Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A1 Home Improvements

Founded 2000 • With Angi since March 2013

3.6

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 910

Hammonton, NJ 08037

Description

We do all kinds of home improvements, we provide all types of services, indoor and outdoor 24hr seven days a week. Free estimates.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/30/2015


Donna-Marie B.

Description of Work
Paid for service but contractor was so busy he offered to put christmas lights on house on christmas eve. That wasn't going to work. Apparently, Angie's list and contracter offered more offers than he could complete. He told me he would put my lights up this year but when I contacted him, he told me that Angie's list would refund my money. They didn't. They offerd a Angie's credit. Since I am no longer a member (this is the 2nd time I paid for and didn't get any service), I can't redeem credit.

Category handyman service, lighting, holiday decorators

1.0

07/02/2015


Larry S.

See above. Could never get contractor to show up. Angie's List did provide a refund.

Description of Work
the contractor kept rescheduling and eventually said he couldn't get to me for several weeks. I had explained that the job needed to be done right away since we had pushed it back so many times. He told me to contact Angie's List and request a refund.

Category handyman service

1.0

04/13/2015


Alison T.

It was pretty bad.

Description of Work
They never came back to finish the job. On top of that the handles on my kitchen cabinets are crooked.

Category handyman service

1.0

02/16/2015


Dan & Diana G.

I responded to his request to reschedule by asking for a refund and he instructed me to contact Angie's list. He did not try to keep my business.

Description of Work
We had to reschedule twice at the provider's request. We asked if he needed to look at the job prior to the day scheduled and he said yes but did not come despite giving him a 2 week window of time. The second day he was scheduled to come do the work, he did not show up or call, I contacted him in the late morning for an arrival time. His response came 4 hours later with a request to reschedule yet again.

Category handyman service

1.0

01/26/2015


Ottielynne Lynne P.

This guy is a JOKE!..... He seems very nice & accomodating but he will not deliver. His work was not in question because he never cared enough about the job to actually come & do it, especially since I had paid for it thru Angie's List. He strung me along almost until the "30 day refund" was up. I had complained once to Angie's List and suddenly he was calling me. When I said I'd call him that same night to schedule within the next few days, he said yes call me...ANYtime, I will answer or call you right back..... more days went by. Then another curt text about how busy he is. I asked ok, just tel me "WHEN you CAN come?"....... still nothing. Do NOT waste your time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would be happy to share all the contact info or lack of with anyone. Angie's List is in the process of getting me another contractor to fulfill the deal that I purchased and has been great about backing up their offer and dealing with my issues. I do Not think this guy should even be allowed on their site.

Description of Work
NOTHING.... do NOT use this guy. He will not come thru with what he says. After almost a month of trying to schedule with him, I have requested a refund.He does not return calls. He'll text you with an ambiguous answer & tell you he will call you in a few minutes and you will not hear from him for days or weeks. Then he blamed his busy schedule, then blamed the snow (not the blizzard) a dusting from weeks ago, then said he didn't get my messages. He will respond just enough to keep you on the hook for several more days. And then...nothing again.

Category handyman service

1.0

01/17/2015


Sonia R.

Never heard back from this company. I reached out to him by text and he said he doesn't remember. I sent him the information again and to this day I haven't heard back from him.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for 4 Hours of General Contracting Services

Category handyman service

2.0

12/31/2014


Alice M.

It's been 4 weeks, with me asking two more times for an estimated date. He finally told me he was very busy and could only offer me a refund

Description of Work
Came out to see what I needed done, told me about a week. Very nice young man.

Category handyman service

1.0

12/24/2014


Dimitra K.

The provider never confirmed dates or times. I had one call and email and the last text message yesterday was "I'll get back to you in a bit". I needed the work done this week and am giving it to someone else to do.

Description of Work
.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

.
4.0

12/18/2014


MARYANN S.

Description of Work
painted a small porch and hung a TV. Very nice work; very pleasant to deal with. It took a long time to schedule, but once it was scheduled, Joe was prompt, courteous and professional, and he was conscientious about cleaning up after he finished. I would definitely turn to him for future work.

Category handyman service, remodeling

5.0

12/15/2014


Alison T.

I inadvertently purchased the wrong Big Deal and called Angie's List for a replacement.

Description of Work
Holiday Light Installation

Category holiday decorators

5.0

12/12/2014


Claudia P.

Very pleasant day. Easy to talk to. Does what you want. Very polite

Description of Work
Great taping, spackle and painting. The guy is an artist. He made my walls look like new Sheetrock

Category drywall, handyman service

5.0

12/08/2014


ANTHONY G.

Very nice, puncutual, very courteous, and accomadating. He went up on the roof put up all the lights and did a great job.

Description of Work
Put up the Christmas lights.

Category holiday decorators

5.0

10/26/2014


Nancy G.

Went well. Joe was punctual and courteous.

Description of Work
Built a replacement platform for washer and dryer in basement.Disconnect and move washer and dryer and reconnected after building platform.

Category handyman service

4.0

10/23/2014


Kamna S.

It has been a week now and it is not working.

Description of Work
He installed a new outlet.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/20/2014


Jennifer C.

He completed all the work and cleaned up and removed the trash. He did a great job.

Description of Work
He repaired the flashing on my roof, removed lattice from my outside deck, repaired shelves in my closed, changed light bulbs in the ceiling. He completed all the work and cleaned up and removed the trash. He did a great job.

Category handyman service, lighting, roofing, deck cleaning

5.0

10/02/2014


Paul C.

Joe was punctual, professional and patient. The three P's. Couldn't have asked for more. Had some minor repairs around the house that he handled efficiently.

Description of Work
4 hours of general repairs, inspections, cleanup.

Category handyman service

5.0

10/01/2014


DIANA T.

FROM THE BEGINNING JOE WAS VERY POLITE AND PROFESSIONAL. HE ANSWERED ALL MY QUESTIONS AND MADE SURE THROUGH THE ENTIRE PROCESS THAT I WAS INFORMED OF ALL PROGRESS. JOE ANSWERED ALL MY PHONE CALLS AND CATERED TO THE TIMES THAT I WAS AVAILABLE. HE FIXED HIS SCHEDULED AROUND ME. i GAVE HIM THE ROUGH DRAFT OF DESIGN AND COLOR OF HOW I WANTED MY ROOM TO BE AND HE MADE IT POSSIBLE. HE EVEN WENT OUT OF HIS WAY TO HANG UP MY PAINTINGS AND PLACE THE FURNITURE WHERE I WANTED IT. JOE MADE SURE THAT EVERYTHING WAS TAKEN CARE OF BEFORE HE LEFT ON HIS LAST DAY. JOE EVEN CALLED ME A COUPLE OF DAYS LATER TO MAKE SURE I WAS HAPPY WITH THE RESULTS. MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS ALL SAW THE WORK JOE DID AND NOW THEY WANT HIM TO DO WORK ON THEIR HOMES. THANKS ANGIE'S LIST NOW I HAVE MY OWN HOME REPAIR CONTRACTOR.

Description of Work
i WANTED A ROOM ADDED INTO MY BASEMENT. JOE FRAMED AND SHEET ROCK 10 X 10 ROOM FOR ME. HE SPACKLE THE ENTIRE 10 X 10 ROOM AND PAINTED IT EXACTLY THE WAY I WANTED IT DESIGNED. JOE HUNG UP MY PAINTINGS AND MOVED AND PLACED THE SELECTED FURNITURE THAT I BOUGHT..

Category remodeling

5.0

10/01/2014


Nancy H.

The work was completed in a professional manner. The rooms look look very nice. The men were neat and cleaned up after theirselves. I would use this company again.

Description of Work
Replaced some woodwork in a bathroom. Painted one bathroom and painted the trim in two other bathrooms.

Category handyman service, woodworking, interior painters

1.0

09/30/2014


Isabel C B.

The owner came with another man the agreed upon date, Sept 13, 2014. They saw what I needed done and we agreed on a price. Please note: all furniture was moved and covered by ME. I had the work area completely ready for them. When discussing price I was advised that the $149.00 I sent into Angie's list goes TO Angie's list and not to them, and I said as far as I am concerned I paid that TOWARDS the work I needed done. They advised me it would take 2 days. They would start that day and come back to sand the spackle and paint on Sunday, which was perfect for me! Sunday only the owner showed up and I asked as to where was the other fellow and was told he was no longer working with him. Personally, the other gentleman seemed to have more knowledge on the sheet rock and it's repair, and I was disappointed he wasn't there. Seems my gut feeling was correct. Fri the 19th text message ?not able to be there until 3:30 or can make it Sunday. I had plans so he said he?d still come Saturday the 20th. At 9:30 I text ?what time will you be here?? About 9:30. Then I got a call asking me what color paint I wanted as he forgot. I said you had all week NOW you are stopping for the supplies? Nevermind...see you when you get here! (unprepared!) He painted the living room that day. The seams still showed. I had to ask him to finish up as it was 4:30 and I had to meet my children and grandkids. He said he?d return the 21st about 2ish. Text message at 1:54 on the 21st read running late could he come the following Saturday? I said ?Sunday would be better for me...but either day I need this finished! My entire first floor is piled! The seams show badly on 2 sides...and ?in the area? You knew where I lived when you took the job...you said maybe 2 days this will be the THIRD weekend shot and my entire first floor is in turmoil!! Please allow the full amount of time to finish this in one day!? I text him the Friday I think to ask about how I get paid for two items that broke and he said it would be through his insurance. (He had moved 2 small cabinets that were in the center of the room, which I had specifically told him to call me if anything was in his way...he didn?t and 2 items broke...a Lenox Angel and a Hummel angel that my Mother gave me!!) I asked him to please BRING my invoice for my insurance company. I need it broken down to the amount for the sheet rock job and the amount for painting, as I have full cost replacement and need that info. He did bring one. Not broken down with pricing. And it showed my $149.00 just as a deduction, not as having been paid. I asked him to correct it to show as a deposit, and he said he?s email it to me as soon as he got home. This morning I wrote to him on your page and asked about it and he said he mailed it...he couldn?t email me. Please take note, as I said I had my furniture in the center of each room. I asked if he needed anything out of his way that he please tell me before because I have fine breakables. Not done...he moved two of my cabinets and the second one didn?t go well and a Lenox Angel and a Hummel angel (which was from my Mother) broke; He used my plastic for the floor as he only had one drop cloth; he used my tape; He was unprepared each time with something! At 6:15 on Sunday the 27th I went downstairs and after a day of power sanding, spackling, painting, power sanding again, painting I looked up and the seams were still there. I asked him to just pack up and leave. I couldn?t do it anymore. It would take me HOURS to clean up the dust on everything before I could let my cat out of a closed room and I had to work in the morning. I told him that his painting is good, but I?d suggest he not take any drywall jobs. I deducted $60.00 from our agreed price and he insisted I take off $100.00 as he felt sorry that this didn?t go well. In looking back I should have checked how much it will cost me to have someone come to spackle and re-paint before I paid him. At any rate I waited until this morning and still no email with my invoice. So I sent him a note through Angie?s list and I just received a text ? couldn?t email u it but I put in mail.? I wrote on Angie?s list and he answers me in text. He sent a second invoice and again it is not broken down with the pricing. I don?t believe he understands how it needs to be done for my insurance. So the entire contents of my first floor are piled in the center of my living room, dining room and kitchen. I am NOT having fun! The night he left I realized that my entranceway light fixture was still hanging down...not replaced. This past weekend I was painting the molding in my dining room and imagine my joy to find the floor by my fireplace speckled with paint!! Easily seen on the slate in front of the fireplace. Apparently he did NOT move his sheet around the floor as he painted. So I am asking: Where did the $149.00 Deal amount go? And do I have any recourse as to paying ANOTHER contractor to do the spackle correctly and of course the entire ceiling will need to be repainted. Do I get a refund from this contractor...? Every time I see one of your TV commercials I cringe...how is it exactly that you find your "qualified experienced" clients to list??? I, just this morning read recent reviews for Joe and they must be the people he put ahead of this job. I do thank you in advance for your help in resolving this problem. Isabel C Byrne

Description of Work
He was hired to remove and replace sheet rock on my living room ceiling (in an area that I had a leak, not the entire ceiling) spackle, paint that ceiling AND dining room ceiling as they are adjoined.

Category remodeling

4.0

04/20/2014


Mercedes W.

The entire process went well. Joe Bruno was our contact person. We were impressed that he came out to assess the damage and give an estimate the SAME DAY we called. He was on site each day during the restoration and returned phone calls promptly. The job was done in a reasonable amount of time and one would not know that there was ever any damage in the room. He made a disaster as manageable as possible! I plan to use his service for several projects in the near future.

Description of Work
Restored family room due to problems caused by water damage. Replaced sheetrock, insulation,and wood trim as needed. Primed and painted entire family room. Installed new pad and carpet throughout.

Category remodeling

5.0

03/21/2013


Michele S.

Joe came into the house very professionally. He was very organized and clean. There was no mess for me to clean up. I would recommend him to ALL my friends and family!!

Description of Work
Installed new tub, replaced flooring, painted bathroom. Serviced heating and A/C unit and cleaned the air ducts.

Category flooring contractor, handyman service, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, air duct cleaning, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Bethany Associates Pressure Washing & Window Cleaning

    Bethany Associates, Inc. is a professional cleaning company specializing in window cleaning and pressure washing. Serving South Jersey for 20+ years, we're committed to providing TOP-NOTCH SERVICE and CUSTOMER CARE. Our cleaning technology, safety program, and training procedures yield the HIGHEST QUALITY services for our customers. We are proud members of the International Window Cleaning Association and look forward to helping with your cleaning projects!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    APEP Painting

    APEP - We encourage to plan ahead of time to better guarantee service with APEP. We stay busy all year around and a painting project isn’t a burst pipe. However, we do offer quick and emergency services to small-scale projects. APEP specializes in interior painting from full home projects to simple improvements, including wall repairs, wallpaper removal, stain work, and popcorn removal. APEP has one goal and many strategies to achieve that goal. We strive to accomplish a clean, timely, and professional performance on every project. APEP has more than 15 years on the trade. The staff is constantly improving and supervising to assure professional and exceptional services, and all painters are trained to work with APEP’s strategies regardless of previous experience. This ensures that all of our jobs have the same astonishing result.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Pachyderm Painting

    With over fifteen years of industry experience, Pachyderm Painting LLC brings a level of expertise found rarely! We specialize in anything and everything that has to do with the walls of your house! Drywall and plaster repair, wallpaper removal, interior and exterior painting, staining and sealing, just to name a few of our services!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Dry wall, tile, painting, siding, windows, storm damage clean up, renovations, kitchen, bathroom, basement, power washing, HVAC, snow removal, sidewalks, driveways, walkways & salting.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A1 Home Improvements

    How is A1 Home Improvements overall rated?

    A1 Home Improvements is currently rated 3.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are A1 Home Improvements open?

    A1 Home Improvements is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does A1 Home Improvements provide

    A1 Home Improvements accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does A1 Home Improvements offer free estimates?

    Yes, A1 Home Improvements offers free project estimates.

    Does A1 Home Improvements offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A1 Home Improvements does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A1 Home Improvements offer a senior discount?

    Yes, A1 Home Improvements offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does A1 Home Improvements offer emergency services?

    Yes, A1 Home Improvements offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A1 Home Improvements?

    Yes, A1 Home Improvements offers warranties.

    What services does A1 Home Improvements offer?

    A1 Home Improvements offers the following services: Dry wall, tile, painting, siding, windows, storm damage clean up, renovations, kitchen, bathroom, basement, power washing, HVAC, snow removal, sidewalks, driveways, walkways & salting.