Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

TOM MADSEN LLC

Founded 1977 • With Angi since June 2010

4.8

(20) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

Sussex

Sussex, NJ 07461

Description

Tom Madsen LLC is a professional construction contractor located in Sussex County NJ that has served Franklin, Vernon and the surrounding areas with home builder services for over 30 years. We can build room additions, porches, decks and sunroom enclosures that will increase your living space and the value of your home. In addition to our construction services, we also offer siding installation, window replacement, door installation, and fire restoration services. Tom Madsen LLC provides a quality of service that will make all of your home remodeling and renovation dreams come true! Most of all, we are committed to providing customer satisfaction at an affordable price....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/17/2016


Darlene C.

All of the work was performed efficiently and as discussed. Tom's crew, Tim & Tom were here early each day and worked late into afternoon to make it right. They even corrected a project that we did on a wall which didn't come out right. Thank you! All construction debris was removed and area cleaned up each day. In all it took 5 days. We are so happy to have chosen Tom Madsen LLC and definitely would recommend and hire him again. Thank you so much!

Description of Work
We had a rotting Sun porch removed. A new window replaced glass doors in our bedroom and another set of glass doors removed and replaced with a wall. Vinyl siding and gutter installed on facade. Electrical and plumbing worked completed also.

Category electrician,insulation,remodeling,siding,replacement windows

5.0

12/10/2015


Robert J.

The work was completed in a timely manner with the basement renovation being excellent. The laundry room was initially cold in spite of the insulation, however, Mr. Madsen did an upgrade of the heat and now its the warmest room in our house.

Description of Work
Tom Madsen renovated the downstairs and added a laundry room. He made part of the garage into a laundry room.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

.
5.0

09/10/2015


John M.

Tom and his team were fantastic in helping us complete a project, long in the planning. They were knowledgeable, efficient, resourceful, honest and patient, especially as they needed to work with a specialist installer who seemed to create more problems than envisaged. The only thing we would have done different, with benefit of hindsight, would have been to let Tom do the entire job! We'll be looking to use Tom for all of our future projects.

Description of Work
Preparation of structure and final finishing of the installation of a folding glass wall to family room.

Category replacement windows

3.0

10/30/2014


Linda Z.

He never gave us the estimate, and did not return 2 messages left. I was disappointed as I had used him in the past for a new roof, and were quite satisfied.

Description of Work
Came to give us an estimate, and was to call/send a formal written one.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

I initially went to look at work for a bathroom tile repair. I told her we did not do that, but would recommend our tile subcontractor. I put a call to him on their behalf, but she then called back and said she had a friend to do it. I guess the friend was not able to do the work and she called back again. I am not sure if I gave her the tile subcontractor's number directly or not. We always try to fulfill all communications with our customers, and there is always the possibility with the amount of work we look at, that we did not follow up properly. If this was the case, our apologies.
5.0

04/16/2014


Michael W.

Tom's personnel did most of the work, but the electric, insulation, roofing, kitchen tile, plumbing, cabinets, etc. were handled by others. These subcontractors that Tom used were fine, and they were supervised by Tom or one of his folks at all times. The project involved some serious structural aspects, as interior walls were removed, ceilings were vaulted, etc. Tom's carpenter(s) did a great job with the aspect of the project. All the work was first class and in most cases exceeded the specifications. Tom was very responsive to any concerns and / or comments that we had during the process, which lasted for several months. We had no issues with the security of the house / property during the work, and his crew kept the work areas clean and organized. All in all the project went very well. If we were to do something similar in he future, we would certainly give Tom the opportunity to bid on the project.

Description of Work
Tom acted as the GC for a project involving the removal of an out-dated, leaky green house, the reconstruction of that room into a more traditional sun-room, and the remodeling of the kitchen and dining room. A deck was also added off the sun room.

Category decks,drywall,insulation,remodeling,roofing,replacement windows,home remodeling,sunrooms

5.0

03/21/2014


Steven H.

Our cabin was damaged extensively due to a storm. Tom was there when the insurance adjuster arrived. Tom discussed options for repairs with the insurance adjuster. We requested estimates from two other local contractors and decided to go with Tom Madsen. There were some unavoidable delays due to the severe weather including hurricane Irene the next month. The roof rebuild was completed during a break in the weather over the Thanksgiving weekend. Because this repair was to our vacation home we were not there during the winter when the work was underway. Tom communicated with use every step of the way with emails and phone calls. We discussed any additional work or improvements as the work progressed The prices quoted for the work was the price we paid. Minor problems arose after the job was completed and were addressed in a timely fashion. Tom Madsen and his crew are true professionals.

Description of Work
Rebuilt walls,rebuilt the roof-added a small addition, rewired the cabin and replaced the electrical service panel.

Category electrician,remodeling,roofing,replacement windows

5.0

10/24/2012


Eva W.

He is very friendly, accommodating and very experienced.

Description of Work
He installed a bathroom, rec room and basement.

Category remodeling,genealogy

5.0

09/13/2012


Robin D.

Mr Madsen called me right back to set up an appointment. He came on time, was polite, professional and straightforward. Although we did not have him replace the windows and doors, I would use him in the future for other projects.

Description of Work
Mr. Madsen came for an estimate for doors and windows.

Category replacement windows,doors

3.0

08/23/2012


James P.

Overall the end product was very good the only drawback was time and for the price Ia paid expected more. They did find some rot and took care of that before siding. I would think of using them again with a more time restraint contract.

Description of Work
Did nice work but took 4 months to complete. Only had one man do the job and not everyday.the installer was very nice and pleasant and did nice work.

Category siding,replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Customer was a pleasure to work with and the time frame it took was longer than it should have. Our installer was purchasing a home at the time which contributed to the length of time it took us to finish. There quite a bit of rotted wood we ran into which Also lengthened the time frame of the job as well. When someone hires us, they have certain expectations both with quality and a reasonable time to finish and we are sorry to have disappointed the member. Our siding installer does work by himself and this has always worked for us. We will be looking to make improvements on this in the future and want to thank him for his input.
5.0

07/31/2012


Amy T.

He was good. The doors are still working fine. He is a general contractor and we would recommend him. We would use him again.

Description of Work
We used Tom Madsen to put in new screen doors and a new kitchen entry door.

Category doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Vinyl Master Home Improvement

    For years, our goal has been to ensure the complete satisfaction of every customer, while offering knowledgeable and friendly service at competitive rates. We know that you have a variety of choices in roofing, windows, siding and masonry contractors in the area, but our abilities will go above and beyond your expectations. We have the experience to provide nearly any type of roofing, windows, siding or masonry service that you require. Nothing is ever set in stone, because we can accommodate custom requests at any time. Please take a moment to browse through our site to learn more about our company and how we can show you the Vinyl Master Home Improvement difference.  

    B-Tec Electric Co LLC

    B-Tec Electric Co LLC is an independent electrical contractor specializing in residential and light commercial electrical service and installations. We are fully licensed, bonded, and insured independent electrical contractors based in New Jersey. We are a family owned & operated business, servicing Morris County as well as Sussex County since 1993.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Alte Roofing

    NEW CUSTOMER OFFERS AVAILABLE FOR FALL: $50 OFF first gutter cleaning for new customers, must sign up for ongoing silver, gold or platinum package OR $100 OFF a full gutter replacement, cannot be combined with any other offer. Exterior Remodeling for over 20 years. For over 20 years, we valued each and every customer and their homes, like it was our own by using premium quality products with warranty and applying highest standards for craftsmanship with licensed professionals. Alte Roofing has an "A" rating with the NJ Better Business Bureau. Although exterior remodeling have evolved to provide more innovative products in the last 20 years, the mindset of our customers still remains the same, protect your most valuable asset, your home. That’s right, we offer financing on Roof Installation! - Premium Products: We only use the best quality products and material in the industry that have Industry Best Warranty. - 20 Years of experience: We have more than 20 years of experience in the exterior remodeling industry within licensed and insured professionals - GAF Master Elite Certified: We are proud to be a part of the 2% of roofing companies to hold such high standards.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Home Additions Sunrooms Basement Finishing Decks and Patios Roofing Window Replacements Siding Installation and Repair Door Replacements

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about TOM MADSEN LLC

    How is TOM MADSEN LLC overall rated?

    TOM MADSEN LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are TOM MADSEN LLC open?

    TOM MADSEN LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does TOM MADSEN LLC provide

    TOM MADSEN LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available

    Does TOM MADSEN LLC offer free estimates?

    No, TOM MADSEN LLC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does TOM MADSEN LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, TOM MADSEN LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does TOM MADSEN LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, TOM MADSEN LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by TOM MADSEN LLC?

    Yes, TOM MADSEN LLC offers warranties.

    What services does TOM MADSEN LLC offer?

    TOM MADSEN LLC offers the following services: Home Additions Sunrooms Basement Finishing Decks and Patios Roofing Window Replacements Siding Installation and Repair Door Replacements