Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Affordable Masonry

Founded 1986 • With Angi since December 2012

Extended hours available upon request. NJ HIC# 13VH05520900

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.4

(13) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews
Pete K.
5.0
11/27/2016
To finish up our septic construction project, after doing a fantastic job building our concrete stairs, Bill and crew then built several retaining walls to finish the project. Turned out great! The price was very reasonable and the work was very high quality. Bill also helped us to determine exactly where to build the walls. His expertise was greatly appreciated!
Description of Work
Retaining walls with stone veneer & coping
Category
concrete repair, masonry, hardscaping
mare K.
5.0
07/18/2016
I contacted Mr Parker for an estimate on our front steps. He answered my call immediately, came to my home for the estimate on time and, once here explained in detail what should be done to correct the deteriorating landing and cement slab walk. He walked us through the process of how it would be done ,the materials that would be used in addition to giving us different options to think about. Later that day we promptly received a written estimate with the different scenarios and the costs associated with each. Once we decided we phoned him and he was able to start the job within a week. While here he and his employee were professional and worked so very hard from start to finish, never wasting a minute even thru extreme weather conditions. They completed the job in the time promised, cleaned up all debris and the end result was that of a true mechanic who knew his trade! We could not be more pleased with the outcome and, how we were treated during the process. We will not hesitate to call him again or to refer him to others seeking an honest, affordable mason as well as, a kind man
Description of Work
Mr.Parker and his employee built new front steps, and new landing and, walkway for our home
Category
concrete repair, masonry
Pete K.
5.0
07/08/2016
Bill and crew did a great job, and we are very happy with the work. He performed the work exactly as stated, on time and in budget. I would highly recommend Affordable Masonry if you are looking for a high quality job at a great price.
Description of Work
I needed concrete stairs installed at my property after having a new septic system installed. The site has very difficult access, and the stairs needed to run from the street level to the house, about 30' up a ledge rock hill.
Category
concrete repair
Vivek N.
1.0
06/10/2016
They were horrible. They cheated me and I paid more than we asked for, I could tell, but they did not finish any project. This was the most careless contractor I have ever seen. He took the money and ran away.
Description of Work
I called Affordable Masonry. He worked on the chimney and replaced some of the stones on my front patio.
Category
masonry

Service Provider Response

Raj hired me to do a job and I did all the work that I proposed to do. He followed me around job and doubled the work that I was supposed to complete. I only charged him extra for the extra stone he had me install. Then he asked me to repoint a couple of joints on patio. Next thing I know I show up and he pressure washed patio and removed 10 times the joints he had asked me to replace. Then when job was completed he tipped my laborer said great job. Than gives me bad review. I feel sorry for any contractor in the future that Angie list refers to him.
Loretta D.
5.0
04/20/2016
.
Description of Work
.
Category
concrete repair, masonry
Andrew V.
5.0
04/19/2016
I did have to chase him to quote as I am a bit of a distance away, and he fitted me in with about 5 weeks wait but he did a great job, turned up when he said he would, did the work with no fuss or problems at less than the others quoted (and some were really out there). It looks great still and I have confidence it will last (we have had work done on the doorstep before with other contractors previously which didn't last and so led to this more extensive work). My sense is that he is good so has plenty of work and doesn't want to waste the time of people if they need it now and can't be fitted into his schedule. He was also the guy who both assessed what needed to be done and with another carried out the work. We have had other contractors before who call back same day are out to you the next day and are estimators who at best turn up briefly on the job day to give instruction to workers who don't do a high quality job. That's what make this guy a lot better in my opinion, worth a wait if necessary.
Description of Work
Demolished and rebuilt large part of doorstep, steps up to, re-concreted top and blended in with concrete under house overhang area, replaced front bricks, stone edgers and steps, drilled holes for railing.
Category
concrete repair, masonry
Paul G.
1.0
11/01/2015
Never happened!
Description of Work
Called his number a few times explaining the job. Never returned a single call. Very unprofessional! If he wasn't able to do the job at least have the curtesy to return the call and say so.
Category
concrete repair
Jan K.
1.0
09/08/2015
Not helpful. Not interested. Unable to offer any referral to anyone who could help repair my concrete project.
Description of Work
They said they did not do concrete repairs, though their overview on Angie's List indicates they do. They said they didn't know how they got on Angie's List. They were not helpful. They did not return my phone call from the previous week, so I called them again only to be told they did not do that work, nor did they know of anyone that did in my area. (They are approximately 1/2 hr. away).
Category
concrete repair
Matthew C.
5.0
08/22/2014
Extremely happy with a job well done. Bill showed up on time communicated well with the customer, easy to negotiate with, was punctual basically no issues with the entire job. Would highly recommend him to anybody looking for a mason. Bill even helped me save money on my entire job by making recommendations. Cleaned up every day at the end of the day. His workers were courteous and well spoken.
Description of Work
tear down and replace front steps refinish and repair chimney
Category
concrete repair, masonry
Sharon M.
3.0
06/27/2014
unknown
Description of Work
They never returned my call
Category
concrete repair, masonry, hardscaping
Sheila M.
5.0
04/29/2014
Mr. Parker and his helper were very professional and arrived on the date as he advised. He gave us a date of service and how long it would take which was exactly as he indicated. Their work was excellent and they went above and beyond in completing the job. When they left they made sure everything was clean and in its place. We would use Affordable Masonry again and have recommended them to our friends and family.
Description of Work
Completely removed and rebuilt concrete front entrance steps and landing platform.
Category
concrete repair
Eileene F.
5.0
06/11/2013
It went great. He did a wonderful job, beyond my expectations. Completed the job in one day. I would highly recommend him. In fact, I have to several friends. I wouldn't do that unless I felt confident about this mason.
Description of Work
Replaced concrete step with landing and also replaced a 30' sidewalk.
Category
concrete repair
Rodney H.
5.0
12/04/2012
Bill Parker came to my home and listened to my needs. He rightfully suggested to match the steps to the existing brick face for curb appeal. He recommended raising the stairs and walkway 4-6 inches to alleviate water concerns and improve grading. The project ran from 11/28/2012 through 12/3/2012. Everything went as instructed and Bill and his employee were professional and informative throughut the process. Bill was very concerned with providing quality finished results and used good quality materials. His pricing was fair and presented the best value for our project. We were extremely happy with the end result and wil use Bill in the future and recommend him to friends and family.
Description of Work
Tuck Pointing of Brick Face on lower section of home. Tear down old steps and walkway to grade. Built new steps from brick and limestone poured new concrete walk Installed paver retaining wall
Category
concrete repair, masonry, hardscaping

Other local Pros in your area

Ryan & Son Chimneys

As an industry leader Bill Ryan has served on Boards of Directors for the past 17 years and is a Nationwide instructor of Chimney Inspections, chimney repair and chimney related technical classes. Ryan and Son Chimneys is a full service chimney company specializing in Chimney inspection (level 1, 2 and 3) chimney and fireplace restoration, chimney liners, caps, repairs, installations. Fireplace, wood and pellet stove installations. Pellet, gas and wood appliance service. Consulting, expert witness and hearth and chimney design services.  

Angi Certified

Approved Chimney LLC

Approved Chimney was established by Vick Jakupi to provide outstanding service to both residential and commercial clients with all their chimney needs. Starting out more than 11 years ago his experience and expertise has earned him the credentials from CSIA (Chimney Safety institute of America). Acquiring the proper licenses and certifications has put his business at the highest level in chimney services. At Approved Chimney we believe in the highest customer satisfaction when concerning all chimney needs. From the annual sweeping to the most enhanced relining or rebuilding of chimneys in New Jersey area. All of our technicians are trained and Certified Liner installers and work closely with the home owners in understanding of step by step procedures of the work taking place.  

Angi Certified

KM Remodeling

We offer quality and affordable concrete pouring and repair services.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

42 Rhea Run

Newton, NJ 07860

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

American Express
Discover
MasterCard
Visa
Check
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Affordable Masonry is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

Affordable Masonry is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

Affordable Masonry accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check

Yes, Affordable Masonry offers free project estimates.

No, Affordable Masonry does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Affordable Masonry offers emergency services.

Yes, Affordable Masonry offers warranties.

Affordable Masonry offers the following services: Masonry, step repair, concrete pouring , retaining walls, patio installation & chimney construction