Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Curb Appeal Design LLC

Founded 1992 • With Angi since June 2010

4.3

(36) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12 Walsh Way

Morris Plains, NJ 07950

Description

Curb Appeal means different things to different people. To us, it means that you are happy with the appearance of your home or business. We derive genuine satisfaction from making your home or business look fantastic. To achieve this, we will build from architectural drawings or work with you to suggest design ideas. We take ideas and make them a reality by selecting the best material for the job based on application and budget....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/28/2020


kathy P.

We are so pleased with the work Mo and his team did for us. Professional, honest, hard-working and fair, we couldn't have asked for a better experience and quality workmanship. This was a fairly involved project and we really appreciated Mo's confidence, ability and emphasis on doing things right. Curb Appeal Design takes great pride in their work and is a company you can trust. Our project was completed in 3 days and stayed within our budget. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Dry well & catch basin installation, connected downspouts, leveled, seeded & fertilized property. Replaced pipe and fixed grate in front of garage, installed grate in front of patio door, leveled sidewalk,

Category appliance repair, landscaping, lawn treatment, masonry, mulch, drain pipe

Service Provider Response

Thank You [Member Name Removed] Rose
5.0

04/24/2017


Oleg T.

I talked to Mo and a couple of other contractors about my problem. Price wise all contractors were in the same ballpark. I chose Mo b/c he paid a lot of attention to situation on the outside - and I was sure myself that it was a big part of the problem. I tried to discuss with him if I could cut a corner or 2 but he refused - and he was right. B/c the outside was even bigger part of the problem than I thought. Turned out that there was a defect in a previously done job (wall strengthening, by another contractor, even before I moved in) and the guys had to dig second time to pour some extra concrete. Mo was kind enough to include that extra job without extra payment - otherwise I'd be broke. :) They did the job pretty fast and I'd say with minimal damage in terms of excavator tracks and concrete dust. There were a few issues; Rose and Mo handled critical ones gracefully; non-critical - they are still about to work on in near future. Overall I was very happy with my experience and recommended them to friends of mine right away.

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing: * Outside: AC unit removed then put back + trench with drainage + grading + grass seeding + move few plants + redo front porch * Inside: Put in about 40ft french drain and connect to pre-existing one (no sump pump installation) + replace about 250sqft concrete floor.

Category concrete repair, decks, excavators, landscaping, masonry, mulch, drain pipe

5.0

04/12/2016


Dan M.

Mo's team did a fabulous job in a very reasonable time period considering the nasty weather we get in the March/April timeframe. His men installed a series of french drains that will channel all the water coming from neighboring properties in to the drains, keeping our foundation free of excessive rain water. The wall and patio design were above our expectations. We really appreciated their attention to the details as we discussed with Mo before the project began. We would definitely recommend Mo for another project in the future.

Description of Work
Regraded the entire back yard, installed a wall on the back of the property, installed a new patio, and installed a patio wall next to an existing patio. Added steps between the patios, to the house, and to the shed.

Category landscaping, plumbing, drain pipe, patios

5.0

09/16/2015


Honggang W.

Mo did a great job designing the whole project. It is finished in seven days. Mo is very detail-oriented and his crew worked very had to have it done quickly. The whole backyard looks great now.

Description of Work
Build a 500 sq ft patio. Grade the backyard. Put topsoil on and seed the yard.

Category landscaping, mulch, hardscaping, patios

5.0

07/06/2015


Danielle J.

Mo and his team did a great job. His crew were friendly, and took care of everything. We had some water damage on the house siding which he took care of also.

Description of Work
Remove front concrete stoop and concrete slab in front; replace with small wood deck and pavers as walkway.

Category decks, landscaping, siding, water damage restoration, hardscaping

5.0

04/22/2015


Kevin B.

Mo is amazing and great to work with. He is shoulders above his competition in design, production and price. We looked at other providers and based on their price and design, decided to give Curb Appeal Design a try. Originally we were scheduled to replace our retaining wall last fall but the weather did not cooperate with us. The wall survived the winter and we were first on the list for Mo this year. He completed our retaining wall a few weeks ago and it looks even better than we expected. Mo listened to our ideas, collaborated with us, offered us options and recommendations and most importantly answered every one of our questions. Excuse the pun, he left no stone unturned. He was very clear with details on when and how the work was going to be executed. He was on-site with his crew for most of the work; insuring that it was done correctly and met with our approval as it was being completed. We have received nothing but compliments on the new wall from our neighbors and friends, and many of themhave asked us for Mo's contact details. We were so happy with the final product that we decided to collaborate with Mo on a redesign of our backyard. He has provided us with his recommendation on what would solve for our needs (leveling the ground with extra soil, tree removal, building a small wall, etc) while keeping us within our budget. We can't wait for the work to begin! Trust me, you can't go wrong working with Curb Appeal Design!

Description of Work
Mo and his team removed our existing retaining which was falling apart and replace it with a well designed new wall. It was in such bad shape that we were worried it would be a hazard for our young boys. Mo designed a beautiful wall that is both functional and aesthetically pleasing.

Category landscaping, masonry, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

5.0

03/05/2015


Damon K.

The service was excellent. He did a great job. He gave us a lot of input on what he thought would look best. We were very happy with the outcome after he did the input.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for Curb Appeal Design LLC. He did pavers, new steps, and walkways for us.

Category concrete repair, landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

12/17/2014


Doris J.

Mo is The Best! He is definitely not your run-of-the-mill landscape guy. He is unique and professional and has a great crew and he is fun to work with. He completed our patio hardscaping in the Spring and we are most happy. Mo listened to our vision and collaborated with us, making sure we were happy with each aspect of the project. We did not get a formal plan; but he was clear enough with details that we were comfortable without one. He was present with his crew for much of the work; insuring that it was done correctly and met with our approval as it was being completed. We are currently working with Mo to landscape the rest of our property. We are excited about his plant selection and can’t wait to see the finished project!

Description of Work
Moe Soliman hardscaped our walk-out basement patio, which included a stone ledge (suitable for seating) around the perimeter of the patio, a fenced enclosure for a small dog run, a waterproof roof (there is a deck over the patio) and a storage enclosure under the deck stairs.

Category fencing, landscaping, roofing, pavers, gravel, deck cleaning, hardscaping, patios

3.0

04/01/2014


Alison D.

This was an unsatisfying experience. I did not get a sense that the Curb Appeal Design (CAD) representative listened to me, but rather had his own agenda about what could be done with my yard. I gave him a budget ($10K), pointed out several improvements I was considering and asked which of the projects he could tackle with that budget. The CAD rep repeatedly tried to sell me on spending several thousand dollars just for a plan. I responded that I can come up with my own plan, and would rather spend the money on the actual project work and materials.

Description of Work
I purchased an Angie's List "Big Deal" for $49 which was to include three items: a landscaping evaluation, a proposal, and a conceptual plan/drawing of my project. I met with Curb Appeal Design LLC (Mr Solimon) and described my landscaping concerns, ideas, and budget. A month later, I received 2 pages in the mail -- what I would consider the absolute minimum effort necessary to fulfill the "Big Deal" offer.

Category landscaping

5.0

03/25/2014


Carla M.

It’s great. They supply us with a plan and my husband is going to do the work with the plan they recommended. They came out December or January; they have a hard just speaking out with the scheduling and the weather like that. The person I met was pretty easy going and he was efficient and he came with pictures.

Description of Work
I used the Big Deal coupon of Curb Appeal Design, LLC.

Category landscaping

4.0

03/17/2014


Bernadette T.

Because of the frequent snowfalls this winter, several appointments had to be cancelled, but he kept in frequent contact with me .He came on time today. He was very personable and I felt at ease with him. He seemed very knowledgeable and took into consideration the design required to enhance an older home. I told him I would be doing the work myself and he was fine with that. It would have been nice to have had a detailed written plan and because that is not provided I gave him a B instead of an A. All in all I felt I got my money's worth.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for a landscaping evaluation. Mo Solomon came out and evaluated the front and sides of my property. He gave me some very interesting ideas. He provided names of additional plants as well how many I should plant. He told me where they should be planted to get the most out of the existing landscaping. He showed me some pictures of plants that he thought would work.

Category landscaping

5.0

02/17/2014


Rahul R.

Moe was very professional along with his entire staff. They arrived everyday, rain or shine and finished the job like it was their own. They went above their call of duty multiple times to make us happy.

Description of Work
Redid our front walkway, steps and landscaping.

Category decks, landscaping

5.0

01/23/2014


Pat S.

Mo was knowledgeable, professional, on time, and reasonably priced. His crew was polite, tidy, and really knew what they were doing. The foundation went up without a hitch. Mo listened to my consensus and vision for my yard. His work exceeded my expectations.

Description of Work
Foundation/ Basement for new addition concrete steps, drywall, and regrading yard.

Category concrete repair, drywall, excavators, basement remodeling

4.0

01/04/2014


Ida V.

Curb appeal visited my home to evaluate for landscaping project. There were some great ideas shared with me, but I was expecting to receive a landscaping plan after the visit. I was also surprised that no measurements were taken. I will most likely meet with other contractors now for this work and compare with Curb Appeal suggestions.

Description of Work
I didn't use CURB APPEAL DESIGN LLC

Category landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

1.0

12/05/2013


John and Anne H.

The guy eventually called me and came around. I have chased him since and I still have nothing from him. It seems to be more about how he wants me to spend $1,000’s. That is not what I wanted, I just wanted a basic idea of how much xyz would cost. So, that I could see if I could work it into my budget or not. I still have no base; I have nothing. I have called him. I feel like I paid $49 for him to come out and try to sell me on what he wanted to do, not for what I wanted. I found him to be expensive, he was here for half an hour and off he went; $49 is pretty good for him, considering that he did not do anything. I absolutely would not use him again.

Description of Work
Curb Appeal Design did come out, but has not delivered anything.

Category landscaping

4.0

12/05/2013


John I.

It was okay I didn't know exactly what to expect.

Description of Work
I purchased a coupon for $49 Landscaping Evaluation and Plans.

Category landscaping

1.0

11/30/2013


Mary D.

They never called me to schedule the appointment. I would still make an appointment if they called me (I work from home and appointments are easy) but I don't have time to track them down.

Description of Work
They never called me to schedule the appointment. I would still make an appointment if they called me (I work from home and appointments are easy) but I don't have time to track them down.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], It has been hectic and the weather is cold and the need to get the work done before it snows. I will not forget you I will call you.
3.0

11/26/2013


Brian M.

It turned out okay. The issue was, at the end the guy was supposed to come back with an architect to develop a scope for the project and to put together a sketch for the design for the project and then I never heard back from him again. So I'm not going to use him. The design was supposed to be included in the price. The service was performed within a week to ten days after the purchase of the deal. There were no additional charges beyond the big deal amount. I only got half for what I paid for.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for Curb appeal design.

Category landscaping

3.0

11/19/2013


Marian T.

They came to tell me that I need a landscape designer and need to have it done which I already knew. They came back and said it would be $2000 for the landscape architect and would deduct $1000 if I use a specific Company. The estimate came back $1200 more than what I was originally told so I’m not going to use this company. I told them no. They evaluation was fine though besides they said one thing and the estimate came back another.

Description of Work
I had them come out to give an evaluation.

Category landscaping

4.0

11/14/2013


Karen M.

A person did come on site and talked through a couple of obstacles. We also discussed possible changes but I had to followed up for an action plan. They sent a list of plants to utilize. However, it did not explain where to put the plants or even how to plant them. I was going to give them a few days and I sent an email to Curb Appeal Desiagn llc this past weekend but they have yet to follow up. I am receiving a refund for the deal.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for $49 for a landscaping evaluation and plan.

Category landscaping

1.0

11/12/2013


Jenny P.

I purchased an Angie's List Big Deal for this service. They came over and looked over the project, but I never heard from them again. After we talked when he came out I was really interested in what he proposed, but since he never called back or anything I just assumed that he was one of these fly-bys. I only met with them this one time and he seemed to be knowledgeable. They were on time and showed up when they said they would.

Description of Work
I tried to use Curb Appeal Design for a design for an upcoming landscaping project. I wanted to redesign the front and the side of the house. He told me some ideas and what he wanted to keep.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] I have no problem working with you and if its something you wish to still go forward with I certaintly don't mind you calling me and we can discuss. i didn't think it was something you wanted done asap.. Sincerely Mo
5.0

11/09/2013


John M.

Mo Soliman, the owner, and his crew completed a quality job and didn't quit till all was complete satisfactory. They came and tore down the rotten building material and reinforced the structural support to make it like brand new. They replaced the sheet rock, trim, spackled and painted. It looked great. But, we continued to discover periodic rain water leaking in from that same corner. Mo Soliman and senior carpenter came back multiple times to study and investigate the problem over a period of a couple of weeks. It was like a mystery. But, after multiple tests and investigations into the study of this problem they discovered it was coming from a defective window. He and his senior carpenter were relentless until they discovered the source of the problem and finally solved it. If it was anyone else, they probably would have quit and never returned. They have gained a tremendous amount of respect from my wife and I because of their integrity and perseverance. I will be calling them soon to start a new project. They are the most reliable contractors I have ever had to deal with and the owner Mo always seems to answer his mobile phone when I call him.

Description of Work
Curb Appeal Design contractors has recently completed a home improvement and repair job at our house in West Orange, NJ. We had wood damage to one corner of our porch from rain water that entered in at that area over time and caused wood rot and mold, as well as fungus. Years of water infiltration caused wood damage and structural post support damage, as well.

Category contractors, concrete repair, decks, drywall, landscaping, masonry, chimney repair, woodworking, interior painters, hardscaping

1.0

11/05/2013


Mette H.

No one called or showed up.

Description of Work
We called to schedule a landscape evaluation after buying their deal on Angies List. We were told they would be out the week after (that is now 2 weeks ago). We never heard from them again. I am wondering if Angies List is going to refund my money???

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

I do apologize if yo indicated no one showed up, as I always do the scheduling, so you may have called and someone said they will show up. As we are hectic and I know this isn't any excuse either, so we can either schedule something through me or you may certaintly request a refund. Thank you and again my apologies
5.0

11/02/2013


Donna D.

Excellent! All went as planned and the final result is amazing. Mo, owner of Curb Appeal Design, was insightful, patient and kind. I had never worked with a landscaper before, but was so at ease that I have already planned a spring project with Mo to build a stone patio area. Price is good, work is exceptional, and Mo is outstanding. Win-win-win!!!

Description of Work
Built stone path and planted shrubs/plants in front yard. Also, planted 500 spring bulbs.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel

5.0

10/31/2013


Dennis N.

Wonderful work... very professional, quite knowledgable, overall excellent work.

Description of Work
Landscaped the front property and cleaned up the rear property.

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Ryan & Son Chimneys

    As an industry leader Bill Ryan has served on Boards of Directors for the past 17 years and is a Nationwide instructor of Chimney Inspections, chimney repair and chimney related technical classes. Ryan and Son Chimneys is a full service chimney company specializing in Chimney inspection (level 1, 2 and 3) chimney and fireplace restoration, chimney liners, caps, repairs, installations. Fireplace, wood and pellet stove installations. Pellet, gas and wood appliance service. Consulting, expert witness and hearth and chimney design services.  

    Sea Pine Restoration LLC

    Owner operated contracting business specializing in pavers, baths, kitchens, basements, rental/turnover, painting and vinyl plank flooring. Remodeling single family, multi family and commercial projects since 1995. Serving Morris, Passaic and Bergen counties. We work with your design ideas and provide cost/benefit consulting with regard to materials, time and resale value of your project. We are licensed and fully insured.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Roy Targia Masonry

    Roy got his start over 25 years ago as a member of the local Masons Union. He quickly rose through the ranks demonstrating his abilities as a craftsman as a masonry contractor. Although working in the Union was both rewarding and a decent living, Roy wanted to work on more creative projects. Such projects were not presented to him through his local union shop. Eventually his creative spirit won over his practical side, and he left the Union behind to strike out on his own as a small business owner. Roy and his clients quickly realized his ability as an old world mason with an eye for detail. Targia strives to attain old-world craftsmanship through the application of new-world methods, implementing both technology and technique to meet the client’s needs. In this, the foundation of our philosophy is born “The most important foundation we build is the relationships with our clients”. His ability to manage projects and to over deliver time and time again, is how Roy Targia Masonry and Custom Outdoor Living has been able to build a thriving masonry business in New Jersey. Masonry contractor New Jersey contact masonrybyroy.com. There is no job too big or too small for Targia’s team. Additional DBA - RoyTargiaMasonry.com.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Landscaping Renovations/Lighting, Retaining Walls, Decks Patios, Outdoor Kitchens, Fireplaces and Fire Pits, Water Features & Gardens, Pool Decking, Steps, Patios, Walkways, Chimneys, Fireplaces, Stone Veneers, Stone Retaining Walls, Concrete Blocks, Brick Pavers, Basement Waterproofing and French Drains/Sump Pumps. Deck Designs, Deck Additions, Patios/Porches, Deck and Backyard Lighting, Deck Waterproofing, Gazebos, Fencing, Pergolas, Arbors, Finished Basements

    Services Not Offered

    Lawn Maintenance

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Curb Appeal Design LLC

    How is Curb Appeal Design LLC overall rated?

    Curb Appeal Design LLC is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Curb Appeal Design LLC open?

    Curb Appeal Design LLC is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Curb Appeal Design LLC provide

    Curb Appeal Design LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does Curb Appeal Design LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Curb Appeal Design LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Curb Appeal Design LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Curb Appeal Design LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Curb Appeal Design LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Curb Appeal Design LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Curb Appeal Design LLC?

    No, Curb Appeal Design LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does Curb Appeal Design LLC offer?

    Curb Appeal Design LLC offers the following services: Landscaping Renovations/Lighting, Retaining Walls, Decks Patios, Outdoor Kitchens, Fireplaces and Fire Pits, Water Features & Gardens, Pool Decking, Steps, Patios, Walkways, Chimneys, Fireplaces, Stone Veneers, Stone Retaining Walls, Concrete Blocks, Brick Pavers, Basement Waterproofing and French Drains/Sump Pumps. Deck Designs, Deck Additions, Patios/Porches, Deck and Backyard Lighting, Deck Waterproofing, Gazebos, Fencing, Pergolas, Arbors, Finished Basements

    Are there any services Curb Appeal Design LLC does not offer?

    Lawn Maintenance