Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bassani Contracting

Founded 1993 • With Angi since January 2006

4 employees. No subs. no travel charges. Cost determined by job. License #: 13vh02279700.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(47) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 47 reviews
pablo R.
5.0
06/04/2017
Excellent. Feels like a brand new home. I was nervous at first because it was a big job but he made me feel comfortable throught the whole process. No job is to small or big for him and his crew of awesome guys. Great communication..
Description of Work
New front steps. New footing for front steps. New asphalt driveway. New paver walkway leading to front steps. New steps on my backyard. Large cement patio. French drain that connects two gutters.
Category
concrete repair, excavators, masonry, drain pipe, driveway pavers, foundation repair, hardscaping, patios
Robert F.
5.0
05/10/2017
Patio looks great, work was professional and well thought out. It feels like they spent an entire day just ensuring the grading and leveling were going to be just right. In total this was just about a 4 day job which you can't even tell anyone was here doing any work. Another well done job Christopher!
Description of Work
Net-new patio off our deck.
Category
concrete repair
Natasha V.
5.0
11/02/2016
Chris was awesome. He gave me the estimate in August and I started work in November. He did an awesome job! I LOVE my patio. I hope to have him do some more work for me next year.
Description of Work
35' x 15' paver patio install with grading and excavation.
Category
excavators, masonry, hardscaping, patios
Vincent P.
5.0
10/10/2016
We did not go with Bassani Contracting. The owner Chris was really great to deal with and I will definitely give him a buzz for any future projects.
Description of Work
Concrete sidewalk and walkway
Category
concrete repair
Debbie B.
5.0
05/26/2016
We don't typically write reviews, but this company was so outstanding that I had to share our experience. We were impressed with Chris Bassani right from the beginning. He promptly returned my initial call and set up an appointment. He was extremely helpful with regard to making color and design choices. He even returned with a few brick samples based on his color recommendations. Chris and his crew arrived punctually each day and cleaned up thoroughly at the end of the job. When glitches with our electrical system and natural gas grill occurred, he arranged to have them taken care of. The end result is an absolutely beautiful patio! I would highly recommend this company.
Description of Work
Bassani Contracting removed our old cement patio and installed a twenty by twenty foot patio with brick pavers.
Category
hardscaping
Joan D.
5.0
11/30/2015
We don?t usually write reviews ? but we were so impressed with Bassani that we felt we had to put in writing how happy we were with our decision to use this contractor. We cannot say enough good things about Chris. We needed a new asphalt driveway and curbing put in (driveway is approximately 1300-1400 sq ft). We contacted Chris thru Angie?s list (after seeing all the great reviews), and he called back the next day. He immediately set up an appointment. We were impressed with him as soon as we met him--in fact, we had planned no getting at least 5 estimates, but after meeting Chris (2nd contractor we met with), we decided to use him without getting any other estimates. Definitely the right decision! He finished pulling up the old driveway and putting in the new curbing in 2 days, then came back a few weeks later to put down the asphalt. As he mentions on the website, he has 4 employees ? but he does not just ?drop them off? in the morning and come back later to check on the work ? he works right alongside them! We had also planned on using him to repair a part of our front sidewalk. He actually advised us that we should speak to the town first about repairing it since it was the roots of a town tree causing the problem. How many contractors would do that? That alone shows the type person he is. We would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a contractor you can trust.
Description of Work
Put in new driveway and curbing.
Category
concrete repair, driveway pavers
Robert F.
5.0
12/27/2014
Bassani contracting performed a superb job on our property, this was a 20K plus job which we agreed to them. after meeting with other contractors and uncertain, we saw his crew (incl the owner) working on another property and saw the quality immediately. This was a significant expense for us and worth every penny, excellent quality, communicative, caring and detailed!
Description of Work
Complete driveway renovation at our Nutley home, including a new concrete floor in our detached garage (Approx 2000 sq ft of driveway all asphalt and a 500 gallon water tank to help with drainage.
Category
concrete repair, remodeling, driveway pavers
Richard D.
5.0
07/01/2014
Chris Bassani (owner) promptly returned my request sent via Angie's List and showed up to do the estimate on the day and time promised. He scheduled the job for the following week. We were delayed one day due to threat of bad weather (but this was clearly communicated by Chris in advance - so no surprises) Chris arrived early (as promised) on the job day with a crew of 4. The work was done efficiently and for most of the job (all the important parts) Chris was there to personally supervise. The job was done quickly (half a day) and the site was left very clean with all the old concrete and other debris removed. Chris left clear instructions about when we could walk on the cement step, when we could fully close the garage doors and when we could drive the cars over the fresh cement without fear of damage. It looks great - very professionally done. Great experience beginning to end! PS - Chris quoted the price when he was on site for the estimate and then emailed a confirmation. The confirmation reflected a $200 reduction from his estimate which is his Angie's List coupon offer - I did not have to ask.
Description of Work
The concrete "apron" between my driveway blacktop and my garage was cracked and crumbling from years of wear & tear and winter weather. It needed to be torn up and replaced. The area is about 5 feet X 20 feet. In addition, i needed to add a concrete step (3ft X 3ft X 4 inches tall) at my rear entrance that would also serve to divert rain drainage from running down outside stairs to my basement (I had temporarily placed cinder blocks at top of stairs to block water)
Category
concrete repair
William A R.
5.0
06/07/2014
The Job was done o time as promised. There was a small cost overrun by our accepting better quality product. Clean up was done well and they helped with a few things thjat were not budgeted. Very friendly and good service
Description of Work
updated front porch and reset tiles plus redid pathway with new bricks from the Garden to the front porch.
Category
concrete repair, masonry, hardscaping
Anthony G T.
5.0
01/07/2014
Chris is a stand up guy. No hidden surprises or last minute add ons. The job actually ended up costing less than quoted and was finished ahead of time. We had used Chris many years ago for other work and it still holds up 100%. He also did such a nice job that our next door neighbor also used him and was very pleased.
Description of Work
Installed stone and border.
Category
masonry, pavers, gravel
L K.
3.0
09/30/2013
I've called them a couple times about coming to clean up the excess cement, but they haven't come yet.
Description of Work
He filled some holes in a foundation wall. He also built a drain in my backyard through the foundation. However, the cement on the wall was supposed to be molded so it matched the stucco but it doesn't look like that. There is also some cement sticking out around another wall. The guy who did the job was very nice, helpful, and pleasant and it wasn't him who messed up, it was the workers.
Category
concrete repair, foundation repair
Christopher W.
2.0
08/27/2013
Prompt response to request for estimate, after site survey there was no follow through with an estimate, even after a follow up call.
Description of Work
Prompt response to request for estimate, after site survey there was no follow through with an estimate, even after a follow up call.
Category
hardscaping
Ty S.
5.0
08/21/2013
Excellent experience with this company. We shopped around to find a contractor to redo our patio, and we feel that we found the best one. During the interview process, Chris was the most creative and passionate about the work compared to the other contractors. He thought outside the box when it came to design ideas and problem solving. In addition, his prices were competitive and he was local, so we hired him. Chris Bassani, his son, and the rest of the crew were always professional, reliable, friendly, and hard-working. Chris is honest, genuine, and cost-conscious. He was always available by text, email or phone. He kept us updated and involved through the whole process. He and his son were both great problem-solvers when we ran into issues regarding the natural gas fire pit and the sitting walls. We absolutely love our patio, and we will definitely be using Bassani Contracting again for our retaining walls out front, and any other masonry jobs we have in the future. We are very happy customers!
Description of Work
Back patio and sidewalk demolition, new patio and walkway of brick pavers with sitting walls, installation of natural gas fire pit, closing up of open area under office/porch with vent, application of plaster to foundation, removal of old gas grill and capping of that line, removal of old clothes-hanger concrete block in ground, demo of front uneven concrete slab by steps and new pavers placed there.
Category
excavators, masonry, hardscaping, patios
Joseph D.
5.0
06/27/2013
Chris and his crew removed the old concrete and arranged to pour the new concrete the same day and returned the next day to install a new paver patio. Chris returned to my house later that evening to check on the new sidewalk because rain had been forecast. The workmanship was excellent, and the crew removed all of the debris and cleaned up the area upon completion of the job. I would highly recommmend this contractor.
Description of Work
Removed and replaced approximately 36 ft by 3 ft wide concrete sidewalk and installed a new paver patio approximately 10 ft by 10 ft.
Category
concrete repair, hardscaping, patios
Kimberley C.
5.0
05/01/2013
My experience with Bassani Contracting was great. My overall experience with them was excellent. The owner was excellent. He followed up, returned calls and he did what he said he as going to do. The whole process was perfect.
Description of Work
I used the concrete pouring and repair services of Bassani Contracting.
Category
concrete repair
Alexandre U.
2.0
04/04/2013
The estimate was high. Although, I think the guy knew much about what he was talking about.
Description of Work
Bassani Construction gave me an estimate for digging pavements.
Category
excavators
Joshua W.
4.0
04/01/2013
Chris and his crew did a fair job and got the work done in a timely manner. The paver patio was not properly filled with sand, so I had to go back and do that myself. Overall the job was good for the price.
Description of Work
Remove a concrete patio, install a drain, regrade and install a paver patio.
Category
hardscaping
Jean R.
5.0
11/12/2012
Returned initial phone call quickly. Estimate to me very fast. Able to schedule work on short notice. Job arranged on phone, very courteous in conversations.
Description of Work
Public sidewalk slabs replaced in Nutley NJ
Category
concrete repair
Jenna G.
5.0
08/07/2012
Chris Bassani always responded to phone calls and messages and was always easy to reach for questions and/or concerns. His price was also the most reasonable one we received (we got quite a few estimates for this job.) Chris took care of obtaining all the proper permits and permission to perform the repair and included all of these components in the price. On the day of the job, Chris and his team of workers showed up bright and early and started the work right away. Since my water had to be turned off for the duration of the project, Chris made sure the job was done by the late afternoon so I could have my water turned back on quickly. Chris also made it a point to preserve a piece of my sidewalk that had to be temporarily removed in order to perform the work. In addition, there was a piece of my walkway that had to be broken up and removed to gain access to the foundation of the house, but Chris quickly replaced the piece of concrete the same day and included the new piece of concrete in the price he charged for the whole job (as per the written contract.) Chris and his team also did a great job handling a situation with my disgruntled next door neighbor (who was upset by the nature of the work I was having performed on my property next to hers.) Chris performed the work in a timely fashion and did an excellent job. I was most impressed by the fact that he made such a great effort to complete everything he had promised to do within the same day. I am recommending Bassani Contracting to all my friends and neighbors, and I am also planning to have him redo my driveway in the near future. I continue to be extremely impressed by Chris Bassani's work and ability to satisfy his customers.
Description of Work
Repaired water service line that goes from the curb near the street to inside the basement (it is connected to the water meter inside my house.) They excavated the yard, replaced the water service line with a new one inch copper pipe, then replaced an area of my walkway that had to be removed in order to feed the copper piping through a hole in the foundation of the house and connected to the water meter.
Category
concrete repair, excavators, drain pipe, foundation repair, hardscaping
branka P.
5.0
07/23/2012
He was accessible, puctual, reliable and has delivered on time what we have agreed upon. I would recommend his company.
Description of Work
My insurance has mandated that I repair Apron - skirt of the driveway. Of course nothing is a simple as it seems, as that job did not appear to be very big at all for the money. Address is in Verona, and driveway is residing on the county road which changes everything - County of Essex charges $100 for the permit and $200 for the inspection. Chris has charged me $1,200 for the entire job and made sure everythign wsa doen according to the county specifications.
Category
concrete repair
Arthur B.
5.0
07/13/2012
We contacted Chris Bassani from Bassani Construction Company and left him a message regarding the work we needed done. He returned our call promptly and came to our house to give us a quote the very same day. His quote seemed reasonable and we liked his professional manner so we agreed to have his company do the work. The following week we received a call that they were available to start the job and would be at our home at 8:00AM the following morning. As promised they arrived promptly and finished the job within 2 days as promised. The level of professionalism shown by this company was a breath of fresh air. The finished work exceeded our expectations, and we couldn't be happier. We were completely satisfied and it is without reservation that we would highly recommend Chris Bassani and his company.
Description of Work
Unfinished Patio Paving job approximately 15' X 20' that needed to be completed.
Category
masonry, hardscaping
Joseph V.
5.0
06/02/2012
Bassani Contracting did a great job. The walkway looks great and really enhances the overall appearance of my front yard. Chris was very helpful in recommending the colors and pattern that would look best with our house. The work is very neat and professional. I also feel that the price was fair. Overall, I am very pleased with the experience.
Description of Work
Bassani Contracting removed an old concrete walkway leading to the front door of my home and installed a brick paver walkway.
Category
hardscaping
Norman P.
5.0
04/17/2012
Chirs was without a doubt, the most professional, competent, efficient, and considerate contractor I have ever worked with. He called in response to my email request within 24 hours, and within two days came by to meet with us to see what the job would entail. He made several excellent suggestions how to best approach the work, things I hadn't thought of, but were sensible and made the large concrete area more esthetically pleasing, We gladly agreed to all his suggestions. His proposal was reasonable, and was received in a few days. Everything was clearly spelled out. Although other contractors came out to give us an estimate, we were most impressed by Chris--his knowledge of how the work needed to be done and how he would handle it. We were particularly happy to hear that he could help alleviate a drainage problem we have had since moving into the house, 10 years ago. Chris scheduled the work shortly after we signed the contract and made the downpayment. Although he thought work wouldn't begin for another few weeks, he called within a few days to say he would be able to do the job sooner. In two working days, the job was complete--and we are delighted with our new patio. He arrives when he says he is going to, works along with his assistants, who were every bit as industrious and efficient as he. The job was done in less time than he projected, and his team left our yard in excellent condition. I joined Angie's List because I was having difficulty finding a contractor that friends and neighbors could recommend. Now I know why Angie's List is such an amazing resource! Thank you, Angie.
Description of Work
Removal of portion of existing asphalt driveway, grass and concrete blocks to prepare for an extended patio. Belgium block curbing installed at garden bed, window well installed with rain guard. 4" stone base with 6" of concrete (steel wire mesh for reinforcement).
Category
concrete repair
Linda D W.
5.0
12/14/2011
The job went very well. Chris Bassani was extremely reliable. He was on time and he had the job done in no time. He helped me with picking out the stones and gave me many ideas. I would highly recommend him to anyone.
Description of Work
I had new steps installed and a foundation laid for a porch. I also had stone applied to my home.
Category
masonry
Bob F.
5.0
08/20/2011
I have found Bassani to be responsive, highly competent and fairly priced. The quality of their work has been excellent and I am very satisfied. I would use them again without hesitation.
Description of Work
They have done two jobs for me; replace a curved flagsone walkway and rebuild and brick and paver walkway.
Category
concrete repair, masonry

Other local Pros in your area

Micciche & Son

Owner operated family owned masonry & paving company, for over 30 years ,focused on servicing Passaic, Bergen, Essex and Hudson counties. Honored to have 2014 & 2016 Super Service Award  

Angi Certified

Encore Services

With over 7 years of professional decking, hardscaping and masonry experience, here to help you design and or install what you need or are dreaming about.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

KM Remodeling

We offer quality and affordable concrete pouring and repair services.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

372 Franklin Ave Box 110294

Nutley, NJ 07110

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Bassani Contracting is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Bassani Contracting accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Bassani Contracting offers free project estimates.

No, Bassani Contracting does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Bassani Contracting does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Bassani Contracting offers warranties.

Bassani Contracting offers the following services: Brick Paver Installations, Modular & Interlocking Repairing Walls, Masonry, Excavation, Drainage Work, Asphalt Paving