Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil

Founded 1974 • With Angi since December 2004

4.7

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10 Broad St

Riverton, NJ 08065

Description

Ward Heating, Cooling and Heating Oil (aka Austermuhl and Ward) is one of the most respected HVAC firms in South Jersey. With a history dating back to 1863, our family owned business practices high standards of workmanship, serves the community and educates our customers on conservation and energy sustainability. All employees have been trained under factory supervision and are certified. Additional DBAs - Austermuhl & Ward Heating & Cooling, Ward Fuel Co....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/28/2018


Zena M.

After sweltering through too many NJ summers without central air, my husband and I decided to put in a proper AC system this year. Since our house was built in the 1920s with radiant heat (no ducting) and almost no closets (where one might hide such ducting), we knew it was going to be a big, complicated job, and thought we'd need something like high-velocity AC. Tom came out, took a look at our situation, and explained a number of different options, finally designing a system ideal for this peculiar old house: dual Mitsubishi units (one in the basement, to cool the first floor, and one in the attic, to cool the second), with all ducting confined to the utility spaces. He accommodated our schedule for installation exactly as we requested it, was up front about costs, and didn't go over budget (he even upgraded a portion of the system at no additional cost to us). Perhaps best of all, his team was amazing: his guys (especially Mark and Jason!) were punctual, professional, patient, they explained everything as they went along, and they consulted me if they needed to make a change. They were also incredibly neat; they put down canvas to protect my (beloved) wood floors, and managed to do five days' worth of significant construction without doing any damage. They didn't even scuff the paint in our (super narrow) hallway, going up and down to the attic. And they installed a system that makes our basement and attic look very sleek and space age. I am always impressed by people who are good at what they do, and these guys are the best!

Description of Work
installation of AC

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Once again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to work for you! We also appreciate you taking the time to post this wonderful review. It's always rewarding for all of us at Ward Heating and Air to hear that their hard-work was recognized. Best regards, Dee Ward
5.0

09/21/2017


R S M.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/20/2017


Paul D.

Very well. Two technicians arrived as promised and completed most of the work the first day, A second day was required because we had some old duct work removed and the new compressor unit moved to a new location. Both men were courteous and cleaned up the job site like it had never happened.

Description of Work
Replace old gas furnace and central air compressor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/03/2016


Debbie C.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/05/2015


Debbie C.

Sometimes my heater would work and sometimes it wouldn't, for hours at a time. I finally called Ward Tuesday morning when it hadn't been working all night. Hal came over almost immediately, diagnosed the problem in less than five minutes, replaced my thermostat, and the heater has been working fine ever since. He was very polite, helpful, friendly and professional, and I was very pleased.

Description of Work
Replaced thermostat so that my heater would work.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/17/2014


Ed D.

Description of Work
Installed split AC/heatpump units first floor; conventional AC unit in attic for second floor. Generally very good; a few goofs that were quickly fixed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

10/07/2013


lynda G.

Bad service, disconnected wires in the heater (and did not tell us) to make it non-functioning so we needed another service call. Called to complain and they seemed like they didn't want any responsibility.

Description of Work
called for a home inspection issue

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

The details you omitted: You were selling this house and requested that we certify your HVAC equipment. Certification requires that our company state in writing that all HVAC is "in good condition and safe " for use. Your heater was NOT safe. We made our recommendations to you, but because you were selling this home you didn't want to invest in the HVAC system. Both your response and reaction were unreasonable and we feared you would continue to run the system or worse - not inform the new owner about the heater's condition . Normally we would Red Tag a system, but you clearly intended to override this action. Lastly, when you called our office, it wasn't a lack of responsibility for our actions we would not support but the fact that we wouldn't support unethical action of neglect. As an HVAC contractor since 1974, we have many responsibilities to our customer's and one is to keep them Safe.
5.0

08/05/2013


Maureen M.

Everything went fine. While working on the system they put the fan on and I thought the unit was running and not producing cool air. We had an appointment for them to come back but I realized the fan was "on" not on auto. As soon as I changed it the problem was resolved. We called to cancel the appointment but were very pleased that they were willing to come back so soon after being here to help us resolve the problem. They are reliable and dependable as we have used their services in the past and they are always on time.

Description of Work
AC unit was running but no air was coming out. They checked both units and one had a bad blower. They replaced it and in no time I had my AC running. This happened during one of our recent heat waves and of course on a weekend. Since we had used their services before they put us in for the first appointment that Monday morning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/22/2013


Lynn L.

Work was done professionally. Equipment and work was explained fully. The provider himself came to inspect the job when it was finished. A thank card was received after the job was finished.

Description of Work
instlled a gas furnice and a/c system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/05/2012


Emile N.

just moved in town and wanted to be sure heatring system was in good shape for the winter -stopped at office, got a nice greeting was called in a few hours with an appt set up for the next morning at 8 Sal came over right on time the next morning and spent the time to explain the system and it's condition to me, cleaned furnace and filters and went back to shop and brought 2 filters/wicks for the hunidifier as well Extremely satisfied! will use in summer for air,and yearly inspections or any service I may need Thanks!

Description of Work
inspection , cleaning, of gas forced air heater with in line humidifier

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/05/2012


Walter M.

I was told by a heating and air company that I used for the past four or five years that they could not replace my Apollo Hydro hot water tank. They were unable to find a replacement. I called several other companies and was blown off. I then called Ward and Tom (the owner) came out within 30 minutes. He was a true professional. He told me that he can replace it. The work was later performed by Sal and a helper. They were both very professional. The quality of the work was excellent and I would use them again.

Description of Work
Replaced an Apollo hydro hot water tank

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

12/13/2011


Derek V.

They were good about being responsive, punctual, and professional.

Description of Work
I used Austermuhl & Ward 2 for air duct cleaning months ago.

Category air duct cleaning

5.0

03/01/2011


R S M.

AUSTERMUHL and WARD's work went very well. they are neat and prompt. i will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
AUSTERMUHL & WARD changed the duct work.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

5.0

07/13/2010


Sarah A.

We've used them a couple of times. They are reliable, they fit us in our schedule and I like that they are local, they are right around the corner. The pricing seems fair.

Description of Work
Ward fixed our central air.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/22/2009


R S M.

I have used them for twenty years. They are local, responsive, and fair. Their service has been timely, accurate, and fairly priced. They come right away and are punctual. I have actually used them for a system redesign when I moved into a new house in town and they did that job quite well.

Description of Work
The heating & A/C company came over to fix a heating problem.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/22/2008


JOAN M.

They are very fair and honest. I have thought about installing a A/C system. They honestly advised me to reconsider due to the price. They do quality work, and they respond very quickly.

Description of Work
They installed my gas heater and service it every year. They removed old heater and did new duct work.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

04/19/2006


JOANNE L.

MECHANIC WAS GOOD, BUT EQUIPMENT DID NOT COOL VERY WELL FOR THREE WEEKS. DIFFERENT MECHANICS FOUND THAT THE HELPER INSTALLED EXPANSION VALVE BACKWARDS. NEW MECHANIC CORRECTED THE PROBLEM AND SYSTEM WORKED FINE.

Description of Work
REMOVED OLD HEATING & A/C SYSTEM, DUCT WORK & HUMIDIFIER. REPLACED WITH HIGH (93%)EFFICIENCY UNIT. MODIFIED DUCT WORK TO FIT NEW EQUIPMENT.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/26/2006


RITA G.

The company was prompt in giving me an appointment to have the work done, the gentleman was courteous, neat and preformed the work to my satisfaction. He arrived when he said he would.

Description of Work
Ward Fuel Company checked both of my heaters and winterized the heating system. In addition to the winterizing, they also checked my gas fireplace and ignited the pilot light.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

12/01/2004


LORI B.

WE CHECKED FREON AND WE ALSO CHECKED THE THERMOSTAT SEVERAL TIMES AND MADE ADJUSTMENTS. WHEN THEY CAME OUT THEY PLAYED WITH IT AND IT CAME ON. THEY WERE HERE 5 MIN. AND STILL CHARGED FOR HOUSE CALL.

Description of Work
AIR CONDITIONING UNIT WAS NOT OPERATING.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Advanced Aardvark Air Duct and Carpet Cleaning Co.

    Advanced Aardvark is owned & operated by a volunteer Fire Chief, serving over 25 years he knows the importance and safety of clean air and vents, also knowing dryer vents is a leading cause of house fires. We have many years of experience in the industry, our job is to provide you with a healthier and safer environment within your home.  

    CARRFORD HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING

    ADDITIONAL # (856) 223-9600.  

    Affordable Squeaky Clean, LLC

    Specializing in AIR DUCT CLEANING, DRYER VENT CLEANING, POWERWASHING AND WINDOW CLEANING AND GUTTER CLEANING AND REPAIR SERVICES! We always guarantee your satisfaction and won’t leave until the job is done right. We take pride in ourselves and on the quality work we provide, while always delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered, then call --or-- click to schedule a free estimate today! WE SERVICE NJ,PA AND DELAWARE!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Visa, Check, American Express, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial installation oil heat, boilers, central air conditioning, high velocity, ductless, fuel oil delivery, humidifiers, electronic air cleaners, purification & gas water heaters.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil

    How is Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil overall rated?

    Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil open?

    Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil provide

    Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Visa, Check, American Express, Financing Available

    Does Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil offer free estimates?

    Yes, Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil offers free project estimates.

    Does Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil offer emergency services?

    Yes, Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil?

    No, Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil does not offer warranties.

    What services does Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil offer?

    Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil offers the following services: Residential and commercial installation oil heat, boilers, central air conditioning, high velocity, ductless, fuel oil delivery, humidifiers, electronic air cleaners, purification & gas water heaters.

    Are there any services Ward Heating Central Air Conditioning And Fuel Oil does not offer?

    Ask for details.