Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

G Fried Carpet & Design

Founded 1978 • With Angi since January 2006

4.9

(214) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

495 Route 17 South

Paramus, NJ 07652

Description

G. Fried Carpet & Design, a family owned company, is devoted to crafting beautiful carpet creations for your home. We view our customers as very special people, who deserve only the best. In doing so, we will continue to bring a myriad of design ideas to you which are consistent with evolving aspirations. We now are proud to announce we have expanded to meet our customers needs. We now carry Luxury Vinyl Tile (LVT), a much more resilient option to hardwood....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/14/2018


JOHN BRUCE T.

Workers worked steadily from 8am to 6pm. Very professional.

Description of Work
Carpeting of downstairs and stairs.

Category carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Please enter what you would like the response to look like:Thank Mr. [Member Name Removed], We work very hard to please our clients. Thanks for the positive review. Any questions or concerns please feel free to call/email us. Thanks - Have a great day! Matthew B. G. Fried Carpet[company infor removed]
1.0

03/15/2018


Henry B.

We visited the showroom and spoke to the manager who was there. We gave her pictures of the staircase and we were told they would call with an estimate when they reviewed the project. We did not hear from them. We call again and was told the same thing - never heard from them. That's what generates a lack of trust. We will obviously go elsewhere.

Description of Work
Remove linoleum in center of stairs and carpeting at edges, then car[pet the stairs.

Category carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Please enter what you would like the response to look like:[Member Name Removed], We are the G. Fried in Paramus, NJ. We have NO AFFILIATION with the G. Fried in Union, NJ on Route 22 where you visited. We do not have a female manager here either. I would respectfully ask you to remove your incorrect review for our location and post it to the correct G. Fried in Union, NJ. Thank you kindly. Matthew B. Manager G. Fried Carpet [company info removed]
5.0

07/31/2017


lucy B.

They were very efficient and did an excellent job. I would probably not hire them again because I have moved outside of the NJ area.

Description of Work
.Deep cleaning of carpets in 2 bedrms.

Category carpet cleaners,carpet installation

5.0

07/22/2017


Matthew O.

It was a great experience. The outside of the store looks like it hasn't been updated since the 70s - and it's very easy to miss if you're not looking for it - but their selection inside is incredible. Everyone we dealt with was professional, well-informed, and patient with our questions. Nobody tried to "upsell" us to more expensive carpet, which was nice. The installers arrived on time, and quietly and efficiently worked through the day to make sure it was a one-day install. They carted away the old carpet and pad. The carpet looks great - we can't see the seams - and the home office followed up with a call to ensure that we were satisfied with the carpet and the installation. We can see why these folks have been in business so long. We just wish they'd upgrade their store so perhaps more people would stop in - we wouldn't have if we didn't see the glowing Angie's List reviews. We'd absolutely buy from them again.

Description of Work
We had the carpet and pad in our 1100 square foot +/- furnished basement ripped out and replaced with new SmartStrand carpet.

Category carpet installation

5.0

06/05/2017


Brian L.

I brought a carpet from them and after a few months I noticed mold growing under the carpet. I hired a Mold specialist who did a entire report about the mold and that it didn't come from my home but rather from there warehouse. I contacted them and each one including the owner was nasty to me. She is too busy going back and forth to Florida. Go elsewhere...

Description of Work
I brought carpet and it had mold in it.

Category carpet installation

5.0

04/25/2017


Joan M.

The person who did the carpeting was extremely professional and did a fantastic job. The stair area was difficult to do but he took his time and did an excellent job. I am extremely pleased with the work completed.

Description of Work
They put carpeting in the living room area, the back door entrance and the staircase leading into the basement.

Category carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Hi, Thank you for your stellar review we are so happy you are satisfied with you new carpet. If you ever have any questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to us. Thank you, Matthew B. G. Fried Carpet 495 Route 17 Paramus, NJ 07652 201-967-1250
5.0

04/11/2017


Carl G.

Good. A little miscommunication in terms of the install date.

Description of Work
Carpet in den

Category carpet installation

5.0

09/26/2016


Pat D.

Very well. On time, neat and professional.

Description of Work
New carpeting on stairs and hallway

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/10/2016


Cindy F.

It went very, very well. No problems. They made it a very enjoyable experience. They also cleaned up so well that you never knew they were there.

Description of Work
Added runners on the stairs to the living room.

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/02/2016


Linda K.

Very professional! Told us what to expect (dry time, etc.). Called to let us know time. Did job well!

Description of Work
Carpet cleaning of several areas to clean blood stains.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

01/28/2016


Dan M.

Excellent communications. Very professional courteous, & warm, serviceman. –Willing came back twice for a particularly entrenched stories.

Description of Work
Rug & furniture cleaning.

Category carpet cleaners,house cleaning

5.0

12/07/2015


Janet D.

Cory and Mark were informative, helpful, and pleasant. They worked efficiently , and were specific with direction on drying when they completed the carpet cleaning.

Description of Work
Carpet cleaning-12 stairs, hall way, and four bedrooms.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

11/21/2015


Dawn S.

Picked up at time given. Was running behind on delivery time but they called well in advance to let me know they were running late - gave updates thru morning. They joved furniture & replaced rug in center of room. Did a great job of cleaning rug. All stains & odors gone.

Description of Work
Pick up & clean and deliver cleaned rug.

Category carpet cleaners,oriental rug cleaning

Service Provider Response

Good Morning, Thank you for your happy review of G. Fried Carpet. Each day Marc and Corey provide every one of their customers, no matter the size of the job, the best level of service in the industry. They love their customers and it truly shows. Thank you again for your business and your continued support of our business. Feel free to reach out to us if or whenever you have a question. Matthew B. G. Fried Carpet 495 Route 17 Paramus, NJ 07652 201.967.1250 Tel gfriedcarpet@yahoo.com www.gfriedcarpet.net
5.0

11/14/2015


Robert I.

It went great. They arrived on time and checked out the areas that needed to be cleaned. They explained to me that they were going to spray a solution on the carpet and let it sit a few minutes and then they began to clean the carpet. They were done within one hour and the carpets look great. They were professional and courteous. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Cleaned the carpet on 3 sets of steps and a small hallway.

Category carpet cleaners,carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

11/10/2015


Herva & Jerold S.

Mark and Cory, the workmen, were on time. They reviewed what was to be done and proceded to do all the tasks very efficiently. They were very courteous and very pleasant. Also concerned about our safety our wet carpets. Explained when sofa and carpets would be dry and ready to use. Cautioned us about only walking in socks on wet carpet until dried.

Description of Work
Cleaned our 7' sofa and pillows. Cleaned rug in the bedroom, removing stains. Cleaned steps leading to 2nd floor and hallway. All carpeted. Thus cleaned stairs and hallway covered with carpet. Replaced carpet padding and removed old padding.

Category carpet cleaners,upholstery cleaning

5.0

11/09/2015


Gwendolyn Z.

As usual the team was right on time. I have used them annually for the last 10 years or so, but they always explain the price to me first, the price, then act, right to work. They were done in about an hour + explained the drying process. It's a pleasure to work with these folks, it is always drama free.

Description of Work
Cleaned two carpeted area-master suite + basement office.

Category carpet cleaners

4.0

09/23/2015


Marisol P.

The service and professionalism was great although the cost was definitely up there. I recommend them for regular rugs but the cost for shag rugs makes it impossible to maintain regularly. I'd just as soon get rid of the rugs.

Description of Work
cleaned two shag rugs

Category carpet cleaners,carpet installation,oriental rug cleaning

Service Provider Response

Good Morning, Thank you for your kind words and positive review. We are very happy to hear that the service and professionalism G. Fried provided you were top notch. We are proud to offer all of our services at a level that cannot be matched by anyone else in the industry, all at a great value to all of our great customers. Please give us a call if you ever have any questions or need anything in the future - we will be glad to help! Thank you, Matthew B. G. Fried Carpet 495 Route 17 Paramus, NJ 07652 201.967.1250 gfriedcarpet@yahoo.com
5.0

08/04/2015


Henni S.

Carpet looks great. They did a fantasic job. they were very professinal and courteous

Description of Work
Clean the carpet in my entire house.

Category carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

Good Morning, Thank you for your positive review of our guys cleaning your home. We appreciate your business, if you have any questions please give us a call. Thank you!! Matthew B. G. Fried Carpet 495 Route 17 Paramus, NJ 07652 201.967.1250 Tel gfriedcarpet@yahoo.com
5.0

06/22/2015


Janis A.

G Fried was professional from start to finish. Prompt and professional. Explained everything they were going to do.

Description of Work
Clean heavily spotted family room. Also had dining room and stair case. Steam cleaned.

Category carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you were completely satisfied with our services. If there is anything we can do for you in the future or if you have any questions, please don't hesitate to call. Thank you! Matthew B. G. Fried Carpet 495 Route 17 Paramus, NJ 07652 201.967.1250 gfriedcarpet@yahoo.com www.gfriedcarpet.net
5.0

06/04/2015


glenn K.

I was going to use a big box store to save 3000 dollars until I read the reviews on the subcontractors used for installation .Essentially you have no idea who is going to install the carpet. I had stairs and seams to deal with plus baseboard molding so I decided this was not the project to cut corners on. 2 of my friends used fried so I did my due diligence and read all the positive reviews especially on the installation side. They were all dead on. Chris was great on the sales side-very low pressure and threw in carpet removal and disposal .Can't say enough about Eric and his crew as they did an amazing job in 4 hrs. Can't see any seam and not a scratch on any moldings-you simply can't put a price on experience

Description of Work
Install wall to wall carpet in basement

Category carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review. Unlike the "big box stores" we do not compromise or cut corners anywhere. This is your home and you want everything perfect, we understand that. The big box stores do not. We have heard many horror stories over the years, this is why it is so important for our customers to understand that we only use our OWN in house installers. Ivan and Eric have been with us for over 20 years and treat every customers house like it was their own.We believe the value of the total package we offer is well worth it. Thank you again for your business, if you ever have any questions please do not hesitate to call us. Matthew B. G. Fried Carpet 495 Route 17 Paramus, NJ 07652 201.967.1250 gfriedcarpet@yahoo.com www.gfriedcarpet.net
5.0

05/29/2015


Andrew R.

Extra special discount applied. They showed up on time, very professional, very pleasant, clean. Great results!

Description of Work
Cleaned all carpets, 1 rug, 3 couches & 1 chair.

Category carpet cleaners,upholstery cleaning,oriental rug cleaning

Service Provider Response

Good morning, we are very pleased to know Marc did a great job cleaning your carpets and couches. If should have any questions please don't hesitate to call us. Thank you for your business! Matthew B. G. Fried Carpet 495 Route 17 Paramus, NJ 07652 201-967-1250 Gfriedcarpet@Yahoo.com
5.0

05/27/2015


Martin C.

Came and did the job in 2 hours with team of clean, quite installers. Perfect!

Description of Work
Removed old carpet & installed new.

Category carpet installation

Service Provider Response

We are glad you are completely satisfied with the new carpeting we installed. I will pass your kind words on to our installer to let him know as well. Thank you for you business -- we appreciate all our customers referrals. Matthew B. G. Fried Carpet 495 Route 17 Paramus, NJ 07652 201.967.1250 gfriedcarpet@yahoo.com www.gfriedcarpet.net
5.0

05/08/2015


Daniel F.

They removed the wet carpeting and padding, and treated the floor to get rid of any mold which might have started growing and prevent any new mold.. Initially, they did not do a great job of removing the padding, as they left patches of it still stuck to the floor. When we complained, they came back out and fixed it up. They were a bit pricey, but they were able to come out the day we called them.

Description of Work
Removed carpet after a flood, and treated the floor to prevent growth of mold or mildew.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor,water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

I am glad Marc was able to handle your flooded basement problem so quickly and effectively remediate the water and smell. I understand that we had to fix something and sent Marc back immediately and are happy you are completely satisfied with the work we did. We appreciate all the referrals our customers send us. Thank you for your
5.0

05/05/2015


MARY ANN C.

They were very professional. Eric was great and so was his crew. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Put down rug in basement.

Category carpet installation

5.0

04/30/2015


jim M.

The crew was polite and early! they started cleaning after a quick renew of what i wanted. Everything looks brand new and Lucy followed up to make sure I was happy. Love them!

Description of Work
Full carpet cleaning of large basement and stairs, sofa and love seat cleaning.

Category carpet cleaners,upholstery cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    North Jersey Cleaning Services

    Our employees are honest, experienced and knowledgeable of all types of cleaning.we are detailed in cleaning, very careful and adept in all areas of general house cleaning. *FREE ESTIMATES ON ALL JOBS*  

    Offers by North Jersey Cleaning Services on Angi
    First Response Restoration, LLC

    **Call us today for a FREE ESTIMATE!** With combined experience since 2010, you'll appreciate our workmanship and personalized customer service. Offering 24/7 Emergency Response Experts & Damage Restoration Services Specializing in: WATER * FIRE * MOLD * STORM Damage Cleanup. First Response Restoration specializes in immediate response services when a disaster (big or small) damages your home or business. Our Goal is simple: to get your property back into working order as quickly and smoothly as possible, while providing you with outstanding and caring service. Our emergency team will immediately respond to your property emergency to ensure everything possible is done to minimize further damage and professionally restored to its pre-loss conditions. With the top resources on hand to tackle even the most difficult water, mold or fire restoration jobs, our staff of highly qualified certified technicians and advanced equipment will handle all of your flood, water, mold and fire damage repair needs in a timely, stress-free manner.  

    BOWERMAN CLEANING & RESTORATION

    Bowerman Cleaning and Restoration is owned and operated by Michael Bowerman. After earning his MBA from Iona College, his vision of expanding the business his father started over 45 years ago became a reality. Bowerman Cleaning and Restoration started as a carpet and upholstery cleaning business and grew into a full service, disaster restoration company that specializes in fire, water, mold and all other weather-related damages. We only use the most modern, state-of-the-art equipment and our technicians are experts in their field. Whenever possible we use eco-friendly products and we always utilize cost effective solutions. At Bowerman Cleaning and Restoration we believe in maintaining our core business values: Customer Satisfaction, Quality Work, and Integrity, all while getting your home or business back to per-loss condition. We stand behind our name and our work.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by BOWERMAN CLEANING & RESTORATION on Angi
    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    20%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Carpet, rug, custom runner & design sales. Carpet, area rugs, flooring, upholstery & furniture cleaning. Flood restoration. Flooring sales & installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Fire restoration.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about G Fried Carpet & Design

    How is G Fried Carpet & Design overall rated?

    G Fried Carpet & Design is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are G Fried Carpet & Design open?

    G Fried Carpet & Design is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does G Fried Carpet & Design provide

    G Fried Carpet & Design accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does G Fried Carpet & Design offer free estimates?

    Yes, G Fried Carpet & Design offers free project estimates.

    Does G Fried Carpet & Design offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, G Fried Carpet & Design offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does G Fried Carpet & Design offer a senior discount?

    Yes, G Fried Carpet & Design offers a 20% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by G Fried Carpet & Design?

    Yes, G Fried Carpet & Design offers warranties.

    What services does G Fried Carpet & Design offer?

    G Fried Carpet & Design offers the following services: Carpet, rug, custom runner & design sales. Carpet, area rugs, flooring, upholstery & furniture cleaning. Flood restoration. Flooring sales & installation.

    Are there any services G Fried Carpet & Design does not offer?

    Fire restoration.