Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Greenwood Tree Experts

Founded 1970 • With Angi since January 2006

4.8

(49) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6 Fulton St

Montville, NJ 07045

Description

Greenwood Tree Experts and Lawn Service professionals offer a full range of preventive and remedial tree and lawn care services. Our highly qualified arborists, lawn care professionals and administrative staff strive to provide the best customer service for all our customer's landscaping needs.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
SANDRA E.
5.0
08/14/2018
FantasticWe had to remove a very old Pin Oak that was dead in the middle and dangerously dropping branches as well as a Tulip Poplar that was growing against our garage and a few miscellaneous saplings. In addition they artfully took off a few branches on our extra large maple that were hanging over our neighbors porch. Since this was not an emergency situation, we waited several months to be scheduled, but it was worth it. Jason and his crew were professional, neat, safety-conscious, and worked through yesterdays rain and mud. And, quite reasonably priced!
Description of Work
Removal of Large, dying Pin Oak, tulip poplar, cherry saplings & maple branches
Category
tree service
FRANK M.
3.0
09/28/2016
After emailing, leaving a message and finally talking to Dave, he was going to come out and give me an estimate. After not hearing from him, I left another message on his cellphone and no response. I guess they have enough business and don't need any more.
Description of Work
Lawn fertilization, weed and disease control.
Category
lawn treatment
Heidi W.
5.0
09/18/2014
Greenwood Tree was very professional. The notified me prior to coming as I requested. Performed 2 of the applications in July and the third in early September. My lawn was in sad shape prior to. I saw a definite improvement after first two applications. Still to early to see how the last one will impact the lawn. But overall I was very pleased with the service provided. Will consider using again.
Description of Work
3 lawn fertilizer and weed control applications.
Category
lawn treatment
Alex G.
5.0
09/05/2014
The tree job was great and Dave was a pleasure to work with. We even went on to hire them to do some landscaping work that also came out beautifully.
Description of Work
Removed one large and several small trees in a wooded area behind my home.
Category
landscaping, tree service
Gerald N.
1.0
08/07/2014
Was told that the city would not allow them to cut back any trees on curb.
Description of Work
.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

We are sorry that the city did not allow you to perform the work that you were interested in having us perform. Unfortunately that is a circumstance beyond our control and as should have no bearing on the review we receive. Thank you
MAUREEN H.
4.0
08/06/2014
fine. only good for a few weeks.
Description of Work
sprayed the yard.
Category
tree service
Jorge M.
3.0
08/04/2014
I find that my previous provider had much better results. Greener lawn, healthier, and much better weed control. They were punctual and professional. I just found the other results noticeably better, at a much higher cost though.
Description of Work
lawn fertilizer and weed control
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment, tree service

Service Provider Response

We are sorry that you were unsatisfied with the results of the first application that was performed. The timing because it was the summer was not the ideal time for controlling weeds but perfect for the grub and fertilization. Because it was the middle of the season you may have had crabgrass already active which is controlled with preemergent materials in the early season that had not been scheduled with us. If you are having issues with grubs please feel free to contact us at 973 335-6650. We will be performing as second application come fall time and should yield better results as far as weed control.
Erik D.
5.0
08/02/2014
Dave from Greenwood Tree Experts responded to our call promptly and set up a site visit. Though my wife and I were not home at the time of his visit, I received an e-mail and a phone call with the details of what Dave suggested for our property. He provided an estimate for shaping, pruning, and fumigating as well as a separate quote for deep fertilization. We decided against the deep fertilization, but went with the $1,300 quote for pruning and shaping 10 trees, installing a support wire, and fumigating one tree for carpenter ants. There was a delay in work, to which Dave notified us up front, but, three weeks later, our trees looked much more shapely, the ants were gone, and our giant birch tree's second trunk was well supported. Thanks, Greenwood! We'll be calling again, for sure.
Description of Work
Pruned and shaped 10 trees around our property, fumigated for carpenter bees in one tree, installed support wire in one tree
Category
pest control, lawn service, lawn treatment, tree service
Henry R.
5.0
06/18/2014
I have been using Greenwood Tree Experts for over 6 years. They are priced somewhat higher than the competition, but you definitely get what you pay for. The same crew has been working on my yard for 6 years which says a lot. They spend the time necessary to do the work thoroughly and answer all of your questions. The service in June 2014 was for my annual deep root fertilization which helps my trees and shrubs immensely. I have also used Greenwood Tree Experts to trim trees and shrubs when it is needed. Ray is a great person to work with as he follows up with you to make sure everything was done right and you are completely satisified.
Description of Work
Deep root fertilization.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment, tree service
Irene M.
4.0
06/09/2014
They are local. High priced. They are fine, they were pleasant and everything, but they were just expensive. They returned my call and came over, but like I said I did not use them. I don't know like if anybody would have been more expensive, so that is hard to say. They got back within the day, so that was a plus. They were punctual.
Description of Work
They gave a quote to cut down trees.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

While we always strive to be as price competitive as possible we believe that in the service industry the best value is often not the cheapest price.
Daniel R.
5.0
05/28/2014
Jason was prompt and professional. He provided a written estimate spelling out exactly what work would be done, with a clear pricing breakdown. The workers arrived on time and worked quickly and as quietly as possible. What's really important is that everything looks great! They pruned without butchering, so all the trees still maintain a natural, beautiful feel. These guys really know their stuff and I will definitely use them again in the near future.
Description of Work
Cut back overhanging oak tree away from side of house. Pruned tree in front lawn and cleared it from wires. Pruned Japanese maple in front of house. Removed all debris, including some extra stuff from my own landscaping efforts.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
gerard D.
5.0
03/02/2014
other than being delayed several weeks all went well. they did everything they said they would and at the cost they contracted at. I would hire them again.
Description of Work
major trimming on twin oak, cabling , trimming of 4 other trees
Category
tree service
William T.
5.0
02/13/2014
The job we contracted is approx 25% of what we will ultimately need done. However, we wanted to see the company services and needed a specific section cleared for cosmetic reasons. We contracted via Angie's List in Nov 2013 but delayed the service at our request until Jan 2014. Greenwood showed up on time as scheduled and they did a great job. Very professional service and I would recommend them without reservation.
Description of Work
Cut up fallen trees from Sandy to our property line. Chipped the debris and brush on property and blew chips into our wooded area.
Category
tree service
Ray Z.
5.0
02/11/2014
Hard workers , very professional, and very accomodating.
Description of Work
Spent day clearing dead wood and broken branches with two man crew
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
Beata B.
3.0
12/07/2013
They were difficult to work with to get a date for an appraisal. Once they did come out, they estimated that we would need additional hours to achieve our desired outcome of less tree cover in our backyard and the hourly cost for the additional work was very high.
Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal from Greenwood Tree Experts.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

A purchase of our big deal was made in mid Novemember. The purchase was to be used for a removal of a large oak in a limited access location. On November 19th we presented a proposal for tree removal shortly after the request was made. We were available by phone and/or e-mail to discuss the proposal which we did several times. [member name removed] subsequently indicated to us that we were not the least expensive quote she received. While we always strive to be as price competitive as possible we believe that in the service industry the best value is often not the cheapest price.
Greg P.
5.0
12/05/2013
The guys were great, demonstrated expertise, efficiency, and most importantly cleaned up afterwards. We reviewed the areas that needed work and all of the trees were properly trimmed without any additional guidance. I will be definitely make them my go to tree service provider.
Description of Work
Trimmed and shaped trees around my home. Also, removed an apple crab tree.
Category
tree service
Lynn A.
5.0
12/05/2013
I came home from work to find my trees trimmed. Other than the fact that the low hanging branches were gone and my trees trimmed, you would not have known they were there. My yard was spotless. Every branch was gone. They were professional in every sense of the word. There work was exceptional. I will definitely recommend them to everyone.
Description of Work
Trimmed the trees
Category
tree service
Denise P.
5.0
11/09/2013
Work went smoothly. Crew worked efficiently and did a good clean-up of all debris. I would definitely use this company again.
Description of Work
Extensive pruning of most trees on property
Category
tree service
Charles F.
5.0
09/04/2013
What a day! I watched every minute of it. I told the crew they were better to watch than the Cirque d' Soleil (sp?). They really were one terrific team. Their climber was unbelievable, like a monkey, but a lot safer! The way he and the crane operator coordinated each pick was fantastic. The crane operator was perfection in really tight quarters with heavy, bulky and unwieldy loads. The other three were a team and conscientious about safety, preventing damage and cleaned up...almost constantly. As I expected from Greenwood, they were real professionals, cautious not to do any damage to shrubs and other trees (that wasn't easy), and working safely every step of the way. They even finished, cleaned up and left after four hours of work! What a job! (and I understand it was their second of the day.) Don't know how they do it. That really was one big tree. I really felt guilty taking it down. Must have been at least 150 years old. It was competent all the way through except for a 6" diameter soft spot in the center at the bottom. It's a lot brighter back there now. I have used Greenwood on other difficult jobs before, including after a hurricane where damage was scattered throughout our woods. They are usually not the cheapest bidder, but close. It is worth thr difference in price not to have to worry about damage to property and plantings. They ARE professionals.
Description of Work
Removed an approximately 150 year old oak tree, 5 feet in diameter, from our backyard, about 20' from our house, among shrubs and many trees. The job was complicated due to limited access from the end of our drive, and the pick had to be over a fence and our garage roof with many other live oaks surrounding the crane.
Category
tree service
Craig R.
5.0
07/01/2013
They are very conscientious and thorough in all their work, including mulching, mowing, clean up, etc. Like all such services they're subject to weather delays but usually get back as soon as the weather clears enough to do so.
Description of Work
Lawn and landscaping care
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Lynn R.
5.0
03/18/2013
Overall, we were very happy with the service, and I would certainly use Greenwood Tree again.
Description of Work
We lost a large tree in Hurricane Sandy, and Greenwood provided us with a fair estimate, as well as a clean and efficient job to clean up the stump, branches, and trunk. In addition, the company was very easy to deal with and was also meticulous with its paperwork.
Category
tree service
jeanne M.
5.0
12/09/2012
We live in a heavily wooded area, and have never trimmed our trees. When a branch came down and put a hole in our brand new siding on the house, I decided it was time. I met with Ray from Greenwood and we walked the yard, discussing what needed to be done. He really understood our part of the neighborhood, and I felt the price was more than fair. A few weeks later the crew spent the day, taking care of all of the trees on the property. Ray had made several suggestions that I hadn't even thought of. At the end of the day, all was totally cleaned up and the yard looked better than ever. And a few weeks later when hurricane Sandy blew through, we were glad we chose Greenwood. Lots of smaller branches were down, but nothing more than stick size. I look forward to using Greenwood in the future.
Description of Work
Almost every tree trimmed and/or cleaned up in yard, several smaller scrubby trees removed.
Category
tree service
Sula T.
3.0
05/09/2012
We contacted them well over a week ago to obtain an estimate for tree removal. We never got any response. We contacted them again to find out what happened. When someone finally came by, I was told he got "really busy" last week. I was then told he would email me the estimate by the next morning. I received the estimate in the evening, after business hours actually, and not in the morning as he had promised. When I did receive the estimate, it was a full $2,000 more than the other estimates we received. We will be going with another company.
Description of Work
Provided an estimate, albeit over a week after we were told they would be here.
Category
lawn service, tree service
jeannette H.
5.0
01/26/2012
Thought the company was very busy because of the storm, Dave (one of the owners) stopped by and gave me a very quick and accurate estimate. The work was scheduled within the a week or two of when I called since they could coordinate it with work planned at a nearby house. The crew arrived early one morning and the work was completed in just an hour or two. Everything discussed was taken care and I barely noticed work was done other than all the damaged branches where no longer in the trees. The bill was exactly as discussed with Dave.
Description of Work
They removed branches in large trees which were damaged in the October snow storm. The trees were trimmed and all the waste removed from the property.
Category
tree service
Jay L.
5.0
12/20/2011
Their service was very good. They are very professional. Their price is reasonable. Their service is very satisfactory. Initially, they scheduled the appointment two weeks later, but they ended up scheduling two months later.
Description of Work
I hired Greenwood Tree Experts to cut down some trees in July.
Category
tree service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Heritage Pest Control Inc

    Heritage Pest Control has been providing quality, customer-satisfaction focused pest control services in northern New Jersey for over 20 years. We are different than other pest control firms in that we take the time and attention to educate you and solve your problem without supplying services that you don't need. We pride ourselves on our honest recommendations and our concern for your family and employees' safety. Using only EPA approved materials and innovative green materials; we work hard to control and eradicate your pests while being environmentally responsible. Regardless what bug is bugging you; we have the pest control service solution!  

    Angi Certified

    Wrigley's BusyBee Termite and Pest Control

    Family owned Pest control company. We provide animal control, animal exclusion, Pest control, Mosquito services, and termite services  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Delsea Termite & Pest Control

    Your home is one of the single largest investments you will make in your life. Just like all of your other investments you need to be protected. When it comes to protecting your investment from termites, and other destructive insects, we guarantee a safe, effective and professional job every time. Through years of education, training, modern technology and years of experience, we will be able to provide your home with the best protection possible. Our sole purpose is to ensure that we successfully provide homeowners like you with the best termite/pest protection available. Serving the pest control needs of Northern NJ since 1923. We currently service Morris, Sussex, Warren, Hunterdon, Somerset, Essex, Bergen, Union, and Hudson Counties. Delsea Termite and Pest Control has been a family owned and operated business since 1923. We base our company on good values, honest employees, and quality service. Delsea Termite and Pest Control believes strongly in over achieving our customers satisfaction. Delsea Termite and Pest Control is committed to providing the highest level of service in the pest management industry. We will consistently provide prompt, courteous, friendly, and professional service. Our goal is to protect the health and property of our customers by using the most advanced technology and pest management solutions. We offer a wide variety of services, so that our customers' needs will best be fit. These services include, TERMAplus, Classic Plan, Seasonal Treatments, Bi-monthly and monthly Treatments, One time Standard services, Rodent control, The Sentricon Termite Colony Elimination System, Conventional Termite Treatments, and Wildlife Control.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Commercial & residential tree care, insect & disease, tree removals, tree & shrub planting, root fertilization, stump grinding, resist graph, tick management, corrective pruning, lawn care, turf fertilization & renovation, weed control, organic turf care & renovation, vegetation management & core aeration.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Greenwood Tree Experts

    How is Greenwood Tree Experts overall rated?

    Greenwood Tree Experts is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Greenwood Tree Experts open?

    Greenwood Tree Experts is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Greenwood Tree Experts provide

    Greenwood Tree Experts accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Greenwood Tree Experts offer free estimates?

    Ask Greenwood Tree Experts for details on free project estimates.

    Does Greenwood Tree Experts offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Greenwood Tree Experts offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Greenwood Tree Experts?

    No, Greenwood Tree Experts does not offer warranties.

    What services does Greenwood Tree Experts offer?

    Greenwood Tree Experts offers the following services: Commercial & residential tree care, insect & disease, tree removals, tree & shrub planting, root fertilization, stump grinding, resist graph, tick management, corrective pruning, lawn care, turf fertilization & renovation, weed control, organic turf care & renovation, vegetation management & core aeration.