Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bold Electric LLC

Founded 2005 • With Angi since May 2009

4.7

(94) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

477 Somerset Street

North Plainfield, NJ 07060

Description

Established in 2005, my family built Bold Electric under the premise of bridging the gap between the large electrical companies and the NJ homeowners who rely on them. We've been family owned and operated ever since, striving to work harder to give homeowners the customer service and satisfaction they deserve and should expect from their electrician. We put our hearts into every job we perform for you. You aren't just clients, you are our neighbors who need a New Jersey licensed professional electrician who can do the job right. Bold Electric LLC, also a certified Kohler® Generator Installer, has formed a strategic partnership with Cooper Power Systems. We are offering our customers a hedge against power outages that disrupt their daily lives with the installation of Standby Home Generators. A Standby Generator is ready 24 hours a day 7 days a week to respond to a power outage within seconds. With diesel fuel or natural gas powering the generator, the homeowner can continue using all connected circuit breakers with minimal disruption indefinitely. The generator will automatically transfer the connected circuits back to the grid once utility power is restored. EMERGENCY # (908) 616-3574...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

12/16/2020


Jennifer T.

Absolutely horrendous! Unethical pricing and sales tactics, taking advantage of people during storms. They charged me double what they quoted, and claim that I have a different generator than the quote. Took several months to hear back from them about a contract! They may answer the phone for sales, but don’t care about you or when you are serviced. If they say they are on the way, that isn’t true either and they don’t care if you’re waiting days. The office is a mess, and the techs are very messy and will leave oil spills all over the place! Attached is their price list, would love to know if anyone else got this pricing or were ripped off! They tried to charge me 70% more in their most recent contract!!!! They definitely increase pricing if they feel you can be taken advantage of.

Description of Work
Generator maintenance

Category electrician,generator service

1.0

10/26/2020


Anita L.

Steer clear of this company. They don't have ethical business practices and their work is not good quality. Spent a lot of money on their services and they failed to deliver every time. Go to another Kohler company for generator installation and electrical work.

Description of Work
Kohler whole house generator install and electrical work

Category electrician,generator service

5.0

10/15/2018


william B.

Professional efficient and courteous

Description of Work
Stand alone generator

Category electrician,generator service

2.0

07/17/2018


Mary R.

I cancelled in 2017. Was notified June 12, 2018, they were billing my credit card so I called and told them that I had cancelled. They promised to remove. On july 11, called them again cause the credit wasn’t issued. They promised to call back by 7-13...no call. Wrote email on 7-14... got 3 responses with different answers. Bottom line, it’s july 17 and my credit card still doesn’t reflect the charge was credited back.

Description of Work
I had cancelled my annual contract and they billed anyway

Category electrician,generator service

Service Provider Response

Mrs. [Member Name Removed] entered into a one year contract starting on 6/12/17 and ending on 6/11/18. The contract was for BoldGenerators.com, a branch of Bold Electric LLC, to maintain her stand-by generator. As stated in the contract in the section that speaks about cancelling said contract, "Written notice must be sent to BG thirty (30) days prior to renewal date. If the customer fails to send notice, the contract will remain valid for the following year". We received no such notice in 2017. The only written notice we have is on 7/13/18 via email stating that the contract was cancelled last year. We require written notice to have a record that the homeowner is relieving us of our responsibility to uphold our end of the contract. We take our responsibilities in servicing our clients seriously. To hastily remove a client from our coverage list in error, only to leave them stranded when they need us, would be to violate or company credo, "Helping You Weather The Storm". Our contracts auto renew for the same reason listed above. Emergencies happen 24/7/365 as many of the residents of New Jersey know after living thru, Hurricane Irene, Snowtober 2011, Hurricane Sandy and this most recent major snow storm in March 2018. We would rather bill someone who forgot to cancel properly and refund their payment than not show up. Some clients do not want an auto renewing contract despite the benefits listed above. In those cases we offer our clients the ability to "opt out" of the auto renewal by choosing a one time only option when they pay for our services. Mrs. [Member Name Removed] gave us written permission to keep her credit card on file. Although we had the right under the terms of the contract not to refund Mrs. [Member Name Removed]'s payment, we did approve the refund the same day she emailed us on 7/13/18. The person Mrs. [Member Name Removed] spoke to on Saturday 7/14/18, outside of normal business hours, was on call to answer emergency calls, not billing issues. They were therefore unfamiliar with her particular case and could not answer all her questions. Credit card companies often take a few days to process refunds, especially with a weekend in between. After reviewing our internal processes, I found that each member of my company did their respective jobs in excess of my standards, which are in excess of industry standards. I am proud of my team and would not change one thing we did in this situation. My staffs continued hard work and dedication is the reason we have stellar reviews from hundreds of our clients thru various forms of Social Media. I feel this poor review is not a proper reflection both of what took place on this particular instance no less how we interact with our clients in general. Thank You for your consideration, Vincent Battista, President, Bold Electric LLC. www.boldgenerators.com
5.0

05/30/2018


Seth C.

Great. Came out to perform assessment, clearly explained what needed to be done, offered good price, and had team there to do work right on schedule. After completing work, Bold called PSE&G to set-up necessary follow-up. I will use them for all of my future electrical needs.

Description of Work
Repair power line to our house

Category electrician

5.0

04/21/2018


Paul E.

the installers arrive promptly on time and followed the quote exactly as written. they ran into some problems withhold installations that will not up to code. they removed some boxes and reinstalled new code acceptable fan boxes. they also installed 10 Z-Wave smart switches and the new outlet. this was the second time I've used Bold Electric in my home.

Description of Work
I had bold Electric rewire four ceiling fans and install several smart light switches in my home

Category electrician,ceiling fans,home automation

3.0

02/14/2018


Holly F.

We called Bold Electric to identify why we lost power in a few of the rooms in an apartment house we own. They mentioned that they charge $150.00 an hour for one electrician and 180.00 if the job required 2 electricians and asked if we agreed to that. We did and when the electrician came out to the house 2 electricians were in the van however only one came in to troubleshoot and see what the problem was. Once he discovered the problem the other electrician came in. They discovered they needed to replace 3 circuit breakers however they didn't have the right brand so they had to come back another day to replace the breakers with the right brand. Two electricians returned the following week and finished the job. We were charged a total of $395.00 which we thought was excessive for the work they did. We also had my daughter provide the 5% off coupon where one of the electricians took a picture of it with his phone and sent it to their office however they stated that they never received it. I emailed it to them and they still didn't acknowledge that they received it. It wasn't until my husband stayed on the phone with the office and made sure they received it that they deducted the amount. Final payment with the coupon was $374.60. We also spoke to a representative regarding our concerns with the price and they stated that we agreed in the beginning to their charges and if we thought we could get it cheaper somewhere else we should have done so. We felt they could have done the job with one person and should have had the right circuit breakers so they didn't have to come out another day. They didn't offer free estimates so it is hard to know what the final price of the job would be.

Description of Work
Troubleshoot and Replace 3 circuit breakers.

Category electrician

5.0

01/09/2018


Encarnacion C.

Very well. Staff is knowledgeable and work well together. The owner oversees all work and is transparent regarding services.

Description of Work
Whole house generator. Installation and maintenance contract.

Category electrician,generator service

5.0

09/11/2017


Dawn C.

He was professional, so polite and friendly, and his work was excellent! I would highly recommend him!

Description of Work
Installation of ceiling fan.

Category electrician,ceiling fans

5.0

08/29/2017


Jonathan S.

Job was done promptly. The electricians were professional and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Disconnect pool pump.and restore outdoor electric outlet.

Category electrician

    Other local Pros in your area

    Princeton Electrical Makeover LLC

    Princeton Electrical Makeover is licensed, insured and bonded electrical contracting firm, owned by an electrician with 25 years experience and electrical engineering degree. NJ License #16244. We are specializing in residential and commercial installations and provide all phases of electrical works. We are proud to serve contractors as well as homeowners throughout the state of New Jersey. We care about the overall project goals and will do whatever it takes to make it happen. We will treat your job site or home like our own homes. We are committed to provide the latest technology, highest quality products, superior customer service and competitive prices. Our estimates are free and no initial service fees.  

    Offers by Princeton Electrical Makeover LLC on Angi
    Volt Communications

    We are a local small business that specializes in home and business security but also anything low voltage related. Our most important goal is to give the best possible customer satisfaction and service. We have years of military and security background and would like to protect you, your family, and your business with the knowledge we have perfected. we specialize in camera systems, burglar alarms, access control, remote-controlled gates, intercoms, doorbells, low voltage lighting, sound systems, any type of low voltage wiring and more.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Morano electric

    We're a family owned business,passed down from generation to generation with decades of experience! We believe in safety and we like to get to know our customers and give them all options that are best to do the perfect job! We are always on time and we work with our customers and treat them as our family! We have done l.e.d lighting for Google, Barclay Center, over ten Shoprites..We've worked on skyscrapers in Manhattan to condos houses and commercial buildings in the Tri-state area..We also just landed a Shake Shack food truck contract! Contact us today, we look forward to servicing you!  

    Offers by Morano electric on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Install – Lighting. Generators. Ceiling Fans. Attic exhaust Fans. Swimming pools. Flat Screen Television. Home Theater & Audio. CCTV. Electric heating & Outdoor. Landscape Lighting

    Services Not Offered

    Fireplaces

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bold Electric LLC

    How is Bold Electric LLC overall rated?

    Bold Electric LLC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bold Electric LLC open?

    Bold Electric LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Bold Electric LLC provide

    Bold Electric LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

    Does Bold Electric LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bold Electric LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Bold Electric LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Bold Electric LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bold Electric LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Bold Electric LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Bold Electric LLC?

    Yes, Bold Electric LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Bold Electric LLC offer?

    Bold Electric LLC offers the following services: Install – Lighting. Generators. Ceiling Fans. Attic exhaust Fans. Swimming pools. Flat Screen Television. Home Theater & Audio. CCTV. Electric heating & Outdoor. Landscape Lighting

    Are there any services Bold Electric LLC does not offer?

    Fireplaces