Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

D & J CONSTRUCTION

Founded 1988 • With Angi since June 2010

5.0

(30) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

646 Drake Ave.

Middlesex, NJ 08846

Description

D & J Construction is a family owned and operated business. As a general contractor we offer a full line of home improvements in the Central New Jersey area. If you're considering an addition, alteration, that new kitchen or bathroom remodel, maybe a deck, or want to build your dream home, D & J

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Rodney M.
5.0
03/16/2023
Job was performed in a timely manner. Job was started ahead of initially planned time. Easy to communicate with. Was completed up to expectations.
Description of Work
Removal of exterior door. Removal of block and brick steps. Framing and siding. Foundation repair and finishing.
Category
remodeling
Dina D.
5.0
08/30/2022
Dominick from D&J Construction just finished remodeling my master bathroom, kitchen and half bath and I couldn't be happier. This is the third time I have hired him and would never look anywhere else. Despite the continued labor shortage that he, and many other companies are experiencing, he pushed through doing most of the work himself. He does a great job in treating his customers right; he listens, is courteous and friendly. The quality of the work is terrific, and I appreciate his attention to detail. He is competitively priced and does a great job keeping within one's budget. He handles all aspects of the job from obtaining the proper permits to managing sub-contractors when needed (i.e. electricians). When he is working on your job, he is 100% focused from start to finish. He does not run off to do other smaller side jobs. He is there from start to finish. I’d highly recommend Dominick to anyone, especially for bigger jobs where you need an extremely capable contractor. He’s very considerate of the customer, resilient, competitively priced and provides high quality work.
Description of Work
Remodel bathrooms and kitchen
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the kind words. My ultimate goal is to make sure that my customer is more than happy with the work performed! It was a pleasure working with you again! Dominick
Lee J.
5.0
11/12/2021
D&J construction replaced our old deck with a much needed new and improved version. The detail and time spent to meet our ever changing needs was tremendous! From the beginning to the end, from the permit process to supply shortages you name it, Dominick was on top of everything and helped us remain calm throughout the process. We have received more compliments that I can count on the new deck/landscaping. I would highly recommend D&J Construction for any home remodel project you are looking to complete. Thanks again!
Description of Work
Deck and landscaping
Category
decks

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you both! I loved the "down to earth" atmosphere! I appreciate the great review!
Chris C.
5.0
11/05/2021
Excellent. Dominick does great work
Description of Work
Masonry work and a new door
Category
concrete repair, masonry, doors
Dina D.
5.0
09/13/2020
Dominick from D&J Construction just finished a screened-in, covered 20’x20’ deck for us. It’s amazing! We couldn’t be happier. Dominick deserves a lot of credit for persevering through the pandemic, which led to substantial labor shortages for him. He would usually have multiple crews going, and was down to himself and one other person through most of the construction, and did much of this work himself. Thank you Dominick! We definitely appreciate your sticking with us through this pandemic and finding a way to get this done. Dominick also dealt with significant material shortages, having to run to another state at times just to pick up additional material. Dominick does a great job in treating his customers right; he listens, is courteous, friendly and was accommodating of what we were wanting to do as well as some last-minute changes. The quality of the work was terrific, and we really appreciated Dominick’s attention to detail. We couldn’t be happier with the end result, and the inspectors were pretty impressed as well. Dominick’s quote was very competitive, and he managed really well to that budget. Dominick is very capable, and handled a pretty large job for us from soup to nuts. He arranged an architect for us to work with, and took care of permits, inspections, managing multiple sub-contractors, and construction from footings to framing to finish work. We’ve struggled with general contractors who’ve put us in the middle of working with sub-contractors; Dominick definitely does not do that; he manages the job end to end. I’d highly recommend Dominick to anyone, especially for bigger jobs where you need an extremely capable contractor.
Description of Work
Construction of a new screened-in deck
Category
decks
Debbie A.
5.0
06/20/2020
Our house had the original bathroom and it looked it! Dominick gave us a beautiful new bathroom! He gave us a whole new deck and made it much larger and we are so happy with it and love spending time out there! Our new front porch and side porch make our house look so amazing! Dominick and his crew were reliable and hard-working and very professional. They were a pleasure to deal with. I would recommend him to anyone!
Description of Work
New bathroom, new deck, new front porch and side porch and railings
Category
ceramic tile, concrete repair, decks, home remodeling
Dennis M.
5.0
06/02/2020
D&J constructed the ideal deck around my swimming pool. Very professional crew who didn't rush to complete the project. When the city inspector says it was a great job, what more can I add? Very satisfied and excited about using my pool and deck for years to come. I highly recommend D&J.
Description of Work
Deck around swimming pool
Category
decks, basement waterproofing
Mikal C.
5.0
11/17/2019
D & J Construction was highly professional from my initial call for a quote, through scheduling and completion of the project. The work was expertly done and everyone from D & J was pleasant and professional to work with. The work area was always neat and tidy and everything was clean when they were finished. I couldn't ask for a better experience. I will definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Tree Limb Punctured Garage Roof
Category
contractors, remodeling, roofing, woodworking
A E.
5.0
12/15/2018
This is not our first time hiring D&J Construction for a project in our home. Dominick and his crew were unquestionably professional during the course of this project. Due to the fact that the house is nearly 60 years old, there were a number of "unforeseen issues" that were "discovered" during the job. Dominick talked with us about the modifications necessary to the original proposal to complete the job so it would to be up to code and patiently answered all of our questions. D&J Construction is an honest, reliable, and fair contractor with very reasonable fees. The completed stairs, patio, and storm door exceeded our expectations. We will definitely be contacting D&J for other projects in our home.
Description of Work
Dangerous, rusting stairs and an elderly storm door needed to be replaced
Category
contractors, concrete repair, decks, siding, doors, patios
Andrea P.
5.0
12/02/2018
D&J Construction gave my husband and I our dream bathroom. We love how beautiful it came out. Dominick and his crew are fantastic! They are friendly, and polite. With Dominick you know you are getting quality work, he is a perfectionist, and will not have his work look less than perfect. We will definitely be calling for future work.
Description of Work
Bathroom remodel
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters
HERBERT B.
5.0
11/07/2018
Professional and outgoing business personality. As the general contractor, he was not accountable for the damages made by his workers. We, the homeowners, brought all damages to his attention. Apologies noted, but there was not offer of compensation for damages to newly purchased items. Due to the lack of personnel and the contractor's personal family tragedy, the completion of the project went over the agreed timeline.
Description of Work
Complete rennovation of a single family property
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, plastering, plumbing, garage builders, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling
Lou P.
5.0
06/20/2018
Very considerate about my wife's shrubs and gardens and didn't have any incidents. They did the complete roof in one day solving a ton of problems I was having with the old. Cleaned up after they were done and wouldn't have known they were there at all. Replaced the closet ceiling and made no mess in the bedroom. They went an extra step and painted the whole closet when the contract only called for the ceiling to be painted. Very easy to work with.
Description of Work
Replaced roof and repaired a closet ceiling
Category
drywall, roofing, interior painters
Lori C.
5.0
05/02/2018
It went great! Professional, timely, excellent work! Highly recommend!
Description of Work
Laundry and bath remodel
Category
contractors, ceramic tile, plumbing, home remodeling
Emily G.
4.0
12/23/2017
Dominick was always professional, always focused on the customer. He asked questions and gave input when he thought a different design direction would give a better end result. When problems arose that delayed work, Dominick was very proactive and got things moving again very quickly. He is a perfectionist when it comes to his work, and it shows in our beautiful new kitchen!
Description of Work
Total kitchen renovation in older home, demolish, replace plaster walls with sheetrock, ceiling, install vinyl floor, update electrical, install cabinets, tile backsplash, new appliances, paint, lighting, new storm doors.
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, woodworking, home remodeling, doors
Kenneth B.
5.0
10/18/2017
The work came out better than expected. We ran into issues at the beginning with the popcorn ceiling as it was realized it had been painted over making it not able to be scraped off. Dominick, was able to come up with a different solution and keep the cost the same. The work was completed in a timely manner once started. It has been awhile since the work was performed and everything has held up and nothing has failed. Only real minor issue was I had some minor clean up I had to perform at the end but this always happens with every contractor.
Description of Work
Had popcorn ceiling removed throughout the entire first floor, some electrical work, outdoor flood light installation, sleeve installed for HVAC/hot water heater exhaust flue, range hood installation, network wiring installation, water shut off valves replaced.
Category
drywall, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, chimney repair, home remodeling
Ashley S.
5.0
09/28/2017
Excellent..Dominick and his crew did a tremendous job
Description of Work
New master suite bathroom, painting the entire house, remodel front porch, new stairs at side and back entrances
Category
concrete repair, decks, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, doors
A E.
5.0
07/07/2017
D & J Construction delivered a superior quality service within our budget. Our old home presented a number of challenges that Dominick was more than equal to while installing our beautiful, new entry door and storm door; as well as replacing the rotting rear garage door in our home. Dominick really listened to what our vision was for the doors and made it work within our limited budget.
Description of Work
Replacement of old, drafty interior front door and storm door as well as rotting rear garage door,
Category
doors
Kristen S.
5.0
06/15/2017
Good experience with contractor. He helped us pick items out, gave us updates, showed up when he was supposed to, dealt with company when they sent wrong items and very responsive. Great finished product.
Description of Work
Upstairs kids full bathroom.
Category
home remodeling
Laurie G.
5.0
04/27/2017
Dominick recently replaced all of our floors with hardwoods and tiled out our laundry room. Took a little bit to get going but well worth the patience. I'm amazed every time I walk into my house and I literally go room to room just to look at them. I am beyond picky and decided this needed a professional to get done right. Dominick and his crew couldn't have been more perfect with their quality and respect for our home as we had to live amongst the chaos. I would highly recommend D & J to anyone whom needs a great contractor.
Description of Work
Replaced all floors with hardwoods and tiled out laundry room.
Category
ceramic tile, hardwood floor, remodeling
Shawn B.
5.0
12/19/2016
We are happy to report that Dominick is honest, reliable, dependable and a very nice person with whom to work. We would not hesitate to recommend him and would employ him again.
Description of Work
The "List" of work was extensive, our father passed away and we wanted to sell the home he owned for 50 years. It only had one full bathroom and we wanted to provide for a 3/4 bath in the Master bedroom where only a powder room existed and we needed GFI outlets in all 3 bathrooms. We needed a new patio door, a storm door on the kitchen door and stairs from the kitchen door to the outdoor patio. We need new shoe molding throughout, updated outlets throughout, exterior woodwork needed to be replaced, new updated lighting (interior and exterior) had to be installed. We also needed the twenty-one interior doors to be re-hung and 2 of those had to be brand new. The "List" was a two-page punch list, but didn't frighten Dominick. And, in the end, we decided to install new kitchen cabinets and appliances.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Cheryl V.
5.0
09/08/2016
D&J and Dominick were just terrific! Pricing, quality of work, professionalism, timeliness, the list goes on and on of how great the experience was! We would definitely use D&J in the future.
Description of Work
D&J laid a patio and sidewalk under our new deck
Category
patios
Louis P.
5.0
04/05/2016
It looks great and we are constantly getting compliments on how good it looks. Project itself exceeded our expectations.
Description of Work
Our property has no sidewalks or curbing and we would get cars drive on our lawn and flooding since we are on a corner with no drainage. He provided edging to eliminate cars driving on our lawn and built up the corner to keep the water out of our yard.
Category
plumbing, water softeners, home remodeling, hardscaping
Rosemary M.
5.0
02/15/2016
This is a difficult review to write for two reasons. The first is because I am so busy enjoying my incredible ?new? home that I hate to take the time to do anything else. The second is I truly hope I express myself well enough to give Dominick the best review that he has ever gotten ? only fair since he has given our family a space better than we could have imagined. I met with several contractors over a year?s time and there was always something that I just wasn?t comfortable with. Not so with Dominick. From our initial meeting and throughout the entire process, Dominick has been a top-notch professional, embracing our vision as if it were his own; seriously, he was more particular than I would have been in several instances. He and his crew are skilled and proficient, and even when we ran into some large and some small old house issues, they were not phased, not delayed, and our daily lives were disrupted far less than I anticipated. The result of their outstanding work ethic turned a long-awaited project into a new lifestyle for our family. To say that I would recommend Dominick and D&J Construction is an understatement. After this extraordinary experience, I am not exaggerating when I say I would not want to work with anyone else and am more than happy to speak with anyone considering hiring D&J. Thank you sounds so small compared to the large impact Dominick, Gilbert and Jeff have had on our lives, but we are thankful for their hard work and dedication to their craft. We are blessed and filled with joy in our ?new? home.
Description of Work
Removed load bearing wall and chimney, inserted support beam, re-supported basement beam and replaced support columns with lolly columns, gutted kitchen and half-bath, installed floor on entire first floor, moved kitchen sink, installed kitchen and bathroom cabinets, crown molding, backsplash, electric, plumbing
Category
ceramic tile, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, basement remodeling
Roy S.
5.0
09/29/2015
The services went very well. I would also recommend him to anyone.
Description of Work
They came and completed a small foundation repair.
Category
foundation repair
Lou D.
5.0
01/29/2015
Dear Dominick, We wanted to write you this letter to let you know how extremely happy we are with the jobs you have done on our house. The workmanship and the extreme professionalism with which everything was done was beyond reproach. As you know, there were many other contractors working on our house at the same time, but none were as meticulous as you. You treated out house as if it were your own. We have received numerous compliments on the wraparound porch on the front of the house. No one would have taken either the time or effort you did in laying down the mahogany flooring. It is absolutely beautiful. We have given your name and number to many people who have driven by and stopped to admire it. However, the masonry work that was done was outstanding. When we knew we needed to have both existing chimneys extended by thirteen feet, we were doubtful, to say the least. We never thought the bricks would match in color or size or that the workmanship would equal what was already there. You assured us it could be done. We are constantly amazed at the precision in which it was done. One cannot tell the difference from where the old ended and the new begins, which is what is desired in an extension. Thank you for going that extra mile. As you know, we needed new walkways all around the house. You did an excellent job in pouring and smoothing the concrete. People are always amazed at the excellence of the job. We look forward to working with you again in the future and would highly recommend, and have, you and your workmanship to anyone looking for a true professional. sincerely, Linda and Lou De Robertis
Description of Work
Masonry work - new foundation, extended existing chimneys, poured new walkways, crawlspace New construction - built a wrap around porch and laid mahogany flooring Installed new tile full bathroom
Category
ceramic tile, concrete repair, masonry, remodeling, home remodeling, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    SARAH'S LANDSCAPING LLC

    From lawn work and clean-ups to tree trimming and mulching, you are one call away from having the best looking lawn on the block. CALL TODAY for Angie's List preferred scheduling. We now offer commercial services for your personal business needs. For faster service, please use our text line 908-922-5679.  

    Angi Certified

    Select Basement Waterproofing Inc

    Select Basement Waterproofing uses exclusive engineered waterproofing products, we are family owned owner operated and supervised business, exclusive company to offer waterproofing, never subcontract our work, select always guarantees our work, never warranties, 20 employees, and 500,000.00 in trucks on the road full service company, can and has helped thousands of customers in any type of problem. Additional contact: Michael Klukiewski. No subs.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    We are proud to offer new home construction, additions of all sizes, kitchen remodeling, bathroom remodeling, finished basements and more. We are also a Pelican™ Whole House Water system Dealer and Installer.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about D & J CONSTRUCTION

    How is D & J CONSTRUCTION overall rated?

    D & J CONSTRUCTION is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are D & J CONSTRUCTION open?

    D & J CONSTRUCTION is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does D & J CONSTRUCTION provide

    D & J CONSTRUCTION accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does D & J CONSTRUCTION offer free estimates?

    Yes, D & J CONSTRUCTION offers free project estimates.

    Does D & J CONSTRUCTION offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, D & J CONSTRUCTION offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does D & J CONSTRUCTION offer a senior discount?

    No, D & J CONSTRUCTION does not offer a senior discount.

    Does D & J CONSTRUCTION offer emergency services?

    Yes, D & J CONSTRUCTION offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by D & J CONSTRUCTION?

    No, D & J CONSTRUCTION does not offer warranties.

    What services does D & J CONSTRUCTION offer?

    D & J CONSTRUCTION offers the following services: We are proud to offer new home construction, additions of all sizes, kitchen remodeling, bathroom remodeling, finished basements and more. We are also a Pelican™ Whole House Water system Dealer and Installer.

    Are there any services D & J CONSTRUCTION does not offer?

    ask for details