Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ryback Landscaping & Lawns

Founded 1989 • With Angi since April 2011

4.4

(104) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

Pine Stone dr.

Hampton, NJ 08827

Description

Ryback Landscaping & lawns is second to none, we set ourselves apart from our competition. We guarantee a return phone call within 24 hours of your request. Because we pride ourselves in communication with our clients, we are hear to make your yard or lawn better than you could ever imagine. We

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/19/2019


Paul I.

Our patio was completely rebuilt with new pavers for $$,$$$. Almost immediately the pavers started to collapse. Initially they came out to do repairs, and kept saying this shouldn't be happening and seemed perplexed why this kept on occurring. It is now the 6th or 7th time in 2 years this has happened, and after repeated phone calls/emails....they WILL NOT respond. In my opinion....they're crooks! Save your money!! Any landscaping business with integrity would get to the bottom of this issue...instead of plopping a bandage on it. And just to be clear...our previous patio never had this issue.

Description of Work
Patio with Pavers

Category decks, landscaping

5.0

09/20/2017


Diana S.

Very well . Landscaper was prompt and I was charged for the exact amount of time she worked. It was $75 per hour. She worked for 1-1/2 hours and that was exactly what I was charged.

Description of Work
Part of tree fell and had to be removed from ground

Category landscaping

5.0

09/09/2017


walter S.

We have used Ryback before. They do a very professional job for a fair price.

Description of Work
Mulch installed into flower beds.

Category landscaping, mulch

4.0

08/28/2017


Tom E.

Overall, I am satisfied with the work done. They came promptly at the beginning of the day and were done by the end of the day. The only things that kept me from an A rating were that the grass reseeded areas did not respond well, although I realize the August is not the best month for this activity. One of the bushes that I kept was to be trimmed from the top; instead, the bottom was mostly removed leaving a rather funny looking bush. Also, the contract called for some of the areas to be outlined with stones and that didn't happen. Some of the areas were to be planted with pachysandra, but no new plants were planted. Instead, some of the old plants from other areas were placed but are only partially successful in taking. Still, with all that, I would definitely have them back again.

Description of Work
Removal of all old shrubs; redo several garden areas and plant new shrubs and flowers; add top soil to areas needing reseeding; repair front walk; replace split-rail fencing

Category fencing, landscaping, mulch

1.0

06/23/2017


Pappen V.

What sounded like a good deal' was more than the regular price..SO I decided to not proceed..

Description of Work
Mulching including spreading

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Good old Angie's List allowing a person who had no work done, or even contacted with a contractor. Should not be able to give a review.
5.0

06/19/2017


Lisa D.

They did a great job. I would use them again

Description of Work
Weeding, mulching and general clean up.

Category landscaping

5.0

05/17/2017


walter S.

Very professional and meticulous work. They come on time. They clean up. They are easy to work with. Good company.

Description of Work
Outdoor lighting, patio stone repair

Category landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

5.0

05/15/2017


Ellen Q.

Easy from start to finish. Quick estimating, job took a few days, work was professional and clean. Workers friendly.

Description of Work
Repairing existing patio.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

1.0

05/03/2017


vijay A.

did not show up after 4 weeks, will request refund. Angie's list is very bad at conflict management. don't use them, other free services have better customer service.

Description of Work
deal was purchased to mulch the property

Category mulch

Service Provider Response

This Customer bought a mulch special we offered on Angie's List for 3 years with good response. The offer was for hardwood mulch only. We had set up a date to install the mulch, but while on our way there the customer decided he wanted colored mulch. Our office informed that we would have to reschedule installation. Also that there is an upgraded price for colored mulch. He then said it was a scam and didn't want anything. We try to give our customers the best quality and service we can. But there are customers out there that will always try to take advantage of our industry, including Angie's List. Greg Ryback President Ryback Landscaping & Lawns
2.0

11/07/2016


James M.

Had brick wall installed and French drain to alleviate water seepage into garage. With wall, chipped blocks were placed that I had to ask to be removed. With the French drain, seepage amount increased on garage wall so was worse. Mutiple calls for correction not answered. Failed to honor warranty,

Description of Work
Brick wall, 2 French drains

Category masonry, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

This customer was looking for any excuse to try and get more work done for free. We installed a beautiful wall and drainage system that works flawlessly. Greg Ryback
5.0

11/03/2016


Michael & Maureen D.

We contracted Ryback Landscaping to redo our front sidewalk and do some landscaping based on all of the excellent reviews and they certainly lived up to their reputation. They responded to our call promptly and Greg came and gave us an estimate quickly. He recommended an excellent paver company and left their catalog and we picked out the color and design. He brought the samples fine tuned the design and it came out beautifully and really compliments the house as does the landscaping he did while utilizing the shrubs we wanted and he suggested. He is very knowledgeable and experienced and his crews were very good and polite. Greg is a true professional and a nice man who returns all calls promptly and will answer all questions you may have. We cannot recommend him highly enough and would not hesitate and plan on using Ryback Landscaping again.

Description of Work
New front sidewalk and landscaping

Category landscaping, tree service, hardscaping

5.0

10/18/2016


donna D.

They were great. I keep looking for the same deal for this year!

Description of Work
The add was for fall lawn cleanup. They trimmed all the bushes and hauled away all the tree limbs and clippings on the property.

Category lawn service

5.0

10/03/2016


Karen E.

Excellent!! Greg was professional and a pleasure to work with. His design and advice was the foundation for a beautiful patio. We have received many compliments on the patio.

Description of Work
Two phases of the work: 1) Design and construct a multi level raised patio. 2) install stone façade around entire foundation of house.

Category hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

5.0

07/30/2016


Rob S.

New owners bought out existing company used for my property. Started slowly but once they got it, it has been excellent. Workers are professional, owners are very responsive, could not be happier.

Description of Work
Lawn mowing and weed abatement, overall general weekly landscape.

Category landscaping

5.0

07/29/2016


Jay H.

We first worked with Greg on a $35,000 patio several years back. We've never been so happy with a home improvement project in the 20 years we've owned our home. Since then anything to do with landscaping or hardscaping we just call Greg. Big job or small he is always responsive and provides the same high quality work on maintenance and repairs as he does to building a patio or other larger projects. I think excellence is the only way he and his team know how to work. In all honesty we don't even check prices any more. I bid the jobs the first few times we worked with him and he was always competitive or better. Its all about value when you can pay standard pricing and get outstanding results.

Description of Work
Small job this time - Was able to find a way to fix a very leaky waterfall on our pool and secured loose pavers on multi-tier patio

Category landscaping, patios

5.0

07/29/2016


Dan K.

We recently hired Ryback Landscaping to upgrade our front landscaping, install a sidewalk and add front accent lighting to give the house an elegant nighttime aesthetic. The entire crew was extremely professional and hard working. The result was outstanding, on time and on budget. We are extremely pleased with the finished project and would not hesitate to recommend their services based on our experience. We are already lining up some more work for them. Ryback also does all of our lawn maintenance and our experience there is both professional and well done.

Description of Work
1) Installed paver sidewalk 2) Redesigned and planted new front landscaping 3) Exterior House Lighting 4) Ongoing lawn service

Category landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

5.0

07/27/2016


Merrilee M.

I am so unbelievably happy with the service. They came on the day they promised, they had three guys bang out the lawn in 30 minutes - and it normally takes us 2 hours on the riding mower solo. They cut, got rid of the clippings, and did trimming. I'm so happy and I only wish I had hired them sooner. This saves me so much stress. And friendly staff - with reasonable prices. I can't recommend them more highly. So glad I found them here!

Description of Work
I needed them to cut the grass on a weekly basis, and will be having them take some old tree limbs away in addition to leaf removal in the fall. I received a quote within 24 hours, and I am now scheduled for weekly lawn service. I was nervous about hiring a landscaper, to be honest, as my husband traditionally takes care of all of this.

Category lawn service

5.0

07/11/2016


jane N.

Good. They came as scheduled and spred the mulch in all the prepared areas. Worked neatly and efficiently. This is the second year I've taken advantage of this offer.

Description of Work
Purchased 5 cubic yards of mulch which they spred.

Category landscaping, mulch

1.0

06/26/2016


Lilia E.

First appointment got cancelled by them 10 minutes before the actual appointment time; second one was rescheduled with almost a week of delay, but no one showed up and no information was sent.

Description of Work
We asked for estimate to re-do our backyard landscaping including patio

Category landscaping

4.0

06/17/2016


Brian R.

Greg was very punctual with all appointments and turned price quotes around in a timely fashion. We changed our mind on the scope of the project a couple of times and Greg remained patient, provided revised price quotes and fielded our calls with questions after hours on more than 1 occasion. We were very pleased with Greg's landscape design and felt the pricing was fair. We had some issues with a few of the plants installed, but Greg replaced them as part of the 1 year warranty he offers. Overall, we are very pleased with the work, Greg's professionalism and the fact that he stood behind his product.

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping, mulch, hardscaping

5.0

05/18/2016


Ronald B.

Greg came out and presented and suggested options and completed an estimate. He suggested a unique block and the work was done in a timely fashion and he and the crew did a great job. I plan on using this company again to replace the deteriorating existing walkways and front stairs with matching pavers.

Description of Work
Cut and lined driveway edges with pavers, back filled same. Also leveled and graded front yard and reseeded.

Category hardscaping

5.0

12/24/2015


David S.

We already had most of the slate on hand for the installation, which we recycled from a neighbor's outdoor porch restoration project, but they generously added and substituted their own slate, as needed. A crew of five courteous, skilled, and attentive workers arrived at our house at 8:30 a.m. and were finished with the job by 4:30p.m. The slate was skillfully cut and placed in a attractive pattern on our patio and we could not be more pleased with the results. They even placed my old patio bricks in a pad where I told them that I intended to place them for my trash cans and they did it themselves as a surprise at no additional charge. Prior to contacting Ryback Landscaping, my wife and I have contacted other landscapers who were either overpriced, did not respond or responded and then never got back to us. However, Greg Ryback and his son apparently still believe in the old fashioned, and far too often overlooked, values of customer service, value, and reliability. If you still believe in these values too - then Ryback Landscaping is for you!

Description of Work
They cut and installed a slate 9' x 13' patio, a 4' x 6 grill pad, and 4' x 6' landing for our side porch.

Category excavators, landscaping, masonry, patios

5.0

12/06/2015


Francis & Frank K.

Ryback Landscaping did the following for me :540 sq. foot patio and 70ft x3 ft walkways. Every thing done to manufacturers guidelines and specs...., 10 inch excavation and substrate was done with proper materials...NOT dust.... everything done perfectly, water drains off, , no high pavers, all joints sealed, things flow perfectly and his workerscut the pavers to make a beautiful transition from a short 'walkway from side door to main walkway. Walkways?.. ?Greg suggested curves and we are glad we listened?done beautifully , again, no high spots, solid, all joints filled with that special hardening sand. . Stone Installation??evenly spread, no thin spots, grade awat from house and weed block used in all newly stoned areas. Total of 12 tons of stone installed.Red stone, 1-3" river stone and white stone chips for a japanese dry garden. Side and frront lawn-renovated over 5000 squared feet of front lawn mixed organic material with topsoil, spread it evenly, pitchedthe front lawn and it hasn?t flooded since, spread a seed mix , spread hay, and I watered as directed.What was once a weed garden is now a front and side lawn and being half of back lawn was disrupted . That was fixed that also. THEN he sent guys from Ryback Landscapingback to aerate a section because his heavy equipment and tons of stone compacted the soil . Brought to life 4000+ square feet of back yard Maybe all of the above sounds pretty routine for hard and landscapeing. . But it wasn?t routine because Ryback Landscaping, his son and his crew did the work . If he said something would happen, it happened.Greg said he would be at the job every day.. he was. He said the lawn would grow at a certain rate if watered properly. It did. He said the water would drain away on patio and walkways, it did. Everything he said he would do he did. There was no excuses, no ?no shows? and also, very importantly, he fully explained the job using normal language, not ?contractorese? . AND there was complete communication throughout the job. I had a 550 sq. ft of THICK reinforced concrete patio. The Ryback Landscaping cracked it up with jackhammer and sledges then Greg came with his heavy equipment. The man is like a surgeon with it. The patio ran right under the old CAC shingles, which are brittle like saltines and there was no damage. I had three sets of wires for the lights under the patio and they were intact. And the copper water pipes were not damaged. They guys re-engineered the skirt on my new patio door so it would take the new blocks, ran the wire through conduit to protect it. Greg, his son and his crew are true craftsmen. There was not ONE error on the whole job...not one. His guys also dug a 8 foot code depth trench for me for a new gas line....that was an afterthought after the estimate. No squawking from Ryback Landscaping. NO squaking either when his guys had to do additional pruning and root removal because I didn't contract for enough. There was NO " nickel and dime-ing" me. Greg just told the guys, "Do it". f there was a discrepancy it was worked out in minutes. He gave us the discounts we deserved without batting an eye. His crew was timely, worked beyond the usual ?contractor day? and were neat. . And it was HOT with most days over 90 degrees in the 12 days they were here. I felt bad for them working in that heat but they never 'dogged it'. They worked appropriately for the heat. And Greg didn't treat them like mules either. His men have wored for him for years and I can see why. Pricing?.competitive and fair. Considering the ?extras? ,the quality of the work and high end materials, the expertise of not only Greg, but his son and his crew, and the final product?GREAT bang for my buck and then some. I got more than my money's work AND it is beautiful work indeed. Ryback Landscaping is a fair and customer centered business. Greg keeps his word, us easy to work with and is extremely knowledgeable. He follows manufacturers guidelines and thinks outside the box to solve problems He listens to customer input has good sense of humor and most importantly?.you can tell he loves his work and enjoys working with people. By the way.. I am NOT related to Ryback Landscaping, his crew or his family. I just like contractors who respect me, my money, my wife and my home. and who listen to my ideas, give me theirs, ( his WERE better), and who KEEP their word. Greg Ryback of Ryback Landscaping did it all. I will recommend Ryback Landscaping anytime to anyone. Will I rehire him? Sure!, I want a new fence installed, some plantings, Spring Cleanups and probably a new sidewalk that some ?mason? did and is now a mess from bad cement.. If I knew how to add photos I would. Maybe at a later date. By the way....we have nearly 90 cultivars of bush, tree , plant, flower and grass on our 1/3 acre and not ONE was destroyed in error. . Ryback Lanscaping does what it promises and more!!!!!!

Description of Work
I would have written this soon but have been travelling. I do not list prices paid.

Category excavators, fencing, landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, masonry, mulch, plumbing, pavers, gravel, tree service, hardscaping, patios

5.0

11/04/2015


Kathleen E.

Went very well. Team was great and stacked in different racks around the property.

Description of Work
Delivered and stacked 2 cords of firewood

Category firewood, landscaping

5.0

10/29/2015


Erica S.

We found Ryback on Angie's list where they were far above others in the area with the number and quality of reviews. Our experience with Ryback Landscaping was very positive. Greg understood exactly what we wanted to have done and made excellent suggestions. The work took about two weeks and was well manned; no mom and pop operation. His workers did a beautiful job and cleaned up everywhere after they were done every day. Any questions or issues that we had during the process were addressed quickly and to our satisfaction. Though not included in the contract and not expected, Greg seeded the areas that were torn up by the machinery, applied leftover mulch to our other trees and shrubs, and even patched a piece of our aging driveway unavoidably damaged by the heavy equipment. Everyone who has seen the work had praise. If only all contractors were like Ryback.

Description of Work
Removed two mature trees (taller than 2-story house), roots and all. Graded lawn away from house to correct drainage issue. Removed concrete front walk, brick patio and back walk. Installed pavers for front walk, patio (450 sq. ft), back walk, and bottom of driveway. Dressed front and rear steps with pavers and wall blocks to match walks and retaining wall. Installed low retaining wall around tree at front corner of house. Planted and mulched 34 assorted shrubs and ornamental trees.

Category landscaping, masonry, mulch, plumbing, tree service, hardscaping, patios

    Other local Pros in your area

    Milestone Restoration & Roofing Inc

    A BBB ACCREDITED COMPANY Milestone Inc specializes in Masonry Restoration, Brick Pointing, Brick Restoration, Cement stucco ,Flat Roofing Installations & Repair, Slate Roofing Repairs, and work related to Hanging Scaffolding and Pipe Scaffolding Services. With good reputation and over 30 years combined experience, we know how to give homes and businesses that "like-new" appearance while ensuring your Safety. Our basic categories include: brick tuck pointing, brick siding, scaffolding work , natural slate roofs,and flat roofs (our specialty). We don't use sub contractors because we like to monitor and complete all projects ourselves. DCA License #1405707 Exp. 02/28/2023 2014 Angie's List Super Service Award Winner - 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 2018 and 2019  

    Angi Certified

    RR Irrigation Co Inc

    RR Irrigation is a reputable company that offers irrigation, landscape lighting, and landscape and roof water drainage system. RR has been offering quality services to customers since 1971. Our office staff is ready to schedule maintenance and service repairs as well as estimate for new installation from 8am till 4 pm Mon-Fri. Our fully computerized scheduler dispatches trained service technicians with all the system specifications for your system and our fully stocked trucks almost always results in your problem fixed on the spot. Our ulta efficient designs for irrigation save you money in the long run on your water bills. Our LED lighting designs save 75% in electricity and many fixtures are guaranteed for 15 years!  

    Angi Certified

    D&G Excavating llc

    D&G Excavating provides a wide range of excavating services, such as drainage, demolition, stump removal, grading, land clearing and more! We stride to go above and beyond with fair prices and great service. We are a family owned and operated business.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Patios, plumbing, property management, snow removal, tree care, stone & gravel.

    Services Not Offered

    Irrigation & Sprinklers.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ryback Landscaping & Lawns

    How is Ryback Landscaping & Lawns overall rated?

    Ryback Landscaping & Lawns is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ryback Landscaping & Lawns open?

    Ryback Landscaping & Lawns is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Ryback Landscaping & Lawns provide

    Ryback Landscaping & Lawns accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Ryback Landscaping & Lawns offer free estimates?

    Yes, Ryback Landscaping & Lawns offers free project estimates.

    Does Ryback Landscaping & Lawns offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Ryback Landscaping & Lawns does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ryback Landscaping & Lawns offer a senior discount?

    No, Ryback Landscaping & Lawns does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Ryback Landscaping & Lawns offer emergency services?

    Yes, Ryback Landscaping & Lawns offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Ryback Landscaping & Lawns?

    No, Ryback Landscaping & Lawns does not offer warranties.

    What services does Ryback Landscaping & Lawns offer?

    Ryback Landscaping & Lawns offers the following services: Patios, plumbing, property management, snow removal, tree care, stone & gravel.

    Are there any services Ryback Landscaping & Lawns does not offer?

    Irrigation & Sprinklers.