COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

JAMES KARR PIANO

Founded 1980 • With Angi since October 2008

5.0

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

P.O. Box 195

Hawthorne, NJ 07506

Description

Over 38 years experience. Piano tuning (aural/by ear) $160.00-200.00 (minor repairs/ adjustments may be included, others extra), repair & restoration services for all makes & models specializing in Steinway.Serving Northern NJ.Testimonials on website jameskarrpiano.com . Restoration referrals upon

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/08/2020


Diana B.

The tuning was meticulously done. I would recommend James.

Description of Work
Tuning and adjusting

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! Hope your return to the piano is successful. I look forward to our next visit.
5.0

09/25/2020


Mary A.

Jamie was a pleasure to work with and I would highly recommend him to others! He was prompt and reliable in all of his communications, from start to finish. His professionalism and depth of knowledge about piano tuning and pianos, in general was outstanding. He worked efficiently while in our home and the piano sounded amazing when he was done. We're looking forward to working with him regularly and appreciate that he'll let us know when our next tuning is needed.

Description of Work
Piano tuning

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you so much for such a glowing review! I so appreciate the opportunity to "Make your piano sing" again. It was indeed a pleasure meeting you and your son and look forward to our next appointment. Until then, best wishes!
5.0

06/19/2020


Joyce W.

Mr. Karr was excellent! He arrived on time(with a mask), worked on the piano for over an hour. After 30 years of inactivity, the piano sounds like a new one. Very professional service. I will use him again and recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
piano tuning

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! I'm very glad to have helped you in your quest to re-learn the piano and it was a pleasure to meet you. I look forward to keeping it in shape as you progress. Keep up the good work!
5.0

06/05/2019


Eric C.

James did a very extensive and thorough job cleaning out the beads that my kids had spilled onto and underneath the piano keys and he tuned the piano (which hadn't been done in over 20years!). Very friendly, did a great job and even referred us to a piano teacher for our kids!

Description of Work
Piano Tuning and Removal of Beads from Between Keys!

Category piano tuning, musical instrument repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for your excellent review! It was a pleasure meeting you and your wife. I'll send you a text-minder for the next service (hopefully beadless!)... Best wishes on the lessons!
5.0

11/04/2018


Richard L.

Perfect. James located the problem with the keyboard adjustment and repaired it

Description of Work
piano tuning and repair

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your follow up review of my service! It's my pleasure to remedy issues that make people love their piano(again)! Sorry about having to reschedule the first appointment...:/ See you next year!
5.0

04/29/2018


Mikhail L.

Karl done professional job with tuning of our grand piano. He responded on our request for additional adjustments

Description of Work
Piano Tuning

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you, Mr [Member Name Removed] for your positive review of my service! It was a pleasure to work with you and to make your wife happy with her piano again. I look forward to our next visit!
5.0

12/20/2017


Kristine K.

James did a great job. Both pianos sound great.

Description of Work
James tuned both of my pianos and even fixed a long standing squeak that I couldn't fix.

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]! Glad that you liked the results. I look forward to seeing you next year. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
5.0

11/13/2017


Lorrie S.

James is an amazing piano technician. He is able to tune a piano perfectly. If you have a piano tuner that completes their job in 45 minutes, he/she does is not doing a complete job. James makes sure that he tests every interval and makes the appropriate adjustments. He is very professional and communicates well over phone or text. He is reliable and prompt.I highly recommend James to give your piano the perfect pitch.

Description of Work
Piano tuning

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Wow! Thank you so much for your very gracious review! I always try to bring my "A" Game to every client's piano. Looking forward to many years of taking care of yours! Best Regards!
5.0

05/18/2017


Theresa L.

Extremely happy with services!! Our piano sounds brand new!! James is very professional and was awesome to work with!

Description of Work
Piano tuning

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you so much for your awesome review! I was glad to have brought the piano up to pitch so your daughter, [Member Name Removed], could use it in her professional capacity in musical theater. I wish her great success and look forward to keeping it maintained for her. Best wishes!
5.0

03/01/2017


CLOSED C.

We are very happy with is excellence and his precision. He does not rush the job. He works the keys and wrench until the complete piano is in tune. He'll spend a good hour and a half getting it right. We found him on Angie's List and we are not letting him go.

Description of Work
In April of 2016 we had James tune our grand piano, which had not been tuned in over a decade. He was excellent. Today, March 1, 2017, we had James back for a tuning and pedal adjustment. During the ensuing 11 months the piano James tuned last year was just a bit off. That is an amazing testament to the great job he did getting it in shape last year.

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Wow! Many thanks for your stellar review and very kind words. It's a pleasure to work for such nice and appreciative people who understand excellence. Thanks for not letting me go😄! Love your dog, too!
5.0

02/16/2017


Erin M.

Mr. Karr arrived on time, did the tuning in the time he had stated and I intend to use him on a regular basis.

Description of Work
I inherited a piano from a relative that hadn't been tuned for a very long time. Mr. Karr came over and brought the piano back to life. It plays beautifully now.

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! It was a pleasure meeting you and taking care of your piano needs. I look forward to keeping your piano "singing"! Best wishes on your daughter's lessons!
5.0

12/21/2016


Diane K.

I was reluctant to get rid of the old piano, as it was in a beautiful, carved piece of furniture. However, the new one looks very nice in my living room and makes the room look larger. There have been some problems with the keys sticking, but Jamie has promptly responded to my calls and come to fix them. He was at my home last night and will return after the holidays to do some more work on the piano.

Description of Work
I first called Jamie, based on the reviews he has received, to tune an antique Emerson upright piano. The piano hadn't been tuned in over 10 years, and besides being out of tune, the keys were sticking. He arrived on time, and proceeded to use a procedure that he believed would fix the keys. When he sat down to tune, he found that the problem was more complex. He would have to removed the piano insides, and work on them in his shop. It was a rather expensive procedure and he was afraid that after it was done, they might quickly "restick". He told me he had a piano in his show room that was reasonably priced and came with warranties. I went to look at the piano. It was a Baldwin piano that looked brand new and also sounded very good. I decided to purchase it. He arranged to have the piano delivered and the old piano removed at no extra cost.

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your very complete and detailed testimonial! Also, I appreciate your patience with the sticking keys on the "new" piano. As you mentioned, I will remedy the situation permanently and to your satisfaction after the New Year. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year tilll then!
5.0

11/10/2016


Alfred B.

Upon contacting James he promptly scheduled the tuning. He arrived on time and explained the process and walked me through extra work that needed to be done and explained why. It was a pleasure dealing with him and we'll use his services again in the future. It's also appreciated that he accepts credit cards for payment.

Description of Work
Piano tune

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the opportunity to "Make Your Piano Sing" for your wife and daughter and for your kind words! Looking forward to next time!
5.0

10/19/2016


Jean R.

Very pleased with James Karr piano tuning. Extremely communicative with responses, prompt arrival, competitively priced and this is truly his area of professional expertise. Went beyond my expectations to ensure that I was 100% satisfied with the voicing/tuning of my Yamaha baby grand. Also, a very sincere and nice man to do business with and would highly recommend. A++.

Description of Work
Piano tuning for Yamaha baby grand with pitch raise

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words! It was very nice to meet you and help you to enjoy and understand your piano, tuning and tone considerations more fully. I very much look forward to our next appointment!
5.0

03/03/2016


LUCIA R.

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you!!!
5.0

12/03/2015


Brenda C.

Description of Work
He was friendly, polite, timely and great to work with.

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]! Sorry for the delay in thanking you for your review. Hope your Christmas party and New Years were good! I absolutely have someone who can play for the party next Christmas Eve! Let me know if you want their name. Have a great year in the meantime and you'll get a reminder for tuning. Best, J. Karr
5.0

10/28/2015


Eddie K.

I was referred to James by many people in the community. I had a piano that hadn?t been tuned for a while and I wanted someone who knew what they were doing. Price. James was really upfront and honest. A lot of tuners will nickel-and-dime you. Many will initially quote you a low price but when they are at your house, they will tack on extras, saying that you?re piano is really out of tune and your estimate could skyrocket. But, even though my piano hasn?t been tuned in 25 years, James added very little to the original price. Performance. I?ve played the violin my entire life and I can tell James has a great ear. If you check his website, you?ll see he?s got good credentials. But, what really impressed me the most and made me write this review is that he tuned everything TWICE. Most tuners will only tune keys once and split. He took the time to actually tune everything twice to make sure everything was perfect. That?s shows to me that James is a person who cares about what he does. If you mention my name, I?m sure you?ll get the same great work.

Description of Work
Tune our home piano.

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you SO much for your detailed and very gracious review of my services! It is a pleasure to tune for musicians who can appreciate the difference extra effort makes and what music should sound like on a well tuned piano!
5.0

09/06/2015


Doug and Carrie J.

Jamie was fabulous to deal with. Answered all of our questions through email very promptly. Did a great joba nd made recommendations on how we can better maintain our piano. Thanks!

Description of Work
Tuned Piano

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words, [Member Name Removed]. I look forward to providing for the needs of your piano in the future. Look for my reminder card! Best, Jamie
5.0

06/11/2015


Maureen V.

Description of Work
Gave an appraisal for a piano for estate purposes

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you, (removed member name). Sorry to be late! Best wishes! J. Karr
5.0

02/03/2015


Barbara P.

Very professional, he shared his opinion of my old piano, how often it should be tuned, etc.

Description of Work
Tuned piano from my childhood recently shipped to me from my parents

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your glowing review of my service! I look for forward to our next appointment. Please check out my website as I look forward to making your piano "Sing" again!
5.0

01/16/2015


Sharon W.

Tuned my very old, very flat and uneven piano. He arrived right on time and was very professional. Now that I have found Mr. Karr, I will make sure my piano gets tuned yearly.

Description of Work
Tune my piano

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Hi (member name removed). Thank you for your kind response to my service! I look forward to tuning your piano next time and your reminder card will arrive in time for the Christmas Holiday. Have a great year! J. Karr
5.0

09/11/2014


karen R.

The work was successfully completed as my children gave the sound of the piano a thumbs up! Mr. Karr was prompt, knowledgeable and professional. I will definitely use him again and would recommend him to anyone looking for a tuner.

Description of Work
Tuned an aging piano that had not been tuned in several years.

Category piano tuning

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [removed member name]! Look forward to the next "thumbs up" visit!
5.0

04/20/2012


john Z.

I don't remember his specific pricing, but it was competitive. Overall, I thought he was prompt, clean and did a good job.

Description of Work
I had James Karr Piano come out to tune my piano.

Category piano tuning

5.0

09/01/2009


GUNTHER J.

He did very well and he was reasonable. He was also very professional. The piano is much older than I am, but he did as well as he could with it and we were pleased with his ability. It was so old that he could not tune the very low strings, but that was okay.

Description of Work
We used James Karr a couple of months ago for piano tuning.

Category piano tuning

5.0

10/31/2008


ALICIA D.

The piano sounds excellent, which is difficult to do due to the piano's age.

Description of Work
Mr. Karr tuned my 100+ year old upright piano and also fixed two wooden pieces that had fallen out off the hammers.

Category piano tuning

    Business Highlights

    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Piano Tuning
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Tuning(home, institutional, concert, professional, studio), repairing (all action regulation, hammer filing & voicing), restoration (finishing,action rebuilding,re-stringing new sounding boards, pinblocks, polishing,touch-up) Insurance & fairmarket value appraisals, for-purchase evaluations

    Services Not Offered

    Piano Moving

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about JAMES KARR PIANO

    How is JAMES KARR PIANO overall rated?

    JAMES KARR PIANO is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are JAMES KARR PIANO open?

    JAMES KARR PIANO is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: Closed

    Tuesday: Closed

    Wednesday: Closed

    Thursday: Closed

    Friday: Closed

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does JAMES KARR PIANO provide

    JAMES KARR PIANO accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does JAMES KARR PIANO offer free estimates?

    No, JAMES KARR PIANO does not offer free project estimates.

    Does JAMES KARR PIANO offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, JAMES KARR PIANO does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does JAMES KARR PIANO offer a senior discount?

    No, JAMES KARR PIANO does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by JAMES KARR PIANO?

    Yes, JAMES KARR PIANO offers warranties.

    What services does JAMES KARR PIANO offer?

    JAMES KARR PIANO offers the following services: Tuning(home, institutional, concert, professional, studio), repairing (all action regulation, hammer filing & voicing), restoration (finishing,action rebuilding,re-stringing new sounding boards, pinblocks, polishing,touch-up) Insurance & fairmarket value appraisals, for-purchase evaluations

    Are there any services JAMES KARR PIANO does not offer?

    Piano Moving