Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting

Founded 2005 • With Angi since June 2010

4.7

(49) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

245 RT-79 Morganville

MORGANVILLE, NJ 07751

Description

The Mikulka family has been serving the electrical needs of homeowners and businesses in Marlboro and Central New Jersey for over 25 years. We take pride in the reputation we have built and strive to maintain our standard of excellence in every project, no matter how big or how small. From design

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
JOHN M.
5.0
06/08/2019
The team from Mikulka were Outstanding! Would not use any one else for any future electrical work that I might need.
Description of Work
HAD ELECTRICAL WIRING DONE IN GARAGE AREA AND GFCI'S INSTALLED IN BOTH INSIDE AND OUTSIDE HOME.
Category
electrician
Gary R.
1.0
06/20/2018
Mikulka electric provided the installation services for a electrical transfer switch needed for the connection of a portable home generator. This install was done several years ago. This past weekend, we lost power to several rooms in the home. We contacted Mikulka to come out for troubleshooting and repairs, but were informed availability for an appt was a month out. We contacted another electrical contractor who spotted the problem within minutes. We were told that the installation of the wiring for the transfer switch was done very sloppy and further (not something I was aware of) the made a aluminum to copper wire connection without using a special material. So not only was the work sloppy, but the connection turned out to be a major fire hazard!! The contractor found several wires burned to their core due to the lack of proper connection. We were told that we were very lucky that a fire did not occur as the burned wires were extensive. I cannot believe that a licensed electrical contractor would not be aware of the bonding requirements for mixed metal wires and would allow a potential fire hazard to exist when providing their services. Mikulka had informed us that a township electrical inspection (permit) would not be needed for their install, but in hindsight, we should have had one!! Their shoddy work nearly caused a fire in my home. It's hard to believe the have positive ratings. Was their shoddy and dangerous work provided to me an exception? Think twice before using them. I've attached a photo of the burned wires in my panel.
Description of Work
Installation of a transfer switch to connect a portable home generator
Category
electrician
Nelson P.
5.0
03/19/2018
The technician was very professional. The initial estimate was fair, and included parts and labor and the installation was done with care and resulted in exactly what we were looking for. The LED lighting really makes a difference.
Description of Work
Installed 3 canister lights and replaced 5 canister lights with LED lights.
Category
electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your review! We are glad you are satisfied with your lights and our services! If there is anything we can do to improve please let us know. We are very happy to help you with any of your electrical or contracting needs! Thanks again and have a safe spring day!
Karen C.
5.0
02/28/2018
Prompt courteous service, gave written quote/receipt that clearly defined work for owner to obtain CO for closing. Removed debris & left home clean. Very satisfied & highly recommend. Fair price.
Description of Work
electric baseboard heat
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your review. We are happy to help homeowners through the complicated and stressful permitting and C.O. requirements when buying and selling your home. We are very pleased to hear your happy with our services, though if you have any suggestions for further improvement we'd be happy to hear your oppinion. Thank you and we hope you have a wonderful weekend!
Joshua R.
5.0
01/02/2018
The guys were great and got this done pretty quickly. I would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
I needed electrical for an attic fan and my smoke detectors replaced.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for choosing Mikulka! We are always pleased to hear about our satisfied customers. If there are any questions or concerns you may have please don't hesitate to give us a call. Thanks again and happy New Year!
Edward K.
5.0
12/06/2017
From the beginning Pete was responsive and professional. Billy and Rob were the two men tasked with moving the light fixture and patching of the old hole in the ceiling. They did a terrific job. Not only were they neat but finished the work quickly and below the estimated cost and time. Excellent. Excellent. Excellent.
Description of Work
I was in need of one of my dining room light fixtures to be moved.
Category
electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Morning [Member Name Removed], I am beyond pleased to hear about your satisfaction! Thank you for your review and here at Mikulka Electric we are all about customer service and satisfaction. We hope you have a happy holidays and will continue to chose us for any of your future electrical or construction needs.
juleesa B.
5.0
12/04/2017
Had Mikulka Electric come out to give an estimate on an installation of GFI outlet outdoors in front of home since we noticed we did not have one only in the backyard and needed it for Christmas decor lighting and had a light fixture fixed in bathroom . Estimate was fair so I set up appointment. Donny came to install the outlet outside he was courteous, professional and advised on all aspects as to the installation of the outlet. Donny was excellent and pleasant. Work was performed efficiently and did not take long at all . Excellent service also the receptionist and appointment department are courteous, professional and scheduling was a breeze.
Description of Work
Hired twice : Installation of outdoor GFI outlet fix light fixture in bathroom
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]! Thank you so much for your kind review. Donny is excellent at what he does, and all of us here from Mikulka Electric are glad to hear you had a pleasant experience. I'm sure you are excited for your outdoor holiday decorations. Stay warm and safe, and happy holidays from the Mikulka family.
Joel G.
1.0
10/28/2017
Bad News !!! Not Trustworthy !!! Be careful with this electrician. I was selling my house and moving to california. The buyer of my house called and said that during the home inspection, they found the electrical panel with a scorch on it and this electrician diagnosed the problem from a picture from the inspection and said without a doubt that the panel needed to be replaced. I called him and questioned his wisdom in diagnosing this from a picture and he was 100% sure. Safety is important but I didn't have much confidence in what he said so i had two separate electricians come to the house on two separate occasions and each said the panel was safe and in good working order. This electrician may have a license but he didn't seem to have any common sense or knowledge about this issue. And suggesting a $2,200 panel replacement when it wasn't necessary just lines his pocket with cash. Bad News!!!!! If you have questions i would be pleased to discuss this with you. I have nothing to gain or lose by telling you what happened. I just believe in consumerism and don't like being taken advantage of. Joel Golub 732-713-7854
Description of Work
Estimate for panel replacement
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed] We regret that you feel that you were being taken advantage of. As a professional courtesy your photo was reviewed and in our professional opinion, based on initial review, a panel change would be recommended. As our customers know we turn down jobs when it comes to unnecessary repairs or replacements. It is our policy, as many of our customers will attest, of not charging a fee when an phone consultation is sought and in your case the same was true. As safety is the primary concern for all parties in the real estate transaction, we continue to stand by the initial recommendation based on the photo as well as the home inspectors findings . Wishing you and your family the best of luck in California. Mikulka Electric
Robert G.
4.0
10/20/2017
Mostly well. The electricians tried very hard to do as little damage as possible and the result was good. Some on site creative thinking resulted in simple solutions to routing problems. Loose ends were tied up in timely manner.
Description of Work
Old house needed rewiring
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed]: Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure for both myself and my guys to work on this home. Your vision for updating this home while maintaining its beauty was remarkable! Peter
charles H.
5.0
10/15/2017
He put in new wires and put outlet and switch back in box
Description of Work
Wall box re wired
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed]: Thank you for taking the time to review our work. Looking forward to working together again in the future. Make sure you redeem your discount coupons Julia Mikulka
Adrienne B.
5.0
10/14/2017
Within an hour of calling, the owner Peter came to my rescue. Not only was he professional but also caring. Peter diagnosed the problem quickly. He made sure everything was fixed that same day. Peter's employees were just as attentive. I even got a phone call the next day to see if I was satisfied with everything. I would highly recommend this family owned business.
Description of Work
Electrical short causing power to go out in several areas of home. Also needed ballist changed in light in laundry room.
Category
electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]: We are so happy that you were satisfied with our services. We appreciate our customers and it is our mission to treat our customers how we want to be treated. Customers who understand the value of a family owned business are our favorite customers! We value your time and thank you very much for reviewing us! Have a great day. Julia Mikulka
Karen M.
5.0
10/04/2017
Great service. They were responsive. A little later than planned. Once the technician realized it was a big job, he called me to let me know that there would be a colleague joining him. I appreciated that heads up. They explained what they were doing. Cleaned up. And professional and pleasant. Will definitely use them again if I need electrical work done.
Description of Work
I had all the outlets in my house checked for reverse polarity, and those that were reversed, had to be fixed. Had 2 ceiling fans hung. A light fixture changed out for a new one.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE WONDERFUL REVIEW! WE'RE SORRY ABOUT THE SCHEDULE DELAY [Member Name Removed], WE VALUE YOUR TIME AN TRY TO KEEP TO SCHEDULE. WE ARE GLAD IT ALL WORKED OUT AND THAT YOU'RE SATISFIED WITH OUR WORK. WE LOOK FORWARD TO WORKING FOR YOU AGAIN. THANK YOU FOR YOUR BUSINESS!
steven P.
5.0
09/11/2017
Went well, everything was done as they said. I will be using them again if anything should come up
Description of Work
Replace underground Electrical wiring.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU, WE'RE HAPPY TO HEAR THAT YOU'LL CALL AGAIN!
Barbara J W.
5.0
07/26/2017
Bobby was so nice and didn't try to sell me something I didn't need. Gci kept shutting down due to outdoor outlets getting wet.
Description of Work
Replaced outdoor socket and installed cover on outlet to protect from the rain
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

HAPPY TO HEAR OUR TECHNICIAN BOBBY SOLVED YOUR ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO REVIEW OUR COMPANY & HOPE YOU RETURN WHEN NEEDED!
John T.
5.0
05/30/2017
All work completed as promised. Pete the owner is great. Came to house personally and responded quickly to questions.
Description of Work
Outside lighting, pergola fan, and replaced smoke detectors.
Category
electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

WE APPRECIATE THE GREAT REVIEW. IT WAS A PLEASURE WORKING WITH YOU!
peggy L.
5.0
04/13/2017
worker arrived when promised, was very polite, and didn't let the fact that it was only 30 degrees out affect his work. Work area was left clean and the job was completed as per code for town requirements
Description of Work
run new line and put in2 new outlets for garage door openers, replaced existing timer for in-ground pool
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU FOR REVIEWING OUR COMPANY & FOR CHOOSING US TO HANDLE YOUR ELECTRICAL NEEDS. WE HOPE TO HEAR BACK FROM YOU IN THE FUTURE WHEN NEEDED. MIKULKA ELECTRIC
Stanislav N.
5.0
01/08/2017
The experience went well. The job was scheduled quickly, the crew arrived on time and completed the project in 1 day. They did explain that the sheetrock would have to be cut in multiple spots because of the 3 way switching. I had to get the walls patched/painted separately, as they explained before starting. They filled out the permit paper work on my behalf, all i had to do was get the permit at the township. Inspection passed. They called at the conclusion to follow up.
Description of Work
Install recessed lighting in 2 rooms. 12 lights (8 in one room, 4 in another). Both rooms to be wired with 3-way switching.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU FOR THE AWESOME REVIEW OF OUR COMPANY! WE'RE SO GLAD YOU'RE HAPPY WITH THE SERIVCE WE PROVIDED...FROM THE ESTIMATE, TO THE QUALITY OF WORK, TO THE OFFICE...WE WORK AS A TEAM AND TRY OUR BEST TO COMPLETE EVERY JOB WITH QUALITY SERVICE & CARE. CUSTOMER SATISFACTION IS OUR #1 PRIORITY!
Georgeanne O.
5.0
11/22/2016
Everything went smoothly from the time an estimate was given (they came immediately) to the time the services were performed (also accommodated my busy schedule). They are neat, clean up after themselves - just fantastic. You would never know anyone had been there. I highly recommend this company.
Description of Work
Put in electrical outlets, recessed lighting, ran new service outside and put in a chandelier.
Category
electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU FOR THE WONDERFUL REVIEW OF OUR COMPANY! WE ARE HAPPY TO HEAR THAT EVERYTHING WENT SMOOTHLY AND YOU ARE SATISFIED WITH THE FINISHED RESULTS. WE TRY OUR BEST TO SATISFY ALL OUR CUSTOMERS!
Hang L.
5.0
10/27/2016
Don fixed the problem right away. Excellent job!
Description of Work
Two recessed lights went out
Category
lighting

Service Provider Response

WE'RE GLAD THAT YOU WERE SATISFIED WITH THE SERVICE PROVIDED BY OUR TECHNICIAN DON. WE APPRECIATE YOUR BUSINESS & HOPE TO HEAR BACK FROM YOU!
John G.
5.0
10/18/2016
Called and Mike came over within days and gave me a competitive estimate. The next day the owner Pete called and we set a date only 1 week away which was perfect since my wife is due in 3 weeks! Bobby was very professional and easy going and the job went over without a hitch. The guys were easy to speak to and Pete stopped by and answered any questions I had during the process. 3 guys worked on the project and it was all completed in 1 day which really helped me out. Great local company.
Description of Work
9 LED high hats, replaced 20+ aluminum outlets and hooked up an existing fan to the dimmer outlets.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU FOR THE GREAT REVIEW OF OUR COMPANY. GLAD IT ALL WORKED OUT IN TIME. WE APPRCIATE YOUR BUSINESS! MIKLUKA ELECTRIC TEAM
Lisa S.
5.0
09/27/2016
Very well. Bobby did a great job and was very professional. He replaced with light switch for me with no issues at all.
Description of Work
Light switch was no longer working.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

BOBBY IS ONE OF OUR BEST TECHNICIANS! WE ARE SO HAPPY THAT ALL WENT WELL WITH YOUR JOB, HOPE TO HEAR BACK FROM YOU... THANK YOU!
LESLIE S.
5.0
09/13/2016
Great service. Technician arrived on time. Good price. New fan component and thermastat replaced. Quick in and out repair. Will definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Attic fan repairs.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

HAPPY TO HEAR THAT YOU WERE SATISFIED WITH OUR TECHNICIAN AND SERVICE WE PROVIDED. WE APPRECIATE OUR CUSTOMERS & GLAD TO HEAR THAT YOU'LL CALL US AGAIN! THANK YOU!
Steven S.
5.0
08/12/2016
The person who came was thorough and helpful.
Description of Work
Review of he electrical system of my house.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU FOR THE GREAT REVIEW, WE APPRECIATE YOUR BUSINESS & HOPE TO HEAR BACK FROM YOU IN THE FUTURE!
Emma B.
4.0
08/02/2016
Right one outlet is loose so I can't plug anything in without it falling off, and when he first came out he forgot to turn the electric back on and my refrigerator almost defrosted, but other than those two things it went ok.
Description of Work
They put in and repaired some outlets.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

WE ARE TRULY SORRY FOR THE MISHAP! UNFORTUNATELY, NOT ALL JOBS RUN SMOOTHLY & WE TRY TO RECTIFY THESE SITUATIONS AS BEST WE CAN. WE GUARANTEE OUR LABOR & OUR END RESULT IS SATISFYING OUR CUSTOMERS! THANK YOU
Chander P.
5.0
03/25/2016
We purchased a bathroom vent from Home Depot, and had Mikulka Electric install it. We also wanted to install a fan in my kids room but had not come around to purchasing the ceiling fan, so we had them wire the ceiling with a ceiling fan electric box, which they provided. From coming on time to completing the project at hand and at a very reasonable price, we would def. hire them again. Last year we had short on our patio lights and Mikulka came thru fixing the short without a hitch. Two separate work orders and this company came thru with flying colors. I would highly recommend this company. I'm going to get some more work electric work done and it will be with Mikulka, our new go to Electrician. Thank You.
Description of Work
Installation of bathroom vent and wire a ceiling for fan that will be installed later..
Category
electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate our customers and look forward to providing you quality service in the future! Have a great day!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Drew-Harp's Lawn Sprinklers

    I service and install Lawn sprinkler systems of all sizes From small residential to large commercial jobs. I strive too too all my customers the best their is in the industry I have been doing this for 22 years I only install the top of the line material, with a great warranty.  

    Angi Certified

    Diamond Electrical Svcs

    Deal directly with the owner/license holder: Master Electrician & NJ State Code Official Anthony J Agugliaro about all your electrical needs, not some salesman. NJ Master Electrician/Electrical Contractor Lic# 10048, NJ Electrical Code official/electrical inspector Lic# 8303 Please note that all requests for a price quote, or to schedule work must be submitted to My email diamondelectric@icloud.com and must include your complete address and phone number.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Integrated Electrical Solutions, LLC

    Welcome to our profile. Integrated Electrical Solutions is a full service electrical house. We do great work, at a fair price. Our pricing is very simple: we charge a $125 service fee, $95 per hour, plus parts for electrical, drain work and appliances. We service all brands of portable and stand by generators. Work before 6 am as well as night after 6pm, weekends and holidays is subject to additional charges. We normally charge $125 to clean dryer vents and that's it. We provide outstanding, well equipped mechanics, who know their jobs. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR- TOP SHELF FIVE START SERVICE. Integrated Electrical Solutions is a fully licensed and fully insured electrical company. We do emergency work 24/7, 365. When you want the best and you want it done right the first time, call us. thank you!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Electrical

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting

    How is Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting overall rated?

    Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting open?

    Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting provide

    Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting offer free estimates?

    Yes, Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting offers free project estimates.

    Does Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting offer emergency services?

    Yes, Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting?

    No, Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting does not offer warranties.

    What services does Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting offer?

    Mikulka Electric and Home Contracting offers the following services: Electrical