Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GRC Mechanical Services

Founded 1948 • With Angi since October 2007

4.8

(106) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

244 Green St

South Hackensack, NJ 07606

Description

Since 1948 GRC Mechanical Services has been designing, installing and servicing quality air conditioning, refrigeration and heating systems for residential, commercial and industrial clients in Bergen, Passaic, Essex, Morris and Hudson counties in New Jersey and Rockland County, New York. Whether replacing or repairing your existing heating or A/C equipment or installing a complete new system, GRC Mechanical Services will design and install a custom solution to meet your needs with a focus on comfort and efficiency. The products we service include installation and repair of residential and commercial air conditioning systems, gas furnaces, boilers, heat pumps, commercial refrigeration systems, wine cellars, and generators, specializing in quality Carrier® equipment....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/23/2021


Charles G.

When we bought a three-bedroom house, we were told the previous owners had considered central air conditioning but didn't want to spend $35K. We did get a proposal from another company, specifying one unit in the basement and one in the attic to cool the first and second floors respectively. Since we didn't want holes in our hardwood floors, there would have to be extensive ductwork in the first floor walls. The price was $35,550. We then realized that the compressors and heat exchangers were manufactured not by Carrier, Lennox, or Trane, but by the HVAC installer itself. We weren’t about to spend $35K on a “house brand”. Tim from GRC pointed out that we only needed a single unit in the attic. Ductwork could be run through closets to cool the first floor from vents in the ceiling. Only one small section of wall on the second floor would have to be opened and repaired. Total price for top-of-the-line Carrier variable-speed equipment: $23,020. The installation was as prompt and unobtrusive as we could have wished. Our A/C is so quiet only the cool air and the thermostat let us know it’s on. We subsequently used GRC to install a gas-powered generator. Needless to say, we have recommended GRC to all who have asked.

Description of Work
Central A/C installation; gas-powered generator

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

12/12/2020


Debbie S.

Three service called, unnecessary roof work completed, and was mud-diagnosed from the 1st visit. Thousands of dollars doesn’t and it’s still not fixed. I’ve called them and they will not respond to my concerns and actually fix the issue. No way would I recommend them. Very bad experience.

Description of Work
Repair heating

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/23/2019


Vincent K.

It went incredible. Would work with again and recommend.

Description of Work
A/C Installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/24/2018


JP S.

Fantastic service and just as important, excellent communication. We recently purchased a house with central air, and of course during the hottest period in August 2018, the AC stopped working. The Trane unit is only a year old and should be under warranty, but attempting to track down that warranty through the former owners, original installer, and Trane led to a dead end. After doing my typical search through Angie's List & HomeAdvisor, I came across GRC Mechanical. Joe promptly called me & set up an appointment to diagnose the issue. It turned out the Trane unit had a bad TXV (thermal expansion valve). It was actually a manufacturer's defect, but Trane refused to honor it. At the end of our rope due to the house consistently holding at 82-84 degrees indoors, I told Joe to order the part. In 3 days they were back, installing it and getting our AC running again. They were great and I would absolutely hire again.

Description of Work
TXV valve replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

08/23/2018


Gerard Q.

They responded quickly, diagnosed the problem quickly however since our central AC system is 20 years old they had to have the defective part shipped which took several days. The cost of the part (air handler motor) plus the initial service call totaled over $1400 which we thought was excessive. The repair took less than 1/2 hour to accomplish. We agreed to the price because they are an authorized dealer for our system. Since the repair our system is operating normally.

Description of Work
Central AC needed repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/06/2018


Michael V.

On time. On budget. Very professional.

Description of Work
Replaced AC system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/22/2018


Richard G.

They were fast and responsive and professional. Costs provided up front in two step. First cost for diagnostic visit. Then they provided price for the required service. Then they got the service done in under 1 day. No cost surprises. No problems. No waiting around.

Description of Work
Peerless Purefire Boiler Repairs

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

12/24/2017


Valentine V.

Came in less than 2 hours on weekend

Description of Work
The furnace went out at the worst possible time

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/30/2017


Cynthia S.

John was extremely pleasant to work with. He looked at our existing system, listened to our concerns and questions and explained all of our options. He spend a great deal of time with us and was very kind and helpful. The day the work was to start, the workers showed up on time, were very neat and professional. They showed up everyday at the same time and worked the entire day. Everyone at the company was an absolute pleasure to deal with. Would highly recommend this company. It was one of the best experiences we have ever had. When the town inspector came, he even commented that the job was very well done.

Description of Work
Needed a new central air conditioning system including new duct work.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/10/2017


Judy W.

Tim was great. Knew the problem, fixed it and went over maintenance with us in case it happens again. Was worth every penny.

Description of Work
There was a problem with our HVAC unit during inspection. We hired GRC to come and let us know the problem.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/23/2017


Carolina C.

Resolved quickly and price was reasonable

Description of Work
Central A/C was not working

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

08/02/2017


Josephine M.

although equipment was sound and installers were professional...they never pulled the proper permits - although they said they did....caused a lot of issues with our town and more costs and time.

Description of Work
two new ductless units for a/c and heat

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

07/05/2017


John C.

Well--they are very professional, but pricey.

Description of Work
A/C & heating maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/03/2017


Dana P.

The team was great and the cleanest vendor that has ever been in my house. They showed up when they said they would, they were tidy, they covered everything, and they were very pleasant. They even worked around our issue of pulling an oil tank in the middle of their install, and came back to put the condenser outside after the tank work was complete. They showed us how to use the systems, walked us through how the air recycles, and why they recommended the 2 different type of systems in our house. It's nice to have one temperature in the entire house. It's so quiet that I can hear the noise on the street again, which the old window air conditioner drowned out. I can also stand next to the condenser outside and not hear it- I still hear my neighbor's condenser 20 feet away over my condenser (which is the small box now). I would highly, highly recommend them.

Description of Work
We had central air installed in our 100 year old house, 3 mini-splits on the first floor (in each room on the wall) and 4 vents on the second floor ceiling (4 rooms) with an air handler/ducts in the attic to feed the 2nd floor. We did not lose any closet space, have no new bulk-heads, only lost unusable space in the attic. The units are so quiet I can never tell that they are on.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/16/2017


Andrew R.

I purchased a diagnostic service call on my 3 systems through Angie's list at what seemed an unbelievable price. They came and serviced the units at what is probably market and credited back the amount billed through Angie's list, which was far less than the charge. Perhaps it is somewhat of a come-on but I think they did a thorough job.

Description of Work
Service my 3 AC systems

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/17/2017


Sachiko O.

Very nice person. He checked everything we were supposed to know. Good price through this website.

Description of Work
AC check-up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/20/2017


Sam B.

Smooth. The technician was knowledgeable and communicated well with me. Their secretary is a terrific saleswoman. :)

Description of Work
Heat intermittently would stop working from one of two furnaces. They found a problem (and we hoped it would solve the problem) and it appears that it did. They also cleaned up my humidifier in my other furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/06/2017


Asher G.

They problem and they charged me exactly what they said they would. There was no over-billing! They were very prompt and had great customer service!

Description of Work
They unclogged a pipe

Category plumbing

4.0

12/30/2016


Howard F.

They came and told us how much it would be and did the work, but then they called and said it would be more because they forgot to charge us for a valve. They did the repair well.

Description of Work
The did a bunch of work on our boiler. They put a new tank in and some valves and things.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/13/2016


Joanne M.

Great. Done in a snap. Guy was respectful of my lack of knowledge and explained everything thoroughly, letting me know what to look out for.

Description of Work
Repair HVAC

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

12/07/2016


Saurin G.

The work was performed well and to satisfaction. Good yes, courteous.

Description of Work
I use GRC Mechanical Services for heating and a/c services. There was a tune up that was done the tune up service was for about $60.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

10/26/2016


Michal D.

Technician was very friendly. Explained proper way of maintaining a steam boiler. Also told me I needed to replace a few components which I was ok with. This included the low water cut off, pig tail pipe, sight glass and rollout switch. It was odd, I thought, that when I asked the technician several times how much more or less this may cost so I have an idea, he wouldn't tell me. He said the price of the low water cut off fluctuates!!! I was told I'll have the quote emailed the next day or two. When I didn't receive it, I called to see what the quote was. $1388!!!! to change out those 4 parts and pour chemicals in to clean boiler and pipes. I looked up those parts online and found that they only cost $295, and that's list price. I'm sure GRC gets them for much less. Prices I found online: New Low water Cut off - $225 New brass pig tail - $40 New sight glass (7" long and 5/8" OD) - $7.99 New rollout switch - $21.99 I respect a quality business and that is why I joined Angie's List in the first place. But to charge over $1000 for 2-3 hours of labor is absolutely outrageous. Also, I see that a lot of the time the response is that it costs money to send a fully stocked, insured truck to the customer. If that is the case, then why couldn't I have most of those parts replaced right there with the service. After all, it IS a maintenance service not a request for quote. I can understand if the technician didn't have the low-water cut off on the truck (although it is a very popular one), but the other parts are VERY common parts. Sight glass, pig tail and rollout switch are very similar on most boilers and should have been (or probably are) stored on the truck. All in all, my opinion is that the company seems like a reputable one with knowledgeable technicians, but if they can overcharge someone, they will. Make sure to get other quotes and compare before committing. Service call cost $189+ tax

Description of Work
Had maintenance service performed on my steam boiler.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/11/2016


Anne V S.

Technician was very friendly and explained how the system works and what I need to do to maintain it. Very happy with the service.

Description of Work
Had GRC come and do annual maintenance on my furnace and turn on steam heat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/26/2016


Charles P.

John Russengeger came by and gave us an estimate this morning. He was very thorough, he measured the house to insure the unit we were replacing was the correct size for our home. John answered all of my questions and explained exactly what work will be performed. GRC was the third estimate we received and will most likely have them do the work. The other contractors just weren't as thorough and were trying to pressure us to commit or they were going to raise the price in15 days. I will continue this review once all work is complete.Being in the northeast and the cold weather starting we are currently using the heat and considering holding off until next spring.

Description of Work
Central a.c. and air handler replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/23/2016


Elizabeth C.

It went excellent. Problem was solved.

Description of Work
I needed my central air conditioning fixed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Wayne Refrigeration Air & Heat

    Wayne Refrigeration Air Conditioning Heating is a family owned and operates on basic principles of honesty. excellence, integrity and complete customer satisfaction by doing the job right the first time.  

    All Day & Night Services

    At ALL DAY & NIGHT SERVICES, we have years of experience providing paramount & industry leading heating, air conditioning, and plumbing services in New Jersey. Serving more than 5 counties, we let our work speak for itself. We’re available 24/7 to deliver exceptional service and make it our #1 priority to satisfy our customers and fulfill our promises. When you choose ALL DAY & NIGHT SERVICES, You are not simply choosing a contractor to do the job, you are choosing an established and visionary company that does the job the right way every time. NOTE: WE DO NOT SERVICE OR INSTALL WALL UNITS NOR DO WE SERVICE THESE AREAS: HOBOKEN, NORTH BERGEN, WEEHAWKEN, UNION CITY, WEST NEW YORK OR JERSEY CITY.  

    Liberty Heating & Air Conditioning LLC

    We are a family owned business. Here at Liberty, we treat each and every customer as if they were part of our family, not just a service call. Liberty is a full service, heating, air conditioning (HVAC) company. We provide top quality, low cost HVAC service for both residential and commercial properties. Your emergency is our emergency.  

    Offers by Liberty Heating & Air Conditioning LLC on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    19HC00091600
    Trade License Locale
    New Jersey
    Trade License Authority
    New Jersey: General
    Trade License Expiration
    06/30/2024
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check
    Senior Discount
    0%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Sales and service of heating, cooling- ac products. Such as gas furnaces, boilers, central a/c, duct work, ventilation, humidification, air quality, pool heaters, wine cellar cooling products, ductless heating & cooling solutions. We sale and service generators.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about GRC Mechanical Services

    How is GRC Mechanical Services overall rated?

    GRC Mechanical Services is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are GRC Mechanical Services open?

    GRC Mechanical Services is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does GRC Mechanical Services provide

    GRC Mechanical Services accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check

    Does GRC Mechanical Services offer free estimates?

    No, GRC Mechanical Services does not offer free project estimates.

    Does GRC Mechanical Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, GRC Mechanical Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does GRC Mechanical Services offer a senior discount?

    Yes, GRC Mechanical Services offers a 0% senior discount.

    Does GRC Mechanical Services offer emergency services?

    Yes, GRC Mechanical Services offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by GRC Mechanical Services?

    Yes, GRC Mechanical Services offers warranties.

    What services does GRC Mechanical Services offer?

    GRC Mechanical Services offers the following services: Sales and service of heating, cooling- ac products. Such as gas furnaces, boilers, central a/c, duct work, ventilation, humidification, air quality, pool heaters, wine cellar cooling products, ductless heating & cooling solutions. We sale and service generators.