Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Mr. Handyman of S. Orange/Westfield/Scotch Plains & Metuchen

4.7

(470) Verified Reviews

Founded 2008 • With Angi since May 2009

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Licensed
Trade License Number
13VH09897400
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Company Contact

499 Morris Ave

Springfield, NJ 07081

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

As of 5/15 we are doing both inside and outside work following strict CDC guidelines. You can expect 'red glove' service with Technicians wearing masks, gloves, booties and staying a socially distant 6ft away.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Winner of the 2019 Angie's List Super Service Award, a winner nine out of the past 10 years. We are a locally owned family business supported by a national franchise company which is North America's most trusted handyman company, For more than 15 years we've consistently hired experienced, reliable craftsmen​ (not sub-contractors) who are licensed, insured, bonded and background checked. That means you'll receive consistently high quality work that is 100% guaranteed. What sets us apart​: Mr. Handyman's professionals arrive in branded uniforms and vans that are stocked with every tool they'll need for your job. Our on-time record is second to none, and we arrive ready to work. One phone call to Mr. Handyman hires professionals who complete your entire "To Do" list. Every task whether major or minor home repair is prioritized according to your needs. Rather than calling a specialist for drywall repair and another contractor for rain gutter repair, your neighbors consistently choose us for all their home improvement needs. Mr. Handyman can complete a variety of projects for you, from installing doors, to tiling your bathroom, repairing your deck and much more....

Verified Reviews

4.7

(470) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

376

4

52

3

13

2

9

1

20

Rating Details

Price

4.3

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

handyman (404)door installation (89)woodworking (89)drywall (65)general contractors (36)interior painting (35)lighting (32)window replacement (28)house painting (27)tile installation (26)flooring (25)siding companies (23)
Showing 1-10 of 470 reviews
5.0

06/28/2021

Great service! They were on time, professional and worked all day. The cost was expensive, however, it was an expensive outdoor kitchen and it was installed without a scratch! The team is very communicative and answered all of my questions. They went above and beyond, call the manufacturer when I couldn't answer a question. I highly recommend this team and I will definitely use them in the future!

Description of Work
Installed my RTA Outdoor Kitchen with Pizza Oven

Category appliance repair,handyman service

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2021

Images

Review for Mr. Handyman of S. Orange/Westfield/Scotch Plains & Metuchen - 499 Morris Ave, Springfield, NJ - 39386287
5.0

06/11/2021

The services provided were done in the most efficient manner. Workmen were polite and professional. Communication with team members was top notch and responsive. I would use Handy Man of So. Or, Westfield, Scotch Plains, and Metuchin for any repairs I need. I am sure you will be equality satisfied should you chose to use them.

Description of Work
Stair hand rail an deck power wash, stain and reginish

Category appliance repair,decks,deck cleaning,pressure washing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2021

Images

Review for Mr. Handyman of S. Orange/Westfield/Scotch Plains & Metuchen - 499 Morris Ave, Springfield, NJ - 39365725

+5 More

1.0

06/02/2021

I had a truly MISERABLE experience with Mr. Handyman. I called Mr. Handyman and spoke to one of the administrators about wanting to demo an existing shed, and build a new one. They asked for what the shed should look like and some details, I provided a few photos of a relatively run-of-the-mill red barn style shed, they gave me a quote for a shed for $2500, and they put me on the schedule. The pri...

Description of Work
Shed Demolition and New Build

Category garage builders

Cost $7,248.75

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/02/2021

Images

Review for Mr. Handyman of S. Orange/Westfield/Scotch Plains & Metuchen - 499 Morris Ave, Springfield, NJ - 39354107

+5 More

Service Provider Response

We work hard everyday to over deliver to our customers, and in this case we fell short and want to apologize and take responsibility. We take pride in our work, communication and cleanliness, and believe we could have done better especially with communication on your job. We’ve been in business more than 14 years and stayed in business because of our exceptional and consistent service so this revi...
5.0

03/18/2021

Brian, our technician, was fantastic! He was friendly, professional, and answered all of our questions. He was very clear about what work needed to be done and what work didn't need to be done – he looked out for us and did his best to save us money. The office is also very responsive, and scheduling was easy.

Description of Work
Several odd jobs around the house

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review. We will be sure to share it with Brian. We are most excited to hear that Brian looked out for you. That's what we are always striving to do.
5.0

03/16/2021

Better than we hoped for. Looks like new, is solid and even reduced drafts.

Description of Work
An outdoor window frame completely replaced.

Category picture framing,woodworking

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2021

Service Provider Response

Better than you hoped for is the best review of all to receive. Thank you so much for your review. We will be sure to share with your Technician.
5.0

01/15/2021

It went very well. James was a professional and very accommodating and was able to address all my concerns. Thank you for sending him over

Description of Work
Clean up gutters and connect some missing parts

Category appliance repair,gutter cleaning,gutter repair

Cost $345

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2021

Service Provider Response

James is a true professional. We will be sure to share this review with James. Thank you for taking the time to leave it. It means the world to our business.
5.0

01/11/2021

Great! Responsible, reasonable and great attention to detail.

Description of Work
Repair damage from a ceiling leak

Category handyman service,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2021

Service Provider Response

Attention to detail is so important in our business. We will be sure to share this review with your Technician. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It means the world to our business.
5.0

01/02/2021

Work was more extensive than expected, but the technician was very clear and communicative with how work was progressing throughout the process. I was not left in the dark as to what was done or still needed to be done. I am very happy with the experience working with Mr Handyman.

Description of Work
Ceiling Drywall

Category drywall

Cost $2,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/24/2020

Service Provider Response

Communication is key to our working well with clients. We will be sure to share this review with your Technician. Thank you for taking the time to leave it.
5.0

12/31/2020

Dean deserves the highest praise for the amazing work he did replacing my front entry door and storm door. I have an old house, and the doorway was very drafty and damaged. The job itself presented many challenges, but Dean was undaunted. He figured out solutions at every turn and put in the extra time and effort that were required to get this job done. Dean's expertise cannot be overstated. I hav...

Description of Work
Front entryway door and storm door replacement

Category appliance repair,doors

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/17/2020

Service Provider Response

Dean is an amazing professional. He specializes in door replacement. We will be sure to share this review with him. Thank you for taking the time to leave it. It means the world to our business.
5.0

12/30/2020

painting and replacing casing in powder room. Regrouting of kitchen tiles. Caulking and grouting in bathroom and securing towel bar to wall.

Description of Work
First time using Mr. Handyman service and was very satisfied with the work and their prompt response and follow through. The technician Dean Anderson was very knowledgeable, had good attention to detail, helpful, did excellent work, and pleasure to work with. I would definitely recommend him and Mr. Handyman service and hire again for other projects.

Category handyman service,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/1970

Service Provider Response

Happy to help you with your list of projects. We will be sure to share this review with your Technician. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It means the world to us!

Services Offered

Handyman - Drywall, Gutter Repair, Bathroom Tile, Deck Repair, Concrete Pouring & Repair, Masonry, Bathroom Renovations, Siding, Carpentry, Powerwashing, Picture Hanging, Assembling, Locks, Windows, Leaks, Painting, Grab Bars, Faucets, Pet Doors, Caulking, Curtain Rods, Shed Building, Crown Molding, Dryer Vents, Fascia Board, Wood Rot, Framing, Flower Boxes, Bookcases, Skylights, Appliance Installation, Smoke Detectors, Hand Rails, Porches, Screens & New Doors.

Services Not Offered

Ask for Details

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
MasterCard, Check, Visa, Discover, American Express
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Yes