Abbey Carpet & Floor of Hawthorne

About

Founded 1959 • With Angi since January 2006

Since 1959 our family owned flooring business' # 1 priority is providing quality products and exceptional service to our customers. We have one of the largest and most exclusive collections of carpet, hardwood, laminates, vinyl and tile in the north jersey area. Abbey offers you the highest quality styles and brand names in the industry. The highly respected names of alexander smith, american showcase and premier stainmaster® are unsurpassed in quality and remarkable beauty. Spread your payments out for upto 12 months with our "flooring solutions" financing program from wells fargo! Additional DBA - Hawthorne Rugs, Inc....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+13 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(175) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

160

4

9

3

3

2

0

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

flooring (129)carpet installation (104)hardwood floors (29)carpet cleaning (13)tile installation (11)floor cleaning (8)door installation (2)window treatment (2)oriental rug cleaning (1)cabinet refacing (1)home remodeling (1)leather repair (1)
Showing 1-25 of 175 reviews
5.0

09/24/2022


Teddie M.

The entire process was absolutely seamless…the lines of communication were always open, there was never a time when my call was not taken. The entire process from visiting the store through installation was a pleasure! All questions asked were promptly answered professionally, the installers were just as professional. I would not hesitate recommending Abbey carpet!

Description of Work
Removal of old carpet and installation of new carpet

Category carpet cleaners, carpet installation

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2022

5.0

08/01/2020


Tom F.

I highly recommend Valley. The service, communications, and personal care provided was outstanding throughout. Glenn provided exceptional care and made us feel like our satisfaction was the top priority. Our carpet arrived with a defect, at no fault of Valley, and he went to great lengths to make sure the situation was rectified quickly and effectively, and that in the end, we were very happy. If you are looking for old school customer service, I highly recommend Valley. We love our new carpet, and will undoubtly use Valley next time. A+

Description of Work
Basement wall to wall carpet installation

Category carpet installation, cabinet refacing

Cost $2,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2020

Images

Review for Abbey Carpet & Floor of Hawthorne - 1030 Goffle Rd, Hawthorne, NJ - 38764679
5.0

11/17/2018


Patrick H.

We have used this business before and have been pleased and very satisfied with the quality of their work. We feel they are always honest on estimates and prices and this past time they even worked with us to use a remnant on our basement stairs . Kurt, Julio and his assistant, plus the Abbey team were all professional and courteous throughout our interactions. They performed all of the work in an efficient manner and cleaned and put everything back in place upon completion. Once again, we felt they did an excellent job overall. We would highly recommend Abbey's Floor & Carpet to anyone that need the range of services they offer.

Description of Work
We had carpet installed in a spare room and on the basement stairs. They also corrected a "bubble" in our living room carpet.

Category carpet installation

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/23/2018

5.0

09/22/2018


Pamela A R.

Very well. They did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Wall to wall carpet needed stretching.

Category carpet installation

Cost $197

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2018

5.0

06/08/2018


Frank M.

Abbey contract crew was punctual, organized and neat. Work was completed over 1 1/2 days- 3 guys. Pricing($5200) I think was competitive- not the most expensive but not the cheapest either. Pet friendly carpet. Would use again and recommend. Selected them for 89 excellent ratings on Angies list - they have earned it!!

Description of Work
Move furniture,remove and replace wall to wall carpet and padding= 3 rooms, hallway and stairs

Category carpet installation

Cost $5,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2018

5.0

06/06/2018


TJ E.

We visited the Abbey showroom and met with Glenn, who showed us a couple options and said they could absolutely install the sheet vinyl floor, AND guarantee it. Our floor was a custom order, so it took about a week to come in and schedule the install. On installation day, when they unrolled the vinyl the manufacturer (not Abbey) had the floor folded/creased on the roll, so it was damaged and could not be installed. Installer said he hadn't seen something like that in 20 years! In business, problems are expected from time to time, and the mark of an excellent business is how quickly they address/fix the problem. Glenn was amazing, immediately contacting the manufacturer, getting the new floor expedited, and even laid a "loaner" floor using stock vinyl he had on hand because we were having a party that weekend and needed the room to be finished. I would highly recommend Abbey Flooring as a better alternative to the "big" outlets, as their service, selection and pricing were all A+!

Description of Work
We wanted a new vinyl floor in the 3-season / breezeway room and neither Home Depot or Lowe's would install because the room is not temperature controlled.

Category flooring contractor

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

05/08/2018


Jean C.

Wonderful experience; helpful staff, professional installation, great selection

Description of Work
Removal of old carpet, installation of new

Category carpet installation

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2018

5.0

10/31/2017


Mr and Mrs. Gil M.

Efficiently performed installation by 2 different seasoned professionals, they were polite and considerate.

Description of Work
Installed flooring in dining room + carpet in living room.

Category flooring contractor

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2017

5.0

10/28/2017


John G.

All aspects of the service were performed in a highly professional manner from booking to the repair work. The carpeting had been installed by another retailer which did not properly lay down and stretch the carpet. I could not have been more satisfied with the owner, his office staff, and the installers.

Description of Work
Restretched wall-to-wall carpet.

Category carpet installation

Cost $375

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2017

5.0

10/20/2017


Marvin A.

Everything went as expected. The installers did an amazing job making it fit as one continuous piece between two rooms and closets.

Description of Work
Replace vinyl flooring on second floor

Category flooring contractor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/11/2017

5.0

08/25/2017


Carole S.

Very difficult installation because of configuration of space. Installers arrived early. They moved remaining furniture & files to my satisfaction. After work was completed, they cleaned & put everything back in place. I have used this company previously & find them to be very up-front & honest on estimates & prices.

Description of Work
Removed old carpet from stairs, closet, hall, office.Installed new carpet.

Category carpet installation

Cost $2,124.76

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2017

5.0

08/19/2017


Donna A.

They installed SmartStrand carpet over SmartCushion padding. They were professional and clean. They worked fast and were very nice to work with.

Description of Work
Carpet living room, dining area, hallway, stairs and landing. (approximately 543 sq ft) Remove & dispose of existing carpet. Move large furniture.

Category carpet installation

Cost $3,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2017

5.0

08/12/2017


Louise F.

All went well; friendly knowledgable

Description of Work
Installed new rug in kitchen

Category carpet installation

Cost $954.99

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2017

5.0

07/17/2017


Marilyn M.

Sales person -Glenn Baker- attentive & most helpful. Installers were professional, friendly, polite and their work was impeccable. I am a happy customer.

Description of Work
Installed Armstrong Planks in my kitchen

Category flooring contractor

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2017

5.0

07/14/2017


PATTI R.

They did a great job. They helped us pick out beautiful flooring for the rooms. The staff was very professional and the installers did a great job.

Description of Work
We needed a new floor for a kitchen and dining room remodel.

Category flooring contractor

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/13/2017

Images

Review for Abbey Carpet & Floor of Hawthorne - 1030 Goffle Rd, Hawthorne, NJ - 35630038
1.0

05/26/2017


Anthony F.

they sent a subcontractor that didn't speak English to install a floor. They were from West long Branch which speaks volumes about how they operate. THEY DAMAGED the WALLS AND DOORS I WOULd NOT HIRE UNLESS YOU ARE desperate. They give you a smug answer when you confront them. Please stay away.

Description of Work
install hardwood flor

Category flooring contractor

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2017

5.0

05/22/2017


Edward W.

The employees at the store were informative and helpful. The technician installing the floor was pleasant and professional.. Great job with installation - perfect!

Description of Work
Installed LVT flooring in bathroom

Category flooring contractor

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2017

5.0

05/18/2017


Victoria & Doug G.

Excellent: Julio, the installer, was punctual, professional and friendly. all staff, including Glenn Baker, were helpful and made the whole buying process a breeze

Description of Work
2 carpets installed in bedrooms, two area rugs placed in other room

Category carpet installation

Cost $3,827.56

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/09/2017

5.0

05/15/2017


Louis M.

The overall experience was excellent. The installers were very meticulous, professional, and neat. Everything was done beautifully and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They installed hardwood flooring in our family room.

Category hardwood floor

Cost $6,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2017

5.0

03/10/2017


Joan A.

Very well. The techs Julio & Manuel were on time, very professional, & pleasant. They did a very good job.

Description of Work
Stretched rugs in 2 rooms.

Category carpet installation

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2017

5.0

03/01/2017


Thomas B.

Jack and Dave came on the date promised. They were friendly and professional and took great pride in their work.

Description of Work
Furnished & installed vinyl tile flooring.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor

Cost $2,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/16/2017

5.0

01/26/2017


Thalya H.

It went well. Manny and Julio arrived on time. They explained what was going to be done. Asked relevant questions. They were respectful.

Description of Work
Carpet runner installation.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2017

4.0

01/16/2017


Patricia D.

Arrived on time. Worked quickly. Quality work.

Description of Work
Mstr bedroom carpet. Mstr bath "plank" flooring.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor