Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS

Founded 1948 • With Angi since June 2010

4.8

(42) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10 Colfax Ave

Pompton Lakes, NJ 07442

Description

The best way to describe HANS’ KITCHENS & BATHS is to present you with a brief history of our organization. Hans Fichtler, C.K.D., founded HANS’ KITCHENS & BATHS in 1948. He was dedicated to creating a company that provided quality craftsmanship and making a name for himself in the community where he planned on raising his family. Through the years his family has carried on his dedication to provide the community with high quality services & products. Glenn Corrigan, President, and Don Fichtler, Vice President at HANS’ KITCHENS & BATHS had the opportunity to learn from the best. Each possess at least 30 years experience. They both started at the bottom of the ladder, as helpers in their father’s shop. And have achieved success over the years, after proven dedication and hard work. Not many in business nowadays have had the advantage of gaining knowledge from hands on experience. With this many years in the business, we at HANS KITCHENS & BATHS are able to provide you with uncompromisable value. Karen Huette allied member ASID is our design specialist; she came to us 6 years ago. Having spent years abroad, she designs with international flare. She loves a challenge, and is great with those difficult to design areas. She takes into consideration aesthetic appearance as well as function. Our reputation has been built on customer satisfaction. We cater specifically to your needs using both experience and innovation to make your home as special as you are....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/30/2021


Diane D H.

He never followed through. I sent him pictures from my iPhone as he requested. I haven’t heard from him.

Description of Work
Cabinet door hinges

Category custom cabinets

Service Provider Response

Our business is not a service company while we try to help people out finding parts to fix their cabinets. Over the years hinges have changed many times over and i was not able to help this person find a replacement hinges for cabinets we did not supply or install.
5.0

02/27/2020


Gordon W.

Work completed much faster than expected. Very easy to work with and did a great job on an old cabinet.

Description of Work
N/A

Category custom cabinets

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for selecting us. I'm glad everything worked out as planned. Glenn
5.0

09/01/2018


Lucelle K.

Great work. I recently had a bathroom updated by Hans Kitchen and Bath. They did an excellent job. The owners are very pleasant and helpful in the selection process. The installers Bobby and Drew were very professional, thorough, clean and easy to work with. The entire job was installed and completed on schedule. Their customer service is outstanding. Any little issue is quickly resolved. I would highly recommend this company if you want a job well done.

Description of Work
Had a bathroom updated.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, electrician, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling

5.0

03/16/2018


Stephen S.

The team did a great job! We are so happy with the results. The team was always on time and very professional. They were able to finish the job In a little over 4 weeks including some extra tiling work and storage cabinetry. We had a great experience from design to completion.

Description of Work
Remodel kitchen and master bath

Category home remodeling

5.0

10/28/2017


Carolyn D.

Hans did a fantastic job renovating our 80's style kitchen. We expected to run into issues given the age of the kitchen, but everything ran smoothly without any added cost. Glenn developed a design which maximized the space and efficiency of the kitchen - presenting us with ideas which we never would have thought of on our own. He was also a fantastic project manager - very detail oriented, transparent, patient and responsive. We spoke almost everyday during the demolition and construction phases. Eric and Bobby did a wonderful job with the demolition and construction. Not only was the entire project completed on schedule and of the utmost quality, but with respect and consideration for our home and fur babies. Hans made what could have been a nightmare a pleasant experience. We may have been able to save some money with another contractor, but I truly believe that we wouldn't have received the level of personalized service that we did with Hans, so every penny was worth it. I wouldn't recommend anyone else for a kitchen renovation - thank you Hans!

Description of Work
Hans completed a full kitchen renovation.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hey guys, thank you for putting your trust in our company. Our guys had a good time transforming the space. It was fun working with you and the boys.
4.0

09/30/2017


Gerard L.

I would like to add after a year with the D sink, I should have selected the farm sink as I wanted. The D sink is hard to use as I have a dicfficlut time leaning over it. A farm sink would have been lower with more room. This contractor convinced me that the D sink was the way to go and now I regret it.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], I'm sorry to hear that you are not happy with the sink option that was decided on. I'm sure we discussed the pros and cons to both styles. The D-Bowl was the largest sink we could use in the available space in your kitchen. The Farm sink allows for easier access, but many clients and online reviews talk about how much harder it is to keep water from splashing out on to the cabinetry as well as the silicone seal that is exposed. Glenn
5.0

09/17/2017


Steven J.

Wonderful! I had re-done a kitchen in 2005 in a different house with a different contractor, so I do have a basis of comparison. I also interviewed a couple of other contractors, but we found that we had to tell those contractors what to look for, because Hans' Kitchens had already brought up all the issues. That gave us confidence that they knew what they were doing. Their crew has worked together for a really long time, and they do one job at a time, so that there are no delays, other than the countertop installation, which of course has to be custom measured and cut. They made great suggestions. They came when they said they would. The workmanship was great. The job went fast. They were very respectful of cleanliness while working, since we were still living there during the job. They communicate very well and very promptly in email or on phone. Couldn't ask for anything better.

Description of Work
My 1954 kitchen was totally gutted down to the studs and built up again. They did the demolition, designed the overall installation, did all the electrical and plumbing work, ordered and installed cabinets, tiled the floor and backsplash, did the countertops, tore down a wall and rebuilt a small wall, sheetrocked wall and ceiling, rebuilt floor. I ordered the tile although they could have done so. I ordered the appliances, and they gave me a lead on someone they work with. They handled the permits. We visited their showroom and they visited our house to take measurements and make suggestions.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Wow, thank you [Member Name Removed] for the glowing review. It was fun working on your project and watching the smaller 50's kitchen grow into a new space. Glenn Corrigan
5.0

06/27/2017


Maura M.

The workers were excellent and very nice. The owner was knowledgeable and very helpful. The new additions are an improvement.

Description of Work
We had new countertops installed and a microwave.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

01/06/2017


Gerri P.

It was such a pleasure working with Glen! With his help and vast experience, we made some very wise decisions in our design and in choosing cabinetry and countertops. He was always available to us whenever we called. During the four weeks of remodeling, Bobby and Eric were wonderful. They were courteous, respectful and very professional. They always had time to answer any of our questions and address any of our concerns. It was easy to put our trust in them especially because they paid attention to every detail. We are so pleased with the end result which exceeded our expectations that we would not hesitate to highly recommend them.

Description of Work
We recently had our kitchen remodeled by Hans Kitchens and Baths.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure working with your family. I hope you are enjoying the new space.
5.0

10/23/2016


Thomas O.

The process went much more smoothly than I could have every anticipated after hearing horror stories of kitchen re-dos. The work started earlier than anticipated, but that was okay. All of the workers were great - very professional and conscientious. Glenn did a great job communicating with us by phone and email or in person. We had a working kitchen back in about 3 weeks and the entire job was completed in about 5 weeks. The extra time required was due to waiting for a replacement cabinet to arrive. There were a few minor details that we brought to Glenn's attention since completion and he and his crew quickly and efficiently resolved them for us.

Description of Work
Old kitchen in old house needed to be updated in the worst way. Since it was a galley kitchen, not many options were available. In working with Glen, we let him know what we were looking for and he designed a space using the type and style of cupboards that we wanted. In order to bring it up to code, everything in the kitchen needed to be removed down to the studs so that the electrical and plumbing could be updated and insulation added to the walls.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, lighting, home remodeling

5.0

10/22/2016


Gerard L.

Nothing would I have changed. This was a professional project, completed, as promised

Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling

5.0

10/18/2016


Donna S.

Perfect. On time, cleaned up mess, beautiful final project.

Description of Work
Kitchen renovation

Category custom cabinets, remodeling

5.0

10/18/2016


Gerard L.

This was an excellent experience. There were no surprises, the job went as planned and as promised. All representatives of Hans Kitchens and Baths were complete professionals. I can't think of anything, which was overlooked or ignored. From the first contact with Glenn, until a final visit from Bobby and Eric, to handle minor adjustments, our experience with Hans Kitchens and Baths was superior. There is no need to shop contractors when considering a new kitchen of bath. Hans Kitchens and Baths is the best!

Description of Work
Full kitchen re-hab

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

05/15/2016


Stanley H.

This is the third bathroom that Don and his amazingly talented workers Eric and Bobby completed in our home. Each bathroom is beautiful-- the powder room on the main flor, the en suite and the guest bathroom on the second floor. Eric and Bobby are master craftsmen/artists. Their attention to the smallest details, commitment to providing superior service and work ethic place them in a league of their own. And, they are 100% trustworthy. We gave them full access to our home. We were never at home while they were working. Five days later, we had an absolutely beautiful bathroom. All of the other providers--- electrician, plumber, etc-- were also excellent. They clean up and remove all the excess materials when the job is completed. My only regret is that I don't have a fourth bathroom or kitchen ! It has been a thoroughly enjoyable and extremely positive experience working with Don, Eric and Bobby. We recommend Hans Kitchen 100,000 percent!

Description of Work
Our guest bathroom was completely gutted and remodeled, new tile on walls, new flooring, shower, vanity and toilet installation.

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/15/2016


Stanley H.

This is the third bathroom that Don and his amazingly talented workers Eric and Bobby completed in our home. Each bathroom is beautiful-- the powder room on the main flor, the en suite and the guest bathroom on the second floor. Eric and Bobby are master craftsmen/artists. Their attention to the smallest details, commitment to providing superior service and work ethic place them in a league of their own. And, they are 100% trustworthy. We gave them full access to our home. We were never at home while they were working. Five days later, we had an absolutely beautiful bathroom. ?All of the other providers--- electrician, plumber, etc-- were also excellent. They clean up and remove all the excess materials when the job is completed.? My only regret is that I don't have a fourth bathroom or kitchen ! ?It has been a thoroughly enjoyable and extremely positive?experience working with Don, Eric and Bobby. ?We recommend Hans Kitchen??100,000 percent!

Description of Work
Our guest bathroom was completely gutted and remodeled, new tile on walls, new flooring, shower, vanity and toilet installation.

Category home remodeling

5.0

11/08/2015


Glenn P.

Overall the job went well. We were specific about what we wanted done and those things were done to our satisfaction. They (Bob and Eric) were prompt neat + profession. The electrician was terrific. They did dry wall, electric tiling installation of cabinets, windows, ventilation for stove + installation of appliances. Our kitchen is gorgeous! We love it.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of kitchen, Hans' started with a kitchen that had been gutted down to studs. They have two regular workers. Bob & Eric (who are fantastic). They contract out the dry wall. He did a nice job. And they have a fantastic electrician. We used our own plumber. The job took a little longer than expected, but came out great. We love it.

Category drywall, home remodeling

5.0

11/04/2015


Rosemary T.

Glenn was excellent, He helped us design our new kitchen. He gave us input but let us make the final choices. The work started on the exact day that was promised. The job was completed about 5 days early. The crew was fantastic. They were polite neat and meticulous. They thought of things that never would have occurred to us. It was such a pleasure to work with them. I highly recommend HANS.

Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen.

Category home remodeling

5.0

11/04/2015


Patricia C.

After assessing what I wanted, George Corrigan, co-owner, created diagrams and showed me how I could improve my kitchen. I went to Hans' Kitchen to pick out the cabinets, hardware, faucet sink & counter top from a wide variety of choices. All work was beautifully done. The house was left clean after each work day, and the kitchen is perfect, just what I wanted. The whole process was painless and enjoyable with a wonderful result.

Description of Work
Remodel Kitchen - Replace old cabinets, counter top, sheetrock, plumbing, electrical work, exhaust up to roof, backsplash, floor tiles needed.

Category home remodeling

5.0

10/15/2015


Joe P.

We met with Don from Hans Kitchens and Bath in December 2014. We wanted to start to renovated our current Master bathroom. He came and measured the existing bathroom and we sat down to explain what we wanted. Essentially we wanted to remove a shower/bathtub combo and replace it with a full shower only. We wanted the fixtures replaced, heated floor , recessed lighting and new cabinet and tile floor . His workmen were professional and very pleasant. Based upon previous quotes we received, his was the most reasonable. The proposal he provided was detailed and clearly stated costs and allowances. The proposal also spelled out specifically what he would be responsible for and what would not be covered. He indicated which retailers he worked with and we visited them to pick out the tiles and fixtures. He provided ideas and samples for the cabinet. Together we did the research and chose/ordered the shower, sink, cabinet fixtures as well as the toilet.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced the master bedroom bathroom. Added a walk in shower to replace a standard tub, completely tiled the new shower area and added a heated tile floor. Replaced all the existing fixtures, i.e. toilet, vanity and shower fixtures.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

01/19/2015


Lois B.

Hans' Kitchens took a very old, very tired kitchen and created a entirely new, efficient, and beautiful work space! The walls were taken down to the studs and replaced with new insulation, including the proper insulation for an outside-facing wall, and dry wall. Co-owner Greg Corrigan designed a kitchen plan using our requirements and offered us several options for cabinetry and countertops. We chose Craftmade cabinets (USA made) and quartz countertops. The two men who came to install were very knowledgeable and professional putting in 8 hour days. Hans' Kitchens also brought in their sub-contractors for the electric, the plumbing, and the countertops. They were also very professional, and their work was seamless with the process. Our electric was brought up to code, and under counter lighting was hardwired in. The plumbing was reconfigured and hook-ups were made to the new dishwasher and refrigerator. The quartz countertops are a perfect match and were installed in one day. Since we wanted a vinyl floor, Hans Kitchens recommended Vinkara Flooring. Communication between the two businesses was excellent, and the floor was put down at the proper time in one afternoon. We had all new applliances put in - stove, dishwasher, refrigerator, vented hood. Mr. Corrigan had a contact at Karl's Appliances who helped us make decisions and see that the appliances were ready to be installed at the proper time. Mr. Corrigan was in constant contact with us to check on progress, and made several visits to our home to inspect the work done. This sounds like a lot of work, and it was! Timing of all the services was essential, and it was flawless. No waiting for a subcontractor to appear. The total time for this kitchen was three weeks!! They worked around our old refrigerator to keep us going, and it was appreciated as it kept the transition much smoother! We are overjoyed with the result and heartily recommend Hans' Kitchens.

Description of Work
Total remodeling of the kitchen.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

07/04/2014


Laura Baron B.

We could not be happier with our decision to use Glenn and Don at Hans Kitchen. Their team Eric and Bob were extremely polite, professional, diligent and meticulous. From the first design meeting through project completion, the communication was frequent and open. We felt totally comfortable discussing design changes - and we really felt that Glenn and Don both worked with us in a true partnership. What I very much appreciated was their respect for our home and our two dogs. They always called and knocked before entering our home. Their electrician and plumber both found issues in the home that needed to be corrected - and we very much appreciate they brought the issues to our attention. We were confident with the quality of work that the permit inspections with the town would go well - and they all did. The quality of materials was very high and as expected. We appreciate that they handle cabinets, countertops and recommend other high performing vendors for flooring and fixtures. They have great relationships with Wayne Tile and Blackwell Plumbing which made tile choices and plumbing fixtures very easy to purchase and deliver. We also enjoyed our experience with Karls Appliance who was also a refer from Hans. What mattered most is once they start the job, they are on site full time til the job is completed. At no time were we in conflict with another remodel elsewhere. The crew was very neat and tidy - and left our home in workable shape at the end of each day. Had we known it would go so smoothly, we would have hired them long ago. We would not hesitate to recommend them and would definitely use again.

Description of Work
Complete redesign and installation of master bath room, master closet - and complete redesign and installation of chef's quality kitchen.

Category home remodeling

5.0

03/28/2014


Judy M.

The technicians are experts in their field, very knowledgeable, friendly and easy to work with. They removed our old countertop, backsplash, sink & faucet, and cleaned up thoroughly as they were working. The work was performed on time, at the price set upon in the contract and we are thrilled. We will definitely use them for any future renovations.

Description of Work
We had a new formica kitchen countertop and a tile back-splash installed. We purchased a new stainless steel sink and Kohler faucet and this was also installed by Han's.

Category ceramic tile, countertops

5.0

03/27/2014


Judy M.

The finished project exceeded our expectations. Hans Kitchens ordered the new formica countertop and we supplied the stainless steel sink, faucet and tile. Their technicians are professional, courteous, and experts in their field. They were neat and tidy, and helped us design the backsplash. Don stopped by every day to see how the work was coming along. The job was completed on time, and at the contracted price. We would call them again for any kitchen or bath renovations.

Description of Work
Kitchen Renovation: Removed old kitchen countertop and backsplash; installed new formica countertop, stainless steel sink and faucet, and created new tile backsplash.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

02/21/2014


Ken M.

Never got back to us with an estimate for our bathroom renovation, even after coming to look at it.

Description of Work
.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Our policy is to contact a client by phone, after completing an estimate a message is left to contact us to set-up a showroom meeting to review both layout and pricing. The measure was over 2 months ago with the average turnaround for bathroom estimates taking 3 to 5 days ( a follow-up email and phone call will be made to this client with all information after receiving this review)
5.0

12/27/2013


David D.

I called Glenn, he remembered me, my wife and both my kids names. I told him what the problem was, he asked which drawer was causing the problem. Other than that there were no questions, He told me he would order the parts, he had them shipped to my house. I called when they arrived, and he came the next morning and replaced the slider mechanism, no charge, no questions asked, another great experience, and he wished us Merry Christmas

Description of Work
After 5 years, one of my self closing drawers seemed to not be closing properly.

Category custom cabinets, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Complete Design Industries

    Licensed and insured with 15+ years experience, Complete Design Industries is a full-service construction company that covers all of New Jersey. We install tile, hardwood flooring, carpet, and more! Renovate kitchens, bathrooms, and basements, as well as your complete interior, and even exterior, we do it all to make your remodeling dreams a reality. We are your complete home improvement source. And with our additional remediation services we can also take care of your frozen pipes, burst pipes, flood damage, air duct cleaning, sewer cleanup, drywall repair, mold testing and removal, fire damage restoration, and more!  

    Cabinet MD

    We are a small family business in the trade for over 30 years. All work is done by us, the owners, personally to ensure the best service and quality for our customers. We offer cabinet organization solutions including pull out units and roll out shelving, soft close doors and drawers, re-dooring, refacing and other solutions to update and modify your existing cabinetry.  

    On-A-Roll Contracting LLC

    ON-A-ROLL Contracting takes pride in doing quality work, being trust worthy, and making sure the customer is happy at all costs. We specialize drywall & plaster repairs and all painting projects. We also remediate water damaged drywall.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Kitchen & bath design & remodel. Demolition. Plumbing. Electrical. Drywall. Tile work. Flooring. Windows. Doors. Cabinets.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS

    How is HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS overall rated?

    HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS open?

    HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS provide

    HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS offer free estimates?

    Yes, HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS offers free project estimates.

    Does HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS offer a senior discount?

    No, HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS?

    Yes, HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS offers warranties.

    What services does HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS offer?

    HANS' KITCHENS & BATHS offers the following services: Kitchen & bath design & remodel. Demolition. Plumbing. Electrical. Drywall. Tile work. Flooring. Windows. Doors. Cabinets.