the stone and is normally installed by the plumber. The idea of setting the sinks in the hole was NOT the issue. The issue was that your husband insisted that RMS not only install the sinks but that we needed to clean the sinks of the 20 year old caulking and were threatened by your husband with the liability of chipping the sinks if we did so while removing the caulking. He also insisted that my guys hook up the plumbing to the sinks and then tried to talk them into putting the mirrors on the wall! And for the record, after your husband called and though he was incredibly rude to my daughter on the phone, we instructed our installers to stay and clean your old sinks and set them into the counter tops. We are in the business of fabricating and installing counter tops and have a stellar reputation for doing so in the New Mexico marketplace. We are not in the plumbing, mirror/glass or remodeling business. I'm sorry that you feel the need to disparage our company with this post and to criticize our installers for looking out for the best interest of their company. I trust that the quality of the stonework....the fit and finish of what you actually paid for is acceptable, as you make no mention of exactly what it was that was contracted for us to do. As a side note to whomever reviews these posts from Angies List, I would respectfully request that this post be removed from our page as it is a baseless and does not convey any constructive insights for our future customers. Thank you, Scott C. Lardner, President
5.0

12/16/2014


Larry D.

It went smoothly and difficulties were dealt with quickly and professionally.

Description of Work
Installed new kitchen counter top, sink and faucet and also removed old tile and replaced with back splash, then repaired the wall.

Category countertops,home remodeling

5.0

11/09/2014


Maxwell K.

Dealing with this company has been easy. They returned every call, set up appointments based on my schedule (even with as little as a few days notice), and showed up more or less on time. The new countertops look great thanks to a monumental leveling effort by the installers. And the price beat everyone else I looked at.

Description of Work
Granite countertops, new sink.

Category countertops,marble & granite

3.0

09/10/2014


Gail S.

We had used RMS in the past and were pleased with the results. This time, though the granite is beautiful, it was a hassle of scheduling.

Description of Work
Installation of Bathroom and Kitchen Countertops.

Category countertops

    Other local Pros in your area

    Sol O Alire Construction

    Family owned and operated for 20 years in the Albuquerque area. Great afordeble work and professionalism. We are licensed insured and bonded for any residential and commercial needs. Let us assist you with any construction needs and assist you in creating, fixing or just renewing any construction based project in your home or business. Dont forget to ask for the 5% Angieslist discount for new clients thanks!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Mountain Side Contractors, LLC

    Our residential and commercial projects include both new construction and restorations. Our construction company can also plan, manage, and build multi-phase jobs. As a general contractor we specialize in concrete, roofing, framing and masonry. We offer an end-to-end client experience that includes seamless communication, budgeting, staffing, on-site organization, and solid, quality handiwork every time.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Mountain Side Contractors, LLC on Angi
    Empire Yard Maintenance

    We are an award winning Albuquerque based company who pride ourselves on great customer service. We started business in July 2005. Since then we have established a customer base of more than 3000 regular customers. We offer the best price while providing great work. If you are looking for a company who takes pride in their work, shows up on time for estimates and work, gives you the professionalism of a large company while giving you the attention of a small company. Award wining.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    CUSTOM COUNTERTOPS AND LANDSCAPE MATERIALS. SALES AND FABRICATION OF NATURAL STONE PRODUCTS, INCLUDING MARBLE, GRANITE, SLATE, TRAVERTINE, SOAPSTONE AND SANDSTONE, FULL LINE OF BUILDING STONE, NATURAL THIN VENEER, LANDSCAPE MATERIALS, FLAGSTONE, GRAVEL AND BOULDERS.

    Services Not Offered

    LANDSCAPE DESIGN OR INSTALLATION.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc.

    How is Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. overall rated?

    Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. open?

    Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. provide

    Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check

    Does Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc.?

    Yes, Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. offer?

    Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. offers the following services: CUSTOM COUNTERTOPS AND LANDSCAPE MATERIALS. SALES AND FABRICATION OF NATURAL STONE PRODUCTS, INCLUDING MARBLE, GRANITE, SLATE, TRAVERTINE, SOAPSTONE AND SANDSTONE, FULL LINE OF BUILDING STONE, NATURAL THIN VENEER, LANDSCAPE MATERIALS, FLAGSTONE, GRAVEL AND BOULDERS.

    Are there any services Rocky Mountain Stone Co., Inc. does not offer?

    LANDSCAPE DESIGN OR INSTALLATION.