Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COWAN'S SOUTH JERSEY MASONRY, LLC

Founded 1992 • With Angi since July 2008

Over 47 years experience. Commercial and residential building restoration and waterproofing. Specialize in masonry restoration. Structural foundation repairs. Chimneys cleaned, inspected and lined. All types of chimney and building restoration. Free estimates*. Fully insured and licensed. Backed by referrals. We do not use subcontractors! We stand behind our work 100% * Real estate written estimates or inspections $175.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(89) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 89 reviews
Beth K.
5.0
02/27/2020
I found this company here on Angies list. I read all the reviews and now I want to add mine. Bob Cowan answered my phone call immediately and came the next day. He not only re-cleaned our flue that had just been done but installed a new flue into our badly constructed chimney. Even after having to cut into our chimney 2x to get the flue to fit he stuck to his original quote. Bob (and both of his crew) were extremely professional and the kind of company you don't find too often. DON"T hesitate to call him.
Description of Work
New stainless steel flue installed.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair
Earl L.
5.0
12/02/2019
They came out and they did an excellent job, very professional and I will use them again.
Description of Work
They re pointed my chimney.
Category
chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks Bob Cowan
Veronica D.
3.0
12/07/2018
We contacted Cowan's during the busy season, he responded by text only. We explained what we needed. It took about 2 weeks of texting and trying to getting responses to final set a time for him to come out. One of his workers came and did the cleaning. He did not cover anything around the stove, he left hand and foot (soot) prints everywhere he touched and walked. He left my fromt door open the whole time he was here (35* degrees outside) He did a partial job of cleaning up after himself. When I mentioned to him about the marks he left, all he could say was I don't have rags to clean. I spoke to Mr. Cowen about how unhappy I was with the way things were left and he said he would talk his worker and just use soap and water to clean everything. I should not have to clean up after Cowan's job. When I offer to pay him he told me to keep my money and Goodbye.
Description of Work
Had a wood burning stove and chimney cleaned.
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

I told her that she didn't have to pay because she wasn't happy with what we did. We had a problem with the chimney over there because it was inundated with creosote as they hadn't had it cleaned in 3 years. When they ran the brushes they took out a 5 gallon bucket of creosote. Yes, should my worker have done a better job cleaning up, yes. The worker made a mistake and I corrected him when returning to the shop and that's why I did not charge her.
Jason V.
5.0
03/13/2018
Perfect! Great work, looks fantastic.
Description of Work
Chimney repairs and custom chimney cap installed
Category
masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces
Daniel P.
5.0
02/08/2018
He was prompt, professional and very courteous. We have a newborn, so dealing with a leak was not something I could handle right now. I don't have a ton of experience with chimney repair so the price seemed on the high end of reasonable, but he was responsive on the first day and came to do the repair as soon as weather permitted. We just had our first rain since the repair and everything stayed very dry. Well worth any additional expense.
Description of Work
Cracked and leaking chimney needed repair.
Category
chimney repair

Service Provider Response

thank you , and enjoy your new baby
walter S.
5.0
01/15/2018
They came, did the work found a broken cap and repaired it that visit.
Description of Work
Chimney flue cleaned and cap repaired
Category
chimney repair
Janice M.
5.0
10/26/2017
Cowan's south jersey masonry came out and fixed the top of both chimneys, sealed them and placed the caps on the top and he cleaned out the chimney. I was working and my parents were there and couldn't say enough about the two gentlemen who completed the work. My mom asked if they could fix a crack on our cement sidewalk and they did with no charge! Thank you so much for your professionalism and help with this project. Thank you for fixing my sidewalk. I would recommend this company without reservation.
Description of Work
Our chimneys needed repair.
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair
Ed Z.
5.0
10/20/2017
After evaluating and measuring existing unit, he ordered a custom cover. In the meantime, he secured the chimney with tarps since there was a leak. upon receipt of the new unit, work was completed quickly (in a single day). Area was cleaned completely. We are very satisfied with the job performed.
Description of Work
Repair and replace chimney cover.
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much!
Samantha H.
5.0
09/20/2017
Great! First appointment was quick and he was available the following business day to quote the repairs. Setting up appointment was easy and they were quick and clean on the repairs.
Description of Work
Chimney repair (liner) for a home we purchased.
Category
chimney repair

Service Provider Response

thank you [Member Name Removed], Bob Cowan
Brad M.
5.0
08/18/2017
Job was finished yesterday, 8/17/17, and everything appears to have been professionally done. Bob and his crew (Mike and Bob) were very nice and extremely easy to work worth. I would highly encourage anyone in need of chimney work to contact Cowan's Masonry. You won't be disappointed!
Description of Work
Chimney was pointed from top to bottom... New crown was was installed... Seal chimney with siloxane water repellant... Seal fireplace face joint... Seal mosaic tile around fireplace...
Category
masonry, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much. It was a pleasure to work for you!
David P.
5.0
06/15/2017
Bob was easy to talk to and he and his son did exactly what was contracted for. Finished job looks nice.
Description of Work
Cracks in the skim coat of concrete block foundation. Cracked cement porch and back steps.
Category
foundation repair
Yavone T.
5.0
06/06/2017
Great job! I will definitely recommend Cowans Masonry to family and friends
Description of Work
Had Chimley refaced
Category
masonry, chimney repair
sandra R.
5.0
05/03/2017
Very well. Bob the owner either called or texted me within minutes whenever I tried to reach him. He made one trip to measure out everything and then sent me a detailed estimate a few days later. Once I signed the contract and placed a deposit he then ordered the materials and a week later called to tell me he received all the parts and would be down in few days. The chase cover and chimney caps are all stainless steel and custom sized for my chimney. He was right on time for the installation and was very friendly and professional. He and his helper took their time and did the install very carefully and it looks great.
Description of Work
I needed a chase cover and 2 chimney caps replaced. The old ones were falling apart and completely covered with rust.
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
frank F.
5.0
04/30/2017
Was very happy with service and price.
Description of Work
Had chimney repaired, braced and cleaned.
Category
masonry, chimney repair, foundation repair
Bernie M.
5.0
03/21/2017
It went well, Bob was easy to work with and he completed the job in good time considering the weather. Would definitely hire him again.
Description of Work
Chimney resurfaced
Category
masonry, chimney repair
CONNIE C.
5.0
03/08/2017
Perfect. Mr. Cowan was a delight to work with. He is a perfectionist in his trade and would recommend him highly .
Description of Work
chimney built; hearth and inside brick work, wood burning stove installed
Category
masonry, remodeling, fireplaces, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

thank for hiring us to build you chimney. it was great working for you. thanks Robert Cowan .
Yvette S.
5.0
02/17/2017
More work is needed and I contracted them to return and finish the job of replacing the faulty gas logs and leak in my chimney system
Description of Work
I needed service for my chimney and gas fireplaces. They had been neglected by the previous owner. Cowan's was efficient and professional in delivering great service.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair, gas logs

Service Provider Response

thanks for the Business, great to work for you.
michael L.
5.0
02/11/2017
excellent service, very professional, courteous and clean
Description of Work
chimney cleaning
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces
Edward Z.
5.0
01/16/2017
Did great job explaining what he did and helping relight my gas fire place. Would definitely hire again.
Description of Work
Chimney Sweep
Category
chimney sweep
matt M.
5.0
01/06/2017
Bob and Staff were Professional and neat . They were in and out in about 45mins . They did a gread job cleaning the chimney , although quite a bit of ash was left in the catalyst and behind the flu door which wasn't a big deal at all considering the main concern was the chimney itself. Bob also re caulked the flashing around my chimney for no extra charge. Overall a great expierence. Thanks again.
Description of Work
Chimney Sweep
Category
chimney sweep
Melissa L.
5.0
12/15/2016
Bob did a beautiful job and was always neat, considerate and professional. He clearly explained what was wrong and followed up with photos so we could see for ourselves what was going on in places we couldn't reach. He's an expert at his trade and I wouldn't hesitate hiring him again.
Description of Work
Our chimney had been neglected for quite some time. Bricks were falling off and there were holes in the masonry. The interior of the chimney had been poorly repaired by a previous owner and it was deteriorating from the inside. Bob regrouted the exterior from top to bottom, repaired the holes inside and put in a chimney lining.
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] and (Member name removed) thank you for letting us do your job for you. it was a pleasure working for you and (Member name removed).
James R.
5.0
12/14/2016
Great, I would highly recommend this company
Description of Work
Chimney cleaned
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Jennifer A.
5.0
12/14/2016
I couldn't ask for a better company!
Description of Work
Fireplace cleaning, repaires, insert installed.
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces
Sylvia M.
5.0
12/14/2016
Bob Cowan came out to my home with REAL chimney cleaning equipment, connecting poles and large flue size brush and industrial soot vacuum. No mess, he removed and reinstalled my cap too. Very pleased with Bob and his helpers work.
Description of Work
Heater chimney needed cleaning. Filled up with soft soot from a poorly adjusted oil burner.
Category
chimney sweep
Pamela H.
5.0
12/09/2016
It went well. I am satisfied with the service I received. He is very knowledgeable.
Description of Work
Resurface our chimney.
Category
chimney repair

Service Provider Response

thank you for the review it was a pleasure working for you. thanks for the business

Phone

Address

562 SPRING RD

Hammonton, NJ 08037

Other Information

Services offered

Fireplace and brick and stone building restoration, structural foundation repairs, fireplace and chimney repairs, chimney lining for fireplace and/or heaters. Chimney cleaning and inspection. Brick or Stone Patio Restoration. We also install fireplace inserts and commercial liners for gas or oil.

Services not offered

Manufactured/prefabricated fireplace repair

Payment options

Check
Financing Available
PayPal
Visa
MasterCard
American Express

FAQ

COWAN'S SOUTH JERSEY MASONRY, LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

COWAN'S SOUTH JERSEY MASONRY, LLC is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

COWAN'S SOUTH JERSEY MASONRY, LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

Yes, COWAN'S SOUTH JERSEY MASONRY, LLC offers free project estimates.

Yes, COWAN'S SOUTH JERSEY MASONRY, LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, COWAN'S SOUTH JERSEY MASONRY, LLC offers emergency services.

Yes, COWAN'S SOUTH JERSEY MASONRY, LLC offers warranties.

COWAN'S SOUTH JERSEY MASONRY, LLC offers the following services: Fireplace and brick and stone building restoration, structural foundation repairs, fireplace and chimney repairs, chimney lining for fireplace and/or heaters. Chimney cleaning and inspection. Brick or Stone Patio Restoration. We also install fireplace inserts and commercial liners for gas or oil.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

BQ Basements & Concrete

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

BQ Basements & Concrete

BQ Basements & Concrete, founded in 1997, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for our foundation repair, structural repair, crawlspace encapsulation, dehumidification and waterproofing needs. They are the one of the oldest and largest foundation repair companies in the country. BQ Basements & Concrete is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes from water damage and foundation failure.  

Clay's Climate Control

5.0

(75)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Clay's Climate Control

Clay's Climate Control is a family owned business that started in 2001. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction in our installations and service work.  

Microni Painting

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

Microni Painting

Welcome to our painting business, where we turn your blank walls into stunning works of art! Our team of skilled and experienced painters are dedicated to providing top-notch painting services to meet your specific needs. We specialize in both interior and exterior painting, offering a wide range of techniques and finishes to create the perfect look for your home or business. Our commitment to quality means we use only the finest paints and materials, ensuring that your paint job will last for years to come. Whether you're looking for a fresh coat of paint to spruce up your living room, or a full-scale painting project for your commercial property, we've got you covered. With our attention to detail, personalized service, and competitive pricing, we're confident that you'll be completely satisfied with the results. Contact us today to schedule your free consultation and discover how we can transform your space with the power of paint!