Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE

4.8

(374) Verified Reviews

Founded 1989 • With Angi since April 2008

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
LTCO 394
Trade License Locale
NJ
Trade License Authority
New Jersey: General
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

640 TREMONT AVE

Orange, NJ 07050

http://www.friendlytree.com

Description

FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE PROVIDES RESIDENTIAL AND COMMERCIAL TREE SERVICE. As NJ Licensed Tree Experts and Certified Arborists we offer the highest quality fine pruning of trees and shrubs, Tree and stump removal, mature tree planting services and mulch delivery ! ADDITIONAL EMAIL: FRIENDLYTREESERVICE@GMAIL.COM. SEE WEBSITE FOR ADDITIONAL SERVICES....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(374) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

320

4

32

3

8

2

5

1

10

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

tree service (368)lawn & landscaping (33)mulch delivering (13)
Showing 1-10 of 374 reviews
5.0

06/24/2022


mark D.

As always, Friendly Tree does not disappoint. I have used them for years. Their arborist John is very knowledgeable and trustworthy. Never steered me wrong. Recommends the right actions with an eye to keeping costs down.

Description of Work
two dead trees emoved

Category tree service

Cost $3,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2022

3.0

06/18/2022


Percival B.

I only gave these guys three stars, because they did clean work and didn't leave a mess behind for me to clean up. However, they took my money and did not complete the job to my satisfaction. When I asked them why they didn't cut the branch that I hired them to cut in the first place, they gave me excuses where they used buzz words like "horticulture". So, I had to hire a second tree service who came in and quickly completed the job that these guys failed to do.

Description of Work
They took my money and didn't complete the job!

Category tree service

Cost $1,912.59

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/11/2021

5.0

05/31/2022


Paul C.

This is the 3rd or 4th time I have used Friendly Tree - which says it all. They are reliable, professional, very accommodating/flexible to modify the tree work to my wishes as the job progresses. And their pricing is extremely fair and reasonable. Job was pruning/thinning out 3 very large trees in my front yard and removal of 8 small junk trees at the back of my property - including removal of all the trimmed branches and removed trees. They clean up the area the work was done as though they were never there. I will use them again for certain.

Description of Work
Tree Pruning & Take down of poor trees

Category tree service

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2022

Images

Review for FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE - 640 TREMONT AVE, Orange, NJ - 39750036

+1 More

5.0

03/26/2022


John F.

It was quick, clean and efficient. Friendly Tree is my go-to place for maintaining trees and adding trees to add privacy and beauty to my landscaping.

Description of Work
Had several small trees removed from an area in which I want to put paving

Category landscaping,tree service

Cost $670

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2022

5.0

02/11/2022


Edward R B.

The person that came was very knowledgeable and very informative. They were neat, tidy, and efficient.

Description of Work
Tree Trimming

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2021

5.0

01/09/2022


Burton L.

Trees were removed with care to electric and cable lines near one of the trees. Tree trunks were carried away and small branches were turned into wood chips for my flower beds.

Description of Work
Cutting down two dying trees

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/08/2021

1.0

01/02/2022


David G.

John Lang arrived to my home for a tree removal estimate. He spent about 5 minutes discussing the job and then left. He appeared to be in a hurry. His quote was by far the highest than all the estimates I received. If you're in the tree removal market I would definitely get a few quotes before signing up with John and friendly tree.

Description of Work
Tree Removal Estimate

Category landscaping

Work Completed On 01/02/2022

5.0

10/04/2021


Jenn W.

Friendly Tree Service was easy to work with from the first introduction to the quote and contract process to the removal of the tree and the payment. The team was very professional, accommodating, and kept us informed every step of the process. The removed all the debris and left our lawn much cleaner than they found it!

Description of Work
Tree Removal

Category tree service

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2021

5.0

08/21/2021


John F.

They came on time, explained what was to be done (I had met with their arborist prior to this -- so it was confirmation of the excavation, removal and planting), they worked very hard, took care to protect my lawn, cleaned everything up on my property and around the house -- all in record time. By 2:30 pm, I had five large trees that gave me the privacy and beauty I had been dreaming of in my backyard. The next day I put in plantings and it looks like everything has been there for years. It was one of the few projects around my house that turned out better than I even imagined. We had uses Friendly Tree for trimming and removal of trees -- now that I know they plant trees as well, they will be my go to resource for all my tree needs.

Description of Work
Removal of a medium sized tree and large shrubs and planting of five large (over 10 feet) trees both sides of my property.

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2021

Images

Review for FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE - 640 TREMONT AVE, Orange, NJ - 39448872
5.0

08/03/2021


Alex C.

The team planted almost 20 trees and laurel bushes to provide some privacy in my very exposed backyard. They did an awesome job and I would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Tree planting

Category landscaping,mulch,tree service

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2021

Images

Review for FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE - 640 TREMONT AVE, Orange, NJ - 39426542

Services Offered

PRUNING, MATURE TREE PRESERVATION, TREE PLANTING LIGHTNING PROTECTION, CABLING, BRACING, TAKE DOWNS / TREE REMOVAL, STUMP REMOVAL, MULCH DELIVERY, MULCH BLOWING, MULCH SPREADING

Services Not Offered

LAWN CARE, SPRAYING

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE

How is FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE overall rated?

FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE open?

FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE is open:

Sunday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Monday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

What payment options does FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE provide

FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Does FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE offer free estimates?

Yes, FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE offers free project estimates.

Does FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE offer a senior discount?

Yes, FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE offers a 5% senior discount.

Does FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE offer emergency services?

Yes, FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE?

Yes, FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE offers warranties.

What services does FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE offer?

FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE offers the following services: PRUNING, MATURE TREE PRESERVATION, TREE PLANTING LIGHTNING PROTECTION, CABLING, BRACING, TAKE DOWNS / TREE REMOVAL, STUMP REMOVAL, MULCH DELIVERY, MULCH BLOWING, MULCH SPREADING

Are there any services FRIENDLY TREE SERVICE does not offer?

LAWN CARE, SPRAYING