Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC

Founded 2011 • With Angi since August 2012

4.9

(41) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1130 West Chestnut Street P.O. Box 1224

Union, NJ 07083

Description

Asbestos & Mold consulting, testing, surveys, assessments and air monitoring. BioTerra Environmental Solutions works in the consulting/testing field addressing environmental challenges in New Jersey. We have extensive experience with the regulatory process and government laws, coupled with an intricate knowledge of key environmental issues related to asbestos and mold among other related hazardous material. Our job at BioTerra Environmental Solutions is to guarantee that any type of construction, renovation and demolition modification won’t have a negative impact on its environment, surroundings and public safety. There are many federal, state and local regulations to comply with; it’s wise to choose an environmental consulting firm like Bioterra. Our Company will assist with planning, monitoring, testing and ensuring the safety of all individuals. Additional service areas: Union, Warren, Camden & Mercer Counties...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

11/26/2018


John R.

Though listed as such via the website service here on Angie's List the company in question does not do removal or remediation of asbestos. They only test. A bit misleading, but I do not blame the company.

Description of Work
Asbestos removal and remediation

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your opinion and giving us a rate of C without hiring us. Angie's List does not have a category for testing. Therefore Angie's list themselves placed us on the category of removal. But we will always have people like Rigging. As you can see.... My grades speak for themselves..... 39 A's and 2 missing leading C's. Some people just can't be pleased. Next time you have an opinion. Try hiring the company first. me. Riggis [Member Name Removed] called us and we explain we don't provide removal. Before we offered to give him referrals. He said " you're miss leading and wasting my time" my employee felt helpless and hurt for no reason.
5.0

03/22/2018


Simao A.

Everything went very smooth, very professional

Description of Work
asbestos and mold

Category asbestos removal

5.0

03/20/2018


Michael K.

I've been dealing with BioTerra and Rick for many, many years. I've always had a satisfactory and above average relationship with them as far as their work, their products always being on schedule and staying within budgetary constraints.

Description of Work
36,000 sq ft roof removal and interior floor tile and mastic removal, pre-demolition.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

01/12/2018


Katarina A.

BioTerra was on time and courteous. Loved the service and professionalism. Thank you again!

Description of Work
Asbestos testing

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you. It was a pleasure working with you. Thank you for the google review as well.
5.0

01/09/2018


Warren C.

Rick and his team was very prompt, and on the schedule. The turn around time to get my results and reports is the best I received when getting quotes. He was very professional and knowledgeable. All my question were answered and he gave me peace of mind. I highly recommend using his services.

Description of Work
I needed pipe insulation tested in my basement ,and mold assessment done in my home

Category asbestos removal,mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. Always our pleasure. Rick BioTerra
3.0

05/15/2017


Edith W.

They said the asbestos wasn't dangerous. Note: They do not do remediation!

Description of Work
We needed asbestos testing and possible remediation.

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Dear Ms. [Member Name Removed], Asbestos is not dangerous and is a great product. The miss handling and the miss use of asbestos is what causes the problem. Liability and the right to press charges on one another is the cause for asbestos problems. Asbestos is a natural silicate mineral that is found under ground. Asbestos is indestructible, electrical current properties, fire retardant and much more. Asbestos is not dangerous. The miss use and handling of asbestos is where the problem is located. Angie's List not not have an inspection category, therefore they place us on the Removal category. If you read my profile. It does mention we do not do removal. Also, the cost $350 is a very comparative rate, My company has its own EPA/DEP certified inspectors and also, we have our in house certified laboratory. Please, if you have any questions you can contact me. Thank you, Rick E. (973)494.3762 [Hyperlink Removed]
5.0

12/06/2016


Robert J.

Very good price and fast response. Went for a second test after finding discovering a subfloor after the first tile was tested negative. I hope I don't find any more surprises, but if I do, I would contact Rick again.

Description of Work
I had a bunch of samples to test, and was pleased with Rick's service. When I asked for a quote, he gave me a discount over the phone due to the quantity (over 10 tests). I mailed the samples, and got the results via pdf. Very good price and fast response.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

08/15/2016


AULUDYN G.

I called this company and the contact "Rick" was VERY helpful. He stated that his company only does testing, but he referred me to two contractors (Which I shall call) that specializes in removal. He was very nice and helpful and did not push for a 'new test' , in order to generate revenue for himself. I find this very honorable and ethical. Based on my conversation with him, I would recommend this company for any testing you may need for your home.

Description of Work
I needed Asbestos removal

Category asbestos removal

5.0

07/29/2016


Johnny S.

It went very well he was on time and very helpful.

Description of Work
Air and Mold Assessments through the whole House.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

05/07/2016


RYAN W.

Just a note - Rick does not do abatement, he only does testing. Rick is a good guy. He was able to come out and test quickly. He arrived when he said would, explained what he'd be doing, finished testing quickly, and called with the results within the time frame he said he'd have them. An overall good experience with a quality merchant.

Description of Work
Tested vermiculite insulation for asbestos.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

04/24/2016


Scott E.

I called them and they explained they don't do asbestos removal and suggested a contractor that does. Polite and professional.

Description of Work
Note to users: BioTerra does not remove asbestos - they test for it.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

04/18/2016


RANJAN P.

Rick came for the Asbestos Inspection and did a fantastics job.

Description of Work
Rick came for the Asbestos Inspection and did a fantastics job.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

02/02/2016


Scott K.

We had used Bioterra in the past for asbestos air sampling when removing an old floor. We recently had some questions regarding some old piping and Rick came out the next day. Rick looked at the piping and advised that it did not have any asbestos or warrant any testing. As in the past Rick was very flexible, knowledgeable and professional. He takes extra time to answer any and all of your questions. I would recommend Rick to anyone that wants a consultation and/or air sampling.

Description of Work
Rick looked at some old piping to determine if anyone asbestos testing was necessary.

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you! Rick E. [hyperlink removed]
5.0

11/07/2015


Hank G.

I didn't need Bioterra's services, but based on our telephone conversations and the referrals which I was given, I would use Bioterra and would recommend their services.

Description of Work
i called bioterra for guidance in selling a home. rick was very informative, professional and helpful. i highly recommend him.

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you Rick E. [hyperlink removed]
5.0

11/05/2015


Nyron K.

Rick did a great job of being able to scheduling me for the weekend and explained the process in detail while he was setting up his test equipment. The test air pumps had to run for 2 hrs so he left and came back 2 hrs later to pick up the equipment. We were concerned that we would need to run new HVAC ducts that would turn into a huge renovation project. He put our mind to ease by first educating us on what home building components, containing asbestos, are OK to be around and what's unsafe. He also looked around the house for any other signs of asbestos per my request. His gut feel was that we didn't have any asbestos in the air and gave us some tips on adding extra measures to make sure the HVAC stayed safe, which in reality were just things to do to give us a better piece of mind since it was already safe as we got back the test results 2 days later and it confirmed that there was "zero" trace of asbestos in the air...phew!..felt relieved!

Description of Work
Provide Air Quality testing for the main purpose of checking for any asbestos in the air since a part of the HVAC system consists of Asbestos ducts.

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

10/07/2015


Ron S.

Rick was punctual, thorough and patient. He took his time to look around, and answer my questions, and also responded promptly to a question I sent by email. He made sure he understood my questions properly, and carefully examined the areas of concern (roof, AC ducts, piping that had been remediated previously). He also gave me practical advice on how to work around old lead paint, and howto avoid damp and mildew in the basement..

Description of Work
Rick checked the siding of our house to determine if any asbestos testing was necessary. He looked at different spots around the sinding of the house, and didn't see any need for testing. He also looked around and answered questions about different areas of the house, related to asbestos removal and other environmental concerns. He gave me some practical advice and ideas for how best to proceed.

Category asbestos removal,lead paint removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

09/28/2015


Daniela D.

I recently had some tile and ceilings tested for asbestos. Rick was responsive, friendly, and courteous throughout the entire process. He answered all my questions and provided a detailed report, all at a competitive price. I would highly recommend Rick and Bioterra for any testing needs.

Description of Work
Asbestos testing

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

07/10/2015


Margot L.

Rick was very professional, informative, and thorough. He identified all of the areas of mold and helped us understand the process of remediation to get rid of it for good from all affected areas. He also came back to test after remediation had been done. I'd definitely recommend Rick to anyone in need of mold inspection.

Description of Work
Rick tested for mold on surfaces and in the air throughout the condo.

Category asbestos removal,mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you.
5.0

07/08/2015


Alex W.

My wife and I are in the process of purchasing a home and were inquiring about having a test done on tiling and siding. Rick had a lot of great information and was extremely knowledgeable about the testing, treatment and removal of Asbestos. He took the time on the phone to assess the severity of the situation and he put us at ease about the whole situation.

Description of Work
Phone call about Asbestos tile removal.

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you !!
5.0

02/17/2015


Stephanie J.

Great experience, Rick is clearly knowledgeable and professional. It was easy to schedule for a time that worked with my schedule, Rick called about 30 minutes before the appointment to say he would be 10 minutes late (and he was only ~5 minutes late). Rick collected the flooring sample and asked if there was anything I wanted to know about asbestos & mold risks and/or testing. I really appreciated that he offered to do a visual inspection of other areas that might harbor asbestos or mold, without any hint of a pushy sales pitch. He sent a comprehensive report of the asbestos test--with good news that there was no evidence of asbestos.

Description of Work
Take flooring sample, test for asbestos, provide report

Category asbestos removal,mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

02/12/2015


Kyle F.

Rick called back promptly to schedule sampling. Arrived on time (actually several minutes early). He was very friendly and helpful. He also evaluated some carpet mastic/glue that he said would not contain asbestos and also evaluated some vinyl flooring in my kitchen that I am planning on renovating in a few years. Results arrived within 48 hours as claimed and Rick called to confirm that I received the results. Great service. Price seems right, though I don't have a frame of reference. Would recommend to anyone.

Description of Work
evaluated and sampled/submitted possible asbestos containing vinyl tiles and mastic.

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you.
5.0

02/02/2015


Nico W.

Great communication, professionalism and punctuality. Two air samples were taken and I got the results including a detailed report within 24 hours. Couldn't be more satisfied with Rick's service. He explained everything in detail and responded fast to questions. In addition to the air sampling he checked for potential asbestos hazards in my house. I highly recommend Rick for everybody you has concerns with asbestos in the house - he exceeded my expectations.

Description of Work
Took two air samples for airborne asbestos fiber (TEM-Analysis).

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you.
5.0

01/20/2015


Denise B.

Professional. I received a very impressive hard copy & email document explaining all of the parameters of what he would do. He was also very responsive.

Description of Work
Air quality testing.

Category asbestos removal

5.0

11/28/2014


Bill G.

Rick was great. Talked me down off the ledge, explained how to handle possible exposure and answered every question I had. The material in question was negative for asbestos but I am still glad I called as Rick found a pieces of asbestos that I was about to demo. Great guy, very knowledgable and followed through on aspects of the job. I thought the price was quite reasonable as well. Thanks- Bill

Description of Work
2 air tests and one material test

Category asbestos removal

5.0

11/26/2014


Tog S.

Rick was really great. I was in need of someone to take a visual inspection quickly and was fortunate that he was already in the area. He showed up on time and took his time and walked me through the house while explaining everything. Rick is super professional and knowledgable. I definitely recommend BioTerra.

Description of Work
Visual Inspection

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you!

    Other local Pros in your area

    AllStates Restoration and 24 Hour Water, Fire, Smoke, and Mold Damage Cleanup Specialists

    At AllStates Cleaning and Restoration, we understand how important your home or business is to you. So when disaster strikes you must call AllStates Cleaning & Restoration Services. After water damage, or fire damage, or If you smell a musty odor or see mold, or you simply want to improve the healthy atmosphere of your home environment call 732-956-3900.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    CVK Contracting

    With more than 18 years of experience, we've got the knowledge and care to get the job done right! Call or Click for an Estimate Today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    RDC Restoration

    • Award Winning Service • A+ BBB Rating • RDC Restoration has been Proudly Serving New Jersey for nearly 20 Years! • IICRC Certified • Member of N.O.R.M.I. • Specializing in Water Damage Restoration & Mold Services • We are NJ's Top Basement Technologies Waterproofing Dealer • Fully Insured • Insurance billing • Financing Options Available • References Available Upon Request • Call (908) 722-9144 to Schedule a FREE Estimate or Appointment  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Asbestos removal & testing. Mold testing & remediation. Lead testing & removal. Air quality testing. Pollen Count Testing. Other Allergen Testing. VOC Testing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC

    How is BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC overall rated?

    BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC open?

    BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 AM

    What payment options does BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC provide

    BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC?

    Yes, BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC offers warranties.

    What services does BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC offer?

    BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC offers the following services: Asbestos removal & testing. Mold testing & remediation. Lead testing & removal. Air quality testing. Pollen Count Testing. Other Allergen Testing. VOC Testing.

    Are there any services BioTerra Environmental Solutions LLC does not offer?

    Ask for details