Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Monk's Home Improvements

4.8

(485) Verified Reviews

Founded 2007 • With Angi since July 2008

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Business Highlights

Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
NJHI # 13VH03615000
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

1095 Mount Kemble Ave

Morristown, NJ 07960

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Free Estimates provided Virtually or In-Person

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.
The Gentleman's Privy for Mansion in May

The Gentleman's Privy for Mansion in May

home remodeling202007976
The Mansion in May Designer Showhouse and Gardens is the flagship fundraising event of the Women’s Association for Morristown Medical Center. The WAMMC committee selected Tyvan Hill in New Vernon, New Jersey as the site of the 19th mansion in May. The U-shaped home is over 11,000 square feet and boasts ten bedrooms and eight bathrooms. Sitting atop 8 acres, the estate features a large pool and gated courtyard. Monk's Home Improvements completely redesigned a full bathroom for the showhouse. We took a very dated brown and black bathroom and created a glamorous, yet masculine bathroom, for the gentleman's quarters. The new bathroom features a free-standing claw-foot tub, double vanity, tiled shower with bench, wainscoting throughout the room, and striking floor tile that ties everything together.

Description

Along with the Monk's Kitchen & Bath Design Studio, we are a full-service home improvement provider. Monk's will help you plan, design, and purchase everything you need for a remodel. Then our expert craftsmen will install everything and our painters will come and complete the job....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(485) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

405

4

45

3

15

2

9

1

11

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

interior painting (322)house painting (155)woodworking (117)handyman (75)home remodeling (54)door installation (50)drywall (43)hardwood floors (37)flooring (37)pressure washing (34)wallpaper removal (32)decks & porches (32)
Showing 1-10 of 485 reviews
5.0

10/15/2021

It's great to work with Monk's again. First walked the house with Kurt Becker, then based on our discussion, he made up a couple of estimates, detailing different senarios on the work to be done. Having those estimates in hand, we were able to figure out the exact work we would have done. Scheduling with Kurt was easy. The work crew was efficient, they cleaned up daily, and they turned out beautiful work. We are very satisfied.

Description of Work
Repair and exterior painting of windows on our circa. 1910 home. A few panes were replaced, 2 windows were repaired on the outside framing. All windows were recalked and painted on the outside, and they were washed inside and out.

Category contractors,replacement windows,house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2021

5.0

10/08/2021

Ask for Jon Clauson. During close, the seller wouldn't allow contractors into the house for measurements/estimates. Chalk it up to COVID, work, whatever. I must've contacted over 20 companies in order to obtain some more information on renovations, but Jon was the only one who went the extra mile in order to contact the seller and get in to get us an accurate estimate based on measurements, etc. As a result, we managed to snag a spot in Monk's schedule that would allow us to move in after painting the walls and staining the floors. Plus, he's very responsive, professional, and reasonable. Top notch customer service.

Description of Work
Painting/Staining Floors, Kitchen/Bathroom Remodeling

Category drywall,hardwood floor,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,cabinet refacing

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2021

5.0

05/04/2021

I highly recommend Monk's. From the first time I reached out to them, the communication was great. Jon arrived on time, gave a prompt estimate and was available for questions via e-mail and phone and a start date was scheduled. On the day of service, Jon communicated the exact time the painters would arrive. The painters were very friendly, thorough, did a great job painting my very tall house, and left the yard clean.

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2021

5.0

12/14/2020

It went extremely well. The new door is beautiful and the workers were pleasant to work with. We needed some work done outside around the door, and the foreman gave us a great suggestion which worked perfectly for us. The banister (for our center hall colonial) was very intricate, and the old stain needed to be hand sanded in several areas and was tedious work. The crew did a wonderful job, and the new stain looks great. The family room and trim needed to be refreshed (this is the room the French door was added to) and it looks like a great job. The painters were very professional, and did a great job, including cleanup. We could not be happier with how things turned out.

Description of Work
Replace sliding patio door with French, refinish banister, repaint family room (including trim)

Category interior painters,doors

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/14/2020

5.0

10/29/2020

The work was done professionally. Kurt Becker was especially helpful.

Description of Work
House painting and minor repairs

Category gutter repair,handyman service,basement waterproofing,house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2020

1.0

10/09/2020

Absolute nightmare. Single worst contractor experience ever. Ordered new custom windows and french doors. Nothing came in as ordered. Installation was shoddy with paint left on the glass and hardware missing. Installation crew even painted plastic moldings which wer never supposed to be painted and improperly installed window moldings. Custom woodwork (moldings) looked like it was done by a 12 year old in woodshop. Months later we are still without proper hardware. Installation crew did not follow proper COVID protocols. I would not recommend them to my worst enemy.

Description of Work
Windows and French Doors

Category replacement windows,basement waterproofing,woodworking

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2020

5.0

09/09/2020

I talked with Kurt Becker of Monk's Home Improvements on August 13 about getting painters to refresh the rooms on the first floor of my house as well as the master bath on the second floor. The house is for sale and I was contacting him from out of state as I have already moved. In quick order, he visited the house, sent me an estimate and once I confirmed, he booked a start date of Monday, August 24. The painters used a day to prep and to take wallpaper down in one of the rooms. They painted 4 rooms, two hallways, one bath - including ceilings, doors and trim work and were finished by Friday, August 28. The house looks terrific and we are so grateful to Kurt and Monk for their prompt response and quick completion of the job - and especially for working with me long distance. I had used Monk for prior projects and knew I could count on their workmanship.Thank you! Jane O.

Description of Work
Interior Painting

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2020

5.0

09/09/2020

They did an excellent job and did it in a timely manner. They showed up on time and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They installed a new door and framing. They also built stairs in the basement as well.

Category contractors,woodworking,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2020

5.0

07/17/2020

We had Monk's power wash our deck and a few other areas of the house, They did an excellent job as they have in the past for a number of projects. Kurt Becker has been very helpful in planning and coordinating these projects. We highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Power washing

Category deck cleaning

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your continued business! We really appreciate the review.
5.0

06/19/2020

Wonderful. The team arrived on time since day 1. Very respectful, diligent and on point. I would definitively hire Monk’s again.

Description of Work
Outdoor painting (house)

Category basement waterproofing,house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2020

Services Offered

Kitchen, bath, basement & attic remodeling. Kitchen & bath design. Interior & exterior painting. Exterior trim repair & replacement. Custom carpentry. Crown molding. Wainscoting. Built-in Bookshelves & Cubbies. Custom Closets and Storage. Window & Door Installation. Dustless Hardwood floor refinishing. Hardwood & tile floor installation. Deck building, repair, washing & staining. We sell cabinetry, countertops, vanities, hardware, tile, windows, doors.

Services Not Offered

Roofing. Masonry. Fence installation.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, Check
Senior Discount
no
Warranties
Yes