Avellino Custom Masonry

About

Founded 1979 • With Angi since April 2009

NO DEPOSIT, NO PAYMENTS, UNTIL THE JOB IS DONE!! Avellino Custom Masonry, Inc., is a family owned business from Italy and has been in business for over 40 years (owned and operated by Billy Magro & Erin Walsh). Our company has a reputation for excellent service, and we will be happy to provide references upon request. The combination of our knowledge, professional equipment and the finest materials will give you an expert job that will last for many years. Our comprehensive services include brickwork, stone work, curbing, concrete work, paver/interlocking block projects, walkways, retaining walls, fireplaces and all types of waterproofing/drainage problems. The intricacies of drainage, construction and material selection require attention to detail and expertise in masonry plumbing. Avellino Custom Masonry, Inc. combines dependability and art to create construction you will enjoy for years to come....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+38 more images

Bluestone walkway

Bluestone walkway

masonry
Beautiful bluestone walkway to welcome guests

Verified Reviews

4.9

(118) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

112

4

2

3

1

2

1

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

masonry (97)basement waterproofing (36)hardscaping (31)concrete repair (28)Patios (19)lawn & landscaping (19)drain pipe installation (13)stone & gravel (9)decks & porches (9)well & water pump repair (8)woodworking (7)excavating (5)
Showing 1-25 of 118 reviews
5.0

09/02/2022


Peter G.

They performed the project with professionalism and quality

Description of Work
Replacement and installation of pavers

Category ceramic tile, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2022

Service Provider Response

We take great pride in satisfying our customers and are glad that you are happy with the work we did for you. Customer reviews and recommendations are the best compliment we could receive. Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to working with you again in the future should the need arise.

5.0

09/01/2022


Nancy M.

Beautiful. Very pleased in making our home beautiful

Description of Work
Patio, driveway, rock wall

Category ceramic tile, masonry, driveway pavers, patios

Cost $57,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/07/2022

Images

Review for Avellino Custom Masonry - PO Box 470, Ironia, NJ - 39857016

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this very positive review. We value our customers and their complete satisfaction with our work. Customer reviews and recommendations are the best compliment we could receive.

5.0

08/30/2022


Dara J.

They were immediately responsive, professional, and extremely convenient to work with. They communicated in an informative manner, and provided options with clear explanations and costs for the work we needed done to take into consideration our needs and preferences. They carried out the work promptly, and provided a quality repair of a job that was originally done incorrectly by another company. Every employee I spoke to was extremely pleasant and helpful.

Description of Work
Repair of stone walkway and stairs

Category concrete repair, masonry, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/19/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us with this positive review. We pride ourselves in customer satisfaction, so this review means a lot to us. Positive reviews and word of mouth referrals are the best forms of compliments. We hope you are happy with the results for many years to come.

5.0

08/25/2022


Rachel M.

Avellino Custom Masonry did an amazing job! The hard-working crew arrived when they said they would, were knowledgeable and great at resolving unexpected problems. When we realized we needed other things to be done that were not in the contract, Avellino quickly prepared an estimate and came in with a fair price. Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Replace Broken Patio and Driveway.

Category concrete repair, masonry, driveway pavers

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We take great pride in satisfying our customers and are glad that you are happy with the work we did for you. Customer reviews and recommendations are the best compliment we could receive. We look forward to working with you again in the future should the need arise. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

5.0

08/24/2022


ROSAMARIA B.

Avellino is a reputable, professional company and I highly recommend them. They are punctual, thorough and customer centered...Their work is meticulous!

Description of Work
general masonry

Category concrete repair, masonry, pavers, gravel, basement waterproofing, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this very positive review. We value our customers and their complete satisfaction with our work. Customer reviews and recommendations are the best compliment we could receive.

5.0

08/23/2022


frank E.

Very pleased. They were very profession, courteous and job came out way above our expectations.

Description of Work
back patio, front walkway and driveway

Category masonry, driveway pavers, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2022

Service Provider Response

We are so glad that the work we recently completed for you exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction. Happy customers are our best compliment and recommendation. Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

5.0

08/16/2022


Yvette H.

Avellino was easy to work with, fair pricing and the project turned out perfect. The crew was very nice and their work in quality. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Front Steps, Walkway and Foundation stone

Category masonry, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2022

Images

Review for Avellino Custom Masonry - PO Box 470, Ironia, NJ - 39838478

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you are happy with the work we recently completed for you. We pride ourselves in customer satisfaction. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

5.0

07/14/2022


mark L.

They were very professional and did an excellent job. Came out gave an opinion on what needed to be done to add additonal drainage in basement and in the yard. And gave an estimate. The estimate was below others I received. They performed the work in the time frame they said and at the price quoted. Live on a hill so have had problems with flooding in basement even though had french drains put in last year.

Description of Work
Drainage added in basement and fremch drains in backyard in yard

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe

Cost $3,750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed] for providing a review of the work we recently completed at your home. Our priority is customer satisfaction and we are very happy that our company was able to resolve your issue. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

5.0

10/22/2021


Ellen S.

Nine years ago, we had our basement re-waterproofed by Avellino after another company failed to do an adequate job. It turned out that Avellino was coincidentally set to start the job on the day after Hurricane Sandy hit. Our family had to relocate to a hotel—but the Avellino team showed up (my husband came home to let them in). They even helped run a cord to a generator so the food in our basement freezer didn't spoil. The job included laying down a layer of gravel and adding a second sump pump and water-powered backup sump pumps, too. Fast forward to the night of Hurricane Ida in August. Our family was away on vacation, and I stayed up late reading all the messages in local Facebook groups about the terrible flooding happening in our area. I had hopes that our waterproofing would hold (it hadn't yet been put to the test) but it just seemed like Ida was getting the best of everyone's waterproofing. The next morning, we asked our babysitter to stop by the house. She reported back that our basement was totally dry. It seemed miraculous...except, no, it wasn't—it was the result of a waterproofing company that really, really knows their stuff. I am forever grateful to Billy and his wonderful team.

Description of Work
Waterproofing our basement

Category pavers, gravel, basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2012

5.0

07/15/2021


Alan M.

Avellino did a very good job and went above and beyond the agreed scope of work. The crew took pride in their work and owner Paul was a pleasure to deal with. I would recommend them and will use them again if I need masonry work.

Description of Work
Install new bluestone walkway and repair stone wall

Category masonry

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this very nice review for us. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. It was a pleasure working with you.

5.0

12/10/2020


Laura C.

Very timely and good work. Will hire again when another masonry job is needed.

Description of Work
Masonry

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/10/2020

5.0

12/08/2020


David D.

It went well. Very professional group of guys.

Description of Work
paver steps and walkway

Category concrete repair, masonry, pavers, gravel

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/24/2020

Images

Review for Avellino Custom Masonry - PO Box 470, Ironia, NJ - 39073361

Service Provider Response

We are happy to hear that your paver walkway and steps installation wet well. We pride ourselves on our customer's satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of the work done. We hope that we can be of service again in the future.

5.0

12/05/2020


Howard L.

I want to let everyone know how pleased we were with the work Paul and the guys did in my basement. First of all it's bone dry after this current rain storm! Secondly the guys worked diligently the entire day, they were respectful, professional and they cleaned up like nothing happened at the end of the day. Lastly, when I had some issues getting the washer and dryer back up and running, they sent over the guys to ensure everything worked well. That's incredible service. My neighbors will certainly hear from me about this company. I typically don't write reviews like this because I typically don't receive service like this. Thank you Avellino for a job so well done. 👏👏

Description of Work
sump pump

Category

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Avellino to provide this service. We appreciate our customers and their complete satisfaction is a priority. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with the end results of your project and our crew. Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. We hope that we can be of service again in the future.

5.0

10/28/2020


Russell R.

What a great experience I had with Avellino Custom Masonry. I spoke to five potential contractors for foundation repair, hardscaping and drainage remediation, and it was just no contest about who best understood what was needed. And because of that knowledge Avellino had no "fudge factor" built into the budget; they knew what to do and how much it would cost. So I got the best quality and price. The work was clean, professional, highly skilled and the workers were extremely friendly and hardworking. There are always those little items during construction that arise and need to be addressed. The Avellino crew was always accommodating in response to my in-process requests. Very high trust factor. They get my highest recommendation and I will definitely call them for subsequent and larger projects.

Description of Work
Foundation repair, drainage remediation, bluestone walkway construction

Category concrete repair, hardscaping

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. We appreciate our customers and their complete satisfaction is a priority. Thank you for choosing Avellino to provide this service. We are so excited that you are happy with the work we recently completed for you!! We hope that we can be of service again in the future.

5.0

07/11/2020


Patrick M.

Contacted Avellino for an estimate, Paul responded same day. After sending him pics of old stoop he came back with an estimate within an hour. Four man crew arrived on time, began demolition of old stoop. Little conversation, everyone knew their job. Stoop was completed same day. Price was fair and no money was paid until job was completed. Very professional, no complaints, recommend Avellino Masonry.

Description of Work
Replace front stoop

Category masonry, basement waterproofing

Cost $3,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2020

Images

Review for Avellino Custom Masonry - PO Box 470, Ironia, NJ - 38711445

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Our customer's satisfaction is a priority at Avellino. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with the end results of your project and our crew. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review, it is greatly appreciated. We hope that we can be of assistance again in the future.

5.0

04/23/2020


Joy H.

Paul was always very prompt and courteous when responding to my texts or emails. He answered my questions or concerns about the scope of the work and the timing very thoroughly. When he scheduled us for the work, he was very accurate with their start and finish dates. The crew was very professional and neat and completed the job as expected. The rain water that used to pool around the perimeter of our yard, is no longer an issue. Paul's prices were very competitive and fair. We hired Avellino based on their reputation and reviews we saw on Angie's list. We are very glad we chose them. My neighbor was so impressed by the work he saw Avellino did for us, that he hired them for his own job. Very glad we hired Avellino; we will definitely use them for future projects and will continue to recommend them to others.

Description of Work
exterior french drain

Category drain pipe

Cost $5,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for us. We are happy to hear that you are happy with the service we provided you. We hope that we are able to work with you again in the future.

5.0

03/27/2020


Nancy R.

The management and workers were excellent and the final result was wonderful. I love my new steps and sidewalk.

Description of Work
front steps and walkway

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2020

Service Provider Response

We are thrilled that you love your new steps and sidewalk. Customer satisfaction is our top priority. Thank you for choosing Avellino to provide this service. We hope that we are able to work with you again in the future.

5.0

03/05/2020


Rhonda J.

Very well from beginning to end!! No problems. We are happy and our neighbors are happy!

Description of Work
retaining wall

Category masonry, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of the work that was recently completed for you. Your satisfaction is our number one concern. We hope you will choose Avellino to work with you again in the future.

5.0

03/05/2020


mary B.

Avellino was great, they got all of our work done in a cost-effective and timely manner. Everyone was super professional and efficient!! Would definitely hire them again and highly recommend them!

Description of Work
masonry repair

Category concrete repair, masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review the work we recently completed for you. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. So glad to hear that you are happy with the work done for you.

5.0

10/04/2019


Deborah G.

I am a loyal Avellinos customer. 20 years ago my neighbors gave me fabulous reviews and I used Avellinos to re-pave my bluestone walkway and front steps. They did a wonderful job. I recently had Avellinos renovate my entire kitchen from floor to ceiling. The work was done to perfection and attention was paid to every detail. The finishing work is excellent. Also, Avellinos workers are very pleasant and clean up the work area dally. It was a wonderful experience!

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel, paver patio, retaining wall and front walkway

Category masonry, home remodeling, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2019

5.0

08/17/2019


Irene R.

Avellino did an excellent job. The workers removed the structure of the bluestone walkway. Excavated dirt. They prepared the substrate by pouring a steel reinforced concrete foundation that was missing from the previous job. They power washed the bluestone and replaced a piece of bluestone. They reset the existing bluestone, filled the joints using a special mixure of portland cement and additives for strength and leveled the sunken walkway. They worked tirelessly and efficiently. They were prompt and the supervisor was always available at the site. They cleaned up and removed all debris as part of the work. They added sod and seeded the area that was excavated. The job was completed in 2 DAYS, UNLIKE the PREVIOUS MASONRY CONTRACTOR that took MONTHS for a lesser job that needed to be replaced after 3 years and was almost never available for contact.

Description of Work
Replace a 3 YEAR old bluestone walkway that sunk and flooded when it rains.

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate our customers and are so excited that you are happy with the work we recently completed for you!! We hope that we can be of service again in the future.

5.0

03/27/2019


Michael F.

They showed up on time and completed the project with great results. This was the 4th project they did for me. I've never been disappointed.

Description of Work
Sidewalk replacement and chimney repointing

Category masonry