Green Sun Energy Services, LLC

About

Founded 2010 • With Angi since December 2013

Founded in 2010, we have helped nearly 1000 New Jersey homeowners become more energy independent. We are a leading provider of solar panel installation programs, GAF Timberline roofing systems, Generac generator installations, and generator maintenance services. Headquartered in Middletown, NJ our local team supports clients throughout Monmouth, Ocean, Middlesex, Somerset, Mercer and Union County....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

Ruisi

+58 more images

Verified Reviews

5.0

(67) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

66

4

0

3

0

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price

5.0

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

electrician (54)generator service (35)solar companies (32)plumbers (11)roofing (5)home automation (1)
Showing 1-25 of 67 reviews
5.0

08/04/2022


Andrea C.

From start to finish, Green Sun Energy was reliable, professional, and such a pleasure to work with. The thought of purchasing and installing a generator was very overwhelming to us, but the team at Green Sun made the entire process smooth and easy to understand, with very minimal effort on our end (which was a huge plus!). Every single person we worked with was so pleasant from the office staff to the electricians and plumbers - they gave us a lot of confidence that the job would be done correctly. We would 100% percent recommend Green Sun to friends and family. Thank you Glen and the whole Green Sun Team!

Description of Work
Generator Purchase and Installation

Category generator service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2022

5.0

03/17/2022


Jaclyn H.

A wonderful experience for a complicated project! I would use Green Sun Energy again for any service they provide. They made the generator install as easy and painless as possible. The crew was kind and efficient. Lots to do for an install such as this but they did it quickly, efficiently and were extremely organized. Just how I like it! Thank you so much!! We feel protected for whatever comes our way.

Description of Work
Generator Install

Category electrician, plumbing, generator service

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/17/2022

5.0

10/06/2021


Victor S.

Excellent and professionally installed, respectful of homeowners property and priorities.

Description of Work
Installation of a whole house external generator

Category electrician, plumbing, home automation, generator service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/18/2021

5.0

04/15/2021


Carol C.

My husband and I are so thankful we used Green Sun for the installation of our new generator. Every member of the crew from first inquiry to final inspection was exceptional. Everyone was very professional, informative and friendly. The communication was amazing -- every step of the way. And their prices were more than fair. Green Sun made the entire process wonderfully easy for us.

Description of Work
Purchase/Installation Whole House Generator

Category electrician, generator service

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2021

5.0

03/15/2021


Cathy V.

The scheduling and installation of my full house generator by Green Sun Energy was flawless and almost immediately proved to be invaluable with a 4 day blackout. Frank, Karen and their team could not have been more professional, informative and punctual. After consulting with a few other companies I'm convinced I made the right choice going with Green Sun Energy. I highly recommend them and know you will not be disappointed.

Description of Work
Installation of full house generator

Category

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2021

5.0

01/18/2021


John F.

Since I am working at home it was needed. Glen and Chris were awesome to deal with as they walked us through the process step by step and every time they said someone would be here that person was. It was seamless and very easy to work with them and I would Highly recommend them if you are looking for a generator install.

Description of Work
We had a generator installed at our home.

Category electrician, generator service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/18/2021

5.0

01/15/2021


Scott K.

I was very happy with the job Green Sun has done and the communication they consistently provided. I met someone yesterday who was looking install Solar Panels and they mentioned how painful the sales presentation was (with a very high pressure approach). I told them I have had no issues with Green Sun and I have been very happy. Glen was very professional and informative in the presentation he gave. I also had a neighbor looking for Solar last year and tried to go with a competitor, but they kept delaying things with very inconsistent communication. The communication from both Glen and Chris was always consistent, keeping me in the loop all along the process as they pushed to finish my job before the end of 2020.

Description of Work
Solar panel installation

Category electrician, solar panels

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2020

5.0

12/18/2020


Phillip C.

Glen and Chris were amazing from start to finish! They always made themselves available to answer any questions and concerns that I had. They are a no BS company, very straightforward and honest, never tried to upsale me on equipment I didn't need. The installers did a great job and made sure the install site was clean of any debris when they finished. We couldn't be happier.

Description of Work
Complete Solar System

Category electrician, solar panels

Cost $54,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2020

5.0

10/20/2020


Irene B.

Glen was very professional and answered all my questions and I had many. The installation was on time and professionally done. I signed up for yearly maintenance. The generator kicks in automatically when we lose power. After enduring 11 days without power during Sandy it’s definitely peace of mind! I can recommend Green Sun enthusiastically.

Description of Work
Generator installation

Category generator service

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2015

5.0

10/12/2020


Dan G.

Glen and his team were prompt and professional during both installation and annual maintenance. We lost power during the last hurricane and the generator worked perfectly. Pricing was very good and Glen was even able to get me an extended warranty (promo from Generac). I would recommend Green Sun.

Description of Work
Generator install and maintenance

Category electrician, generator service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2020

Images

Review for Green Sun Energy Services, LLC - 79 McCutcheon Ct., Middletown, NJ - 38941792
5.0

08/27/2020


Paul M.

The services that Green Sun Energy have always provided for us have always been top-notch. I would highly recommend them to my family and friends. The power on our street was out during the past storm for about 24 hours. Our generator came on in less than a minute and didn't miss a beat.

Description of Work
Service on our gas generator.

Category electrician, generator service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2020

5.0

08/05/2020


Magdy H.

Very professional. I installed a new roof and a new 20kw generator and everything went as planned. I am extremely happy with the process from start to finish. Every step was scheduled, and on time. I was kept informed throughout the entire process. Everything went so smooth from permits to installation and final testing. Glen explained each step and setup my expectations honestly and correctly. Glen guided me through the contract and was accommodating to my requests. The installers were excellent and kept a clean area. Karen guided me through appointments and inspections at each and every step. Always returned calls and spent as much time as needed to answer questions. I would highly recommend Green Sun Energy.

Description of Work
20kw whole home stand-by generator and installed a new roof

Category electrician, roofing, generator service

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/05/2019

5.0

03/16/2020


Judith B.

Great! Glen and the team take care of every detail with efficiency and professionalism.

Description of Work
Roof, Solar Panels, Generator

Category roofing, solar panels, generator service

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2019

5.0

02/12/2020


Scott R.

Glenn and his team were awesome. From start to finish they were very responsive and didn't treat you like you were just another customer in line. We went back and forth a few times on various options before settling on a final design. Then the township delays began, but they helped us navigate those problems before and after installation! They did things in the installation I didn't even think of, such as ensuring all of the wiring was as hidden as possible. Now we look at other installations and notice those things that we wouldn't have liked to see on our house! After all the township delays it was finally time to turn it on. As with just about any technology it didn't work at first. But that same night I received an email with photo instructions on how to troubleshoot. Unfortunately that didn't work either, but they had someone out the very next day. Anybody can do your install, but how you are treated after they have your money leaves a lasting impression. They don't ignore my emails and are very responsive. If someone is looking for Solar this is the company you want to hire!

Description of Work
Solar Panel Installation

Category electrician, solar panels

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2019

5.0

11/13/2019


O G.

Excellent company, excellent service! We've done a ton of research on solar, so we had lots of questions for every sales rep that stopped by our home. Unfortunately, many sales reps just followed a script and often did not know about the specifics of their equipment. We were willing to spend a little more money if we felt comfortable with the company or the sales rep, but none of the reps impressed us. Until we met Glen. He is one of the owners of the company--friendly and informative and knew all of the technical details that we wanted to know. Green Sun actually offered the best price, so it was a double win for us! Glen spent a lot of time going over things and tweaking our system until we were happy--we had researched many different panels used by different companies, so there were alot of questions on our side. He was very patient with us. After we signed the contract, things moved along quickly. Everything was very upfront and communicated well. Glen kept us constantly updated on when the panels would arrive, the workers, everything. Every contractor that showed up was very professional and neat. We paid after each portion was finished, as they had outlined in the beginning, so there was never any anxiety. The design of their system is very sleek--they move exhaust pipes so the panels line up nicely and the wires are hidden in our attic. It shows thoughtfulness and is extra work on their part to not have unsightly wires exposed to weather. We passed our inspection with flying colors and are very happy. It's been 6 months so far and we are still very happy with our system and with Green Sun's level of service to this day. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
solar panels and roof

Category electrician, roofing, solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2019

5.0

11/02/2019


Walter K.

The whole project could not have gone any smoother. The sales presentation was concise and informative. Very professional installation process, Green Sun took care of all aspects from municipal approvals to contractor scheduling, Along the way they kept us informed on every single step of the process via email and phone. They gave us the electrical and plumbing installation dates about three weeks in advance and everything came off just as they said it would. The contractors were courteous, friendly and very professional. All we had to do was sign the contract and they made everything happen. Couldn't be more pleased. Best of all, after installation about a month ago we've had the power go out twice in the last week and the Generac performed as advertised.

Description of Work
Whole house Generac home generator installation

Category electrician, plumbing, generator service

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2019

5.0

10/25/2019


Pavel S.

Sun Green did fantastic job on our new generator! They gave us details about each step and everything went as planned. Glen showed me how to use the system and everybody was super responsive. I’m so glad I went with them and now considering Solar panels for next project.

Description of Work
Install new generator

Category electrician, generator service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2019

5.0

10/13/2019


Meta D.

Great experience. Green Sun completed installation on schedule and had excellent communication throughout the entire process. An equipment issue did arise about a month after installation and they resolved it very quickly and had the system back up and running in no time. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Solar Panel Design and Installation

Category electrician, solar panels

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2019

5.0

10/10/2019


Raymond B.

Green Sun designed and installed my system 5 years ago. They were meticulous, professional, and did every last thing they said they would. My system is running in top shape because they monitor and maintain it - and they automatically send me checks when I get SRECs. I’m glad I chose Green Sun and I would not hesitate to use them again.

Description of Work
Solar Panel Design, Installation, and Maintenance (photovoltaic system)

Category electrician, solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2019

Images

Review for Green Sun Energy Services, LLC - 79 McCutcheon Ct., Middletown, NJ - 38162145
2.0

10/07/2019


Guy P.

I received a verbal quote only, to remove my panels and brackets off my roof so a new roof can be installed. Then have the panels reinstalled. I was told 500 per panel or 39k (I have 78 panels, 7-8 yr old system), This is basically all labor for a 3 maybe 4 day job with the exception of new flashing --- This is more than 400% higher than the average of other quotes I received on Angies list. How can you trust these people???

Description of Work
Remove and reinstall solar panels so I can replace my roof

Category solar panels

Work Completed On 10/07/2019

Service Provider Response

We really wish you would have focused your frustration on the company that actually installed the solar panels on your old roof. Receiving a higher price than you expected for fixing a problem (that we had nothing to do with) should not give you license to write a negative review for us. We have a fantastic client base that appreciates our honesty, integrity, workmanship and professionalism... as you can see in all of our other reviews. We follow all required codes, and do things right the first time (e.g. we would never have installed solar on a roof that needed to be replaced in 7-8 years). As discussed, your project is NOT just a 3-4 day job. All Solar Removal and Re-Installation projects must be redesigned, professionally engineered (stamped and sealed by a PE) and permitted with the township as they are considered NEW installations --- failure to do so could result in a fine for the homeowner and the installer. Further, Rail Based Systems (like yours) require TWO inspections in NJ (the 1st for the rails and the 2nd for the final electrical and building). This project will also require all NEW Flashing for each penetration along with new conduit, junction boxes (as needed), current labeling (to be NEC 2017 compliant), wiring as needed, and NEC-2017 Rapid Shutdown upgrades for all FOUR of your existing Inverters - or they will fail re-inspection. Now comes the electrical and mechanical labor to remove the existing panels (3 mechanics and an electrician for 1-2 days to remove the system). After your roof is installed, we need to complete the re-installation with a pause in the middle for a rail inspection (4 mechanics and an electrician for 2-3 days to reinstall). Plus, your township requires that one of our representatives be present at the inspection. Add in administrative costs, overhead and insurance... and you can see how the price is much more than you anticipated. Regardless of who you select, please make sure that you get the system permitted and inspected.
5.0

05/22/2019


Catherine T.

Decision making, layout and installation went smoothly. Panels up and running ahead of schedule. Glen, Karen and Chris all very accommodating.

Description of Work
We had solar panels installed.

Category solar panels

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2019

Images

Review for Green Sun Energy Services, LLC - 79 McCutcheon Ct., Middletown, NJ - 37889874
5.0

05/17/2019


Robert B.

Excellent. Walked us thru every step and always available to answer any questions. Installers professional and courteous. All financial dealings were through;y explained and put in writing. If you need solar this is the company.

Description of Work
Solar Instulation

Category electrician, solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2019

5.0

03/03/2019


Harold Y.

I was very pleased with the whole purchase and installation process. A generator installation requires both natural gas plumbing and electrical work and multiple Township inspections and approvals. Glenn Koedding is an excellent project manager. He kept the project on-track and kept me informed about the status of the installation. The gas and electric installers were very professional and completed their work on schedule. The Township electrical inspector remarked that the electrical work was well done. The price for the generator and installation was very competitive and the progress payments were documented and explained in advance. In short, I was very pleased with the whole purchase and installation process and would recommend Green Sun Energy.

Description of Work
Install standby generator (Generac)

Category electrician, generator service